Skip to main content

Jack Van Valkenburgh

Guardianship Attorney at Boise, ID

5.0   8 reviews
  • Licensed for 36 years
    State ID
    Acquired 1988
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Location

Van Valkenburgh Law, PLLC
P.O. Box 531
Boise, ID, 83701

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  8 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Dave Petty, CPA | June 6, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional License Case
Mr. Van Valkenburgh represented me in a matter regarding my professional license. His willingness to understand, first the history and second the technical aspects of the case were outstanding. His experience and thoroughness in gathering the documents and preparing testimony, both mine and other witnesses was complete. I would highly recommend Jack for anyone seeking legal advice in this area.
Read less
Posted by Donald | November 16, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DW Review
I highly recommend both Jack Van Valkenburgh and Sam Johnson for legal representation, particularly if you have been falsely accused, mistreated, or suffered denial of your rights at the hands of police or private businesses. We were targetted solely because of our race. We were mistreated and publicly humiliated. Working together, Mr. Van Valkenburgh and Mr. Johnson effectively pressured the police and business to settle out of court (the terms of the settlement are sealed) in a manner that properly redressed our wrongful arrests and detentions. In addition to his skilled advocacy, Mr. Van Valkenburgh stayed in good communication with us throughout the litigation. It is without hesitation that I recommend him as your attorney in legal battles against police, other governmental officials, or private business.
Read less
Posted by Gary Abshire | November 14, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wrongfully Tased
On January 4, 2009, I was wrongfully tased by a Fruitland Police Officer as my roommate and I removed his drunk and violent girlfriend from our house. The Officer arrived on scene and without saying a word, he pulled out his Taser and shot me! Fifty thousand volts violently ran through my body for five seconds...but that wasn't even close to being the worst part. Five days after the incident, the Officer filed "Battery Charges" against me in an attempt to cover up the tasing...and for the first time in my life I needed legal help. After a lot of wasted time and money...I simply believe my first attorney was afraid of the fight...and that's when I was referred to Jack Van Valkenburgh. Jack had the knowledge, experience and respect of the legal community which facilitated a fair judgment. More importantly...Jack got the "Battery Charge" expunged from my record. It is without hesitation that I refer Jack Van Valkenburgh to orchestrate your fight and resolve your legal issues. You won't be sorry...Jack KICKS ASS! Gary Payette, Idaho
Read less
Posted by Terry | November 12, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Effective and Compassionate
During my association with Jack Van Valkenburgh, he proved to be an effective and compassionate advocate for my developmentally disabled son who was charged with a battery that was truly a result of the maliciousness of his wife… from whom he is now divorced, thankfully. Mr. Van Valkenburgh was very accommodating of my son’s communication needs which allowed him to be unusually comfortable and open throughout the entire process. Terry W. Sr.
Read less
Posted by Robert | November 11, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Van Valkenburgh Law, PLLC
Mr. Van Valkenburgh had represented me due to an injury I suffered from a product purchased from one of the largest retail stores in America. Jack never failed to return my calls and emails and did so in a timely manner. He answered all of my questions in detail, drafted compelling Court papers and smartly negotiated a very satisfactory settlement of my case. I would recommend Van Valkenburgh Law, PLLC if you suffer an injury due to negligence or a wrongful act. I was extremely pleased with the legal representation that Jack provided me. Robert J. Boise,ID.
Read less
Posted by melanie | November 11, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Going the extra mile for a client!
Jack Van Valkenburgh is unwilling to quit, even when, as in my case, some witnesses could not be found and my case experienced problems unrelated to his representation of me. Jack always treated my case as if it were hugely important, promptly returned my phone calls, and ultimately won me a very reasonable settlement. I highly recommend Van Valkenburgh Law, PLLC should you experience a legal problem in Idaho!
Read less
Posted by Richard | March 6, 2015
guardianship
"I hired Mr. Van Valkenburgh when my wife was suffering from dementia. Mr. Van Valkenburgh was able to establish my guardianship of her without a single hitch. And he works for a very reasonable fee. "If you need to become guardian or conservator of a family member, I strongly recommend you hire Jack Van Valkenburgh as your attorney! Mr. Van Valkenburgh is a caring, very competent, and extremely effective advocate, who will go the extra mile to be sure that your needs are met and your goals are satisfied." - Richard O., Middleton
Read less
Posted by Teresa | March 5, 2015
Extremely pleased!
Jack Van Valkenburgh represented me when my father was suffering memory loss and confusion. Mr. Van Valkenburgh was able to quickly establish my guardianship and conservatorship for dad. With that authority, I was able to place dad in an assisted living facility with memory care. I was impressed by Mr. Van Valkenburgh's integrity -- in both the way he handled my case and in the reasonable fee he charged. I recommend him to others who face the need to petition for guardianship or conservatorship of a loved one. Mr. Van Valkenburgh did more than I could have ever hoped. His attitude of understanding, his willingness to work within my financial constraints, and his apparent care for us as people were all noteworthy.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 15 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check

Resume

AVVO RATING 7.3 (Very Good)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Van Valkenburgh Law, PLLC
  • 2009 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Railsback Law Office
  • 2008 - 2009
  • Executive Director
  • American Civil Liberties Union of Idaho
  • 1990 - 2008
  • Assistant Attorney
  • Boise City
  • 1988 - 1989
View all work experience

Education

  • Northeastern University School of Law
  • J.D.
  • 1982
  • Evergreen State College
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1977

Associations

  • Boise Community Radio
  • Board Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Ada County Human Rights Task Force
  • Board Member
  • 1995 - 2006
  • Idaho State Bar
  • Bar Member
  • 1988 - 2015

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • International Election Observer - Moldova
  • Organization for Security & Cooperation in Europe
  • 2014
  • Founder's Award: Jack Van Valkenburgh
  • American Civil Liberties Union of Idaho
  • 2009

Publications

  • The U.S.A. Patriot Act: The Devil is in the Details
  • The Advocate
  • 2005

Speaking Engagements

  • A debate with a leading opponent of gay marriage
  • Should gay marriages be recognized?
  • 2007
  • A debate with the Deputy Attorney General for Idaho
  • The U.S.A. Patriot Act
  • 2004

Attorney endorsements

Received (1)
Given (1)
Endorse Jack
Constitutional Attorney | Nov 11
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"While representing a client in a recent civil rights case, I needed to intervene in my own case as a party and asked Jack to represent me. Fortunately for me, he said yes. Not only did we win that case in the District Court, Jack and I won at the Ninth Circuit. Thanks Jack!"
Civil rights