Skip to main content

Kelly Chang Rickert

Adoption Attorney at Pasadena, CA

5.0   39 reviews

also known as Professor Rickert

  • State Years
    Texas - TX 1 year
    California - CA 24 years
  • Licensed for 1 year
    State TX
    Acquired 2023
    Status
    Eligible to Practice in Texas No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 24 years
    State CA
    Acquired 2000
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Kelly

Learn Kelly’s areas of practice.

Hello, and thank you for visiting my page! I am the owner of Law Offices of Kelly Chang. We know family matters. Our practice is devoted to helping those who need us where it matters most -at home. My practice is limited to Family Law including Divorce, Annulment, Spousal Support, Child Support; Modification, Child Custody and Visitation, Prenuptial and Postnuptial Agreements, Property Division; Restraining Orders

---
Kelly Chang Rickert knows family matters.  As founder of Law Offices of Kelly Chang, her firm devotes its entire practice to family law.  For almost ten years, she has handled a variety of cases with issues involving divorce, child custody and visitation, child support, spousal support, property division, and domestic violence issues.  She is frequently quoted in the media and is a legal expert for CBS, NBC, Inside Edition, Entertainment Tonight, OMG! Insider, The Insider, TV Guide, MTV, NPR, E!, Style Network, People Magazine, Life and Style, Star Magazine, Hollywood Reporter, Forbes, Reuters, in celebrity divorce and paternity cases, including the Kardashians, Britney Spears, Mel Gibson, Charlie Sheen, Kobe Bryant and Michael Jackson.  Mrs. Chang Rickert is an active member of the Los Angeles County Bar Association and American Bar Association, and has authored several articles on family law.

Photos and videos

View more

Location

Law and Mediation Offices of Kelly Chang
438 S. Pasadena Ave.
Pasadena, CA, 91105
Los Angeles Divorce and Family Lawyer
Law and Mediation Offices of Kelly Chang
5405 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 236
Los Angeles, CA, 90036
San Francisco Prenup Lawyers
240 Stockton St.
Suite 400
San Francisco, CA, 94108
San Diego Prenup Lawyers
1020 Prospect St.
Suite 250
San Diego, CA, 92037
Hide locations

Adoption lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  39 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Mark | April 1, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Thank You for a Job Well Done !
Kelly and her staff did a masterful job handling my divorce. I searched the internet for an attorney as soon as I was served the papers and decided on Kelly’s group after viewing her webpage. It was very impressive and had a fair amount of useful information delivered with compassion and warmth. I felt that I would be taken care of and they proved me right. Everyone was prompt, attentive and professional. It was comforting to know that they were all looking out for my best interest and did they deliver! I am totally satisfied with how things turned out and I would highly recommend Kelly’s services.
Read less
Posted by Daniel | May 16, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
definitely recommend for dicorce attorney
Kelly provided invaluable guidance through my divorce. She recommended our mediator which we both liked and reviewed and modified our settlement judgement, (several times - it took a while). She was always prompt to respond to my concerns and questions even during the pandemic. I would definitely recommend her to my friends.
Posted by anonymous | August 24, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best in Town!
Kelly Chang has been a God-sent in my divorce case. At the first, I was hesitant to hire an attorney because I did not want to come out of the divorce completely broke. From out first consultation, I immediately felt that Kelly would be the best person to represent me. Her professionalism did not take anything away from her nurturing ways. No action was ever taken without her first discussing it with me. I received consistent updates on my case, and not once did she put money before my well-being and that of my son. She regularly inquired about my son to make sure he was doing fine during those difficult times. One evening, when I was feeling quite depressed about the impact the divorce was having on my child, imagine that Kelly spent hours communicating with me, giving me advice and lifting me up. I will never forget my experience with Kelly who made me feel like I was not alone in this divorce. I felt protected but also vindicated when she piled up victory after victory in my case. She fights like a bull, but she does it with grace, confidence, and fairness. I was lucky to have her in my corner!
Read less
Posted by Sandra | August 11, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Ms.
Kelly helped me with my prenup. She made the process so easy and smooth and thats all we wanted. She recommended a lawyer for my fiance and that made the process so much easier. She gave me tips and helped me answer all the questions I had along the way. I would definitely recommend her and if your fiance doesn't have a lawyer she can recommend a lawyer which makes it easier when they know each other because they were both professional and respectful. So happy we finished our prenup and I love what she says "may your prenup have spiderwebs and hope you never use it, just like life insurance" unfortunately sometimes you gotta get it due to certain circumstances. But luckily my fiance and I knew our agreements already on what we wanted and why were getting it. Thank you Kelly and thanks for referring my fiance another great lawyer.
Read less
Posted by Brett | June 20, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
I picked Kelly...and I'm SO glad I did!
Kelly was the third attorney I talked with. I chose her on the same call as she was direct and had such a easy to talk to personality. I wasn't getting that 'click' with others I talked to. They were all just fine...but I did want that 'ah-ha' moment with someone. Kelly is fantastic. She stayed on top of all I needed before my wedding. Her and her team would gently nudge me to keep things on track and timely. She kept me in the loop on billing in real time. Such a pro and such an open personality. The best of both worlds! A+ & thumbs up!
Read less
Posted by Robert | December 19, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Robert Chang
If you want an attorney who is a “shark lawyer” or one who likes to litigate at all costs, you should look elsewhere. But if you want an experienced attorney who is extremely competent, abides by the law, has an arsenal of tools to come to a negotiated resolution, but who is not hesitant to go to litigation if necessary, then Kelly Chang is a great fit. My ex is an extremely difficult person to deal with, so it was a bit shocking to me that Kelly was able to bring this case to a resolution. Kelly tries to save her client money whenever possible, but advices the client to spend money when it is strategically necessary. She returns calls and emails very quickly, and engages help from other competent attorneys at cheaper rates to save some money for her clients. She is personable and compassionate but never a pushover. I was fortunate to have picked Kelly as my divorce attorney.
Read less
Posted by John | December 16, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Superb attorney
I highly recommend Kelly Chang to anyone needing a family law attorney. She is very experienced and this was evident in all my dealings with her. She writes complex contracts in concise english that is intelligible to someone with no legal training like myself. She is quick to respond, even outside normal office hours when needed, and happy to pick up the phone and talk in person. She is sympathetic and provides wise advice when needed. I would happily recommend her to anyone.
Read less
Posted by Kevin Johnson | July 17, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you
Kellie worked with me to make sure I was well informed and represented well during the whole process. She had a very straight forward and pragmatic approach to hard issues and was great at keeping me calm when things got a bit stressful. I wish I could say divorce is fun and exciting..not true but Kellie helped make it a lot less painful than it had to be. She is a great attorney and cares about what happens to you. She’s a good person.
Read less
Posted by Ruth | June 13, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
She genuinely cares
Kelly is wonderful. I had some custody/traveling issues recently and I came to her for help and she did amazing. She listened and showed genuine care for my situation. I recommend Kelly to anyone and everyone. She is informative, knows the law, but most importantly cares for her clients and that right there says everything. Thank you Kelly!
Read less
Posted by Aaron | May 11, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended - prenuptial agreement
Kelly is amazing. She recently helped me with a prenuptial agreement, and it couldn't have been easier. Kelly took the time to answer all of my questions, and I felt informed and comfortable the whole time. Caring, professional, and efficient. Thank you Kelly for being so awesome. :) I would highly recommend Kelly as a family law attorney.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 2, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Kelly is great!!
Kelly Chang is great! She recently helped me with a prenuptial agreement and she was very thorough. She explained many aspects of the law in regards to marriage and made it easy to understand (such as what is considered communal property once married). She took the time to make sure she understood my needs and wants as well as made sure my agreement stated so. Kelly takes the time to make sure everything is correct and fair for you as a client and has your best interest in mind. I highly recommend her services, especially in regard to prenuptial agreements!
Read less
Posted by Sarah | March 16, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Strongly recommended!
Kelly is my third attorney during my whole divorce process since 2014, and it was a VERY LONG process. When I came to her office, I was desperate to get divorce with my ex who is hiding over sea. She guided me and helped me to understand the whole process step by step. She is expensive, but she also want you to save money, so everything she told you there is no BS. Kelly is very well-responded, she replied email very fast unless she was with a client or she was at trial. Kelly is very honest and knowledgeable, she will tell you the worst outcome, even though it's very ugly, and you wouldn't like to hear it most likely, and it's up to you to use it to negotiate with the other size, in my case, we settled without going through the court. She also told me what is a good evidence and what is not. She fights, more important, she fights smartly. One more thing I would like to mention, she cares, she cares about you, your emotion, your child and she will guide the best to you. I definitely recommend her to anyone who is seeking for a divorce lawyer.
Read less
Posted by David | February 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Kelly is my mom's angel!
When my mom needed a lawyer, I didn't know what to do. I was scared and stressed out. My heart was pumping outside my chest. My mom gave me everything and I couldn't do anything for her when she needed me the most. My dad just wouldn't stop. The creditors kept coming. Every time we had a family law problem, Kelly was able to solve it. Every time we were thrown a curb ball, Kelly knocked it out of the ball park. Every time my mom prayed, Kelly was the answer. She is simply amazing and incredible. Excellent describes her very well. She is excellent and diligent. She is a super lawyer and 5 star attorney. No games. I love her for helping my mom. I'll eternally be grateful to her. I highly highly recommend this lawyer for anyone dealing with any family law matter.
Read less
Posted by Taryn | January 8, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended! (Divorce)
I hired Kelly to help me with rejected divorce paperwork. My ex-husband and I tried to save money by doing the filing ourselves since we had no kids and no shared assets, but we kept making errors, so I decided to have an attorney review everything. Kelly was efficient, friendly, accurate and easy to talk to, well worth the money since they finally signed the judgement after almost a year of back and forth with the court. I also sincerely appreciated the follow-up included with her fee, really gave me peace of mind.
Read less
Posted by Nanar | December 27, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mediation
My husband and I hired Kelly Chang as a mediator for preparing the paperwork for our divorce. She was very professional, efficient and pleasant to work with. Her prices were fair and well worth it.
Posted by Claudia | November 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce
Kelly is a competent lawyer who truly care about her client. Understanding, Reliable. All my expectations and needs were meet in a very professional manner. Highly recommended.
Posted by Michael | October 30, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Kelly Chang Rickert Review
Most people know obtaining a premarital agreement is never a fun process, but if you have to do it, Kelly is definitely the right choice. I leaned heavily on Kelly's vast experience and she was incredibly professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. Kelly made the whole process go smoothly and quickly. The turnaround time for the documents and revisions was fast and efficient. It's a difficult task finding a reliable and professional family law firm if you've never had to deal with it before, but fortunately I was lucky to stumble across Kelly. Based on my first hand experience, I highly recommend Kelly to anyone in need of Family Law counsel and services.
Read less
Posted by Talaya | July 10, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Saved my daughters life
I cannot thank Kelly enough for all the hard work she has put into my high conflict custody battle. It's been 7 years and I finally have my judgement. She dug my daughter out of a bad situation, got the 730 evaluation we needed in our case and wrapped it up with a judgement on it. Thank you Jesus!!! I thought I would never see an end. She knows the law better than any lawyer I've met. She is also extremely professional and fights for her clients. She will never feed you crap and will always tell the truth. The law was always on my side, Kelly helped solidify everything. I cannot thank her enough.
Read less
Posted by Cris Fajardo | June 19, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Thank you Kelly!
This was one of the best investments I made in getting my divorce finalized!! I filed my own divorce papers and had trouble with the final judgment packet. This process has been ongoing for a year until I finally decided to consult with a lawyer. I consulted with Kelly to assist me with the final process and from the moment I walked into her office, I knew I made the best decision to consult with her. Kelly was very professional, thorough and straightforward in the hour that I spent with her. She was also very personable and compassionate, and knowledgeable in her craft. She told me the mistakes I did in my divorce paperwork, assisted me in completing what I was missing, and put together my judgment packet. Sure enough, the minute I filed what she put together, my divorce was FINALIZED!! I would definitely recommend her office and services to anyone seeking legal advice or representation in family law. Kelly, thank you so much for your expert legal advice!! I don't think my divorce would ever be finalized without your guidance!
Read less
Posted by Marina | March 16, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
100% Ethical!
Kelly helped me through one of the most difficult challenges of my life. I was totally disheartened and depressed with the way things were going with my case. I met Kelly by chance and she was able to accomplish in one month what the previous attorney could not accomplish in two years! She was on it! A relentless tiger in the court room! Leading up to my court date, Kelly took care of every detail and followed up to make sure I stayed on track. She leaves no room for nonsense and does not waste time. She is honest and 100% ethical. A rare gem! Thank you Kelly! I am forever grateful to you! You know it!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Hourly Rates $ 500-750 per hour
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Founder
  • Law Offices of Kelly Chang
  • 2005 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Cooper, White & Cooper, LLP
  • 2002 - 2005
  • Attorney
  • Haight, Brown and Bonesteel
  • 2002 - 2002
  • Attorney
  • Dryden Margoles, LLP
  • 2000 - 2002
View all work experience

Education

  • Univ of San Diego SOL
  • N/A
  • Univ of California at Los Angeles
  • N/A

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Smith v. Jones
  • Favorable Custody Outcome for client
  • Doe v Doe
  • Successfully defended false claims of DV.
  • In the Marriage of Doe
  • Property Division - No undue influence found.
View all legal cases

Associations

  • State Bar of California Board of Legal Specialization
  • Certified Family Law Specialist
  • 2008 - Present
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • San Francisco County Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Mandarin
  • French

Honors and Awards

  • Superlawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2015
  • superlawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2014
  • Superlawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2013
  • Superlawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2012
  • SuperLawyers Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2011
  • Top Young Lawyers
  • Los Angeles Magazine
  • 2011
  • SuperLawyer Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2010
  • Superlawyer Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2009
  • SuperLawyer Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2008
  • Certified Family Law Specialist
  • State Bar of California, Board of Legal Specialization
  • 2008
  • Superlawyers
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2007
  • Harriet Buhai Volunteer Award
  • Harriet Buhai
  • 2006
  • Outstanding Pro Bono Attorney
  • San Francisco Bar Association
  • 2002
View all awards

Publications

View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Hollywood 411
  • Christie Brinkley's Divorce Case
  • 2008
  • Hollywood 411
  • Britney Spears' Custody Case
  • 2008
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (62)
Given (22)
Endorse Kelly
Divorce and separation Attorney | May 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kelly Chang Rickert has superb knowledge and experience in family law. I have known her quite a while. As a family law attorney, Kelly is knowledgeable, meticulous and professional, and a true asset to our legal community. It is my pleasure to endorse her."
Mediation Attorney | Jul 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Kelly is an excellent mediator. She is very knowledgeable about the law and shows empathy and compassion towards the litigants. Kelly is child centered and encourages parents to work together to come up with the best parenting skills and plans for their children. I highly recommend Kelly as a mediator."
Family Attorney | Nov 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kelly is a smart and caring lawyer. A lawyer with these attributes is especially needed in family law matters. I wholeheartedly endorse this lawyer."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Apr 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Kelly is so nice and friendly! She tries to work with opposing counsel to reach the best settlement for her clients."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Feb 25
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Kelly is a very smart and dedicated attorney."
Family Attorney | Jan 25
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Jan 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kelly is dedicated, hard working, brilliant, and a delightful person too. I have referred many clients to her."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Dec 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Jul 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jan 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Nov 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. She is competent, smart and knowledgeable."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Oct 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Oct 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Oct 09
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I've worked with Kelly as opposing counsel, and I can say that she is a great attorney who knows her material, defends her client's interests and will work towards a great resolution for the parties with creative solutions. I think she's a great attorney who makes a difficult situation better."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Oct 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. She has earned the respect and trust of fellow lawyers and clients."
Family Attorney | Sep 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I met Kelly about 5 years ago on the family law list serve of the LA county bar association. Kelly is very knowledgeable about family law and generously shares information with her colleagues. She is well like by the family law bar and by local judges. Kelly loves practicing family law and this shows in the work she does for her clients. She is a perfectionist, and is committed to getting her clients the best result possible. I recommend her without reservation and I endorse her work."
Unknown Attorney | Aug 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Apr 03
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Kelly is an exceptional attorney. Her knowledge of family law matters is impressively extensive, but more importantly she has a deep focus on the needs of her clients. Highly recommended!"
Divorce and separation Attorney | Mar 27
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 25
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
Pasadena Adoption Lawyer Kelly Chang Rickert
Kelly Chang Rickert
Adoption Attorney
Pasadena, CA
Licensed for 24 years