Skip to main content

Brad S Kane

Employment and labor Attorney at Los Angeles, CA

4.9   62 reviews
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
  • State Years
    Washington - WA 21 years
    Alaska - AK 32 years
    California - CA 33 years
  • Licensed for 21 years
    State WA
    Acquired 2003
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 32 years
    State AK
    Acquired 1991
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 33 years
    State CA
    Acquired 1990
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Brad

Learn Brad’s areas of practice.

WE HELP PEOPLE DO THE RIGHT THING: GETTING YOU PAID. CALL FOR A COMPLIMENTARY CONFIDENTIAL CONSULTATION.

My values are clients come first, my firm comes second, and money comes a distant third.  As a person who has survived discrimination and physical bullying, I know that it is often hard to stand up for yourself in unpleasant situations.  That is why we are here to help.

The Kane Law Firm’s founding principles are creativity, tenacity and caring. At our core, we are problem solvers. However, we live in a world, where some people refuse to do the right thing. When that happens, we go to the mat for our clients and refuse to take “no” for an answer.

We believe serious wrongs can and should be righted. Regardless of the obstacles, we know that deals can be made to promote good business, protect and salvage reputations as well as careers.

Our mission is to help both companies and individuals understand their rights and to think outside the box to find effective ways to resolve their disputes or negotiate their contractual arrangements.

At the Kane Law Firm, your problem is more than a legal transaction, it’s a personal experience.

For a complimentary confidential consultation, call us now.

Awards

Top Contributor 2023,2022,2021,2020,2019,2018,2017,2016,2015,2014,2013
Top Contributor
2023 2022 2021 + 8 ...
Client's Choice 2021,2019,2017,2016,2013
Client's Choice
2021 2019 2017 + 2 ...

Photos and videos

Location

Brad S Kane
1154 S. Crescents Hts. Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA, 90035

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  62 customer reviews
Client's Choice 2021
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Mathieu | August 15, 2023
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Excellent advice from an excellent Lawyer!
I only spoke with Brad over the phone for an issue that I needed help with, and he was able to clearly guide me on what the next steps were in my process. He provided great advice and clear guidance. I would highly recommend hiring him!
Posted by Christopher | October 4, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Simply the best
I was in a tough spot with my former employer. I had unpaid hours, and was being taken advantage of. I ran into other big concerns With them after I left and started to peruse my one business venture. That being said I was being threatened with being sued for wanting to start my own competing business and needed to find some legal representation to ensure I was doing everything right. After speaking with several firms I came across Brad Kane. Not only did he reach back in a timely manner, he took the time to listen to everything going on and carefully broke it all down in a way no one else had done. Without any guarantees, mr kane agreed to represent me and I can’t be more thankful. He took care of several legal battles and won every single one. They didn’t stand a chance with Kane Law Firm. He got me compensation and everything they tried to do overturned and allowed me to progress in a way I wouldn’t have been able to if it wasn’t for Kane Law. I can’t thank them enough for there responsiveness and attention to detail. Incredible human beings and are the real deal. Highly recommend them to anyone and everyone.
Read less
Posted by Natasha | June 12, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Justice for the little people
Brad Kane is a great attorney. He is very detail oriented and committed to understanding the facts of the case. I’ve always believed that in order to achieve something of monument you will almost definitely need support. Brad and his team of attorneys and para legals was exactly the support my family needed in order to achieve the positive outcomes in both a civil and family law matter. I have seen first hand his ability to negotiate and the level of preparation that he dedicates to going to trial. Thank you Brad for your help. My family owes you and your firm a great deal of gratitude for how you have fought and won our cases. If you are looking for a fierce negotiator that is equally if not more competent at trial then I suggest Brad and his firm. They may not be the largest firm but they are definitely quality attorneys. Thank you all again!
Read less
Posted by Stina Funch | December 6, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Brad has your back!
I've had the pleasure of working with Brad on many business-related cases. I would give Brad 6 stars if this was ever an option! I often joke that I don't enjoy bringing attorneys to a meeting, but Brad is different. Brad brings an expertise, compassion and knowledge to the table, rarely seen in attorneys. He is honest to the core, and I know he has my back. I always get his professional and honest advice. It's not always what I want to hear, but it's the right way forward. I would wholeheartedly recommend Brad to any potential client seeking legal advice or representation in Brad's areas of expertise.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 3, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Hire Brad
After a consultation with Brad I hired him to represent me in my lawsuit. I was thrilled he got me more money than I expected.
Posted by anonymous | December 2, 2021
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Intelligent, efficient consultation
I couldn’t have asked for more from Brad on a ten minute consultation call. He knows is stuff and is able to get straight to the point. I highly recommend reaching out to him if you’re looking for informed, efficient guidance.
Posted by Ana Beverly | November 1, 2021
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Knowledgeable and diligent, thank you
I emailed Mr. Kane and asked his advice on a legal matter that I am facing. He is very knowledgeable in law and thru email he provided bullet points on how the matter should be approached. He still consulted with me on the phone; he is extremely truthful, up to the point, and very focused. He is a great skilled lawyer and provides truthful advices. Thank you very much Mr. Kane!!
Read less
Posted by Ryan | January 30, 2021
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Thanks for your help!
Brad graciously reviewed my situation free of charge and helped me understand my rights in a time sensitive matter when I really needed it. Would highly recommend him.
Posted by Steve | December 20, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Diligent, No-nonsense Representation
I hired Brad Kane and his team to help me with a relocation assistance claim under the Los Angeles Rent Stabilization Ordinance. My landlord rented an unpermitted structure to me and, a year later, was ordered by the city to evict me and pay relocation assistance. Instead, he chose to try to scare me out with threats of having sheriff's deputies escort me out with just three week's notice. If you're ever in this situation, do not expect it to be a slam dunk as there is no way to make a landlord actually pay. Landlord's may incur more penalties from the city for delaying, but it requires a lot of tactful pressure to make them pull the trigger. Without Brad Kane, Chris Cude and Gershom Benitez from the Kane Law Firm, I probably would have joined the ranks of so many renters who end up giving in to the harassment and loss of utilities by just moving out without the assistance they deserve. Kane Law extracted my relocation assistance and almost all of the rent I had paid over the last year. Admittedly, I'm the annoying type of client who wants more details than I probably need, but this didn't bother these gentlemen like it would bother most. They kept in constant contact with me from day one, updating me on every facet of the case and providing step-by-step instructions to be sure my temper didn't ruin my case. I couldn't be more satisfied. They definitely earned every dime and probably more than they were paid. Kane Law rolls up its sleeves and gets the job done.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 15, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Impressive Responsiveness
Brad was able to determine what elements of my employment issues were relevant and how best to find remedy in an effortless and meaningful manner. Professional and incredibly responsive.
Posted by anonymous | October 1, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Practical and timely advice
Mr Kane has provided me with practical and timely advice that allowed me to take precautionary measures.
Posted by anonymous | August 30, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Caring, considerate, and goes out of his way to help.
Mr. Kane was an absolute professional. He took the time to listen to my situation, and offer advice. He truly cares about the people that he helps, and it shows in how he speaks to you and treats you. If your looking for someone that sees you and the struggle that your going through and not just dollar signs then he is definitely your man. This was the most pleasant experience I have ever had with a lawyer, or any professional for that matter. I would recommend him to any and everybody that needs help through a legal struggle.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 25, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Very Helpful, timely and relevant advice
Mr. Kane's response was timely, relevant and very helpful. We proceeded as advised and were provided the information by the CDFW we needed to move forward. Thank you.
Posted by Diana | July 4, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
He called me right back
Thank you Mr. Kane for the advice on the phone! Although my case isn't something you could take on due to your busy schedule, you helped me immensely. You pointed me in the right direction and probably saved me a lot of time and money. Again, I'm grateful for your time and consideration.
Posted by CAROL ANN | May 30, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
THIS MAN IS SO PRO!!!!
I have to say THANK YOU BRAD ! He has done such an amazing job with my case. I'm so grateful that he was my attorney!! Between him and Chris his assistant , I was well informed on a daily basis of what was going on. I cant say enough good things about them! Thank You Thank You!. you guys are awesome
Posted by anonymous | April 29, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Excellent experience
I was in a bad situation with my employer and needed help. Brad went out of his way to get back to me on a Friday night, patiently listening to my predicament and gave me very intelligent feedback that put me at ease and which I was able to implement successfully. I wouldn't hesitate to use his services or recommend him.
Posted by Linda | April 2, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Honest, Knowledgeable, Conicse, and Caring Consultation
Mr. Kane immediately and expertly fielded my very frantic phone call seeking consultation regarding a particularly complicated and time-sensitive landlord vs. tenant situation. Unlike many Los Angeles Attorneys "trying to make an easy buck" out of desperate Defendants, Mr. Kane suggested his honest insight and experienced ideas to steer me towards my legal options for proper action/defense. He did not "cherry-coat" my precarious situation: he presented me with reality, and I believe that is of utmost importance when one finds one's self in such a dangerous position as to be desperately Googling-around for legal help. I agree with the many other grateful and impressed Reviewers here who urge: contact Mr. Kane. He knows what he's talking about, he cares, and if anybody can help-- he will.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 4, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Great Consultation
I had a telephone consultation with Brad regarding an estoppel certificate I have been asked to complete. He was clear, concise and I felt much better after hearing his advice. I will hire him in a second if I need further representation. He’s extremely pleasant to deal with and I have utmost confidence in his work.
Posted by Lorena | January 28, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer
I hire Brad Kane ,I was living in a illegal garage converted into a living ,cooking ,sleeping room that was built with out building and safety codes.I was living there for two years and even thow the landlords wife and mom discriminated me because of my sexual preference I pay no mind to them and ignore them I needed a place for my son and I .one day the land loard gave me a 60 day notice to vacate saying I wasent paying rent and verbally assaulting them when i was only defending myself. When i had every single rent receipt. I was so worry and so stressed out that I didn't know what to do.I called Brad Kane and he walked me throw the whole prosses and the land loard had to pay me back 2 years of illegal collect rent and relocation fee brad Kane u are the best lawyer and i won't give u 5 stars I'll give u 10 stars. So people out there if u ever find urself in any legal situation call Brad Kane his the best lawyer and he will help u to the end thank u brad and all ur crew
Read less
Posted by Tamika | March 8, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Powerful Social Justice Advocate
Brad Kane successfully resolved my complicated employment dispute. I worked for a large company for many years and had issues with discrimination and payment of wages. Brad was able to analyze each issue and develop an effective legal strategy. He was available 24/7 to answer my questions, listen to my concerns, and coach me through each step of the process. He became my biggest advocate, taking on my issues as if they were his own. Brad was not only able to settle the legal issues, but he also helped me maintain a positive relationship with the company. He is a highly skilled lawyer and powerful social justice advocate. After this process I consider Brad Kane a dear friend. Do yourself a favor and call him.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.9 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner/ Attorney
  • Kane Law Frm
  • 2001 - Present
  • General Counsel
  • Kane Autmotive Group
  • 2000 - 2013
  • Associate
  • Christensen, Miller, Fink, Jacobs, Glaser, Weil & Shapiro
  • 1999 - 2000
  • Associate
  • Mayer Brown & Platt
  • 1998 - 1999
  • Associate
  • The Rosen Law Firm
  • 1994 - 1998
  • Adjunct Professor
  • University of Alaska at Fairbanks
  • 1992 - 1994
  • Associate
  • Birch, Horton, Bittner & Cherot
  • 1991 - 1994
  • Law Clerk to Chief Justice Jay A. Rabinowitz
  • Alaska Supreme Court
  • 1991 - 1991
  • Extern
  • United State District Judge Stanley Weigel
  • 1990 - 1990
  • Law Clerk to Superior Court Judges Richard Savell and Jay Hodges
  • Alaska Superior Court, Fourth Judicial District in Fairbanks
  • 1990 - 1991
View all work experience

Education

  • University of California, Hastings College of the Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1990
  • University of California - Los Angeles
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1987

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Carter v. Cohen, 188 Cal.App.4th 1038 (2010)
  • Tenant established right to recover illegally collected rent paid to landlord for unpermitted and unregistered dwelling unit under the City of Los Angeles Rent Stablization Ordinance.
  • Berg v. Traylor, 148 Cal.App.4th 809 (2007)
  • Confirmed Talent Manager's right to enforce right to commissions on child actor's work against mother

Associations

  • Talent Managers Association
  • General Counsel
  • 2008 - Present
  • South Carthay Neighborhood Association
  • President
  • 2007 - Present
  • Washington State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2005 - Present
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2000 - Present
  • Alaska Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1991 - Present
  • State Bar of California
  • Member
  • 1990 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2021
  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2020
  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • Certification Of Recognition For Service On PICO NC
  • Los Angeles City Council
  • 2015
  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • Certificate of Appreciation For Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2014
  • Certification Of Recognition For Service On PICO NC
  • Los Angeles City Council
  • 2014
  • Certificate of Appreciation For Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2013
  • Certificate of Appreciation For Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2012
  • Certificate of Appreciation For Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2011
  • Certificate of Recognition
  • Los Angeles City Council
  • 2011
  • Certification of Appreciation for Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2010
  • Certificate of Appreciation for Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2009
  • Certificate of Appreciation For Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2008
  • Certificate of Appreciation for Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2007
  • Certificate of Appreciation for Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2006
  • Certificate of Appreciation for Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2005
  • Certificate of Appreciation for Temporary Judge Services
  • Los Angeles Superior Court
  • 2004
  • Award for Outstanding Legal Service
  • Jewish Federation Council of Greater Los Angeles
  • 1999
View all awards

Publications

  • The Screen Actors Guild Foundation
  • LifeRaft - Landmark Berg vc. Traylor Case
  • 2007

Speaking Engagements

  • Talent Managers Association General Meeting
  • What Managers Need To Know About the Kerkorian Talent Scam Prevention Act
  • 2013
  • Talent Managers Association Meeting
  • Berg v. Traylor - What Talent Managers Need To Know
  • 2007
  • Life Raft - For Managers, Parents And Child Actors
  • Landmark Berg v. Traylor Case
  • 2007
  • Continuing Education For Realtors
  • Continuing Education For Realtors
  • 1994
  • Continuing Education For Realtors
  • Continuing Education For Realtors
  • 1993
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (54)
Given (13)
Endorse Brad
Employment and labor Attorney | Oct 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"It is clear from Brad's education, experience and responses on AVVO that he is a knowledgeable and capable advocate who cares about his clients. I endorse this lawyer."
Landlord or tenant Attorney | Apr 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He is extremely knowledgeable and articulate. His answers within this forum show he is well-versed in the law and the art of persuasion. Highly recommended."
Landlord or tenant Attorney | Aug 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Landlord or tenant Attorney | Feb 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Contracts and agreements Attorney | Aug 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. An extremely talented and well respected attorney in the legal community."
Unknown Attorney | Aug 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Kane is a valuable asset to this community. His dedication to the law and his clients is admirable."
Landlord or tenant Attorney | Aug 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Brad Kane is an empathic values-driven attorney. His work reflects the origins of legal practice as a healing art. Brad's generous contributions to the community through Avvo demonstrate an integration of practical perspective and shrewd legal analysis. Both qualities are essential to achieve superb results. I enthusiastically endorse Brad Kane and am grateful for his service."
Litigation Attorney | Jul 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Commercial real estate Attorney | Jun 17
Relationship: Co-worker
"I clerked with Brad nearly 25 years ago in Alaska at BH B&C. It is not surprising to see that his success in and out of court continues. I endorse this lawyer."
Employment and labor Attorney | May 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Litigation Attorney | Apr 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"If you need a lawyer that is not afraid to go to court and knows how to Win Choose Brad S. Kane. He is simply an excellent lawyer. I endorse him."
Landlord or tenant Attorney | Apr 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Provides detailed responses and is a great asset to the AVVO community."
Contracts and agreements Attorney | Apr 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Landlord or tenant Attorney | Mar 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Brad is a knowledgeable landlord/tenant attorney and is respected in the community."
Litigation Attorney | Mar 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Litigation Attorney | Feb 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Landlord or tenant Attorney | Feb 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Landlord or tenant Attorney | Feb 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Kane possesses great knowledge in the landlord-tenant law."
Litigation Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Great litigator!"
Contracts and agreements Attorney | Jan 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top notch lawyer. Well respected in legal community. I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
Bankruptcy and debt
Landlord or tenant
Litigation
Employment and labor
Real estate
Employment and labor
Immigration
Litigation
Los Angeles Employment and labor Lawyer Brad S Kane
Brad S Kane
Employment and labor Attorney
Los Angeles, CA
Licensed for 33 years
Free Consultation
Virtual consultation available