Skip to main content

Lindsey Bronwyn Mercer

Criminal defense Attorney at San Diego, CA

5.0   127 reviews
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
  • Licensed for 17 years
    State CA
    Acquired 2006
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Lindsey

Learn Lindsey’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
COMPASSION IN THE TIME OF CRISIS

As a native of San Diego, I attended UC Berkeley and earned a BA degree in political science with an emphasis on US history and politics. After Cal, I spent two years in the non profit sector working as a national leadership consultant working with college campuses across the country. I turned down offers to highly reputable east coast law schools and attended law school at University of San Diego because I knew I wanted to practice law in San Diego and work to better our local community.

 

While in law school, I studied international criminal law at Oxford University in England and the University of Western Cape in Capetown, South Africa. While in Capetown, I had the incredible opportunity to visit South Africa's prisons and discuss the South African and US legal systems with the wardens and prisoners. These conversations led me to my career as a criminal defense attorney. My office is committed to ensure clients' rights to the best legal representation possible, help clients get back on the right track, provide compassion in the time of crisis, and work to improve the justice system.

 

My defense experience includes being a part of the defense team for three death penalty cases, co-counsel for a high profile attempted murder case, co- counsel for a murder case where we exonerated a client for a murder he did not commit after serving 11 years in prison, lead counsel on federal gang racketeering/child pornography charges, and representation of clients accused of DUIs, domestic violence charges, drug offenses, theft offenses, sex offenses, violent felonies, murder, rape, and juvenile cases. I handle all types of misdemeanor and felony cases including felony cases with prior strikes. I have significant experience handling cases for members of all branches of the US military.

 

In my spare time, you can find me cheering on my beloved Cal bears, running, spin class, and exploring the world.

 

Awards

Client's Choice 2019,2018,2017,2016,2015,2014,2013,2012
Client's Choice
2019 2018 2017 + 5 ...

Photos and videos

View more

Location

Law Office of Lindsey B. Mercer

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  127 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2019
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Scott | March 3, 2014
Driven Attorney that truly cares about you.
Lindsey worked tirelessly to help us through this process and hit the “Grand Slam” we were looking for. She works as hard for her clients as much as she cares for them. We would recommend her to anyone that needs help or guidance with legal issues in the future.
Posted by anonymous | January 12, 2014
Highly capable lawyer with integrity and compassion
Lindsey was extremely professional and knowledgeable about the law, system and court personnel. She made herself readily available for any questions, no matter how small, and fought hard for fair treatment of my case. I would highly recommend Lindsey.
Posted by Kevin | November 20, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding customer service
Lindsey Mercer is a competent and capable Lawyer. She successfully helped me with my case. I highly recommend her services!
Posted by Abel | August 1, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lindsay is the best
Lindsay is the best I've seen in 20 years she will fight for you Lindsay is the best of the best
Posted by Nathan | April 27, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lindsey is amazing!
Lindsey has helped me numerous times and is an amazing attorney! When I first started my business which depended in my ability to drive and get to job sites all over SoCal I racked up an unfortunate string if speeding tickets and Lindsey was crucial to helping me keep my license.
Posted by anonymous | March 2, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
M.S. Adjunct Professor of Psychology
LIfe has been hard on everyone during this Covid-19 time. I had a significant legal matter that needed tending to, made harder due to court delays, but Lindsey tenaciously stayed with the process from beginning to end in spite of hiccups placed in her path along the way. She created an atmosphere of trust throughout the process, and there was never a moment wherein I doubted I was in good hands. My legal outcome was exactly what was hoped for, and now I know I have a "go-to" attorney for any future need. She is not only a highly competent attorney, she is a genuine and thoughtful human. I strongly recommend her services.
Read less
Posted by Joseph Alise | March 9, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Professional
She has helped me more than I expected. She has gone above and beyond her call of duty to assist me and I cannot thank her enough. She truly cares about her clients and will always devote all of her time and resources to help you.
Posted by anonymous | January 8, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing attorney
Lindsey is an amazing attorney. From the very beginning, she was so compassionate which helped calm my nerves. She reassured me that I was in the right place and that she would take care of my case. She clearly explained the process and kept me up to date. She ended up getting a complete dismissal on my case! Best possible outcome! I can’t thank her enough, she is the absolute best.
Read less
Posted by Laura | October 25, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Service
I honestly have no words for how grateful I am for Lindsey. She is an amazing Attorney. Such a patient and very constant person. Always kept me in the loop for everything and amazing communication. Made sure I was always taken care of and guided me through every aspect of my case. Highly knowledgeable and understanding.
Posted by Allison | October 21, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very committed
Lindsey was an excellent attorney and very committed to helping me. She always kept me in the loop and answered any questions.
Posted by Aaron | October 14, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lindsey gave me confidence that my case would have a successful outcome.
I first met Lindsey through the recommendation of a mutual friend. From the beginning, Lindsey gave me her full attention. She understood my situation clearly, and I felt empathy from her. She asked me the questions that matter in a legal sense. She gave me a reality check while keeping an optimistic attitude. Immediately I had confidence my case would be handled right. Along the way, Lindsey kept me informed and followed up when needed. I did not ever have concern that my matter was being handled. There were even a few times I had other, unrelated legal questions. Lindsey always made time and provided thoughtful and helpful input. I highly recommend Lindsey.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 10, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
MIP and DUI case
In 2017 and then also in 2018, I had got an MIP and then charged with a DUI (on a golf cart) while I was under 21 years old. I hired Lindsey and although she was quite expensive she was totally worth it. She got my MIP case dropped and my DUI reduced to a wet reckless. I had to do some necessary things and court fees and such, but then only a year and three months into my probation (out of 3 years for a wet reckless), she was able to get probation removed and the wet reckless expunged. Now I can apply to be an officer in the Marine Corps which was my plan originally.
Read less
Posted by Kelijah | June 26, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Fraud case
Was the most amazing attorney that me and my mom was privileged to have. Going in to having two felony charges, and at the end getting a dismissal on all charges. I really recommend getting her as your attorney.
Posted by Sean | September 21, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Legend enough said.
I was very pleased with Lindsey and everything she did to help out my case. She is extremely professional, knowledgeable, compassionate, and caring. I would highly recommend Lindsey to anyone in need of an outstanding Lawyer. We got the best possible outcome and will be forever grateful for her expertise. Honestly carried herself with such class throughout.
Read less
Posted by Matt | September 19, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
She will fight hard, no matter how long it takes
If you are looking for a lawyer who isnt in it for a quick buck, who fights hard, does the extra, and will get the job done no matter how long it takes, Lindsey Mercer is the right choice. Sometimes the justice system can seem unfair, stacked against you, intimidating, and scary. Lindsey made sure to show me she was doing the right things to help me get a fair outcome in my case. My case took 18 months from start to finish, and Ms. Mercer was there every step of the way to fight hard for me, take the necessary steps to make sure my legal rights were enforced, and keep me educated every step of the way. In the end, after all the time I spent agonizing and worried, everything played out just like Lindsey said it would. She did not fill me with a false sense of hope; rather, she gave me the information I needed to help me understand all possible outcomes in my case. FINALLY!!!!! It got resolved with a favorable outcome that I was happy with. If you are worried, nervous, and just plain want a lawyer who will fight to the end for you, do yourself a favor and go with Lindsey Law!
Read less
Posted by Cesar | September 18, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Top notch representation
I was very pleased with the way Ms. Mercer defended me. She achieved the best possible outcome in my case. I highly recommend retaining her services.
Posted by Eric | September 18, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Work
Successfully reduced and expunged both convictions against me. Gave me a new lease on life. Truly a miracle worker.
Posted by David | July 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Felony DUI Case
I was referred to Lindsey Mercer by a family friend who had used her legal services before. Lindsey's legal expertise played a vital role throughout my case from the night of my car accident up until my sentencing date. Lindsey showed tremendous compassion and sympathy towards my family throughout the entire legal process concerning the uniqueness of my case. Having lost my brother in the car accident we were involved in, I was facing three separate counts being PC 151 (b) Vehicular Manslaughter, VC23153 (a) & (b) DUI causing bodily injury, and a bail set at the amount of $250,000. The maximum prison term I was facing was 15 years. Lindsey Mercer was able to put together a memo for my arraignment and the judge released me from custody on (OR) without bail. Under the conditions that I wear an alcohol monitor bracelet by SCRAM. My case lasted 10 months. Throughout these past 10 months I remained in constant communication with Lindsey regarding every possible detail that could be used for mitigation. There was not a single moment that I doubted Lindsey's hard work and expertise regarding my case. I was able to go to each of my readiness hearings with full confidence that Lindsey was prepared to represent me to the fullest extent. Communication is extremely important to me because I like to remain in the loop and know what is going on. Lindsey's communication with me involved, in person meetings at her office, phone calls, text, and constant emails updating me throughout my entire case, which I am very thankful for. Regarding my case Lindsey was able to reduce my maximum prison sentence from 15 years to 7 years. I believe that most attorney's would be happy with this result, but Lindsey didn't stop there. She continued to build a strong case on my behalf and this past June I was sentenced to 5 years probation with a 2 year prison sentence that would be stayed. I am able to rest and breathe easy knowing that I do not have to go to prison or serve another day in jail. I am beyond thankful for all of Lindsey's hard work and dedication throughout my entire case. She is an attorney who wants and will work for the best result possible for her clients. Lindsey is easy to work with and will do whatever she can to help you as well as your family get through whatever legal matters you may be facing. Thank you Lindsey!
Read less
Posted by Maggie | November 27, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Forever Thankful for Lindsey
Lindsey helped me with a very complicated federal case that I was dragged into by my previous employer. She was by my side the whole time and 3 years later it was finally resolved. She made sure I was protected and knew what I was walking into at every step. She kept me informed of the case progress throughout the 3 years and I felt like she made me a priority. I will be forever grateful to Lindsey for helping me through this process.
Read less
Posted by Nathaniel | October 10, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Total Package
Out of the multiple lawyers I spoke with before finally hiring Lindsey, she was the only one that took time to explain how situations like mine play out and to not make me feel like it was inconvenient that I was trying to hire them. This was a demeanor that continued through the entire process. I always felt like I was a priority and that Lindsey wanted to make sure my questions were answered. On top of that she’s a phenomenal lawyer and was able to deal with every step of the process with as little inconvenience to my busy working schedule as possible. I’m hopeful that I won’t need to resolve a situation like this again but she would be my first call if I did.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Criminal Defense Attorney
  • Law Offices of Lindsey B. Mercer
  • 2013 - Present
  • Panel Attorney
  • Office of Assigned Counsel
  • 2007 - Present
  • Criminal Defense Attorney
  • Law Offices of C. Bradley Patton
  • 2005 - 2013
  • Alcohol Education Initiatives Consultant
  • North-American Interfraternity Conference
  • 2000 - 2002
View all work experience

Education

  • Univ of San Diego SOL
  • JD- Law
  • 2005
  • Univ of California Berkeley
  • Undergraduate
  • 1999

Sample of Legal Cases

  • People v Sabory
  • Case Dismissed
  • People v Acciani
  • All charges dismissed!
  • People v Andrade
  • Case Dismissed.
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Pi Beta Phi Foundation
  • Volunteer, Undergraduate Scholarship Selection Committee
  • 2018 - Present
  • National Association of Professional Women
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Lawyers Club of San Diego
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • National Women Trial Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Consumer Attorneys of San Diego
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • San Diego Criminal Defense Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • San Diego County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Pi Beta Phi Fraternity for Women
  • Member
  • 1995 - Present
  • Pi Beta Phi Fraternity for Women
  • Chapter Advisor
  • 2006 - 2010
  • Beta Theta Pi Fraternity
  • Chapter Advisor & Volunteer
  • 2002 - 2012
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • San Diego Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2017
  • Best of the Bar
  • San Diego Business Journal
  • 2016
  • San Diego Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Top 40 Under 40
  • The National Trial Lawyers
  • 2015
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • The National Trial Lawyers
  • 2015
  • "10 Best" Client Satisfaction Award
  • American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys
  • 2015
  • Top 40 Criminal Defense Attorney Under 40-California
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2015
  • Top 40 Criminal Defense Attorney under 40- California
  • The American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2014
  • Top 10 under 40 Attorney Award (Nationally Ranked)
  • National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys
  • 2014
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • The National Trial Lawyers
  • 2014
  • San Diego Woman of the Year (Finalist)
  • San Diego Magazine
  • 2014
  • Outstanding Young Attorney
  • San Diego Daily Transcript
  • 2013
  • Nominee, Top Criminal Attorney in San Diego
  • San Diego Daily Transcript
  • 2013
  • Chapter Advisor of the Year
  • University of San Diego
  • 2012
  • Dr. Edward B. Taylor Chapter Advisor of the Year
  • Beta Theta Pi Fraternity
  • 2012
  • Outstanding Friend of Beta (Southwest Region)
  • Beta Theta Pi Fraternity
  • 2010
  • Statute of Justice Award
  • USD School of Law
  • 2005
  • Betty Gilmore Woods Award- Outstanding Commitment & Service
  • Association of Fraternal Leadership & Values
  • 2005
View all awards

Publications

  • California Continuing Education of the Bar (CEB)
  • Arrest & Bench Warrants
  • 2016
  • California Criminal Law - Procedure and Practice
  • Arrests & Bench Warrants
  • 2015
  • CEB California Criminal Law Procedure & Practice Manual
  • Arrests & Bench Warrants
  • 2014
  • California Criminal Law Procedure & Practice Manual
  • Arrests & Bench Warrants
  • 2013
  • California Criminal Law - Procedure and Practice
  • Arrests & Bench Warrants
  • 2012
  • California Criminal Law - Procedure and Practice
  • Arrests & Bench Warrants
  • 2011
  • California Criminal Law - Procedure and Practice
  • Arrests & Bench Warrants
  • 2010
  • California Criminal Law - Procedure and Practice
  • Arrests & Bench Warrants
  • 2009
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • USD Leadership Retreat
  • Radical Leap: Extreme Leadership
  • 2012
  • USD IFC New Member Recruitment
  • "After Hours: Legal Reality of Sex, Drugs, & Alcohol"
  • 2012
  • Beta Theta Pi General Convention Leadership College
  • "After Hours: Legal Reality of Sex, Drugs, and Alcohol"
  • 2011
  • USD Undergraduate Retreat
  • Radical Leap: Extreme Leadership
  • 2009
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (26)
Given (16)
Endorse Lindsey
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 06
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Lindsey is as good as they come. Her expertise and tireless work ethic are surpassed only by the care and consideration that she devotes to each one of her cases. I have worked with Lindsey on matters in the past, and would recommend her without hesitation to anyone in need of her services."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Lindsey is an exceptional criminal defense attorney whose reputation speaks for itself. Highly recommended lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ms. Mercer is an extremely knowledgable criminal defense practitioner. She defends her clients' rights aggressively yet professionally. She has earned the respect of both her fellow attorneys and the judges. Ms. Mercer commonly achieves favorable outcomes in difficult cases, and I strongly endorse her."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Lindsey for over 10 years and know her to be a compassionate, hard working advocate for every one of her clients. She works tirelessly to achieve the best possible outcome for her clients. Lindsey is very well respected in the San Diego legal community by both attorneys and judges. Lindsey keeps her clients informed about all aspects of their case, she is always prepared, and has an in depth knowledge of criminal law. I highly recommend Lindsey."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Lindsey is an extraordinary attorney and exceptional in her field. She has worked on extremely difficult cases and I have seen first hand the outstanding results she achieves through her hard work and advocacy. In addition to being a skilled attorney, she has a unique ability to relate to both judges and prosecution the specific circumstances of her clients, which sets her clients apart from the sea of other cases before the courts. Her ability to do this transforms her client from a file on a desk to a human being, and translates into great outcomes for her clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ms. Mercer is an excellent attorney who is well respected in the criminal defense community. I have personally seen her get results for her clients in the courtroom. I endorse Attorney Lindsey Mercer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Judges and prosecutors in San Diego have a great deal of respect for Lindsey Mercer. Unquestionably, this reputation is well deserved. She is professional, experienced in the field, and a clever advocate for her clients. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ms. Mercer is one of the most well liked and respected attorneys in the San Diego Criminal Defense community. I have referred a number of cases to her, and on many occasions have sought her counsel for an experience and educated perspective in cases of my own. You will not find an attorney in this city with more dedication and passion in obtaining the best results possible for their clients in every case. For these reasons, I highly endorse Ms. Mercer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Lindsey is one the best attorneys there is. She is extremely dedicated to her clients but more importantly she has an unending desire to learn. She is continually trying to educate herself about the changes to the law and the special nuances of her practice."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 01
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Lindsey and I have consulted on numerous matters. She is a wealth of knowledge and a pure professional. She takes care of her clients with a passion for doing the right thing. I highly endorse her."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"When my clients are in a REAL jam, I send them to Ms. Mercer. I trust her (literally) with my clients' lives. I can give no higher complement."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Linsey Mercer is a stand-out criminal defense lawyer in San Diego. She has built a reputation among defense lawyers and prosecutors as a fierce legal advocate, and her down-to-earth style never fails to resonate with judges and juries to her clients' benefit."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I personally know Lindsey to be well respected amongst judges, prosecutors and the entire defense bar association. Lindsey is a defense attorney for the right reasons; the pursuit of justice and for the privilege of zealously representing her clients. I see her work long hours daily to ensure the best possible defense for her clients - if she is your lawyer, you are in good hands."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ms. Mercer was gracious enough to consult with me on a case that I had some questions on. Not only was she able to answer all of my questions accurately (and off the top of her head), she spent time during our discussion critically thinking about strategy decisions and ultimately helped me put my client in the best position for success. She was extremely professional and highly intelligent. I give Ms. Mercer a wholehearted endorsement."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"This attorney works very hard for the client and keeps up with the law by attending legal seminars to assist them in this regard. I endorse this attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Lindsey Mercer is an accomplished defense attorney who is well respected in the San Diego legal community for providing outstanding service to her clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have seen Lindsey in court for many years. She is a relentless advocate for her clients. She is well known and respected by everyone in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Your resume speaks for itself and I consider you a valuable member of the attorney community. I would recommend you to anyone and everyone who needs your services. I whole heartedly endorse this lawyer!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Lindsey is a dedicated advocate and tireless worker. She offers both expert advice and a keen knowledge of court processes. She is well respected by judges, prosecutors and fellow defense attorneys. I highly recommend her!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Other
"Lindsey is one of the most honest, hard working and intelligent attorneys I know. She is a constant professional who works diligently to ensure her clients' best interests are maintained. Any person would be fortunate to have Lindsey as an attorney - he or she would be in good hands."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Estate planning
Criminal defense
Speeding and traffic ticket
Employment and labor
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury