Skip to main content

Michael Anthony Hernandez

Criminal defense Attorney at San Diego, CA

4.9   41 reviews
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
  • Licensed for 19 years
    State CA
    Acquired 2004
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Michael

Learn Michael’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas

Awards

Client's Choice 2017,2014
Client's Choice
2017 2014
Top Contributor 2014,2013
Top Contributor
2014 2013

Location

Michael Anthony Hernandez
402 West Broadway, Ste. 1270
San Diego, CA, 92101

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  41 customer reviews
Client's Choice 2017
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by anonymous | September 1, 2013
Great Profissional
I was referred to Mr. Hernandez by a friend of mine. He worked on my DUI case 2 years ago. He got my case settled to a wet and reckless charge, which I considered a very positive out come. I had hired Mr. Hernandez service again, these time to work on the removal of my probation and case expungement.
Posted by anonymous | April 20, 2014
Highly Recommend
As a first time offender, I had no idea on how to proceed. I had already met with a lawyer prior to being referred to Mr. Hernandez. Deciding to meet with Michael proved to be advantageous. I was immediately much more informed on how to proceed and opted to work with him. He handled my case with high knowledge and efficiency and ended with a favorable ruling and outcome. Informative, prompt and responsive. Mr. Hernandez epitomizes a true professional. Highly recommend.
Read less
Posted by Aileen | March 31, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
-
Michael really helped my case out and made everything as clear as possible. He is an amazing attorney for cases like mine, I would 100% recommend him. He is very understanding and ia there to answer all my questions and concerns. I was put at ease throughout the legal process as well!
Posted by Luis Castro | March 27, 2024
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Best Attorney
Michael was an an amazing help! He made the process of working with him extremely easy & fast he makes you feel welcomed & secured. Definitely answers any questions or doubts you may have! Highly recommended working with him without a doubt the best of the best!
Posted by Abigail Meza | February 8, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Helped recently with my husband Case.
We hired Mr. Hernandez 24 hours before my husband’s trial, we didn’t have hopes because of his charges but Mr. Hernandez changed that. He helped us a lot with the case and ended up having my husband released with a bail. We highly recommend his services and his professionalism to work with this type of cases. Even though he only had 24 hours, he was able to know the case perfectly. The Meza’s Family is highly thankful for him.
Read less
Posted by Rogelio | December 10, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
GRACIAS,,,TOTALES,,!!!
Conocí a Tiffany Carrillo,, en la oficina de un abogado de inmigración que llevó mi caso para aplicar para la recidencia permanente,, en el transcurso de mi aplicación cometí el error de manejar bajo la influencia del alcohol,, hablé con Tiffany acerca de lo qué pasó y ella me recomendó ampliamente al abogado Michael A. Hernández,, el cual llevó mi caso de segundo DUI,, y gracias a su ayuda pude seguir con mi proceso de inmigración y ahora ya estoy apunto de recibir mi ciudadanía. Su experiencia me hizo llevar el caso del DUI,, con mucha tranquilidad GRACIAS POR TODO A TIFFANY Y AL ABOGADO HERNÁNDEZ
Read less
Posted by Rosa | September 7, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
so much to say
Michael and his team have been to me as a fairy is to a child. they were able to have my case vacated and by doing that ,they have return my life back, my family can breath again and I could not thank them enough, they are extremely professionals, courteous and honest.
Posted by Deborah | May 6, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Knowledgeable and Caring
Michael Hernandez is knowledgeable and confident, which made a very stressful situation easier to get through. He was reassuring and caring, which helped to ease my anxiety and get me a positive outcome. He kept me informed at all times and returned calls immediately. I am very grateful to Michael and his team and would definitely recommend him to my family and friends if they ever needed a professional attorney.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 2, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
mike
I highly recommend mike he is great at all he does. he went above and beyond for me personally every way possible. just an all around great person and at what he does, if you ever have a issue mike is the man
Posted by anonymous | April 10, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank You!
Mike saw the good in me before I could see it for myself. Mike saw the second chance. Mike saw the best in me when I just saw the worst. Those at Michael Anthony Hernandez Attorney’s office hear your voice and fight for you when you feel your weakest. The comfort and ease in knowing who stood as my voice kept me striving to be the best version of myself. Michael Anthony Hernandez fought for the best possible outcome in my situation and got it! I rest assured every night knowing who stood beside me and who stood for me. A thank you is an understatement!
Read less
Posted by Nathaniel | November 1, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
great job, Michael!
Michael was referred to me from a lawyer friend. Michael got me a 3-month DUI first offense with zero community service after I blew a 0.21. I was pretty happy with that. Also, Michael's rates suited my budget.
Posted by Erick | November 1, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
*****CALL HIM*****
When i met Michael he looked at my case and right away he told me exactly what i was facing and that moment he also told me what he was going to do. Everything happened just like he said and got me out of jail. Hes very confident i highly recommend Michael.
Posted by anonymous | September 27, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Reduced my fine!
Michael and his paralegal, Tiffany, were very easy to work with and did a great job at keeping me informed on my traffic court proceedings for a ticket I received. Michael was able to reduce my fine and reduce the violation to a no-points violation, which I am happy with!
Posted by Mark | August 20, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional, friendly, great follow-through & got the job done.
This was my first experience with ever needing a defense attorney and Mr. Hernandez did a great job. He was friendly and professional, and also put my mind at ease. He followed-through months later and had the incident removed from my history. I appreciated the way he handled my case from start to finish and would recommend him highly.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 16, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
OUTSTANDING AND PROFESSIONAL STAFF
Words cannot express the gratitude and great service I received from Michael Hernandez and his staff. From my first phone conversation with Michael, I felt comfortable and knew that I was speaking with a very knowledgeable and caring professional. Mr. Hernandez, with the help of his staff walked me through the legal jargon and kept in contact with any developments in regard to my DUI. He has earned my trust and without a doubt, I would recommend Michael to anyone who needed his help.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 12, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Excellent Service
Mr. Hernandez helped my family through an EXTREMELY stressful time. I have a tremendous amount of gratitude for the EXCELLENT customer service that he provided. He responded to our calls in a quick fashion not days, he always answered all our questions, explained the process and options. If we ever need legal representation again I will ABSOLUTELY call him again. Mr Hernandez nos ayudo a mi familia y a mi en momentos muy dificiles. Estoy muy agradecida por el servicio al cliente que nos dio. El respondio nuestras llamadas rapido, no en dias. Siempre contesto nuestras preguntas, nos explico el proceso y las opciones. Si un dia llegaramos a necesitar representacion legal nuevamente, defenitivamente volveria a llamarle.
Read less
Posted by Sully | December 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Lawyer - A Pleasure to Work With!
I cannot speak more highly about working with Michael Anthony Hernandez. I was charged with a misdemeanor hit and run charge and did not know what to do/who to turn to. I spoke with beverage lawyers and a family friend suggested I talk to Mr. Hernandez about my case. He took the time to listen to my situation and skillfully guide me through the legal process - not only to I feel that I received a better outcome than I ever would have on my own or with other council, the entire process was much less stressful than previous legal experiences I have had. Michael knows his stuff, he was able to lay out what the road map would be for my legal process. I had many questions throughout the process, especially as I would receive correspondence from other participants in my case, and Michael always got back to me in a timely fashion with answers and put me at ease. I am confident that I received the best possible representation and outcome in my case, and I also feel like I paid a fair price. I looked around and am very happy I ended up at the offices of Michael Anthony Hernandez.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 28, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
First Rate Service!!
Our son needed legal representation and Mike Hernandez was recommended to us by another lawyer. From our very first meeting, he helped our family feel at ease and we realized in hiring Mr. Hernandez we would be in very capable hands. He explained each step of the legal process, clearly communicating our options, provided excellent follow up and ultimately produced a favorable outcome for our son's legal case. I highly recommend Mr. Hernandez and would definitely use his services again.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 15, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
We are so glad we called - you will be, too
We are so grateful we called Michael A. Hernandez. After finding out our son had been arrested for very serious criminal charges – felony robbery – we, like most people, called and spoke with several attorneys we found on the internet. Michael A. Hernandez was one of them. If you are looking for an attorney that takes the time to listen carefully, explains thoroughly, gets back quickly, and makes you feel like family, you should retain Michael A. Hernandez. The first day we spoke, he spent nearly an hour on the phone with us. He explained information and made suggestions. The second time we spoke, he spent nearly forty minutes making recommendations and helping us to discern our options. The amount of time Michael A. Hernandez spent was generous to say the least. Additionally, his call back time is nothing short of remarkable. The first time we called, Michael A. Hernandez returned the call in forty minutes and the second time he called back within one hour and fifteen minutes. Spending adequate time to discuss a case and returning calls in a timely fashion are two necessary attributes we want an attorney to have when dealing with the very real possibility of our child facing jail time. The good thing is Michael A. Hernandez has both. Since this for us is a very stressful time, we felt another necessary component was being represented by someone who would explain things in a way would help to put us at ease. Michael A. Hernandez has treated us with great respect and compassion and in a very short time has made us feel that he is in our son’s corner. We hope we never need another attorney. However, if we did, we can say without hesitation we would feel so grateful knowing the only call we would need to make would be to attorney Michael A. Hernandez.
Read less
Posted by Brian | October 18, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
He exemplifies what a Great Attorney should be!
At the age of 35, I found myself facing my very first Domestic Violence case. With a prior felony conviction from over a decade ago, I was almost certain that I may be facing some prison time. Almost hopeless.. Then, I think of my childhood friend who's brother is Michael Hernandez. I give Michael a call whom was just starting a one month personal vacation, listens to my case without even requesting for a fee (unlike some lawyers) and immediately extends his compassion and advice. I've only been to my first court appearance in which I am out on bail, and Michael was able to help me achieve what I was looking for at this point in my case. I can now breathe easy knowing that I have made the right decision in selecting a reputable lawyer in Michael Hernandez and am extremely confident that he will pursue every viable option that is within my best interests moving forward. Absolutely recommend Mike to anyone in need! DO NOT overlook Michael Hernandez when searching for legal counsel. Thanks Mike!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Law Offices of Michael Anthony Hernandez
  • 2004 - Present
  • Of Counsel
  • Morris Law Firm APC
  • 2014 - 2014
  • Contract Attorney
  • Law Offices of Jan Ronis
  • 2004 - 2007
  • Contract Attorney
  • Law Offices of Michael Pancer
  • 2004 - 2007
  • Contract Attorney
  • Law Offices of David Bartick
  • 2004 - 2010
  • Law Clerk
  • Law Offices Of Jan Joseph Bejar, A, PLC
  • 2003 - 2004
  • Law Clerk
  • Law Offices of Greg Obenauer
  • 2002 - 2003
View all work experience

Education

  • University of San Diego School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2003
  • University of California - Berkeley
  • Bachelor of Arts
  • 1997

Sample of Legal Cases

  • In re Joey G., 206 Cal.App.4th 343
  • Reversed and remanded; case dismissed
  • Drug Smuggling
  • Case Dismissed
  • DUI, 0.27 BAC
  • Wet Reckless
View all legal cases

Associations

  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Legislative Committee
  • 2012 - Present
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • New Lawyers Division Committee
  • 2012 - Present
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Board of Governors
  • 2011 - Present
  • San Diego Criminal Defense Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2004 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish

Honors and Awards

  • Top Contributor
  • AVVO
  • 2014
  • Clients' Choice
  • AVVO
  • 2014
  • Superb Rating
  • AVVO
  • 2013
  • Top Contributor
  • AVVO
  • 2013
  • Judge Gerald Brown Progress Award
  • University of San Diego School of Law
  • 2013
View all awards

Publications

  • San Diego Lawyer Magazine
  • Tried & True Efficiency Boosters
  • 2016

Speaking Engagements

  • USD Paralegal Program
  • Paralegals in the Modern Law Office
  • 2016
  • STEPPS
  • Small Law Practice
  • 2013
  • PS475 Administrative Law
  • TSA Administrative Hearings
  • 2013
  • STEPPS
  • Small Law Practice
  • 2012
  • PS475 Administrative Law
  • Administrative Law
  • 2012
  • PS475 Administrative Law
  • Administrative Law
  • 2011
  • PS475 Administrative Law
  • Administrative Law
  • 2010
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (37)
Given (17)
Endorse Michael
Unknown Attorney | Jul 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Michael is willing to share his knowledge and experiences with fellow lawyers."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"It's always a pleasure running into Michael around the courthouse and watching him advocate for clients. He is passionate, intelligent, and articulate; definitely an asset to any client."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mike is a great attorney willing to help his clients and fellow colleagues in the community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 23
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Mike Hernandez is a consummate professional. He is extremely diligent and treats everyone (co-counsel, peers, clients, opposing counsel) with respect. He is bright, creative, and willing to go the extra mile for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Michael is an exceptional criminal defense attorney whose reputation speaks for itself. Highly recommended lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Attorney Hernandez is one of San Diego County's preeminent criminal defense attorneys. His knowledge of criminal defense, and the law in general, makes attorney Hernandez stand out from the rest of the pack. He is highly respected by his peers and State/Fed courts alike, not just for his skills as an attorney, but also for the high character person he is. I highly endorse attorney Hernandez to anyone looking for a top notch criminal defense attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"A tireless and zealous advocate for his clients Michael is a top notch attorney with the results to match. He is sharp minded and knowledgeable and has achieved superior results for his clients. I strongly endorse Michael Hernandez."
Unknown Attorney | May 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Michael is a very competent and compassionate criminal defense attorney."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Michael Hernandez is a leader in the community with his knowledge about his areas of practice. He has a keen understanding of the law and he puts his loyalty and duty to his client first during every step of his representation. As a client, he is a person you can count on to help you when you find yourself in the unfortunate position requiring an attorney. He will not only give you the best legal advice available, he will also ease your concerns by carefully explaining the law as it pertains to your case. As a colleague, he is a person you can depend on to share his unique knowledge in his areas of practice. I highly recommend this attorney."
Unknown Attorney | Nov 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Hernandez is an intelligent and effective attorney, and I highly endorse him."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Hernandez is a fantastic attorney. He is an intelligent and talented advocate. In speaking with Mr. Hernandez I can tell that he is passionate about his work and cares about his clients. Prosecutors, Judges, and other defense attorneys in San Diego have a great deal of respect for this attorney. His stellar reputation is well deserved."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 01
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer without hesitation or reservation. Mr. Hernandez is a fearless attorney and a relentless advocate for his clients. I've had the pleasure of knowing Mr. Hernandez for several years, and I remain consistently impressed with the patience he takes with clients and the tenacity he demonstrates in representing those clients. I strongly recommend Michael A. Hernandez as a criminal defense attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"An extremely talented and well respected attorney in the legal community, I wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone looking for a lawyer who knows the law and truly cares about protecting the rights of his clients and getting them the most favorable result possible."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jul 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 17
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Mr. Hernandez sets a great example of what a lawyer should be. His sincere concern and advocacy for his clients is admirable. He is willing to go above and beyond what's required while representing his clients. I learned so much from Mr. Hernandez and really enjoyed working with him."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 23
Relationship: Friend
"I proudly endorse Mike Hernandez. It's rare to see an attorney work so hard for his clients, but Mike gives every client all he's got! He's an excellent attorney and I routinely refer friends to him and they always tell me how great he is! He is well respected in the San Diego legal community and his results prove it."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Michael Hernandez possesses one of San Diego's best legal minds. Before I personally knew Michael, I already knew of him by way of his reputation in the legal community. Michael's dedication to his cases is unwavering, and his knowledge of the legal process make him one of your best options if you are ever on the wrong side of a criminal complaint. As a client - you want a lawyer that will go to war with you on your case, and Michael is definitely the kind of lawyer you want in your bunker."
White collar crime Attorney | Nov 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Hernandez is well respected in both state and federal courts throughout Southern California. He is an aggressive litigator and routinely earns tremendous results for his clients. I highly endorse Mr. Hernandez and wish nothing but success for him and his practice."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I am very impressed with Mike for his outstanding work and greatly admire the fact that after all these years of working with clients, he still cares about each and every client as if though that client was his first client and puts the time and effort to ensure a fair and reasonable outcome. My firm independently contracts with Mike for criminal law matters. He has been a criminal lawyer for several years and it shows. He is very knowledgeable in his area of expertise. Additionally, he responds promptly to inquiries. I highly recommend him to other firms or clients who are looking for an ethical San Diego based lawyer who will zealously defend his clients."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
DUI and DWI
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
San Diego Criminal defense Lawyer Michael Anthony Hernandez
Michael Anthony Hernandez
Criminal defense Attorney
San Diego, CA
Licensed for 19 years
Free Consultation
Virtual consultation available