Skip to main content

Jessica W Peterson

Criminal defense Attorney at Park City, UT

5.0   10 reviews
  • State Years
    Dist. of Columbia - DC 10 years
    Utah - UT 16 years
  • Licensed for 10 years
    State DC
    Acquired 2014
    Status
    Good Standing No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 16 years
    State UT
    Acquired 2007
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Jessica

Learn Jessica’s areas of practice.

Our mission at J. Peterson Law, PLLC is to diligently defend each and every client. We recognize that not every person wants to handle a criminal case the same way, and that you deserve to be heard – both in court and by your attorney. 

We have handled thousands of misdemeanor and felony cases and believe that every client is entitled to an aggressive and competent attorney. 

Call us today for a free consultation.

Photos and videos

My two favorite words are "Not Guilty." I am a tenacious, experienced criminal defense attorney who will not stop until I achieve my client's desired outcome for a case.

Location

J. Peterson Law, PLLC
Po Box 8000
Ste. 204
Park City, UT, 84060-8000

Similar lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  10 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | November 7, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
Jessica was awesome from the very first phone call! I faced charges a few days before I was scheduled to move out of state. Jessica made it possible for me to keep my moving date and communicated with me via telephone and email long distance through out my case. Through out the process Jessica kept me well informed and I couldn't have been happier with the results of my case. I would strongly recommend Jessica Peterson.
Read less
Posted by Matthew | November 1, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Would absolutely recommend! Personable, Articulate, Strong and Knowledgable
I first contacted Jessica with J. Peterson Law in December 2016 to assist me with domestic violence case after dealing with the court appointed LDA that I wasn't having an success with. Jessica was very personable and friendly and wanted to get down to the nitty gritty of the details to understand and start working the case right away. Whenever I had any questions or concerns and needed to contact her she was always there and available to me and addressed everything right away. She kept in contact with me whenever she had any updates from the prosecuting attorneys office, and would give me friendly reminders about upcoming court dates. She would also make sure that I got all information, details, and evidence to her to assist with the case. Jessica always kept my best interests in the forefront during this case. She was easy to work with when it came down to making payment arrangements that would work for her, as well as me. I was very pleased with the outcome and she always made this trying experience much more bearable. I am hopeful that I will never have to retain a lawyer again, but I will definitely go through Jessica. I absolutely recommend Jessica and her firm for any persons looking for an excellent defense attorney. - Matthew C.
Read less
Posted by Ronnie | September 8, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Miracle Worker
Friendly, courageous and self motivated are 3 words I would use to describe Jessica! From the 1st time we talked I could tell that Jessica held the professional edge over any other Lawyer I contacted about my case! Jessica went above and beyond as far as quality/relevant research, time invested, passionate commitment and off-job homework. She always reached out any time there were new developments in the case as well as responded immediately to any questions or concerns I held. Overall, I couldn't be any happier with all the efforts she put into my case! I am forever grateful for her unique services! I am now able to continue living my dreams because of her legal representation!!! Thank you dearly Jessica!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 22, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best lawyer in Utah
My case was closed and dismissed thanks to the hard work of Jessica.
Posted by Lori | August 21, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Jessica is AWESOME!
I found Jessica to be professional, knowledgeable about the law and about different options for me to take. I found her to be kind and compassionate and always there for me. She was always honest with me yet has a way of encouraging and supporting you at various hearings that to the novice are very scary. Jessica has a special gift at helping people like myself who struggle with anxiety and some mental health issues. She is expert at working with the courts at finding a solution that benefits her client . My outcome was better than I could ever have asked for! Jessica is trustworthy , available and her rates are reasonable. Highly recommend her! Lori
Read less
Posted by Jackson | September 2, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
An attorney who does it all!
Jessica is an attorney that is different from many I know. She treated me as an individual and she was incredibly easy to communicate with. She made herself available outside of normal business hours and treated me as an equal. She is a diligent, aggressive, and smart attorney who uses her experience to get the best outcome for her clients. I really liked how Jessica strategized with me and laid out all of my options, instead of just telling me what I could and couldn't do. If you ever need an attorney, you will be thrilled with Jessica's representation.
Read less
Posted by Tonya | May 21, 2015
Jessica is the Best !!!
I hired Jessica to defend me in my criminal case. She did an amazing job. Right from the start she was very on top of things and worked with me to get any and all the information she could. She did research on similar cases to get me the best sentence she could. She was always honest and open with me and told me the best and the possible worst case scenario's. She also went above and beyond, she even attended my doctors visits when I asked her to, she really cares about her clients. Even after Sentencing (which turned out amazing) She assisted in all I needed. Even to this day a few months later she checks in and makes sure all is well and asks if I need any help with anything. I would and have recommended Jessica to many. She is an awesome attorney, person and friend.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 5, 2015
Jessica W Peterson is an amazing attorney!
I worked with Jessica W Peterson in the past as a paralegal. I am now in law school, determined to become a criminal defense attorney. My past experience working with Jessica has really shown me what being an extraordinary attorney is all about. Due to my work experience prior to law school, I learned that a client's two biggest complaints about their attorney is lack of prompt communication, and confusion stemming from the attorney not explaining the issue fully. Jessica is on the ball with everything she does, including communication. If you call her, she will call you back promptly. She will also take extra time with you to ensure you completely understand what is going on with your case. Therefore, a client's biggest complaints are alleviated by hiring Jessica. In addition to effective and prompt communication, Jessica is passionate. She genuinely cares about her clients and uses her passion to defend her clients to the max. I've seen many attorney's who are intelligent, but lack the passion necessary to take them from an ordinary attorney to a fantastic attorney. Jessica is a fantastic attorney. I am confident you will see exactly what I mean within the first few minutes of talking/meeting with her. Finally, Jessica is very intelligent. As a law school student I have came to her with questions or issues that I was having difficulty with. She pleasantly surprises me every time with her in-depth, thorough knowledge of the law. In sum, Jessica W Peterson is prompt and effective in her communication with clients, she is passionate, and she is intelligent. I cannot think of a better combination of traits for a criminal defense attorney to have. I would highly recommend Jessica to anyone, especially if it is someone I care about. She is amazing!
Read less
Posted by Charles | April 30, 2015
Great Attorney
Mrs. Peterson is a skilled trial attorney. She is not afraid to take a case all the way to a jury trial. Unlike other attorneys, she works with her client to figure out what you want before deciding which way to take the case. She listens well and charges very reasonable rates. She is an all around great attorney.
Posted by Rita | April 28, 2015
Aggressive and talented criminal defense attorney
Jessica is a very competent criminal defense attorney. She makes sure to treat her clients with respect and includes them when making decisions on how to best fight the case. She will leave no stone unturned in trying to get the best outcome for her clients. I highly recommend Jessica if you need a criminal defense attorney.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.0 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • J. Peterson Law, PLLC
  • 2014 - Present
  • Staff Attorney
  • D.C. Sentencing and Criminal Revision Code Commission
  • 2012 - 2013
  • Legislative Assistant & Legal Fellow
  • United States House Of Representatives
  • 2011 - 2013
  • Public Defender
  • Salt Lake Legal Defender Assoc.
  • 2007 - 2011
View all work experience

Education

  • University of San Diego School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2007
  • Vanderbilt University
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 2002

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Drug Trafficking
  • Dismissed
  • DUI
  • Reduced Charges
  • Sex Abuse Charges Reduced
  • Reduced Charges
View all legal cases

Associations

  • District of Columbia Bar
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • Utah State Bar
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Utah Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Best Lawyer
  • Expertise
  • 2016
  • High Honors Trial Advocacy Award
  • University of San Diego
  • 2007

Attorney endorsements

Received (5)
Given (4)
Endorse Jessica
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 11
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Jessica Peterson is a zealous but incredibly civil advocate. She is a leader in the field of criminal justice because she approaches every case with passion. I wholeheartedly endorse her work."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jessica is bright, persuasive, and dedicated to making sure every stone is over turned to ensure justice is served!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jessica is a terrific advocate. She had a great reputation when she was a public defender. We are fortunate that she returned to Utah to start a private practice. I would highly recommend her."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 27
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Jessica is a hard-working, smart, professional and compassionate attorney. She is an exceptional lawyer and person and her clients are lucky to be defended by such an incredible advocate."
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Park City Criminal defense Lawyer Jessica W Peterson
Jessica W Peterson
Criminal defense Attorney
Park City, UT
Licensed for 16 years
Free Consultation