Skip to main content

Paul Robert Sommer

Personal injury Attorney at Encino, CA

5.0   8 reviews

also known as Paul R. Sommer, Paul Sommer

  • Licensed for 47 years
    State CA
    Acquired 1976
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Paul

Learn Paul’s areas of practice.

   I am an attorney whose area of practice is limited to personal injury, car accidents, truck accidents, motorcycle accidents, medical malpractice, products liability, pedestrian accidents, motorcycle accidents, brain injury, auto accidents and wrongful death cases. I started my career in the Office of the Public Defender.  Since leaving the Public Defender's Office in 1977 I have been a plaintiff’s personal injury attorney and a consumer advocate.

Photos and videos

View more

Location

Sommer & Bear
15840 Ventura Boulevard
Suite 201
Encino, CA, 91436

Similar lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  8 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Shannon | October 26, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend!
I was involved in a car accident and hired Paul Sommer who was referred to me. I know many attorneys that could have handled my case but after meeting Paul, I felt he would be the best for my case. From day one to the day we settled, Paul handled my case in the most professional manner, and was always there to handle all my phone calls and concerns. I've already referred Paul to a friend and will continue to do so.
Read less
Posted by Mark | October 6, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Professional/Personal Services
I was introduced by a friend (pleaded anonymity) to the law offices of Sommers & Bear sometime in April,2017 as a result of ghastly automobile accident. In my first office visit/consultation, I was warmly received by Paul Sommer who diligently asked about the facts and circumstances surrounding the accident. The following facts surround the accident. On 4/5/2017, I was hit almost head-on by a teenager driver who had no automobile insurance, but produced a fake or expired AAA insurance in-order to evade police arrest. My car was totaled. Unfortunately for me I was only insured for liability damages, and no coverage for uninsured motorist. The ensuing police report found fault and reckless on the other driver. My insurance company (Farmer's) refused to take any financial responsibility for my loss/damages. After a thorough analysis and detailed investigation, Attorney Sommers sprung into action as he vigorously fought my insurance company even as they refused to honor my claims citing lack of sufficient coverage. I almost lost hope, but Mr. did not take "no" for answer. Mr. remained dogged and persistent as he pursued this case against the insurance company on my behalf. Consequently, Attorney prevailed, and the insurance company favorably settled my case even against my best imagination. In a nutshell, I am very grateful for the professional assistance accorded me by Mr. Sommer's legal team/staff. My story would not be complete if I fail to mention the administrative support provided by Ms. Carol (office manager). Ms Carol is an enviable, professional, courteous, and lovely lady. I would grade to earn the distinction of "a true lawyer's secretary". I could go on and on to say the positive experience I received from the law firm of Sommers & Bear, but will stop now for the interest of brevity. In the final analysis, God forbid, but if I were to be involved in any legal issues, or know someone who needs legal representation, I would not hesitate to recommend the law offices of Sommers & Bear, Inc. Thanks.
Read less
Posted by Carole | April 2, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very pleased
Working with Paul was an great experience. He is a very professional, knowledgeable and caring man. I was very pleased with the way my case was handled and would not hesitate to recommend to my family and friends. I was very please with out come of my case.
Posted by Edward | March 18, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Better call Paul
I was referred to Paul Sommer by a close friend after a my first car accident. With the stresses of that, Paul has been by my side the entire way. When you need help Better call Paul. He fights for his clients and will do everything in his power to Get you what you deserve.
Posted by Nicki | February 22, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent!
Paul was attentive to my needs and did an excellent job. I was very happy with the settlement. I would recommend him highly.
Posted by Marla | February 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
extremely satisfied client
Paul Sommer's was an incredible attorney. He was always available for my phone calls, kept me extremely updated on my case and made me feel I was the only one he was working for although I saw many clients in his office. He is such a competent attorney.
Posted by Alan | February 19, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Review and rating of Attorney Paul Sommer
I have hired Paul Sommer several times throughout the years. He has proven to be accessible, intelligent, and professional. Additionally, the outcome of each cases has been favorable to me.
Posted by Karen | February 15, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Knowledgeable, effective
Mr. Sommer was not only able to help me very effectively with my automobile accident, but he is also well connected all over the Valley and West Side so that he was able to refer me to other law specialists when I needed them.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
  • Contingency 33%-40%
Payment methods
Cash, Check

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.9 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Sommer And Bear
  • 1977 - Present
  • Law Clerk and Lawyer
  • Los Angeles County Public Defenders Office
  • 1975 - 1976

Education

  • Whittier College School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1976
  • California State University, Northridge
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1970
  • University of Southern California Law Center
  • Advanced Legal Education Family Law Pracice
  • N/A
  • Oregon State University
  • N/A
View all education

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Gilmore v. Acme Rentals
  • Judgement for Plaintiff; Th largest verdict in Burbank Courthouse to that date
  • People v. Cundle
  • Judgement Affirmed with Saeta, J. Dissenting

Associations

  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1990 - Present
  • Consumer Attorneys Association of Los Angeles
  • Member
  • 1985 - Present
  • California Consumer Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 1985 - Present
  • Beverly Hills Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1978 - Present
  • American Bar Association, Litigation Section
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Association of Trial Lawyers of America
  • Member
  • N/A
  • State Bar of California, Family Law Section
  • N/A
  • State Bar of California, Litigation Section
  • N/A
  • Beverly Hills Bar Association, ADR Section
  • N/A
  • Beverly Hills Bar association Personal Injury Section
  • N/A
  • University of Pacific Parents Association
  • President
  • 2009 - 2012
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Italian

Honors and Awards

  • Preeminent 5.0 out of 5
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5 Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • Southern California Top Rated Lawyer Rating
  • Los Angeles Times
  • N/A
  • Certificate of Appreciation Attorney/Client Realtions Committee
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • N/A
  • Certificate of Appreciation For Services As A Mediator
  • Santa Monica Bar Association and Santa Monica Judiciary
  • N/A
  • Cerificate of Appreciation For Service as a Bar Mediator
  • Beverly Hills Bar Association
  • N/A
  • Certificate of Appreciation For Services As An Arbitrator
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association, Dispute Resoltion Services
  • N/A
  • Commendation For Services As a Fee Arbitrator
  • Stae Bar Of California Board of Governors
  • N/A
View all awards

Publications

  • Syllabus
  • Beverly Hills Bar Family Law Symposium
  • 2005
  • 174 Cal. App. 3d 610
  • People v. Maezett (published opinion)
  • 1985
  • 98 Cal. App. 3d Supp. 34.
  • People v Cundle ( Published Opinion)
  • 1979

Speaking Engagements

  • Family Law Symposium
  • Updates In Family Law
  • 2002

Attorney endorsements

Received (19)
Given (24)
Endorse Paul
Personal injury Attorney | Mar 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Paul is an excellent attorney committed to providing the highest quality representation to clients. I endorse this attorney without reservation."
Motorcycle accident Attorney | Feb 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Paul is an excellent attorney committed to providing highest quality representation to clients. I endorse him without reservation."
Car accident Attorney | Feb 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Attorney Sommer is an experienced professional, held in high esteem in the legal community. His responses on AVVO are profound, yet brief and address the key issues in clear English, comprehensible to the potential client, often citing or including links in the answer, which is extremely helpful."
Motorcycle accident Attorney | Jan 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Paul is a highly skilled, diligent and knowledgeable attorney who is well-known in the legal community for his outstanding professionalism. He was able to obtain satisfactory results even for clients whose cases were incredibly difficult by dedicating his time and effort to achieve the best results. I certainly endorse this lawyer and have no doubt he will be of great help to anyone seeking legal advice or representation within his main areas of practice."
Personal injury Attorney | Jun 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He is professional, experienced and knowledgeable."
Personal injury Attorney | Jun 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Knowledgeable and accurate."
Personal injury Attorney | May 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Personal injury Attorney | May 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Sommer knows how to treat his injured clients. He gives them the respect and sensitivity that they need, and he helps them achieve the legal victory that they deserve. He is a fine man, father, husband, and lawyer. Car crash? Better call Paul."
Personal injury Attorney | May 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Paul has provided thoughtful answers to complex legal questions. He has shown true concern for clients."
Unknown Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Personal injury Attorney | Apr 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Personal injury Attorney | Apr 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have experience dealing with Paul Sommer in his capacity as a California Personal Injury Attorney. Paul knows personal injury law in California and I would feel comfortable referring clients to him."
Personal injury Attorney | Apr 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Personal injury Attorney | Mar 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. SOmmer consistently provides very helpful advice on Avvo. He is well versed in this area of the law and has years of experience to back up his knowledge."
Personal injury Attorney | Mar 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Sommer is an excellent, highly-respected personal injury attorney. He provides consistently accurate answers to questions posted here on Avvo. I highly recommend Mr. Sommer if you need representation in any personal injury matter."
Personal injury Attorney | Mar 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He consistently gives well reasoned and helpful commentary on Avvo."
Motorcycle accident Attorney | Mar 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Mar 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. His answers to questions posed are very informative and well thought out."
Personal injury Attorney | Feb 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer for all personal injury matters -As a probate/elder law lawyer myself, I refer all my probate /trust clients to Paul for negligence/malpractice/car accident matters and have only heard positive feedback from any contact they've made with him. Moreover, I also endorse him as a client of his myself . I have unfortunately been involved in a couple of car accidents throughout the years and each time have taken my case to Paul. The reason I go back to Paul is because of the good results he's obtained each time - for me and my family - and the personal attention and care he has for his clients."
View more endorsements
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Car accident
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Estate planning
Personal injury
Personal injury
Personal injury
Encino Personal injury Lawyer Paul Robert Sommer
Paul Robert Sommer
Personal injury Attorney
Encino, CA
Licensed for 47 years
Free Consultation