Skip to main content

Karl A. Mueller

DUI and DWI Attorney at Gilbert, AZ

4.7   23 reviews
  • State Years
    Arizona - AZ 27 years
    Montana - MT 26 years
    California - CA 26 years
  • Licensed for 27 years
    State AZ
    Acquired 1996
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 26 years
    State MT
    Acquired 1997
    Status
    Inactive No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 26 years
    State CA
    Acquired 1997
    Status
    Resigned No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Karl

Learn Karl’s areas of practice.

Anyone who knows me, knows I love competing in long distance swimming and  triathlons. I am also love to travel and I am an avid Star Wars fan.

Location

The Law Office of Karl Mueller, P.L.C.
1760 E. Pecos Road
Gilbert, AZ, 85295
TEMPE OFFICE
60 E Rio Salado Parkway
Suite 900
Tempe, AZ, 85281
PHOENIX OFFICE
2415 E. Camelback Rd.
Suite 700
Phoenix, AZ, 85016
Hide locations

DUI & DWI lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.7 / 5.0
  23 customer reviews
Posted by anonymous | September 23, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Top Notch and professional
Honest, simple, direct and to the point. I called him for a consultation and thought for sure I had to hire a lawyer. He advised me how to take care of my problem myself and that did not need a lawyer. However, he still took the time to explain to me what I need to do. If I ever need an attorney in the future I will definately give Karl a call.
Read less
Posted by Bobbie Wilkening | October 15, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Criminal Ticket for Littering Dismissed
Karl Mueller is definitely the guy you want to hire as your attorney. I got a ticket for littering. Throwing an unlit cigarette butt on the road. Turns out this is a criminal offense with possible fine, community service, and jail time, plus stays on your record as a crime forever. I had talked in length with a different attorney who told me this was no big deal, it would be fine, and they should be able to get it reduced. I called Karl and chose him because he truly cared about this going on my record, the specifics of my case, and the things important to me, ( I am 50 years old with a clean record). He did not promise anything, he was honest, LOTS of experience, use to be a prosecutor, has a relationship with the courts, knows the judge and what can potentially work best for me. We spoke on the phone a few times and I trusted him with my case. The day before court he called me to say my case was completely dismissed. WOW!!! He really does work behind the scene. This was not luck, or just simple, that's not me. I choose my attorney wisely and he did his best for me as I believed he would. If you are reading this call him!!!! He answers his phone and returns calls. Best call you will make!!! If you smoke put a water bottle in your car for butts! THANKS KARL!!!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
From Criminal Speeding to Civil Traffic
First, I really appreciate what Mr. Muller has done to my case. At first, I was received a ticket for Criminal Speeding. And that time I did not realize the seriousness of it and plead guilty immediately. However, then I know Criminal Speeding would leave a criminal record and I ask Mr. Muller to deal with my case. He first helped me to withdraw the "plead guilty" and appeal again. Although the process lasted a long time, the result is satisfactory. I quite recommend Mr. Muller to deal with the traffic case.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 16, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Reckless Driving Acquittal
I felt that Mr. Mueller faced a particularly strong arguments against the defendant in this case. Factors such as improperly restrained toddler, admitted criminal speed (twice the legal limit), high performance vehicle, etc. made defending this Reckless Driving charge in a jury trial very challenging. Additionally, I felt that the prosecutor presented excellent arguments for conviction of the defendant. In his closing arguments for the defense, Mr. Mueller expertly dismantled the rationales put forth by the prosecution resulting in a not guilty verdict.
Read less
Posted by Mark | July 12, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Response and Follow-up
Mr. Mueller assisted my teenage daughter with a difficult traffic ticket. He was able to thoroughly explain the possible outcomes and with his familiarity with the court was able to discuss a plea deal and explain the ramifications. He was very responsive any time that we had a question and always followed up on everything he said he would do. Although he could not guaranty a particular outcome, with his assistance we were able to make a deal that was acceptable to us and the court. I would definitely recommend Mr. Mueller for all of your needs.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Weight lifted from my shoulders
Karl was extremely helpful, kind and thoughtful. Very easy to talk to and he took care of all the little stuff and the main worries for me. I felt very at ease through the whole process and I felt a huge weight lifted off from my shoulders.
Posted by Robert | October 22, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend
I was sited for criminal speeding. I made my initial court appearance without a lawyer. Once I was there and learned that I was looking at a criminal record, possible jail time, and fines I knew it was time to hire a lawyer. I spoke with 2 other lawyers before going with Karl. He was the one that took time to answer my questions, address my concerns, but he also made no promises for an outcome. He was upfront that he would represent me to the best of his ability but couldn't promise any particular outcome as it was ultimately the judge to decide. We had a couple of phone conversations prior to meeting at court. He spoke with the county attorney to get what was offered. He then explained to me my options. Again he made sure I understood what the process was and what the potential outcomes could be for each option. After talking it over I felt comfortable going with his recommendation. In the court room I was impressed with his knowledge of the law, his presence before the judge, and his influential way he presented my case. He was able to get my case reduced from criminal to civil. I left the courtroom not having a criminal conviction. If you are facing criminal charges but feel you don't need a lawyer I strongly suggest getting one. I highly recommend Karl to represent you. As with hiring any lawyer there is no guarantee of an outcome. I do know he was able to represent me better than I could have represented myself and I feel he was better than most lawyers out there.
Read less
Posted by Lucian Ghe | June 30, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Good traffic lawyer
Mister K Muller represent me in the court of Phoenix for two traffic tickets that i had and he got them dismissed I like hiss services he is very professional and has good knowledge of the whole process
Posted by anonymous | June 2, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
From the initial consultation to the final bench hearing with the judge at court, Karl was very knowledgeable and professional in his representation of my case. Through his experience, knowledge and established relationships within the legal community, Karl was able to get my misdemeanor charge (driving on suspended license) dismissed and speeding charge penalty diverted to defensive driving school despite initial pushback from the prosecutor. I would recommend Karl for any of my friends and network for dealing with any and all traffic and civil violation representation.
Read less
Posted by Jie | May 29, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Karl Mueller Is an Excellent Lawyer
Karl helped me on my criminal traffic ticket this week. On the pre-trial meeting with prosecutor, Karl succesfully persuaded them that my speeding can be considered as civil traffic. This result is what I want. Thank Karl for the help! I think he is a very professional and excellent lawyer. I would like to recommend him to people who needs a lawyer.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 11, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Speeding Ticket
Karl was of great help to me. He helped to provide excellent assistance in getting my case resolved as quickly as possible in my favor. Would recommend him to family/friends.
Posted by Doug | March 4, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Helped a couple of us Canadians
My friend and I were in need of a good lawyer do to deservedly being charged for speeding at twice the speed limit in Az. Not being US citizens we were pretty concerned about future entry into the US and determined we needed a lawyer. We hired Karl Mueller and after a couple of court appearances all our court troubles were resolved and a very stressful experience was over. Without Mr. Mueller representing us I'm sure things would not have ended so positive for us. I would recommend Mr. Mueller to anyone .
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 4, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Saved from a criminal traffic offense.
First lawyer and definitely gonna call him again for any trouble. Hopefully not anymore of course.. Really approachable. Very knowledgeable. Great guy to talk too and feel safe and secured.
Posted by Edward | January 21, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional and knowledgable
I received a ticket driving 98 mph in a 65 mph zone. Since I am from California it was advantageous for me to get the ticket handled appropriately but carefully. My goal was to get traffic school since I did not want to worry about fees for the school and the lawyer. I hired Mr. Mueller because to be honest he seemed to be knowledgeable and he was the less expensive out of the other lawyers I spoke with. At first I was skeptical because he did not really get to know me or ask me a lot of detailed questions. That all didn't matter when it came time to have my court date. We met in person and then I realized how he worked. He was professional and he seemed to care even though he barely knew me. He listened to me and gave me sound advice before we spoke with the judge. Sure, it helped that I am in the Navy Reserve and the judge may have honored that, however Mr. Mueller represented me and knew how to handle a situation that I knew nothing about since this was the first time in my life that I have been to court when not being a part of a jury. I walked out with traffic school thanks to Mr. Mueller. I would recommend him and I would hire him again. Good luck.
Read less
Posted by Rocky | September 17, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Representation for Excessive Speed Citation
Mr. Mueller provided me with prompt, courteous & sound legal representation regarding an Excessive Speed Citation that I had received earlier this year in Mesa, Arizona. Beginning with our initial contact, his demeanor & style alleviated my stress & apprehension concerning the charges I faced. He thoroughly explained the charges that I faced & clearly outlined all of my options. The outcome of the charges was the best possible scenario & far exceeded my expectations. Mr. Mueller did a great job for me & I would not hesitate to utilize his services again in the future.
Read less
Posted by Greg | August 3, 2015
One who knows the laws and can do battle
Karl has the most integrity of any lawyer that I have had an opportunity to work with he knows how the system works and looks for the most opportune time to work his knowledge. Thank you Karl for your help and god bless you. Greg M
Posted by Sandra | June 18, 2015
Very favorable outcome
Karl Mueller was a very big help with my court case . He is very knowledgeable with the laws. He is very pleasant and an easy person to talk to without being judgemental at all . I found him to be very laid back and not stuffy like some attorneys may be . He notified me of when the court date would be and what would happen at that appointment . He arrived early to court so that he could talk to the prosecutor ahead of time. The end result was very favorable and I would definitely refer to him to anyone that needs an attorney. It also helped that he has a rapport with the prosecuting attorney so while I was preparing for the worst , we got the best outcome available to me. If you are looking for a professional, knowledgeable attorney I would highly recommend this lawyer .
Read less
Posted by Nancy | May 29, 2015
Great Experience!!
I got Mr. Mueller to represent me on a speeding ticket. He got the ticket dismissed!! Am very happy with his representation and wouldn't hesitate to call him again!!
Posted by SCOTT | May 22, 2015
Extremely Knowledgeable in Motor Vehicle and Related Crime Law
Karl was extremely helpful to me with providing advice when I was being attacked by someone and had driven away. The police were simply going to file charges against me based on the "victim" being injured. His advice was proven to be immeasurable. All of my ducks were in a row and the case never came to fruition. He stayed on top of the matter and kept me informed. I learned that he practiced in California and Arizona and have often had questions for him. He is extremely responsive. If you get his answering service, he is quick to call back. Never a complaint. I highly recommend Karl for anyone who might be charged with any crime, most particularly those involving a motor vehicle such as DUI charges, as well. There are a lot of loopholes in DUI cases that are not known to the public. It's not "tricks," but more skill and expertise and knowing how to handle the most seasoned prosecutor. While knowing him I learned that he was a prosecutor both in CA and AZ which makes him also respected by the County Attorney when representing a client. This is extremely important. It is easier to convince a prosecutor to deviate from the norm when they know a former prosecutor really believes in the client. A+++++ 5 Stars!
Read less
Posted by Dr Anna | May 12, 2015
one good Arizona attourney
Attourney Karl Mueller is top notch. Answers his own phone most of the time or promptly returned my calls. I couldn't find the court house and he waited an hour for me. He took care of everything, got me 'out of trouble' with ease and he never let me stress. He is confident, was well liked by the judge; he made the entire process almost fun. Highly recommended. Outstanding among his colleagues.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.0 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Founder/Attorney
  • Law Office of Karl A. Mueller
  • 2007 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Davis Miles, PLLC
  • 2006 - 2007
  • Attorney
  • Cantor Simon
  • 2005 - 2006
  • Prosecutor
  • Maricopa County Attorney's Office
  • 1998 - 2005
  • Prosecutor
  • Los Angeles County District Attorney
  • 1995 - 1998
View all work experience

Education

  • Whittier College School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1996
  • University of Montana School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • N/A
  • California State University, Los Angeles
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • N/A
  • Rio Hondo College
  • AA Associate of Arts
  • N/A
View all education

Associations

  • State Bar of California
  • Member
  • N/A
  • State Bar of Arizona
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Montana State Bar
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Arizona Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Montana Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • N/A
  • California DUI Lawyers Association
  • N/A
  • Better Business Bureau
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Portuguese
  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Prosecutor of the Year
  • Mothers Against Drunk Driving
  • 2001
  • Crime Victim's Special Award
  • MCAO
  • 2000
  • Prosecutor of the Year
  • MCAO
  • 1999
  • Prosecutor of the Year
  • MADD
  • 1998
  • IRONMAN All World Athlete
  • World Triathlon Corporation
  • N/A
  • All League Water Polo
  • Whitmont League
  • N/A
  • All League Swimming
  • Whitmont League
  • N/A
  • Lifeguard of the Year
  • City of Whittier
  • N/A
View all awards

Attorney endorsements

Received (3)
Given (3)
Endorse Karl
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 03
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Karl is an excellent attorney. He is very experienced and admired and well liked by judges, prosecutors and court staff. Karl is very honest and trustworthy. I highly recommend Karl for any criminal or DUI case."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 01
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer. Karl has been a passionate advocate his entire career. Karl is the lawyer I choose to trust with my clients if anything we're to happen to me. He is a highly skilled and passionate advocate. I appreciate and trust Karl with my most important matters. Karl also has sufficient humility to be prayerful over the decisions he has been trusted to make in his work and I respect that more than anything. He is a great friend."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Feb 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have known Karl for fifteen years since we worked together in the County Attorney's Office. Karl is a very intelligent and skilled attorney. He was very tenacious as a prosecutor and works with the same aggressiveness in representing his clients"
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Gilbert DUI and DWI Lawyer Karl A. Mueller
Karl A. Mueller
DUI and DWI Attorney
Gilbert, AZ
Licensed for 27 years
Free Consultation