Skip to main content

David B. Frank

DUI and DWI Attorney at Austin, TX

5.0   49 reviews
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
Free consultation Virtual consultation available
  • Licensed for 30 years
    State TX
    Acquired 1993
    Status
    Eligible to Practice in Texas No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About David

Learn David’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. DUI and DWI
    50%
    DWI trial work and plea negotiations. Administrative License Revocations. Occupational Driver's Licenses. Standardized Field Sobriety Testing. NHTSA Certified.

    31 years, 2,000 cases

  2. Criminal defense
    25%
    Representing Clients in the defense of State and Federal criminal charges. Board Certified in Criminal Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.

    31 years, 1,000 cases

  3. Drug Crime
    10%

  4. Sex crime
    10%

  5. Violent crime
    5%

SINCE 1993 - PROFESSIONAL CRIMINAL DEFENSE WORK - BOARD CERTIFIED CRIMINAL LAW TX. AVAILABLE 24/7 - TRAVIS, WILLIAMSON AND HAYS

David Frank is based in Austin, Texas and has a reputation for being a tough and experienced criminal trial lawyer.  In April of 2014 he successfully challenged the Texas Mandatory DWI Blood Draw Statute.  The Court of Appeals reversed the trial courts in his two cases and found that the Mandatory Blood Draw Statute runs afoul of the Fourth Amendment warrant requirement.  In November 2014 he helped lead a State-Wide effort against a State Office of Administrative Hearings rule change that would have significantly hampered the right to subpoena witnesses for ALR Hearings. 

David Frank has been an attorney since 1992. He is Board Certified in Criminal Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Mr. Frank has devoted his practice to representing individuals accused of crimes. His practice includes defending against all felony and misdemeanor charges. He aggressively represents clients who live throughout the state of Texas as well as clients living abroad. He is a Past President of the Austin Criminal Defense Lawyers Association and regularly speaks at criminal law seminars.  He uses the latest electronic legal research tools to find cases that help his clients get results.

His many years of practice in the Austin and Travis County have given him a particular insight in dealing with the courts. Avoiding frivolous charges and unfair penalties is the primary goal. Mr. Frank explores alternatives to incarceration as he works to resolve his cases. He works with the prosecutors and the judges every day -- and that is essential to being effective in the courtroom.

Photos and videos

Self-Defense

Location

David B. Frank, Attorney & Counselor at Law, PLLC
1212 Guadalupe Street, Suite 103
Penthouse Condominiums
Austin, TX, 78701

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  49 customer reviews
5 Star
 
98%
4 Star
 
2%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by De’Naie | January 15, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Review David Frank
I would recommend Mr.David Frank to anyone looking to a hire a lawyer in Austin area with your best interest/ case in mind . He took his time listened to my details of my case & asked questions . I’m very detailed oriented & I appreciate him listening to details of my case & kept me up to date on my case . He was prompt on returning my call if he didn’t answer when I called . Office staff was very informative , professional, helpful & was always willing to get answers for me . I was married to a lawyer for a couple decades so I knew & recognized an excellent lawyer when I hired him . My case came out with me pleased that I hired him .
Read less
Posted by Jack | January 15, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome
One of the best in Atx, had two felony cases that he worked amazingly, answered any an all questions I had as well would definitely hire him if you need legal assistance.
Posted by Steven | January 15, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very Good Experience
Through my own bad decisions, I found myself in need of legal representation. My search led me to David Frank. Our initial meeting was in his office where we had a lengthy discussion about my life circumstances, my charge and how to proceed. David had previous experiences to draw on and told me what he felt were the steps I should take in order to achieve the most favorable legal outcome. I followed his directions. Bottom line- the court dismissed charges against me and I turned the page in my life. I would certainly recommend David Frank as a competent, caring, experienced lawyer if you find yourself in need of one. The last time I saw him was outside of the courthouse where he gave me a hug and I said thank you for all of your help.
Read less
Posted by Juan | January 15, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing criminal defense attorney
David got my charges dismissed and gave me the best outcome for my case. I highly recommend his services.
Posted by anonymous | February 2, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Dismissed my DWI
Mr. Frank did a great job with my case, I was able to keep my CDL and my job. Very professional, knows what he’s doing. He responds quickly, keeps you up to date on what’s going on. I highly recommend him, you would be in good hands.
Posted by Ben | November 20, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A kind man doing good work.
David and his team are dedicated to helping those in need and are willing to go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure you feel seen, respected, and safe while navigating the legal process. I think what struck me the most is just how respected David and his practice are in the city of Austin. He's reputation as an honest, hardworking advocate for people in times of crisis precedes him, and I believe that makes all the difference.
Read less
Posted by JOY | November 17, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Responsible, Knowledgeable, Professional and excellent Lawyer.
David is the best DWI lawyer in Austin metropolitan area. if you hire him then be rest assured that he will bring you the best possible outcome. He is knowledgeable, extremely experienced and very professionals. He is very honest and upfront. He will listen to you patiently to understand your expectation on tha case, walk through all the possible options with time and sensitivity and always keep you posted on the status.
Read less
Posted by Aaron | October 24, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very knowledgeable
David was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and personal throughout my entire case. Everything went better than expected with David. He knew the best thing to do in every situation and the fastest way to get it done!
Posted by Patrick | June 22, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
True professional
From my initial consultation, David was honest, forthright, and exceptionally knowledgeable; his office manager, Lisa, was no exception. Through the duration of my case they met and exceeded all of my expectations with friendliness, compassion, and professionalism. I would, personally, recommend him to anyone involved in a criminal case, and wish I could retain him for other areas of law.
Read less
Posted by Sherry | February 23, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional and savvy with excellent results
I secured the services of Mr. Frank approximately two weeks ago in regards to an intrastate matter. Two reputable law firms had struggled with the matter for over six weeks to no avail. In two weeks flat, Mr. Frank came up with a strategy, contacted the appropriate parties, contracted with outside specialists and resolved the issue to great effect. He is professional,respectful and savvy. He isresponsive to his clients needs and keeps them informed all along the way. His practice is head and shoulders above the rest. I cannot recommend him high enough.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 21, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Public Intoxication
Mr. Frank was very professional, talked me through what the whole process would entail, and got the results I was looking for - dismissal and expunction. He could have been a bit better in keeping me informed regarding what was happening with my case, but in the end, we did not have to go to trial, and he was successful in securing a dismissal and expunction for my case. I definitely recommend him for anyone who is facing similar charges.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 3, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent and professional
I consulted with and retained David the morning after an arrest for public intoxication. I am a young guy embarking on the beginning of my career, and had never been arrested before. I was unsure of how to proceed. David was a calm, reassuring presence who used his tenacity and work ethic to will the prosecutor to an outright dismissal despite overwhelming evidence that could have left me doing community service or paying a steep fine. I highly recommend David.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 24, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
David Frank is excellent!
Mr. Frank is extremely intelligent and professional. He reviewed every aspect of my case and made me feel comfortable through a rough time. He and his assistant, Lisa, were very responsive to me and advised me on ways I could be proactive to ultimately have a better outcome. Mr. Frank spoke on my behalf multiple times, which meant I only had to physically be in court twice. The charge against me was dropped thanks to his research and expertise. He is truly great the practice of law, and I would recommend his services to anyone. Thank you for all of your help!
Read less
Posted by Chase P. | September 20, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Lawyer, great communication
Did as advertised.
Posted by anonymous | September 17, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DWI case
When it was time for my DWI case to be handeled David Frank stepped up and did the job just like he promised me. My case took the state over 21/2 long years to get to but when he fought it at pre trial we won and it was dismissed! David Frank pulled out all the stops and sited case after case to warrant our position. I would highly recommend David Frank to everyone as he's very professional and knows the law! He will fight for your rights and find the loop holes in the system!! Thank you David Frank as I can finally feel freedom again!
Read less
Posted by Ana | May 15, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr. Frank's legal advice and support was a blessing for our family!
My son was going down a very dangerous path when he landed in jail with a felony charge with another felony pending. David Frank told us he will help my son and he DID! He immediately recommended the SMART program for our son. I truly believe David's advice and support helped my son turned his life around. He completed the program despite some reluctance at the beginning to do the entire 20 weeks. By the end of the program, he was happy again and ready to start a new life! Thank you, Mr. Frank for your tremendous insight, your honesty and professionalism.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 24, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
David B. Frank is a very professional Lawyer and Does a GREAT JOB.
I was pulled over for a DWI last spring and Mr. Frank fought for me to get the best possible out come for my situation. I have no regrets selecting him as my Lawyer. I highly recommend if your facing a DWI charge to select David B. Frank.
Posted by anonymous | April 24, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional, thorough and trustworthy.
Facing class 1 and 3 misdemeanor charges and not being an Austin local I was desperate for a great lawyer. After a phone call and initial visit I made a great decision and hired Mr. Frank. During my first meeting with Mr. Frank I was extremely impressed with how detail oriented he was. After getting all of my background information Mr. Frank laid out the possible scenarios for me. He also gave me some options to be proactive to help my case which I was happy to act on. Mr. Frank was successful in dismissing both charges against me. I highly recommend Mr. David Frank to anyone in need of a criminal attorney.
Read less
Posted by Brooke | April 20, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome attorney!
Mr. Franks was so professional from start to finish! He went above and beyond for me and did exactly what he said he would do! Thank you so much for your dedication. I will refer him to anyone who needs his expertise!
Posted by anonymous | April 17, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DWI Representation
Mr. Frank was able to get my DWI dismissed, and the law in Texas changed, by proving that my warrantless blood draw was unconstitutional.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • David B. Frank Attorney & Counselor at Law
  • 1993 - Present

Education

  • Vermont Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1992
  • Vermont Law School
  • MA - Masters
  • 1992
  • University of Rochester
  • BA
  • 1986

Sample of Legal Cases

  • DWI Blood Test 0.173 BAC Not Guilty
  • Not Guilty
  • Jury Accepts Self-Defense Claim
  • Not Guilty
  • Police Violated the Warrant Requirement When they Illegally Entered Client’s Home
  • DISMISSED
View all legal cases

Associations

  • National DUI College
  • Active Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association - Provide Strike Force assistance to aid lawyers threatened with or incarcerated for contempt of court.
  • Strike Force
  • 2004 - Present
  • Criminal Law Section - Austin Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Williamson County Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Grievance Committee - State Bar of Texas
  • Professional Enhancement Committee
  • 2005 - 2009
  • Austin Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Past President
  • 2003 - 2004
  • Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Associate Director
  • 2003 - 2005
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Forensic Chromatography XV: Theory and Practice
  • AXION Training Institute Analytical Laboratories
  • 2015
  • 2014 Texas Super Lawyers
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2014
  • 2013 Texas Super Lawyers
  • Super Lawyers Magazine
  • 2013
  • Ambassador Award
  • Austin Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • 2008
  • NHTSA SFST Certification
  • Walden Platt & Associates
  • 2004
  • Board Certified - Criminal Law
  • Texas Board of Legal Specialization
  • 2003
  • Admitted to Practice
  • U.S. Supreme Court
  • 2000
  • Admitted to Practice
  • United States District Court for the Western District of Texas
  • 1997
  • Admitted to Practice
  • State Bar of Texas
  • 1993
View all awards

Publications

  • The Advocate (Journal of the Austin Criminal Defense Lawyers Association)
  • Founding Editor
  • 2004

Speaking Engagements

  • Austin Community College
  • Immigration Consequences in Criminal Cases
  • 2019
  • Austin Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • How to Eliminate Authoritarian Jurors with Scaled Questions
  • 2017
  • ACDLA Seminar
  • Punishmnet Issues - The Law in Criminal Cases
  • 2015
  • Austin Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Expert Witnesses
  • 2014
  • Trial Advocacy
  • Closing Argument
  • 2013
  • Austin Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • McNeely and Mandatory DWI Blood Draws
  • 2013
  • DWI Defense Project
  • The Psychology of Voir Dire
  • 2012
  • ACDLA Seminar
  • Eyewitness Identification
  • 2012
  • Forensic Evidence
  • New Trends in Eyewitness Identification
  • 2011
  • ACDLA Seminar
  • Scaled Questions
  • 2011
  • Voir Dire — Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association Seminar
  • Voir Dire - Scaled Questions DWI/DUI
  • 2010
  • Top Gun DWI Seminar
  • DWI — Voir Dire
  • 2010
  • Closing Argument in Criminal Cases
  • Closing Argument
  • 2010
  • ACDLA Seminar
  • Punishment Hearings
  • 2008
  • Travis County Criminal Law Retreat
  • Eyewitness Identification
  • 2007
  • Operation Texas Freedom
  • Eyewitness Identification
  • 2007
  • Bench and Bar Conference
  • Eyewitness Identification
  • 2007
  • Williamson County Bar Association Meeting
  • Eyewitness Identification
  • 2006
  • University of Texas Legal Clinic
  • Eyewitness Identification
  • 2006
  • South Padre Island
  • Eyewitness Identification
  • 2006
  • Operation Texas Freedom
  • Eyewitness Identification
  • 2006
  • ACDLA Seminar
  • Eyewitness Identification
  • 2004
  • Qualifications for Court Assigned Cases
  • Bond Reduction and Habeas Petitions
  • 2002
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (13)
Given (6)
Endorse David
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 05
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"David is one of the best criminal defense lawyers in the state. He is board certified, extremely intelligent, and works hard for his clients. He is very knowledgeable and frequently helps other attorneys find creative solutions and strategies for their cases. I highly endorse and recommend him."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"David is a great, Board Certified criminal attorney with great results."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 20
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I whole-heartedly endorse David B. Frank as a criminal lawyer. As a civil attorney, I was recently faced with a situation in which one of my clients in a civil case needed representation with respect to potential criminal charges related to the activities involved in our case. I was referred to David, who provided prompt, professional, experienced and successful representation of the client. If I am ever in need of a criminal defense attorney in Austin, David will certainly be one of the first attorneys I contact."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"David Frank is one of the best criminal defense attorneys in Texas. I have been fortunate to have had the opportunity to try a very serious criminal case with David. I can personally attest to his knowledge of the law and his great skill in the courtroom."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse David. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 16
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"David is a very well respected defense attorney who is known for his dedication to his clients and for getting great results in very tough cases. Whether it's defense at trial or representation during case discussions with the prosecution, you want David to be the one standing beside you."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 24
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 03
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. He is outstanding."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have know David since 1992. Since then, I have referred a number of clients to his office for criminal defense representation. The reports that I have received have been very positive. Furthermore, my associate attorneys and I contact him with criminal law question. He is knowledgeable, experienced, and highly effective. I strongly endorse and recommend him."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I whole-heartedly and without reservation endorse David Frank for his zealous advocacy and deep dedication when representing his clients, as well as for his honesty, integrity, and strong ethics in the practice of law. David is very knowledgeable in his practice areas and does what it takes to get the job done right for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 01
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. As a prosecutor, I faced Mr. Frank on several cases. Specifically, in my last trial as a prosecutor, the defendant was facing some of the most serious charges. We thoroughly covered the need for a jury to sentence the defendant to Life in prison without the possibility of parole. Mr. Frank very persuasively asked the jury to give the defendant an opportunity to rehabilitate himself and consider the minimum punishment given the charge and range. The jury agreed with Mr. Frank. The right lawyer can make the difference between dying in prison and having a hope for life after the consequences, even in Williamson County."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 17
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer's work. He is smart and tenacious. He is also a nice person and easy to talk to."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Aug 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work."
View more endorsements
Environmental and natural resources
Criminal defense
Criminal defense