Skip to main content

Ryan Withington Gertz

Criminal defense Attorney at Beaumont, TX

4.9   40 reviews

also known as Gertz Kelley Law Firm, Beaumont, TX


Licensed for 17 years

Free consultation

About Ryan

Learn Ryan’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    40%
    We represent people accused of all types of felonies and misdemeanors such as: Arson, Assault, Burglary, Homicide, Robbery, Theft, Unlawful Weapons, and White Collar Crime.

    13 years, 800 cases

  2. DUI and DWI
    40%
    DWI's in Texas are particularly challenging. There is no deferred probation available and often trial is the best means of obtaining a positive outcome. An experienced trial lawyer will provide the best results. Call Ryan Gertz now for a free consultation.

    13 years, 250 cases

  3. Federal crime
    20%
    We represent citizens accused of serious federal crimes. federal criminal defense is dramatically different than state court representation and people should only hire a lawyer with substantial experience in this area.

    13 years, 75 cases

Ryan Gertz is the only lawyer in Southeast Texas that is Board Certified in Criminal Law, recognized as one of the Best Lawyers in America for Criminal Defense, a Texas Super Lawyer, and a Top 100 Trial Lawyer in Texas. In fact, only twenty lawyers in Texas were recognized this year as Best Lawyers in America for Criminal Defense and Ryan was one of them.

Criminal charges can alter the entire course of your life and the best way to resolve them is with competent, skilled counsel.

Born and raised in Beaumont, Ryan has deep roots in East Texas. His practice focuses mainly on state and federal criminal trial and appellate work throughout Texas. In fact, he is Board Certified in Criminal Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization and admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court.

Ryan is AV rated as a preeminent lawyer by his peers according to Martindale, meaning his peers rank Ryan at the highest level of professional and ethical excellence. He is also a member of the ‘Top 100 Trial Lawyers’ in Texas as recognized by the National Trial Lawyers organization, a member-driven organization composed of the premier trial lawyers from across the country who meet stringent qualifications as criminal defense trial lawyers. Additionally, Super Lawyers has dubbed Ryan a "Rising Star" in 2017 and a "Super Lawyer" in 2020 and 2021.

Ryan is a tireless advocate for citizens accused of crimes. He has tried nearly ninety criminal cases before juries all over East Texas and met with great success. He has obtained more than forty-five acquittals, three directed verdicts, and several hung jury dismissals in criminal cases during the past ten years. He prevented a client, wrongfully accused of shaking her baby to death, from facing capital murder charges and obtained the dismissal of sexual abuse charges against a seventeen year old wrongly accused.

Ryan is certified by the 2nd Administrative Judicial Region to first-chair capital murder cases. Since 2015, Ryan has obtained dismissals from the government in several different capital murder cases. He also obtained "not guilty" verdicts from juries in three other capital murder trials and multiple murder and manslaughter cases.

On May 2, 2014, Ryan received the Jefferson County Bar Association’s "Outstanding Young Lawyer" Award. The award, which is given to only one attorney each year, recognizes a young lawyer who has demonstrated professional proficiency, service to the profession, and service to the community. U.S. Magistrate Judge Zack Hawthorn presented the award to Ryan at the Bar Association’s annual Law Day event.

Ryan has argued cases in both state and federal courts and is licensed in Texas. He is admitted to practice before the Eastern, Western, and Southern Federal District Courts. Additionally, he has argued cases before the First, Ninth, Twelfth, Thirteenth, and Fourteenth Courts of Appeal in Texas as well as the Fifth Circuit Federal Court in New Orleans.

Photos and videos

Ryan Gertz and Lum Hawthorn obtain an acquittal in the Matthew Smith Murder Trial.
Ryan Gertz obtained an acquittal for woman accused of Intoxication Manslaughter.
Ryan Gertz obtained a dismissal and civil settlement from the unlawful arrest of a client.
Licensed for 17 years
State TX
Status Eligible to Practice in Texas
Acquired 2005
Updated 10/23/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Ryan

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  40 customer reviews
5 Star
 
98%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
3%
Posted by Ken | May 17, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended
Ryan Gertz came to us highly recommended and he did not disappoint. We were facing an uphill battle on two separate cases--intoxication manslaughter and intoxication assault--- which could have gotten my son a total of 30 years prison time cumulatively. Mr. Gertz and his staff were always available to answer our calls or returned our calls promptly. He would meet with us to explain our options and possible outcomes and was always forthright and open with us. Although we entered a plea in both cases and opted for a jury trial in the punishment phase, Mr. Gertz presented the best defense possible for us. His courtroom demeanor was very professional, respectful, and organized. He makes a BIG impact and the outcome was more than we could have hoped for. We are happy that he was on our team! Just as he came highly recommended to us, we would highly recommend Mr. Gertz to anyone needing an exceptional attorney.---Ken
Read less
Posted by Harlan | May 29, 2015
Hire Ryan Gertz
I give Ryan Gertz my highest recommendation. He is a silky smooth criminal trial attorney, who knows how to handle prosecutors. After my trial, 4 of the 6 jurors waited for him at the bottom of the stairway to congratulate him on his closing arguments, and to acquire his BUSINESS CARDS! Hire Ryan Gertz.
Posted by anonymous | November 9, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Attorney
I had numerous charges of child sexual abuse against me that arose from a very contentious, nasty divorce. If convicted I would have faced 50 years in prison without parole. Ryan and his team worked tirelessly over an exhausting 3 year period and ultimately brought me home to my family with a 12-0 not guilty verdict. Forever grateful for the job he did.
Read less
Posted by Rick | August 6, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Master Attorney Ryan Gertz
My daughter was in trouble with the state of Texas and in federal custody in Florida. Ryan resolved her numerous issue in less than 30 days and she is getting released 1 year early. Ryan is a real man of his word and that is hard to find these days. He did exactly what he said he would do!! I would highly recommend Mr. Ryan Gertz to everyone!!
Read less
Posted by Clinton | November 22, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The end result
I contacted Ryan the day after my arrest back in June 2019. He agreed to represent me and immediately contacted the DA'S office to discuss my case. We had to go through resets and the pandemic but we were finally able to settle my case 11-15-21. Ryan negotiated a lesser charge which prevented me from having to do mandatory jail time. I was very pleased with the results and Ryan's knowledge of the law. I would definitely hire him if I were to need an attorney in the future.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 20, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A Second Chance
Ryan Gertz represented a family member to gain an appeal for their Attempted Capitol Murder conviction resulting in a 50-year sentence to TDCJ. Mr. Gertz’s expertise in the law won them a second chance for another punishment phase trial. Mr. Gertz presented the case and the verdict came back in our favor with a sentence reduction from 50 to 15 years. Mr. Gertz worked with our family throughout the long process of waiting for the hearing. He was straight forward, easy to communicate with, available, relayed new information, and responded quickly to our questions. If you are in the need of a lawyer, I would highly recommend Ryan Gertz of The Gertz Kelly Law Firm in Beaumont Texas.
Read less
Posted by Theo | November 17, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
No stone un turned
I was faced with one of the most heinous crimes anyone would ever want put on them by a biter ex-wife and her family who was unhappy and had a vendetta to destroy me Ryan Gertz was a GodSend after 4 1/2 years of courts and awaiting Trial when the day for reckoning was in front of me Mr. Gertz held the State to the full letter of the law of my rights to be innocent until proven guilty and my Life was reset to start over, and all records wiped clean. If you want the best call this Gentleman and rest assured you are in good hands. Worth every cent! Thanks Ryan for all your hard work. God Bless.
Read less
Posted by JS | September 8, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Ryan Gertz - Outstanding Attorney
I hired Ryan when a warrant was filed against me for harassment by text message. I married my husband in early 2020. A woman he had a relationship with 17+ years before, whom he had a child with, made it clear she disapproved of our marriage. Text messages were exchanged between the three of us and I was accused of harassing her. Ryan is an outstanding attorney. He is extremely knowledgeable and experienced. All of my questions were answered, no matter how many I had. Ryan has the ability to inspire confidence and went above and beyond to alleviate my worries. He commanded the courtroom and presented the FACTS of my case with ease. He was able to show the prosecution had not proved its case and I was granted a Directed Verdict of Acquittal, as well as the charges were removed from my record. I highly recommend Ryan Gertz for an attorney and I would definitely hire him again.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 17, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Gertz is the Real Deal!
After being charged with a state Jail Felony while being on probation for a different state Jail Felony, my court appointed attorney informed me that I was about to receive 2 max sentences. One for each case. Ryan Gertz was the best man for the task. From the moment he was hired he was as confident and professional as it gets. His Legal team went above and beyond and Mr Gertz was Awesome. He is truly a Master of his craft and I'm happy to say that BOTH of my cases were dismissed.
Read less
Posted by Michelle Lee | May 7, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Found and returned my kidnapped son!
This lawyer changed our lives. I had a lawyer in SC and a private investigator in TX tracking down my infant son who was taken into hiding by his Army Ranger (estranged) father. The story is unreal but Ryan truly saved ... us. He found and delivered my son back to me. It still blows my mind. This was 12 years ago. Thank you So much.
Read less
Posted by DV | February 24, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Recommended for Hire
I recommend everyone who is charged with a criminal case to hire Mr. Ryan Gertz. More specifically if you are charged with a crime where you could be facing prison time or having to register as an sex offender. Mr. Gertz is very knowledgeable about the in and out of the law when it comes to Sex Crimes. He will fight for what is right, and he will stay with you every step of the way. After many years of probation Mr. Gertz was there with me for every court date and every question. His office staff has always been very helpful and eager to relay messages to Mr. Gertz in a timely manner. Mr. Gertz is not afraid to challenge the courts, the DA or probation when fighting for the legal rights of his clients. When Mr. Gertz took an oath to the US Constitution he stands by that every step of the way. A big thanks for the hard work and long hours he put into my case.
Read less
Posted by Richard | February 9, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The best
I hired Ryan Gertz for a intoxicated manslaughter with assault with a deadly weapon on the passenger I was looking 20 + years. I will tell you we won this case a verdict of not guilty Ryan has been very Helpful to me keeping me calm and his secretary Stacy is one of the best ladies I’ve ever met Ryan is very cool and calm in trial he is 100% real if you need a good lawyer he’s the one you want.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 13, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DWI Dismissal
I highly recommend Mr. Gertz as an attorney. He is the best attorney in our area. He guided me through the legal system and thoroughly explained all processes and expectations, which included the ALR Hearing to the trial's completion. Mr. Gertz was always prompt at returning messages and answering all of my questions. He utilizes state of the art representation through technology and is extremely knowledgeable, with all aspects of the law. Mr. Gertz is an exceptional speaker and always has a commanding presence in the courtroom. My family and I are very appreciative of Mr. Gertz and his staff.
Read less
Posted by Josiah | March 21, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DWI Dismissed
I hired Ryan to defend my DWI arrest. This was my first, and last, DWI. Ryan was able to get it reduced to obstruction of highway with only probation and a fine. NO community service, breathalyzer, suspended license, DWI on my record. This was despite my BAC being 3 times the limit. I highly recommend hiring Ryan to defend your DWI. THANKS!
Read less
Posted by Logan Pitre | February 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very Professional & Knowledgeable
By far the best lawyer in this area. Represented me multiple times and I was extremely pleased with him each time!
Posted by Matt | January 26, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Does what he says he will do
All I can say is Ryan helped me in a time where if it was not for him i would be doing 10 years plus no doubt. I made a poor decision in 2016 where the case was a done deal, meaning I was caught and also been to prison before, there was no way to fight the case. He worked a deal for probation and in that time got my court date extended over a year and half to where I could focus on getting my mind and life back on track so when the time came for sentencing I would be prepared to handle the probation with extemely positive momentum going forward in life. Thank you for that! If anyone is reading this and thinking do I hire him or not, well let me say this with confidence of having hired him, I dare you not to and see how your case goes........Respectfully
Read less
Posted by Montana | January 22, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DWI
I was referred to Ryan Gertz in 2015 for a DWI case. After almost 4 years we went to trial. Ryan was very knowledgeable and prepared to defend me and my case. We had the ideal outcome. Over those 4 years Ryan and his staff were very nice and helpful with keeping us updated on where we were at throughout the whole process. I would highly recommend him!
Read less
Posted by Gillian | December 12, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Capable and Compassionate
Ryan has been a personal friend for 30 years but never did I imagine his legal services would be needed by our family. From the very beginning he was both objective and compassionate, realistic yet hopeful, and always professional. His understanding of the law and how he walked us through it prepared us for all phases of the process. As the journey continues, I have no doubt that he is taking us in the best direction with the most capable counsel.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 18, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very Experienced, Transparent, Intelligent & Accessible Attorney!
When I got into trouble with a DUI charge, Ryan was quickly able to explain the process, walk me through the various options, and help me select the best one for me. He was always accessible to answer my questions, either in person to review my case, and along the way via phone or email as well. Ryan has always been very patient in explaining things to me to make sure I understood all the options completely and thoroughly, and never made me feel bad for asking any questions that I had. He was able to easily guide me through the process, and is helping me make sure that all loose ends are tied up in getting the outcome that I desired. I could not have expected anything more from legal representation. I would definitely recommend Ryan no matter how big or small your case is! He will treat you like a valued client and give you and your case the attention they deserve. He is clearly very intelligent, well respected and good at his job!!!
Read less
Posted by Matthew | August 23, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Dui
I had Mr. Gertz represent me in a case that strung out over 5 years in Hardin county. In the trial Mr. Gertz was amazing in the court room. He literally had the jury approval rating of "not guilty within" an hour. I highly recommend this great lawyer to all my friends!
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Gertz Law Firm
  • 2010 - Present
  • Director, General Counsel Roundtable
  • Corporate Executive Board
  • 2005 - 2010

Education

  • University Of Houston
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2004
  • George Washington University
  • Master's Degree
  • 2001
  • University of Texas
  • Bachelor's
  • 1999

Legal Cases

  • State v. Coleman
  • Not Guilty from the jury
  • State v. LeDoux
  • Not guilty from jury on DWI
  • State v. Tinoco
  • Not Guilty on DWI from Jury
View all legal cases

Associations

  • United States Supreme Court Bar
  • Member
  • 2017 - Present
  • National College of DUI Defense
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • American Association of Premier DUI Attorneys
  • Founding Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • Texas Trial Lawyers Association
  • Board of Advocates
  • 2010 - Present
  • Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • 2010 - Present
  • Jefferson County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • 2010 - Present
  • Jefferson County Young Lawyer's Association
  • 2010 - 2014
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • Best News Article: Picturing a New Kind of Voir Dire
  • State Bar of Texas
  • 2017
  • Best Series: Substantive Law - The New DWI in Jefferson County
  • State Bar of Texas
  • 2017
  • Premier 100 Trial Lawyer
  • American Academy of Trial Attorneys
  • 2015
  • Outstanding Young Lawyer
  • Jefferson County Bar Association
  • 2014
  • Best Human Interest Story: Michael Morton, Your Worst Nightmare
  • State Bar of Texas
  • 2014
  • Board Certified - Criminal Law
  • Texas Board of Legal Specialization
  • 2014
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers (Texas)
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2014
  • Ben G. Levy Essays in Freedom Award
  • Ben G. Levy Estate; University of Houston
  • 2004
View all awards

Publications

  • Jefferson County Bar Journal
  • Michael Morton and Your Worst Nightmare
  • 2013

Speaking Engagements

  • Jefferson County Bar CLE
  • Revisiting the Ten Commandments of Cross Examination
  • 2016
  • Jefferson County Defense Lawyers Association CLE
  • Blood Draw in DWI Cases
  • 2015
  • Jefferson County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association Meeting
  • The Myth of Shaken Baby Syndrome
  • 2013

Attorney endorsements

Received (11)
Given (14)
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Gertz always comes to court prepared to go to trial! He gets in there and fights to the utmost for his clients. I have been a prosecutor against him, a defense attorney working with him, and a Judge that he was practicing in front of and he never ceases to impress. Highly recommend!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have worked closely with Ryan on many cases. He is one of the best criminal defense lawyers in Texas. His knowledge of the law is extensive. Hiring Ryan is an investment in your future."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Feb 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"As judge, Ryan tried numerous DWI cases in my court. Ryan is perhaps the best trial lawyer I have seen in Beaumont. Ryan achieves outstanding results for his clients and is highly respected by his peers. Highly recommend!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Gertz is one of the top trial attorneys in Texas. As a former prosecutor, I've had many dealings with Mr. Getz, witnessing his heightened level of professionalism, case preparation, and passion for trial advocacy. I highly endorse Mr. Getz."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 26
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Ryan is one of the most prepared attorneys that I faced in court. He was devoted his client and knew the law relevant to the case. For those reasons, among many others, I endorse Ryan."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 20
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"When I was a prosecutor in Jefferson County, you knew that if Ryan was on the other side you had to be on top of your game. He's smart, good with clients and handles his job well. Highly recommended."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Emphasis in criminal law, habeas, appellant issues. I would recommend Mr. Gertz in any legal matter."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ryan is well respected among his peers as a trial lawyer. His ability to cross examine professional witnesses on technical issues has earned him accolades from both fellow attorneys and judges."
Unknown Attorney | Jan 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top-notch attorney. Highly respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Ryan. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 29
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer. Ryan and I went to law school together and he had an impressive understanding of the law even as a law student. His legal skills have only grown since leaving law school and he works hard for all of his clients to ensure the best results possible!"
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Federal crime
Immigration
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Beaumont Criminal defense Lawyer Ryan Withington Gertz
Ryan Withington Gertz
Criminal defense Attorney
Beaumont, TX
Licensed for 17 years
Free Consultation