Skip to main content

Jerome J. Haig

Criminal defense Attorney at Torrance, CA

5.0   29 reviews

Call and speak with several attorneys to find best fit for your specific legal issue.
Can't find what you are looking for?
Avvo has 97% of all lawyers in the US.
Find the best ones near you.
Find Nearby Lawyers

About Jerome

Learn Jerome’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    40%
    I have handled thousands of such cases in my career, from DUI to murder, and everything in between.

    36 years

  2. Federal crime
    40%
    60% White Collar criminal defense; 25% narcotics trafficking cases; 10% other miscellaneous felony prosecutions. I have handled hundreds of cases.

    36 years

  3. Violent crime
    20%
    Violent Crimes require a thoughtful evaluation of the State's case against you and determined defense. You want an experienced and effective attorney to ensure a successful outcome.

    36 years, 1,500 cases

I have represented clients in state and federal court on criminal matters since 1988.  I continually handle the most difficult cases in a thoughtful and professional manner.  I am well respected by judges, prosecutors, and criminal defense attorneys.  I handle any type of criminal case in every stage of the proceeding, from arrest to appeal.  I specialize in complex felonies in state and federal court.  If you have any questions, please call me.  I will always give you an honest answer regardless of whether you decide to hire me or another lawyer.  

Photos and videos

Federal Jury Trial -- U.S. v. Paul Tanaka
View more
Licensed for 35 years
State CA
Status Active
Acquired 1987
Updated 12/01/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Jerome

Law Office of Jerome J. Haig
21143 Hawthorne Blvd.
Suite 454
Torrance, CA, 90503
Jerome J. Haig
Union Bank Building
400 Oceangate, 8th Floor
Long Beach, CA, 90802
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  29 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | September 15, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Attorney
Great attorney that sticks by you all the way through the process... My case lasted nearly three years and through it all I would highly recommend him to any of my friends and family. He is someone I would turn too for legal advise.
Posted by AL | August 11, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The one and only
I want to thank Jerome Haig for the work he put towards my case. It was a very unique case in a time when the governor was passing new legislation laws to help certain individuals but now D.A's have a loop hole to screw people over. Well Jerome did it like a true JEDI lawyer and got me home with my family after 2 years without going to trial. His arguments are on point and wont settle unless you want to. He is honest and will fight for you till the end if you choose to. The D.A in my case really had it for me and Jerome had my BACK. I get to continue my career and we keep in touch. THANK YOU TO THE ONE AND ONLY JEROME "JEDI" HAIG
Read less
Posted by Tyler | September 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best lawyer in town!
I had a huge Federal case in which we ended winning. Jerome visited me quite often while in MCJ to keep me updated in person, answered the phone all the time and fought as hard as he possibly could to get me out. After he got me bail (which I didn’t even see possible) he met with me often to keep me updated and in the end, we won. If you’re looking for someone to save you, this man is THE MAN!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 28, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jerome got my probation Dismissed early, and my both my misdemeanor and felony charges expunged
I was charged with a felony and misdemeanor which I ended up spending 90 hours (really 9 hours) in the LA county jail for and three years formal probation. I’ve never been in trouble like that before so you can imagine my horror when I realized I wasn’t getting the felony reduced to a misdemeanor. Plus $40/mo of probation fees, court costs, etc. However, after about 2 1/2 years, jerome was able to get my probation dismissed early, my misdemeanor charge expunged off my record and my felony charge reduced to a misdemeanor and then expunged. Although those 2 1/2 years was a struggle, jerome hung in there with me and changed the rest of my life for the better.
Read less
Posted by Kelvin | February 10, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Experienced, knowledgeable, and professional
Jerome was referred to me by a friend and he is the first lawyer I ever hired. He did fantastic job representing my mom for a child endangerment case. He patiently explained the whole process and guided us on how to best defend my mom. Luckily the child is fine but it still would've been very difficult for my mom to get off with a light punishment and avoid jail time without Jerome's efforts. He is very experienced, knowledgeable, and professional. He will look out for you and continue to follow up with you to ensure that you're compliant with the court decision as he is doing for my case.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jerome Haig is a superlative lawyer
I have been a lawyer for 46 years and I am a former prosecutor. I live on the East Coast, and when my adult son got arrested in Torrance, I wanted the very best lawyer for him. I screened the profiles of more than 100 criminal attorneys, and together my son and I interviewed six over the telephone. Jerome was the last, and as soon as we hung up we knew he was the one we wanted. He inspired tremendous confidence, which he justified repeatedly over the course of the matter. Attorney Haig is very professional and courteous and obviously well respected by both judges and prosecutors. He is extremely bright, knowledgeable and experienced. He told us at the outset that the case should ultimately be dismissed, but the DA didn’t see it that way and stubbornly clung to his position for many months. Ultimately the case was dismissed as a direct result of Jerome‘s expertise, tenacity and persistence. We were obviously pleased with the results, but as a bonus I learned a lot from Jerome about being an effective lawyer. He is extremely compassionate. It wasn’t long before I realized that as much as he cared about the case, he cared equally about my son’s well-being. Having been a prosecutor myself, I had lots of questions and opinions. Jerome was patient, thorough and prompt in responding to my inquiries. He is also extremely honest and charged a very reasonable fee. If you ever need a criminal defense attorney in LA, save yourself the time of asking around or screening online profiles. Just call Jerome Haig and know that you made a great choice.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding criminal defense attorney
I hired Jerome Haig to handle to simultaneous drug cases I had, a state and a federal one. He is very professional, dedicated, reliable and trustworthy. He kept me updated on my cases and always gave me the best advice possible. Jerome not only showed his knowledge in the legal field, but his countless hours of work and dedication showed in the results. I would definitely recommend Jerome, as he will fight to get you the best outcome wether it be state or federal case.
Read less
Posted by Ira | January 11, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Resourceful and Responsive Representation
Jerome Haig responded to every inquiry, from initial contact to favorable resolution, in a timely manner. Always kept me up to date on my status until matter resolved--out of court. Utilized every resource and option working toward successful result even during the holiday season. Confidence inspiring consultation; results oriented represention; fair and honest fees for service. Highly recommend the services of Jerome Haig.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 8, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Peace of Mind
Jerome has been there for me from start to finish nearly 4 years a very complicated case with allot of unknowns i cant emphasize enough his compassion wisdom and knowledge and personalized attention to every detail making my very difficult situation understanding at every turn giving me complete peace of mind. I would strongly recommend before moving forward in any case consulting first with the law firm of Jerome J. Haig.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 8, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Top Class Service and Result A*****
I had an old Youth Authority record where I had been tried as an adult dismissed and cleared. Jerome was very professional and went above and beyond in order to get the result we wanted. I could not have asked for any more than what he did. Amazing communication and always kept me up to date with everything. Jerome, you have changed my life. Thank you once again.
Read less
Posted by Angie | November 29, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Polite and tenacious
I wasn't sure what to do when I got tangled up in a case, after an ex-business partner got subpoenaed. But after doing research on Avvo, I interviewed a few lawyers who specialize in federal crime cases. Jerome gave me some great advice and was upfront with me on what he thought it might cost. His experience and complete disclosure on how he'll handle the process, sealed the deal for me. He was also not pushy or showy, which I liked. In the end, he resolved the matter quickly and smoothly for me.
Read less
Posted by Michael | October 24, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best decision I ever made was Hiring Jerome.
Jerome was highly recommended from a close family friend and now I can see why. He was incredibly professional, punctual, and always communicated every situation thoroughly and clearly. He negotiated several things that saved me a significant amount of money, time, and set me up to have less problems down the road. I could not have imagined hiring anyone more knowledgeable, experienced, or engaged as Jerome. I felt comfortable from the first meeting and am lucky he was there to represent me with my case.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 23, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional
Mr. Haig was very attentive and understanding and provided all information under the law that would provide the best outcome for my case. He is very knowledgeable and I always felt in good hands. I always felt very supported and was glad to have someone working hard on my behalf.
Posted by Michelle | October 15, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer
I can't thank him enough . I had 14 charges Plus another case they were going to combine them It wasn't looking good for me at all . Jerome said he could help me and that's what he did a year probation some Fines. My life could of went a whole different direction thank you Jerome
Posted by Melanie | October 12, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent!
Jerome has been a great lawyer for my family. He communicates well and we felt like he had our best interest at heart. He always explained what the big picture was and gave us his professional opinion as to what was our best chance in achieving the end result we wanted. I will definitely call on him again if the need arises.
Posted by Joyce | October 12, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jerome Haig
Jerome Haig is the most knowledgeable considerate attorney my family and I have ever known. His understanding of the law and how it can be applied fairly and reasonably is powerful. His contacts and relationships in the law community is incomparable. We are lucky to have found Jerome Haig.
Posted by Michael | October 12, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Lawyer
Jerome came highly recommended and did not disappoint. He knew exactly what to do, and he moved quickly. He went above and beyond my expectations, and we received the outcome that we wanted. I highly recommend Jerome J. Haig.
Posted by Leah | October 11, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Consummate Defense Attorney
We hired Jerome when my brother was unfortunately facing his third felony strike. He was most certainly looking at spending the rest of his life in prison. We put our faith and trust in Jerome, and all of his years of experience. Jerome is amazing at what he does. While going through the all most year long process, Jerome was very dependable, making all of the court appearances, of which there were many! He was also compassionate and patient with our family, making himself available for any questions or clarification that we needed. He is a true seasoned professional litigator in the courtroom. He was truly tenacious, compassionate and worked very hard to have my brother's charges reduced. In the end, I know that Jerome's exemplary communication and negotiation skills and his years of expert experience are responsible for the reduced charges my brother received. After so many years in practice, Jerome is still very passionate about his clients and their right to legal representation. I would most certainly recommend Mr. Haig to anyone who was in need.
Read less
Posted by Aidan | October 11, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Only Person You Need Call
Jerome is one of those people who makes you feel better about (whatever) situation you are in simply because he has your back. I was never confused regarding any aspect of my case - Jerome made sure of that. If there are any developments, he knows, and by the transitive property - you know as well. He laid everything out for me so that I was able to understand my situation and make the best possible decision. If I ever need an attorney again, there is only one man i'll call.
Read less
Posted by Greg | May 3, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jerome J. Haig
Jerome was and excellent lawyer! He was always approachable and easy to reach and did a great job. I would recommend him to anyone, anytime!
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Trial Attorney
  • Los Angeles County Superior Court Capital Case Defense Panel
  • 2013 - Present
  • Major and Staff Judge Advocate (JAG)
  • California State Guard
  • 2013 - Present
  • Trial Panel Attorney
  • CJA -- Central District of California
  • 2013 - Present
  • Owner
  • Law Office of Jerome J. Haig
  • 2012 - Present
  • Panel Attorney
  • California Appellate Project
  • 2012 - Present
  • Assistant Head Deputy
  • Los Angeles County Alternate Public Defender
  • 2003 - 2012
  • Deputy Alternate Public Defender
  • Los Angeles County Alternate Public Defender
  • 1994 - 2012
  • Deputy Federal Pubic Defender
  • Federal Public Defender (Los Angeles)
  • 1993 - 1994
  • Deputy Public Defender
  • Los Angeles County Office Of The Pubic Defender
  • 1988 - 1993
  • Associate
  • Sall & Valk
  • 1987 - 1988
  • law clerk
  • Hill, Genson, Even , Crandall & Wade
  • 1985 - 1987
View all work experience

Education

  • Loyola Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1987
  • Institut des Hautes Études Internationales
  • Certificate of International Law
  • 1986
  • Claremont McKenna College
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1984

Legal Cases

  • People v. Corro
  • Murder and attempted murder charges dismissed
  • Federal college cheating scandal
  • Released from custody on signature bond (no posting of property)
  • Residential burglary dismissed
  • Case dismissed
View all legal cases

Associations

  • United States District Court for the Northern District of California
  • Admitted to Practice
  • 2015 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Eastern District of California
  • Admitted to Practice
  • 2015 - Present
  • California Appellate Defense Counsel
  • Attorney Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Southern District of California
  • Admitted to Practice
  • 2013 - Present
  • State Guard Association of the United States
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • Association of Federal Defense Attorneys
  • Attorney Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • State Bar of California, Criminal Law Section
  • Attorney Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • CJA Panel -- Central District of California
  • Attorney Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • Attorney Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • United States Court of Appeals For the Ninth Circuit
  • Admitted to Practice
  • 1994 - Present
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Attorney Member
  • 1994 - Present
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Attorney Member
  • 1988 - Present
  • California Public Defenders Association
  • Attorney Member
  • 1988 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Central District of California
  • Admitted to Practice
  • 1988 - Present
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association, Criminal Justice Section
  • Executive Committee Member
  • 2012 - 2016
  • South Bay/Torrance YMCA
  • Chair, Membership Committee
  • 2009 - 2012
  • Riviera Little League
  • Board of Directors
  • 2009 - 2013
  • South Bay/Torrance YMCA
  • Board of Directors
  • 2007 - 2013
  • Torrance Public Library Commission
  • Chair and member
  • 2005 - 2010
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • French

Honors and Awards

  • Southern California Super Lawyer
  • Southern California Super Lawyers
  • 2021
  • Southern California Super Lawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2020
  • Southern California Super Lawyer
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2019
  • Client's Choice
  • Avvo
  • 2019
  • AV Preeminent Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • Client's Choice
  • Avvo
  • 2017
  • Client's Choice
  • Avvo
  • 2015
  • Criminal Law
  • State Bar of California - Certified Specialist
  • 2003
  • Veteran's Public Service Award
  • Long Beach Bar Association
  • 1991
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • NBC Nightly News and The Today Show
  • Legal Consultant -- Federal college cheating indictment
  • 2019
  • The Supreme Court and Beyond: What's Next in the Legal World
  • Recent Developments on Bail and 8th Amendment
  • 2018
  • CSMR Basic Orientation Course
  • Law and the Reserve Soldier
  • 2013
  • Loyola Law School Criminal Law Seminar
  • Defending a capital client
  • 2012
  • APD training
  • Capital Case Trial Tactics
  • 2008
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (22)
Given (33)
Endorse Jerome
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Having known Jerome for almost 20 years, I know that he is a relentless advocate for his clients. He is always prepared, tenacious and honest. I would trust him to handle any criminal case from a misdemeanor dui, to murder or a complex federal case."
Federal crime Attorney | Sep 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"27 years of practicing law is what we call experienced. Experience matters! As a former public defender and JAG officer he has completed thousands of cases. Local endorsements and knowledge of both the law and procedure are outstanding. Do yourself a favor and schedule a consultation."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 17
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I enthusiastically endorse this attorney. I have known Jerome for almost 10 years. Most recently, we worked together on a complex federal mortgage fraud case. Jerome is an outstanding lawyer with great knowledge of both state and federal criminal law. He is compassionate, level-headed, and always ready to give his clients straightforward and honest advice. Jerome is also a fierce advocate in the courtroom and well-respected by judges and prosecutors. Jerome maintains the highest degree of integrity and commitment to his clients. I have referred clients to him, and everyone has reported having a great experience with him. I would absolutely recommend him for anyone in need of a criminal defense attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 03
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. When I was a District Attorney, I feared going up against Jerome as he is extremely knowledgeable and has a great courtroom presence.. At the same time, however, he was very personable and ethical, which made him a real pleasure to go up against. As a criminal defense lawyer now, I look to him for guidance and advice. He is one of the best I have seen."
Federal crime Attorney | Jul 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jerome Haig is an outstanding attorney. He is someone I can reliably refer my federal clients to and know they will will receive excellent representation. I endorse this lawyer without question."
Unknown Attorney | May 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Haig is a skilled and respected criminal defense and appellate attorney. He is a zealous advocate for the rights and interests of his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Jerome. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I knew Jerome when he worked for the APD in Torrance, he is a real fighter and well respected attorney in our community."
Federal crime Attorney | Jan 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jerome is one of the best criminal defense attorneys in LA. He is a tireless advocate for his clients and his winning track record speaks for itself. I highly endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Aug 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I absolutely endorse Mr. Haig. I worked with him many years ago and have the pleasure of seeing him in court frequently. He works tirelessly for his clients and is sincere in his desire to obtain the best possible outcome for them. His vast knowledge of the law, diligence, compassion and integrity have earned him respect from others in the legal community."
Chapter 13 bankruptcy Attorney | Jun 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Jerome is brilliant courtroom tactician with unending energy and the highest character. He is exceptionally easy to talk to and has provided valuble counsel to me for many years."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Jerome since I became a lawyer 13 years ago. I consider him a mentor because he is a fantastic defense attorney for serious cases and he generously gives his advice and time. He helped me out of a lot of jams and I have a tremendous amount of respect for how good a lawyer he is. I'm glad he is on his own now, because he is one of the best. As an Alternate Public Defender for many years, he fought and won incredibly serious cases which most private attorneys don't experience. You can't find private attorneys with that kind of experience. Now, he has the time and resources he didn't have at the PD's office. That is a great combination for anyone who is smart enough to hire him in a serious case."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 18
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I have worked as opposing counsel with Jerome Haig on several criminal matters. His style is very effective, he is well read and well researched and always prepared in the courtroom. His clients appreciate his advocacy and judges respect his professionalism at all times. It has always been a pleasure working on cases with Jerome."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I tried a major criminal case with Jerome and his skills and dedication were were very high. He has tried many criminal cases and knows what he is doing."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 15
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Jerome is a great lawyer who fights hard for his clients. Though he is an aggressive advocate for his clients, he is nevertheless well liked because of his personality."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Jerome and I had a Double Murder case together where he was able to suppress his client's confession and as a result the case was dismissed. He is a fantastic lawyer. I would recommend him to a family member."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 28
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 27
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I met Jerome when I was a D.A. in Torrance and I had many cases against him. He is an outstanding attorney who goes to bat for his clients. I strongly endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Dec 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top-notch attorney. Highly respected in the legal community."
View more endorsements
Federal crime
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Torrance Criminal defense Lawyer Jerome J. Haig
Jerome J. Haig
Criminal defense Attorney
Torrance, CA
Licensed for 35 years
Free Consultation