Skip to main content

Isai Bismark Cortez

Tax Attorney at Los Angeles, CA

4.9   41 reviews

Call and speak with several attorneys to find best fit for your specific legal issue.
Can't find what you are looking for?
Avvo has 97% of all lawyers in the US.
Find the best ones near you.
Find Nearby Lawyers

About Isai

Learn Isai’s areas of practice.

1
Practice area
  1. Tax
    100%

    13 years

Lead Attorney: Isai Bismark Cortez, Esq.

Isai, a Los Angeles native, is the lead attorney for Bismark Tax, Inc. Isai's practice area is concentrated in the area of tax resolution. Isai earned his B.S. degree in Business Administration from the California State University - Northridge; a Juris Doctor from the Pennsylvania State University - The Dickinson School of Law; and a Masters of Law Degree (L.L.M) from the University of California Los Angeles School of Law.

During law school Isai worked for the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue - Office of Chief Counsel and that is where he found his love for the tax code. Isai knew that the tax system needed improvement and that there was something that he could do to help taxpayers. After graduating from law school, he went on and continued his studies at UCLA School of Law in order to focus more on tax and business law.

Isai has built a consumer friendly company that always gives consumers what they are paying for, great tax help and full access to their attorney. Isai saw many companies offering tax resolution services, but these companies would limit the attorney time clients received. So that is why Isai makes customer service a priority. 


Responsibility:

Isai enjoys giving back to the community and is involved in many public interest organizations. In Los Angeles, Ca he personally volunteers to help underserved communities by providing legal aid through the Christian Legal Aid Clinic of Los Angeles, which also provides services to Homeboy, Inc. Through a ministry in Los Angeles, Ca he is able to sponsor events where the ministry makes breakfast for women at the Downtown Women's Center. Isai also sponsors senior events in Dallas, Texas through his friend Brittany Peters. Brittany often organizes events for Park Haven Nursing Home near Dallas, Texas and Isai often co-sponsors their events whereby Brittany buys gifts for the seniors, brings visitors for the seniors and buys them snacks.  Isai also donates money to local charities and speaks to underserved communities. Isai views service to the community as the highest form of serving our fellows and as a responsibility to the community. 

Photos and videos

Isai Cortez was invited by the head of the Taxpayer Advocate, Nina Olson, to come speak at a Public Forum regarding the Future State of the IRS.
View more
Licensed for 12 years
State CA
Status Active
Acquired 2010
Updated 12/05/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Isai

Isai Bismark Cortez
7083 Hollywood Blvd 5th Floor
Los Angeles, CA, 90028

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  41 customer reviews
Posted by Ken | April 12, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended
I was facing my first tax audit, and even though I'm an accountant, I was really scared. I contacted Isai after reading his many positive reviews. After my phone consultation, I met with him and hired him. After several months, which was delayed due to the gov't shutdown, he was able to get me a reasonable settlement. I highly recommend him, as he's a consummate professional, who's also a straight shooter.
Read less
Posted by Carlos | July 26, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great staff , job well done!
Wow, what a relief ... Isai Cortez of Bismark did for me what 4 so called tax experts couldn’t . After failing to deal with Irs directly Mr Cortez provided me with guidance on the proper way to approach my negative tax situation . Getting me in a streamline payment plan, and reducing my payment by contacting Irs directly and finding out from them(Irs)what I needed to do ASAP before they took action against me. I called Mr Cortez on odd hours even weekends and hearing him say to relax you have time or we will take care of it helped ease my stress and allowed me to complete my ordeal with IRS. Thanks Mr Cortez and staff for a job well done and i hope i never contact you again
Read less
Posted by Tiffany | July 25, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended
Isai Cortez is really good with what he does!! I owed a lot of money to BOE, but he made me so comfortable and took care of everything efficiently. I’m so glad I found him on yelp and he was able to settle my OIC with little money to pay back. Throughout the 2 years of waiting was mainly waiting for BOE to assign my files to a specialist in the business dept. But, Isai made sure to tell me it’s going to be a process. I’m pleased to say he has tookthe stress out of me during those timeframe of waiting and now, I can finally live my life normally without BOE on my back. Thank you Isai and his team to make this whole process smoothly!
Read less
Posted by Thomas | July 24, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
All the 5 star reviews are justified!
I had some serious personal and business tax issues that spanned the course of many years and hundreds of thousands of dollars. Isai under promised and over delivered. He is a very competent attorney and a good person. I'm not the type of person to write reviews but I found Isai because of his high rating on yelp. So I wanted to pay it forward to someone else out there trying to make a decision of who to go with. I was meticulously shopping attorneys prior to choosing Bismark because the previous 3 companies that worked on my case did not follow through. After meeting with Isai I felt that I could trust him to stand by his word. Isai and Angela worked on my case for countless hours and I feel as if they were genuinely more concerned with helping me than they were with making money from my case. For years I have been extremely stressed over my tax problems but now I feel as a weight has been lifted off of my shoulders. Their persistence, knowledge, connections, and staff accomplished what I didn't think was possible. If I went into detail people might not believe this review. My family and I owe them a great deal and I can't thank them enough!
Read less
Posted by Peter | July 14, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
IRS Problem Resolved
I reached out to Isai in the middle 2017 to get some help fighting a tax issue I had with the IRS. For several months prior I had tried to handle the situation myself thinking the IRS can't be that bad. I even got my accountant involved but for every representative I spoke to at the IRS I would be sent down a different path. I'd had enough so late one Sunday afternoon I found Isai's info on Yelp and sent him a note. Very shortly after he replied and we scheduled a call. A few days later I was in his office where we went through all the paperwork I had gathered and we got the ball rolling. Isai kept me up to date through the process and he always responded to texts and emails quickly. Isai was able to explain each step as it came up or as we headed forward and he always knew what was going on at every stage. I always felt like I had personal attention from Isai and never felt like "just a client". The team at Bismark are clearly solid and help keep Isai organized so he can keep on track with his work and his clients. Great job and while I hope to never deal with the IRS again, I know who to go to next time instead of waiting.
Read less
Posted by Neel | July 2, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend!
I can not say enough good things about Isai, Angela, Vanessa and the entire Bismark team. I first contacted Isai during the holidays in 2017 after I received notification from the FTB for a field audit. I called at 7am looking to leave a message but Isai picked up and was extremely helpful and offered to meet me in his office in an hour. His complete understanding of my situation and experience with similar matters made me feel really comfortable he was the right attorney for the job. The team explained everything they needed from me so I dumped off a several boxes of documents with them shortly thereafter. They crunched through everything for days and days and produced exactly what the tax auditors were looking for. Long story short, 6 months later I received a "no change audit" letter from the FTB, which is basically the best possible outcome you can achieve. I would highly recommend Bismark Tax for all your tax needs. They are the best in the business.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 25, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Business Owner
Isai did a great job on our business EDD tax issues. We are very happy with the job Isai did for us.
Posted by Joseph | January 31, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
AAA++++++
Highly recommend. Had my first audit and had NO idea where to begin. He took care of business. He made the whole process as simple and painless as possible for me. Easy to get a hold of and returned calls right away. Answered every question very professionally. Saved me a TON of money. Would recommend to anyone with a tax issue.
Posted by Scott Tozer | January 20, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Overwhelming Business Tax issues resolved
Thank you for ALL your had work, attending our concerns, and resolving our issues. You and your team are awesome. Isai Cortez was able to solve the problems with the IRS that other "So Called" professionals caused when accounting for my business transactions. It was a snarled mess. He and his team were able to sort out and make it so the IRS had a clear picture of what was truly reasonable due to them. I highly recommend them when dealing on complex issues with the IRS.
Read less
Posted by Mike | October 13, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Isai is the best. period.
Isai is the man!!!! I just moved to LA a few months back, and my tax situation was a serious mess. I had multiple years to file and the IRS was already threatening me with a Levy on my bank account. From the very first phone call, Isai showed how he goes the extra mile and gets things done! He kept me in the loop of things constantly and the professionalism is balanced perfectly with his real world , friend to friend way of explaining certain things. He fixed everything, got the levy removed and now I am free and clear of constantly worrying about the IRS. The whole experience was perfect and I highly recommend him.
Read less
Posted by John | October 4, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional, attentive and great results!!
I have a small business and received an Audit for 2015 a few months ago and like everyone who gets an audit, I immediately started to panic. Per the IRS letter, I called the IRS agent and went over what he needed from me during my appointment and he told me to also bring in 2014 and 2016 tax returns. Now I was ultra panicked and knew I needed and tax attorney for help. I went to Yelp and found Isai Cortez of Bismark Tax from all the 5 star reviews. He deserves 6 stars! He immediately took my call, talked about my case and he set up a time to meet him ASAP. He was very professional, attentive to what the IRS needed from me and knew the in's and out's of an IRS audit. Isai and his team are always available for questions and are in constant communication during the long process. The final outcome was only an 2015 audit, I owe that to Bismark! If it had been me going into that IRS audit interview it would have been a very stressful process and the outcome would have been the opening of other years. Do yourself a favor and call Isai today! The best part is his rates are very reasonable to top it off! Thank you Isai!!
Read less
Posted by Janelle | October 4, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Results
Isai Cortez is helping me through 3 years of tax audits. He is so professional, and helpful explaining everything along the way. The IRS is confusing for most of us, but not for Isai and his team. As soon as you speak to Isai, you will realize he is an expert, and he has a passion for helping those in need.
Posted by Mark | July 14, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great help with my tax issues!
I recently went through a divorce and sold my home in the same tax year, and to make matters worse, during the process, I discovered some errors and omissions on my prior tax returns. I found Bismark Tax on Yelp and selected them based on their high number of 5 star reviews. From my first conversation with Isai I knew I was in great hands. With the help of Angela, they methodically reviewed and addressed all my issues, returned every phone call, answered every email. Even during their busy tax season, I always felt important! I plan to use Bismark for my taxes every year, even though my tax preparations should be more straight forward…I hope! I highly recommend them!
Read less
Posted by jack | June 27, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr Jack Caputo
Mr Cortez told me he had never encounter a case like mine and wanted a chance to handel my case.My case involved the IRS,the USPS and the California Franchise Tax Board. Isai is the REAL DEAL and will fight for you like he did for me. Isai won my case and I received a check for $3444.00 and the $17,000.00 bill the IRS said I owed was removed.Great job Mr Cortez
Read less
Posted by Mark | April 18, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
thank you!
2015 was when I first approached Bismark regarding my installment arrangement. Since then, Isai has taken great care of me and my tax issues. He works diligently, making sure you get the best outcome that is most beneficial. He is in constant communication with you throughout the process. Thank you so much Isai!
Posted by S. A | December 6, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent!
I first called Isai in December of 2014 to talk about my boyfriend's tax debt. The situation was a mess. You name it, he had it; missing tax returns, a huge amount due in back taxes, tax liens, and a looming wage garnishment. Isai was immediately able to put my anxious mind at ease. He felt an OIC was the best option for us. First, he filed all the missing returns. Second, he was able to stop a possible garnishment. Third, he filed the OIC. Warning, going the OIC route is a long process. Isai and Jason were upfront with how long it would take. During this time, we were in constant communication with them and never felt alone or abandoned. Isai and Jason were always very prompt, honest, and professional with getting back to us. Although it was pretty stressful for us, they put us at ease. Although there were times, I'm positive, I was a little overbearing, they always were very patient with me and took the time to answer all of my questions. After 8 months, my boyfriend's OIC was completed. He owed over $40k and the IRS settled for $500! If anyone needs tax help, please look no further. Isai and his team will give you honest and professional feedback. I am so thankful I found them. We were very stressed and overwhelmed and the entire Bismark team took amazing care of us.
Read less
Posted by Brian | September 19, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great customer service
I have to say Bismark did a great job in completing my case its nice to know that good customer service still exist.
Posted by SEAN | June 10, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you
You can only understand financial fears once the IRS “contacts” you. They contact you with leans, by freezing your accounts, taking half your earnings, and finally a letter in the mail just to let you know you are now in big trouble… and if you have a professional license they can suspend that too. This was my experience with the IRS. They cleared my small savings and emptied my checking. before I first contacted Isai, I owed well into the six digits. I was scared and didn’t know what if anything could be done; I certainly didn’t want to make things worse by trying to fix things on my own, so I started looking for help. I searched Yelp to see if any reviews could point me in the right direction. After reading comments on other companies who claim to provide tax help I came across Bizmark. What I found was the comments on Isai and the Bizmark team were different. They were different because people could feel that this team does care about the people it represents. Isai (the team captain) helped me at a truly difficult time in my life, giving me a second chance with how much I owed. In our first conversation Isai showed me our game plan (no messing around with this guy); it set me at ease to know that he knew how to attack my huge problem. Isai is genuine and sincere in his words and efforts. His approach is to help you in anyway he can. Isai never treated me like a client but always as a friend; every meeting was started with a handshake and a hug. Those are things that you just and wont get from businesses who claim to want to help but in reality only want your money. Isai has a great team behind him, and that is what sets the bar even higher for others to reach; Jason is smart and a super-cool cat, and Angela was always friendly, kind, and very professional. Right after hiring Isai he went to work. He stopped the wage garnishments, made sure I didn’t lose my professional license and always kept me up to date with what was going on and what I needed to do. Although there wasn’t much for me to do, when the Bizmark team asked me for papers I made sure not to waste any time in getting it to them and they did the rest. Isai kept everything truthful and honest with the IRS. That is very important because I don’t want to have to worry about any surprises in the future; and even with that Isai was still able to work a miracle for me. I can’t comment on what or how the Bizmark team dealt with the IRS because I have no idea, but I will comment on how much of a blessing piece of mind is. Just knowing you are not going to face a giant alone is a tremendous pressure off your shoulders. We always hear the commercials where they say “tax relief with pennies on the dollar”; but Isai, Jason and Angela delivered results with actions not words or empty promises. After you realize you need help (help with any tax/IRS issues), call Isai and see what it feels like when someone truly wants to help you and your family get into a better situation. Thank you Isai, Jason, and Angela… you gave me a second chance to do things right. Sean
Read less
Posted by Sev | February 23, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great experince
I was very lucky to find Isai of Bismark Tax 3 years ago after I was audited by the IRS. I called and spoke to him over the phone (he came highly recommended by a friend of mine). He answered all my questions and addressed as many concerns as he could over the phone. He was very clear and took his time explaining options relating to my situation. We made an appointment and the rest is history. We've been going to him ever since for all our tax needs. He's been very caring and has made himself available to us via phone, text and email throughout the years. I'd highly recommend him for all your tax needs.
Read less
Posted by Jorge | February 10, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Bismark Tax Service is truly the best!
Bismark Tax Service has been a lifesaver during some tough and very complicated times in my life. Ending up with a multiple year tax audits has been a terrifying experience. Through every step of this process, Isai Cortez, Jason Peart and the entire team at Bismark Tax Service, has been there to guide and mentor me.. Isai and Jason Peart have provided expert guidance and detailed explanations. I am fully confident in their work and dedication. It would be a mistake to go anywhere else. I trust the great experts at Bismark Tax Service and recommend them to all my friends.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.8 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Supervising Attorney / Professor
  • Pepperdine University School Of Law
  • 2016 - Present
  • Lead Tax Attorney
  • Bismark Tax, Inc.
  • 2012 - Present
  • In-House
  • Treatment Center
  • 2010 - 2011
  • Extern
  • Pennsylvania Department of Revenue - Office of Chief Counsel
  • 2009 - 2009
  • Certified Intern
  • San Diego Public Defenders Office
  • 2009 - 2009
View all work experience

Education

  • University of California at Los Angeles School of Law
  • LL.M - Master of Laws
  • 2011
  • Pennsylvania State University, Dickinson School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2010
  • California State University, Northridge
  • B.S.
  • 2007
  • Los Angeles Valley College
  • Associates of Art
  • 2005
View all education

Legal Cases

  • Wrong Taxpayer
  • Client received a combined $18k refund
  • Over $25,000 of IRS debt turned into $50 IRS settlement!
  • Settled a little over $25,000 of IRS tax debt for $50 paid in full.

Associations

  • Los Angeles Latino Chambers of Commerce
  • Associate
  • 2015 - Present
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • Associate Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • State Bar of California, Taxation Section, Young Tax Lawyers Committee
  • Associate Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Christian Legal Aid
  • Volunteer Attorney
  • 2012 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Russian

Awards

  • Avvo Rated Attorney
  • Avvo
  • 2013
  • Volunteer of the year
  • Christian Legal Aid of Los Angeles
  • 2013
  • Public Interest Advocate
  • The Miller Center for Public Interest Advocacy
  • 2010

Speaking Engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (27)
Given (40)
Endorse Isai
Tax Attorney | Mar 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Attorney Isai Cortez. I've know Isai for more than five years and have respected his dedicated work in representing his clients all tax matters."
Business Attorney | Sep 28
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | May 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top notch attorney, who provides excellent legal service and successful representation. I happily endorse this lawyer."
Business Attorney | May 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. A highly skilled and respected lawyer in the legal community."
Business Attorney | Apr 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. An outstanding and well respected attorney in the legal community. I would recommend him wholeheartedly to annyone needing legal representation."
Tax Attorney | Jan 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Isai is truly one of the best and brightest. Isai is on my short list of lawyers who I contact when I need expert advice. He cares about his clients, knows the law, and is masterful in the court. I can recommend Isai without any reservations."
Tax Attorney | Dec 20
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Tax Attorney | Sep 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Isai is a hard-working, dedicated attorney who is committed to representing his clients' interests."
Unknown Attorney | Sep 13
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Tax Attorney | Sep 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Cortez is truly passionate about the practice of law. He is competent, driven and can assist you with your tax-related needs. I endorse this lawyer."
Tax Attorney | Aug 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Aug 30
Relationship: Friend
"I have known Isai Cortez for 6 years. In that time he has shown himself to be a diligent and hard worker who puts his clients needs first. He is knowledgeable when it comes to assisting clients with their issues, and is readily available and easy to work with."
Tax Attorney | Aug 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Very knowledgeable and professional. I endorse this lawyer."
Business Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Tax Attorney | Aug 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Mr. Cortez for his vast experience in dealing with the IRS to help clients with their tax-related issues. His knowledge and ability to workout deals with the IRS is, in my opinion, unsurpassed. Mr. Cortez is also a very personable gentleman who takes the time to truly help every one of his clients. I highly recommend him."
Unknown Attorney | Aug 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top-notch attorney. Highly respected in the legal community."
Tax Attorney | Aug 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Cortez is a very knowledgeable and energetic attorney who knows how to provide excellent service to his business and tax clients. I certainly recommend him."
Tax Attorney | Aug 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Tax Attorney | Aug 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I would recommend Isai to everyone for their tax issues. He cares about his clients and works diligently on their cases to get results."
Tax Attorney | Aug 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Isai is a trustworthy and reputable attorney. I have extreme confidence in his work and know that any client I refer to him will be treated with the utmost respect and dignity. To Isai the client is always number one and his efforts are always dedicated to obtaining the best for his clients."
View more endorsements
DUI and DWI
Criminal defense
Car accident
Criminal defense
Contracts and agreements
General practice
Estate planning
Workers compensation
Criminal defense
Chapter 7 bankruptcy
Criminal defense
Personal injury