Skip to main content

Rebecca Irene Gumaer

Family Attorney at Wheat Ridge, CO

5.0   44 reviews
  • State Years
    Colorado - CO 18 years
    Louisiana - LA 18 years
  • Licensed for 18 years
    State CO
    Acquired 2006
    Status
    Active Lawyer disciplined by state licensing authority in 2009
  • Licensed for 18 years
    State LA
    Acquired 2005
    Status
    Ineligible to practice law Lawyer disciplined by state licensing authority in 2009

This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in 2009. See details

About Rebecca

Learn Rebecca’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Alimony
    20%

    10 years

  2. Child custody
    20%

    18 years, 1,000 cases

  3. Child support
    20%

    10 years

  4. Divorce and separation
    20%

    18 years, 1,000 cases

  5. Family
    20%

    18 years, 1,000 cases

Rebecca I. Gumaer is 100% focused on family law.  I have handled thousands of cases involving spouses and parents transitioning through the dissolution and custody process.  I enjoy breaking marital agreements. I enjoy defending against Common Law Marriage claims.  I enjoy seeing children secure in their relationships with both parents. 

Awards

Client's Choice 2020,2018,2016,2015,2014,2013
Client's Choice
2020 2018 2016 + 3 ...

Photos and videos

Location

Front Range Family Law, LLC
4175 Harlan Street
Suite 210
Wheat Ridge, CO, 80033

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  44 customer reviews
5 Star
 
98%
4 Star
 
2%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2020
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Tom | December 2, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent divorce/family lawyer
Rebecca was excellent in explaining the do's and don't's during the divorce. She knew when to compromise and when to hold our ground. When the ex decided to leave town, she helped deal with the new custody issues and child support issues for a single father and 2 children. A year later she actually followed up. And most recently dealt with the final aspects of child support for the children when older. I cannot say enough good things about Rebecca.
Read less
Posted by Randall | September 6, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent service and knowledge
I should’ve used Rebecca all along. She was recommended to me with high regard she knew immediately what needed to be done and began the process it was a long process and a lot of waiting with Covid but she was confident and of course eventually I prevailed in court thanks to her will never use another if I never need it again
Posted by Sarah | July 2, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Go see Rebecca! You’ll be so glad you did!
I can’t say enough about how beautifully Rebecca and her wonderful team helped me Navigate my divorce after 20 years of marriage. Her experience and Guidance is the key to coming through one of the hardest things in my life- she told me what I needed to hear (the truth) instead of just what I wanted to hear and truly guided me step by step in the process. Things and days that should have been really rough ended up somehow feeling so positive because I could relax into Rebecca and her team’s expertise. A good friend recommended her to me and saved me so much time, money, and headache- I want to do the same for someone else. That’s why I so highly recommend Rebecca and Brinton! If you are facing divorce, go see Rebecca - you will be so glad you did! She is also conveniently located in Wheat Ridge.
Read less
Posted by Katie | June 23, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce lawyer
I hired Rebecca so I did not have to have any more contact with my ex husband. The team she has and herself made it so smooth and as easy as possible for me, especially when this is such a difficult thing. Strongly recommend.
Posted by Brock | February 7, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Experience
After being drug through the ringer and losing most rights to my children, I decided to hire Rebecca for my 3rd round back in court. She grounded herself on all the back and forth and situations I had been through. She knew exactly how to present my side knowing the type of person we were up against. I got to walk out of court getting everything I asked for and then some. This was a first for me. I have never been happier and can't thank Rebecca enough.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 4, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
BEFORE YOU HIRE ANY ATTORNEY!!! READ THIS!!!
When it came to my divorce, first and foremost I was in denial. I did not want a divorce, I did not choose to get a divorce, and I was scared of the process. When my ex-spouse, in our tenth counseling session, said they wanted a divorce, I still waited for their attorney to call me before it became real. When that attorney called and threatened me, I finally looked for an attorney of my own. The time had come to face the facts, I was going to go through the most dramatic and devastating event of my life. Although, I took the time to shop the same way I always have. I always research for what I am looking for, read the reviews, ask others, look at the products, and consider at least three before I make a choice. I interviewed four attorneys in two days. Rebecca Gumaer was the third of the four attorneys. I am truly blessed I chose her and she accepted me. Unequivocally, it was the decision that saved me from losing my kids, my business, and my sanity. I believe it was godsend. Ms. Gumaer’s commitment to be with me through one of the most litigious divorces that a person could imagine, is what makes the difference between her and other attorneys. My Ex-spouse went through four separate attorneys, and four separate law firms. In the end my Ex-spouse blamed Rebecca Gumear for not getting what they wanted. Through almost a year long process Rebecca Gumaer stood by me. Together we battled, ridiculous claims and challenges. Even after the divorce was final, Rebecca Gumear has stood by me. The gratitude I owe her is immeasurable and I would not recommend any other human being to be with you through the process of divorce. As she says “Relax. we will get through this”.
Read less
Posted by Madisen | January 30, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Lawyers
Rebecca and Britten were so great to work with! They got me everything I was asking for in my divorce! They are very personable and upfront about everything!
Posted by Joel | January 30, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great team work
She and her team helped me get through my divorce without a problem. She answered every question without hesitation and when i need her team she sent them. If you choose her you will be in great hands
Posted by anonymous | April 7, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Fantastic
I have hired three other lawyers to represent me with legal matters involving my ex-wife and two children. At plog and stein I called Mr Plog twice with my concerns of Curtis Weiberg, the lawyer they assigned to me, being too timid to represent me in court. Mr Plog talked with me on the phone but assured me Curtis was a competent lawyer. Curtis failed me in court and I temporarily lost custody of my two children. I then went to Ammarell Deasy which started out fine but I later had to argue with them about going back to court for the custody of my two children. No one should have to argue with a lawyer they've hired to get the representation they are paying for. I left Ammarell Deasy and found Ms Gumaer. She has been the best representation I've had since my divorce process began in the Fall of 2016 which includes Cordell and Cordell as well as Kaplan. Rebecca has a great understanding of civil law, does not sugar coat the situation, make promises which can not be delivered, and works to achieve the goals you expect. Rebbeca I can't thank you and your office enough! I went from only having three supervised hours each week with my two children to only having 39 days each year less than my ex-wife. Rebecca's goal is to have my parenting time returned to complete 50/50 in one year. I have every confidence Rebecca will help me reach that goal. I can't explain the loss experienced from having to endure 11 months of only being able to spend only three supervised hours a week with my two children. It was a terrible loss! The other lawyers I've worked with are all indifferent about the effect of these circumstances on myself and my two children. They were all a waste of time and a huge amount of money. Rebecca I would like to say thank you again. I am only in the second month of having my time back with my two children, five days out of 14, and the difference is amazing. I can't wait for summer to have 50/50 while they are not in school! Barely having any time with them in my life was a terrible torment for me as a loving and caring parent, not to mention the pain it inflicted on my two children. Thank you Ms Gumaer and you're office!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 22, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A great, understanding, informative, prepared, lawyer
This was the first, and hopefully last, time I've ever had to reach out and get legal help. I interviewed a half dozen lawyers before someone recommenced Rebecca to me. I stopped looking after that. From the start of our case all the way to the end Rebecca was, informative, attentive, empathetic, caring, and a huge cheerleader when i needed support. At every juncture of the case she made sure to review and inform me of what was going on so that i was never left wondering and never felt patronized. At the start i was worried and anxious about what would happen but, her actions and words always relieved that stress and i truly felt like she cared the entire time. I truly recommend this service to anyone who is struggling with a dark and terrible time in their lives and feel confidant having reached the end of my case saying, Rebecca and her team will do anything they can to ensure the end result is in your favor.
Read less
Posted by Cynthia | December 14, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Knowledgeable, Accurate, Confident, & Caring
I highly recommend Rebecca as a family law attorney. Dealing with a narcissist, it is intimidating, overwhelming & confusing after the abuse. Rebecca protected and fought for me. She always treated me with respect, never judged me, and understood what I was going through. Rebecca projects a confidence that is contagious. At my weakest moment in life, she gave me strength. My case included a postnup agreement, 2 trials, mediation, non compliance from the other party & financial abuse. I was in such emotional termoil , I asked Rebecca to make decisions in my behalf with my best interest in mind. I trusted her & that was the best decision I could have made during my case. Rebecca's prediction of my case was extremely accurate. She got me what I deserved. I can finally walk away from this relationship knowing I stood up for myself, all because Rebecca represented me. I could not have done this without her.
Read less
Posted by william | November 27, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great help
Rebecca and Cheryl are fantastic. They are both very caring and listen to everything that you are going through. Rebecca can be very aggressive with the opposing party and she will stand up for what you deserve. I was once told that you want a "pitbull" on your side during a divorce and I cannot agree more. Rebecca will do that for you.
Read less
Posted by Ashley | March 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A Sincere Thanks
Rebecca and her staff are truly amazing. They have been a help and support for many years, leading me to victory every time. She has helped with everything from my divorce to my custody arrangements (as they continue to evolve) and I have never had an outcome that left me disappointed. The thing that is most relieving to me, as a mom, is that Rebecca pays attention to the details of my children, and is actively involved as an advocate for what is in their best interest. She is professional, prompt, and poised. I honestly don’t know what I would have done without her! Thank you, all, so much- for all you have done for my kiddos and me!
Read less
Posted by Connie | February 27, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Set a calm tone
As a witness, I was very anxious about testifying in court. Rebecca completely put me at ease by prepping me ahead of time and asking me direct easy to answer questions to begin with. I felt competent and empowered by her guidance. Her questions were easy to process and answer.
Posted by Nikki | February 27, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Step-Parent Adoption of two kids
My husband and I hired Rebecca in May of 2017 to help us with our step-parent adoption of my two kids. The case was made more difficult by the birth father at every possible turn. Rebecca helped guide us through the process, explained every reason for delay or change and made sure we thoroughly understand what was going on. When the court date arrived, Rebecca had us prepped and confident in what would happen in the court room. Every meeting we had with Rebecca was on time and to the point. Our adoption was completed in Feb. of 2018 and we could not be happier with the service we received from Rebecca and her staff. We highly recommend her to anyone who needs help in the family law arena.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 13, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wonderful and professional!
Rebecca was professional, skilled and detailed over the 4 years we worked to resolve an extremely complex case. We followed her advice, provided her with needed documentation and she did wonderfully for us in open-court. We always felt that we were working together as a team. It was clear she is respected within the community. Her rate was fair & reasonable; she spend appropriate billing time on our case and we recommend her to all our family and friends. Our final outcome was a positive result. Yet, if the judge had not rule in our favor, I would still post a review of Rebecca. We are happy with the services she provided.
Read less
Posted by Justin | May 14, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very happy with the results
Rebecca Gumaer is a very professional lawyer who handled my divorce, child custody, and child support issues. Rebecca was very thorough, detailed, and extremely knowledgeable and effective in handling all aspects of my cases. I have hired Rebecca Gumaer more than once with strong confidence that she is able to handle my legal concerns better than anyone else. I would highly recommend Rebecca Gumaer if you need a lawyer to take care of your divorce, child custody, or alimony concerns.
Read less
Posted by Katie | January 31, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Rebecca will help you through the hardest times of your life
Rebecca and staff have eased me through the most difficult time of my life. She took the time to understand my situation and how scary it was, and used her expertise to manage the situation and get the best possible solution. Rebecca is amazing, and I have and will recommend Front Range Family Law to any friend or loved one.
Posted by Anna | October 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended
I hired Rebecca for a child custody case and have been very pleased with her services. She is very knowledgeable and experienced as well as caring and genuinely concerned about the wellbeing of her clients. I would highly recommend her.
Posted by Amber Mesmer | July 15, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Fighting for my childs best interest
Rebecca is my second lawyer in regards to my custody case with my daughter.. My first lawyer screwed me and I ultimately came to Rebecca a broken person needing someone to fight for my daughters best interest. Rebecca has fought 110% for my baby girls best interest. Mediation she was like a tiger against a large law firm and I left amazed at how she was able to get things done.. Then came time for court and testimonies which of coarse hashes up many mixed feelings and she was able to keep me focused on the big picture and what I wanted to accomplish for my girl. I was heart broken when the judge told us at the hearing that she would have to review everything since it was a "Hybrid" case and would get back to us in a couple of weeks. The day the judge was to make the decision over the phone it was postponed again for 4 days later.... Rebecca has done everything possible in her power to fight for me and my daughter.. In which case we WON and my baby girl will be residing with me!!!!! I am so very great full to her and all of her office staff for being there, helping me when times got rough and keeping me on task until the end which ended amazingly...I could not have asked for a better lawyer, she is worth every penny spent!!!!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Hourly Rates $ 350-450 per hour
  • Retainer Sometimes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.7 (Excellent)

Professional misconduct

This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in 2009.

Reciprocal - Stayed Suspension with Probation issued in LA, 2009
updated on 09/15/2016

This means the attorney did something wrong in another state, but can still practice law in Louisiana. Typically in this case the lawyer's poor behavior is exposed to the public in hopes that he or she will not repeat the behavior.

Rebecca's comment: “This reciprocal discipline was related to the same incident in Colorado described below.”

Suspension Stayed Placed on Probation issued in CO, 2009
updated on 03/28/2017

Suspension stayed means the attorney has been disciplined, but that the suspension is placed on hold (and ultimately removed) if the attorney complies with probation requirements.

Rebecca's comment: “From 2005- 2007 I experienced PTSD from Hurricane Katrina. In 2007 I made a bad choice in my personal life resulting in criminal charges relating to a romantic relationship. Thankfully, my ability to practice law was never suspended or interfered with. I participated in DV counseling and I learned a lot about emotional health. This event, while embarrassing as it shows up on this website, really helped me to understand what many of my clients experience in divorce and child litigation.”

Work Experience

  • Attorney/ Owner
  • Front Range Family Law, LLC
  • 2013 - Present
  • Associate
  • Montgomery Law Offices
  • 2006 - 2013
  • Law clerk
  • Law Office of Jonathan Steiner
  • 2005 - 2006
  • Lease Examiner
  • Catholic Charities
  • 2005 - 2006
  • Law Clerk
  • Bruno & Bruno
  • 2003 - 2004
View all work experience

Education

  • Loyola University School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2005
  • Tulane University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2000
  • Minisink Valley High School
  • Regents Diploma
  • 1996

Sample of Legal Cases

  • In re the Interest of Child BBO
  • Trial Decision Affirmed by Colorado Supreme Court
  • Allocation of Parental Responsibilities
  • Sister prevailed

Associations

  • American Bar Association, Family Law Section
  • Member
  • 2019 - Present
  • Colorado Collaborative Divorce Professionals
  • Membership
  • 2017 - Present
  • Denver Source for Collaborative Divorce
  • Secretary
  • 2016 - Present
  • Colorado Collaborative Family Law Professionals
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Colorado Bar Foundation
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • First Judicial District Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Colorado Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Colorado Bar Association, Family Law Section
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Louisiana State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2005 - Present
  • Phi Alpha Delta
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • Denver Source for Collaborative Divorce
  • Secretary
  • N/A
  • Cole Neighborhood Association
  • Board of Directors
  • 2014 - 2016
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Client Rating
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • 10 Best Client Satisfaction
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2016
  • Best Divorce Lawyers in Denver
  • Expertise
  • 2016
  • Member
  • Advanced Family Law Institute
  • 2016
  • Member
  • Colorado Family Law of Colorado
  • 2014
  • Fellow
  • Colorado Bar Foundation
  • 2013
  • Member
  • Advanced Family Law Institute
  • 2013
  • Client Rating
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2012
  • Moot Court
  • Loyola Law School
  • 2003
View all awards

Publications

  • Loyola Research and Writing
  • Brief
  • 2003

Speaking Engagements

  • ATLA 2003 Convention
  • Litigation
  • 2003

Attorney endorsements

Received (32)
Given (86)
Endorse Rebecca
Family Attorney | Jan 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Rebecca is intelligent, passionate, and capable of resolving conflict through alternative dispute resolution, or litigating the most difficult of cases. Rebecca is learned on contemporary family law issues and a true asset to her clients. I endorse this lawyer without hesitation."
Unknown Attorney | Feb 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"An excellent lawyer who treats clients with patience, care, understanding, and utmost professionalism - an even better person and I wholeheartedly recommend for future services."
Family Attorney | Dec 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Rebecca is smart, hardworking, and thorough. She does great work for her clients, and I endorse her."
Family Attorney | Jul 21
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Feb 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ms. Gumaer is an incredibly talented and caring attorney. Her bigger-than-life personality shines in the courtroom."
Family Attorney | Oct 19
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Feb 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Oct 14
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Rebecca is everything a person should want in a family law attorney. She is a tremendously strong advocate for her clients, but easy to work with as opposing counsel. As such, she gets great results for her client quickly."
Family Attorney | Apr 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | Apr 09
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer. Highly respected in the community."
Family Attorney | Mar 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Rebecca is a brilliant advocate. She is dedicated to her clients and her profession. I would not hesitate to recommend her in any family law matter. Terri Harrington, Esq."
Family Attorney | Jan 27
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Nov 13
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Rebecca was professional, knowledgeable, and easy to work with."
Family Attorney | Nov 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Oct 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Rebecca is a sharp and aggressive attorney who will adamantly fight for her clients. Highly recommended."
Family Attorney | Jun 09
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Rebecca represents her clients well, without adding to the conflict. She is solution-oriented, and gets the big picture. As an opposing counsel, she works hard to get the client's problem to an end."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Apr 30
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Jan 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Jan 31
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I have been opposite Rebecca on numerous cases and find her to be very competent. She manages to effectively advocate for her clients while remaining pleasant and professional - a rare quality these days."
Family Attorney | Jan 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have known Rebecca Gumaer for several years and she has always been a diligent advocate for her clients. She is smart, thoughtful and well prepared to advocate for her client's interests and needs. She has a good feel for probably outcomes and provides excellent counsel to her clients."
View more endorsements
Wheat Ridge Family Lawyer Rebecca Irene Gumaer
Rebecca Irene Gumaer
Family Attorney
Wheat Ridge, CO
Licensed for 18 years
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in 2009. See details