Skip to main content

John Arthur Nechman

Immigration Attorney at Houston, TX

4.8   29 reviews
  • Licensed for 25 years
    State TX
    Acquired 1999
    Status
    Eligible to Practice in Texas No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About John

Learn John’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Immigration
    80%
    All immigration matters

    25 years, 500 cases

  2. Criminal defense
    10%
    All criminal defense matters (particularly federal matters and immigration-related issues)

    25 years, 500 cases

  3. International law
    10%
    Mergers and Acquisitions (Latin America and Far East)

    25 years, 100 cases

John Nechman is a partner in the Houston, Texas law office of Katine and Nechman L.L.P., where he focuses on immigration law.  He is also an adjunct professor at South Texas College of Law and the University of Houston Law Center.  He is a past chair/president of several national, state, and local legal organizations, and he is a frequent speaker on immigration, business, human rights, criminal, and GLBT/HIV-related legal issues.  He has twice been named a “Super Lawyer Rising Star” attorney by Texas Monthly Magazine and is the recipient of the 2004 Stonewall Law Award for Excellence in Advocacy, the Human Rights Campaign’s 2005 Political Equality Award, the 2007 State Bar of Texas’s Judge Norman Black Award, and the 2007 Outsmart Magazine Statue of Liberty Award.

Photos and videos

Location

Katine & Nechman L.L.P.
1834 Southmore Boulevard
Houston, TX, 77004-5947

Immigration lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
  29 customer reviews
Posted by Biswajit Banik | February 19, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr. Nechman is a wonderful personality
I first met Mr. Nechman at his office. Me and my wife were just more than happy after meeting him. He has patience to hear from his clients, gives the best advice and opinion. He is very knowledgeable about laws. He kind enough to take my case and promised me to do the stuffs in time. we had met many attorneys. we could trust no one like Mr. Nechman. I strongly recommend him for your legal matters. I hope he will do his best to help you out. We were more than happy to hire him.
Read less
Posted by David | February 1, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
An Incredible Professional
John Nechman provided impeccable service to our family. He was able to identify incorrect detainment and did everything he could to not prolong the case. John is extremely professional and prompt, which gave us peace of mind. A highlight about this lawyer is that he cares about the well being of his clients and their families. He understand the complicated immigration laws and proceedings which allowed him to be efficient with our case.
Read less
Posted by Arturo Ovalle aka "El Gran Varon" | September 3, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
"JOHN A. NECHMAN"...EL ABOGADO DE INMIGRACION MAS HONESTO, EL MAS PACIENTE Y BUENA ONDA, LLENO DE CONOCIMIENTO EN LA MATERIA Y
Nadamas quería decirles Amig@s en cualquier parte de U.S.A., Que Gracias a "John Nechman", finalmente recibí my "Greencard" éste año 2015 !!!...Yo soy de Monterrey, México y he estádo en U.S.A. Por 22 años tratando siempre de alcanzar "El Legal American Dream"...Permíteme decírte, quién séas tú y estés leyendo éste "REVIEW", que "John Nechman" es un Abogádo a CONFIAR, bien líndo el hombre, Paciénte con sus Cliéntes y por éso EL meréce LA MEJOR "RECOMENDACION" de mi párte...HACIENDO MI LARGA HISTORIA CORTA...En estos 22 years aquí en U.S.A. y ANTES de que aparecíera "John Nechman" en mi vida, Yo ya estába tan hárto de tánto Abogádo De Immigration CORRUPTO Y TRANZA , que múchas véces llorándo llegué a conformárme con el sólo hécho de estár aquí en U.S.A. aunque SIN TENER PAPELES LEGALES, pero NUNCA dejé de pelear con uñas y dientes para hacer mi sueño realidad....Hásta que un "Maravillóso día" alguién me recomendó a éste Abogádo Buenísimo, quien hasta el día de hoy ha sído mi "ANGELOTE" ya por varios años que he tratado de hacerme legal y GRACIAS A EL hoy recójo los frútos de mi terquedád...Hoy es Jueves Septiembre 3ro. del 2015 y hace unos días regresé a Houston de Mi Ciudad de Monterrey, "primera véz pisándo suélo Mexicano en 20 años"...SI SUPIERAN LO CONTENTO QUE ESTOY !!!...Déjenme decírles también que soy un Singer/Performer, mi nombre es Arturo Ovalle, pero mejór conocído como "El Gran Varon" que es mi nombre Artístico y que con ésta situación de SER-LEGAL-AHORA ya puedo aprovechár oportunidades que NO PUDE ántes...En éste precíso Mes de Septiémbre, El Domingo 13th.-del 2015, empiéza por TV-Univision..."LA BANDA"...Pués les notifíco que voy a sér párte de "LA BANDA" y sus productóres son Ricky Martin & Simon Cowell...Todo ésto por Univision....Si NO tuvíera ahoríta papéles legáles, NO me hubíeran dádo la grán oportunidad de estar en TV......HACE POCO ALGUIEN ME DIJO....""Gran Varon tienes mucha suerte hoy de habér conseguído tus papéles legáles, SUERTUDO TU GRAN VARON de tenér también el dinéro para pagárle al Abogádo de Immigration, para la papelería que pide I.N.S. y para las cuótas que se tíenen que pagar ahi tambien""...a lo que YO conteste con orgullo..."SUERTUDO YO, SUERTUDO DE TENER EL DINERO ??!!!.....LA UNICA SUERTE NADAMAS QUE HE TENIDO ES DE HABERME TOPADO EN MI CAMINO A PERSONA TAN PROPIA, TAN TRABAJADORA, TAN PACIENTE, PELEADOR AGRESIVO DE LOS DERECHOS DE INMIGRACION, BIEN HONESTO Y CON UN CORAZONSOTE GRANDISIMO COMO ES EL ABOGADO John Nechman" ....Y encíma de todo ésto amígos EL hábla vários idiomas y si no le entíendes en uno, pues pásate a otro idioma pero de que te entiende...TE ENTIENDE y así se háce mas fácil arreglar su legalidad aqui en U.S.A.!!!....En nombre MIO Y DE TODOS MIS AMIGOS LATINOS que hás ayudado a travéz de los años, ...GRACIAS JOHN NECHMAN, ERES UNO ENTRE MILLONES !!! ...Sinceramente: "El Gran Varon"
Read less
Posted by Arturo Ovalle aka "El Gran Varon" | August 20, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
"JOHN A. NECHMAN"...THE MOST HONEST, PATIENT, KINDEST, FULL OF KNOWLEDGE AND THE MOST AGRESSIVE IMMIGRATION ATTORNEY EVER !!!
I just wanted to say that, thanks to John Nechman, I just got my greencard this year 2015 !!!...I am from Monterrey, Mexico and I have been in U.S.A. for 22 years trying to reach the American Legal Dream...Let me tell you, whoever is reading this "REVIEW", that John Nechman is very Trustworthy, kind, Patient and HE deserves the best "Review" from me...Story long short...In those 22 years here and before John Nechman, I was SO fed up with CROOCKED and CORRUPTED Immigration Attorneys that a lot of times I just often come to settle for being here without legal papers crying a lot, but kicking and punching to make my dream come true...but ONE wonderful day somebody told me about this great Attorney who has being my "Angel" for a few years and thanks to HIM I am legal now...Today it is August the 20th.-2015 and I just got back to Houston from Monterrey, Mexico, first time there in 20 years...I AM VERY HAPPY BTW...I am also a Singer/Performer aka "El Gran Varon" and with this Being-legal-deal NOW I can take advantage of these great opportunities as a Performer...This September 13th.-2015 starts on TV-Univision..."LA BANDA"...I am going to be part of "LA BANDA" which Producers are Ricky Martin & Simon Cowell and it will be on UNVISION......If I didn't have legal papers, I wouldn't have given that great opportunity to be on TV...Somebody told me NOT TOO LONG AGO..."El Gran Varon You are very Lucky now that you got your legal papers, LUCKY you had the money to pay for the Attorney and immigration fees for papers the require" and I answered....."LUCKY ME, LUCKY TO HAVE THE MONEY??!!!.....I AM LUCKY JUST TO HAVE MET SUCH AN INCREDIBLE, HARD WORKING, PROPER, PATIENT, AGRESSIVE IMMIGRATION FIGHTER RIGHTS, HONEST AND A VERY KIND HEARTED ATTORNEY" ....and TO TOP IT ALL He speaks a few languages and if you don't understand him in one, you just swich to the other one in order to be understood making getting legal easier....In belhalf of ME AND A LOT OF MY LATINO FRIENDS, who I sent to him over the years, ...THANKS JOHN NECHMAN, YOU ARE ONE OF A KIND !!!
Read less
Posted by Steven | August 17, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommended!
Mr. Nechman and his staff handled our immigration case perfectly! His team promptly filed all of the needed paperwork and provided us with updates through the entire process until approval. We were treated with a high degree of professionalism and respect. I would not consider using another attorney if any future needs arise.
Posted by silvia | August 14, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Honest
Nechman is very responsible,reliable and dedicated lawyer I have ever seen. He was very honest with me and really appreciate it, unlike other attorneys who will take your money for nothing. His staff is very nice and professional 'Peter' thanks for everything. I highly recommend this lawyer. Thanks Nechman!
Posted by Lili | June 3, 2015
My sincere admiration and respect for Mr. Nechman
Mr. John Nechman’s honesty and caring nature are exceptional. My case was a complicated one and John was beside me through it all. Including the arduous cancellation of my Removal Proceeding in the Immigration Court and the filing of my Relative Visa Petition which granted me my Lawful Permanent Residence and, few months ago, my Certificate of Naturalization. But especially he was able to arrange a private Swearing-In Ceremony for my son, an Army soldier in Iraq, making this a unforgettable occasion for my entire family. All these years, he has been not only my lawyer, but a dear friend who has earned my sincere respect and admiration. Un millon de gracias to this wonderful man!!!
Read less
Posted by ADISON | June 1, 2015
GREAT TEAMS WORK ESPECIALLY MR. JOHN NECHMAN
Mr. Nechman have help two of my good friends and both of them highly commanded Mr. Nechman that I should talk to him about my situation. My case was complicated and I have been struggle for almost 10 years but for the first time I have a meeting with Mr. Nechman and his staffs made it seem easy and no hassle at all. He's professional and very friendly. He made me feel like I have know him before (which is I'm not) and He's treated me and my Husband like one of his friend and family. I want to THANK YOU! MR. NECHMAN AND HIS STAFFS TO GIVE ME A NEW WONDERFUL LIFE. Yeah!! to my GREEN CARD :-)
Read less
Posted by The Ruffings | May 28, 2015
Great Staff, Always Available To Answer Our Questions & Concerns!
First off on our first meeting with John, he answered all our questions He seemed very confident and knowledgable on same sex immigration Issues. He made himself available along with his staff to help us with the paperwork and make things go smooth along the process. At the time of the interview, John was there cheerful & confident, that helped Us to be less nervous & at the end he got a successful case in his hands once more. Thank you John Nechman, my Husban & I are so glad to have met you & appreciative for all your help.
Read less
Posted by Titus | May 21, 2015
John Nechman, He is more than the best lawyer.
Today, I got a phone call from my only bestfriend. He sounded so excited and I couldn't wait to hear what he was gonna say. I asked him multiple times what he's got to tell me. He said, with the most happy time I ever heard from him, "I got a green card." and the next thing he said that he was grateful to have John Nechman as his lawyer. I have to say that my bestfriend's immigration case is the toughest case I've ever known. But, his lawyer have made it through in the most reasonable period of time. Plus, I haven't heard my bestfriend mention any hassle. Since the first day that he had meeting with his lawyer, he was hopeful. Congratulations, Adison! I just can't wait to see you here in Thailand. And I would like to "THANK YOU" Mr. Nechman so much to make this happen.
Read less
Posted by Gary | May 19, 2015
Excellent Attorney
I retained John for immigration services a few years back. He was referred to me by a mutual acquaintance. I was very impressed with his knowledge, passion, and responsiveness. I would highly recommend his legal services to anyone.
Posted by David | May 19, 2015
Permanent Residence Application
John, and his entire staff, were critical in our successful application for permanent residence status for my long time partner of 20 years. John understands first hand the potential obstacles and pitfalls of the process. His empathy and compassion for his clients put us immediately at ease. His legal knowledge of the immigration system and personal patience explaining the details was amazing. From our initial meeting and every step of the way, John clearly laid out the many steps as well as when and what to expect. Each stage of the process happened exactly as John explained. His office efficiently handled all the complicated paperwork and notified us of each necessary action as the applications moved through the government bureaucracy. His experience and support made the intimidating process as worry free as possible. I highly recommend anyone seeking help with immigration related issues to call John.
Read less
Posted by David | February 25, 2015
Permanent Resident status without any hassle!
Mr. Nechman made the process of adjusting my partners status from tourist to permanent resident hassle free. We sat with him for an initial consultation where he explained the process and what our options were. After filling out a simple questionnaire, all of the paperwork was taken care of. All we needed to do was review and sign it. We were also given a list of supporting documents and information that we needed to prepare for the interview later. All of our applications were approved without any issues! Mr. Nechman seemed to know nearly all of the possible officers that we might speak to during the interview and was able to prepare us. We had absolutely no issues during the interview, which was surprisingly short. My partner's new status was approved immediately! We are both very happy and would recommend Mr. Nechman to anyone with immigration issues.
Read less
Posted by Cosimo | December 22, 2014
Removal of conditions on GC
John has been outstanding. He helped me removing the conditions on my 2 years GC and everything went as he promised on our first meeting. Highly recommended!
Posted by Michael | December 4, 2014
Job Well Done
I want to thank John and Peter for the wonderful work they did for me and my husband. John was able to help get my spouse legal and allow him to stay in this country with his family. I was very scared that this would not be possible, but John assured us everything would be ok. Peter, his assistant, was very helpful and responsive to our needs. He helped calm our nerves several times. I tend to be a worrier about everything and I know I can get on people's nerves because of all my questions, but Peter never got flustered with me, which is very rare. Thanks again to this wonderful "family" oriented law firm. We will recommend to all our friends and people in the community.
Read less
Posted by Alfonso | September 8, 2014
Five Stars!
My experience in having John Nechman as an attorney has been most favorable in all respects. John is informed, courteous, accommodating, and well prepared. I gladly recommend and endorse this attorney.
Posted by Mario Borja | July 27, 2014
Excellent service and professionalism.
Excellent service and professionalism. We visited 4 different lawyers until we were recommended to contact Mr. Neckman. We felt comfortable with his attention, knowledge, guidance and advice. For sure we'll continue to hire him to complete my immigration case.
Posted by Kirby & Simon | July 25, 2014
Legal services for Immigration matter - Canada to USA
John was compassionate, thorough and honest with my partner and me as we navigated our way through the immigration process. He and his firm carry a reputation of integrity in such matters and are clearly respected by the US officials adjuticating the cases. We were so fortunate to have been referred to him. We would most highly recommend John and his firm to those requiring legal counsel in matters of US immigration.
Read less
Posted by Robert | February 7, 2014
John is the best lawyer for us so far
After the Supreme Court DOMA decision for same sex partner marriage last June, we did some internet research and had initiated contact with different lawyers about our case. We kind of considered applying for a K1 visa stating our intent to get married and then apply for permanent residency status. But we were unsure if that was the best choice at the time. My partner and I decided to visit John’s office for a second opinion as one of my other lawyer’s friend highly recommended him to us. We both felt very trustful with John’s professional knowledge/suggestion for our case during our meeting. Since we both have been together for a long time, almost 20 years, John has different suggestion for us. We basically follow his suggestion and everything went well for our case being approved by USCIS in less than three months waiting time which included going through a three major holiday times (Thanksgiving, Chrismas-New Year, and MLK) period. We are happy to live like a normal people now except Texas still have a long way to go to have a real equality for same sex couple. If you were in our situation with Bi-international same sex couple, you would certainly need to talk to John like us. One more thing that you might need to know and I wish someone had told us before. John is a very nice guy to work with. But our case was handled by his associate from the very beginning until our real interview with USCIS. It might take extra efforts to get answer from John when something came up and you might need to aware of getting less client center service from his associate as well.
Read less
Posted by YASIR | January 29, 2014
THE BEST LAWYER EVER
I DID NOT EXPECT TO GET AN APPROVAL FOR MY ASYLUM CASE FROM THE FIRST INTERVIEW, BECAUSE MY CASE WAS NOT AN EASY ONE. I REALY RECOMMEND THIS HONEST, TALENTED AND TRUST-WORTHY ATTORNEY FOR EVERY ONE WHO WANTS TO APPLY FOR AN ASYLUM.
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Adjunct Professor
  • University of Houston Law Center
  • 2009 - Present
  • Partner and Attorney at Law
  • Katine & Nechman L.L.P.
  • 2008 - Present
  • Adjunct Professor
  • South Texas College of Law
  • 2003 - Present
  • ESL Instructor
  • Houston Community College
  • 1995 - 2005
View all work experience

Education

  • South Texas College Of Law
  • law
  • 1995
  • University of Texas System, Austin
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1988
  • Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  • Associate Degree
  • 1984

Associations

  • The Hollyfield Foundation
  • Board of Directors
  • 2013 - Present
  • The Lazarus House
  • Board of Directors
  • 2013 - Present
  • National Immigration Justice Center
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • World Affairs Council of Houston
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • International Financial Management Association
  • Co-Chairman
  • 2007 - Present
  • Asia Society of Houston
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • National Hispanic Professionals Organization
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Organization of Chinese Americans
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Asian American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • Cámara de Empresarios Latinos de Houston
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • International Lesbian and Gay Law Association
  • Member
  • 2004 - Present
  • Houston Latino HIV Task Force
  • Member
  • 2004 - Present
  • Lesbian and Gay Law Association of New York
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • International Lesbian and Gay Association
  • Delegate
  • 2003 - Present
  • Blueprint Houston
  • Delegate
  • 2003 - Present
  • International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission
  • Cooperating Attorney
  • 2002 - Present
  • Lambda Legal
  • Cooperating Attorney
  • 2002 - Present
  • National Center for Lesbian Rights
  • Cooperating Attorney
  • 2002 - Present
  • Amnesty International
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • Texas Pro Bono College
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • State Bar of Texas, Hispanic Issues Section
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • Dallas Gay and Lesbian Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2002 - Present
  • Texas State Bar College
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • State Bar of Texas, Asian-Pacific Interest Section
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present
  • Houston Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2000 - Present
  • State Bar of Texas, Sexual Orientation and Gender Identification Issues Section
  • Chair and Member
  • 2000 - Present
  • American Immigration Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2000 - Present
  • Hispanic Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1997 - Present
  • Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston
  • President and Member
  • 1996 - Present
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1995 - Present
  • Federation of Gay Games International Advisory Board
  • Board Member
  • 2004 - 2007
  • Immigration Equality
  • Co-Chair and Board Member
  • 2002 - 2006
  • Ballet Fiesta Mexicana
  • Board Member and Legal Counsel
  • 2001 - 2004
  • Ryan White Planning Council
  • Member
  • 2001 - 2003
  • National Lesbian and Gay Law Association
  • Co-chair and Board Member
  • 2000 - 2004
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish
  • Portuguese
  • German
  • Italian
  • Korean
View all languages

Honors and Awards

  • Houston Pride Celebration Male Grand Marshall
  • Pride Houston, Inc.
  • 2013
  • Judge Normal Black Award
  • State Bar of Texas
  • 2007
  • Statue of Liberty Award
  • Outsmart Magazine
  • 2007
  • Texas Super Lawyers Rising Star
  • Texas Monthly Magazine
  • 2005
  • John Walzel Political Equality Award
  • Human Rights Campaign
  • 2005
  • Award for Excellence in Advocacy
  • Stonewall Law Association Greater Houston
  • 2004
  • Texas Super Lawyers Rising Star
  • Texas Monthly Magazine
  • 2004
  • Unsung Hero/Heroine Award
  • Houston Community College
  • 2003
  • Award of Excellence
  • Ballet Fiesta Mexicana
  • 2003
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Radio Appearance
  • Immigration, Civil Rights, HIV, and GLBT Community Issues
  • 2009
  • Radio Appearance
  • Immigration, Civil Rights, HIV, and GLBT Community Issues
  • 2009
  • Radio Appearance
  • Immigration, Civil Rights, HIV, and GLBT Community Issues
  • 2008
  • Radio Appearance
  • Guest Speaker on Immigration, Civil Rights, HIV, and GLBT Community Issues
  • 2008
  • Symposium on GLBT Immigration Issues
  • "Love Knows no Borders"
  • 2002
  • International War Tribunals Symposium
  • "The ICC and the International War Tribunals"
  • 2002
  • Embrace, A Celebration of Freedom and Equality
  • Keynote Speaker, Freedom and Equality
  • 2002
  • Brown Symposium
  • "How Globalization affects GLBT Rights"
  • 2002
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (11)
Given (8)
Endorse John
Immigration Attorney | May 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Immigration Attorney | Dec 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"When it comes to immigration, John not only knows the law but is well-informed about new laws and potential laws. He is a very caring attorney, taking care of his clients and their immigration issues from start to finish. When I have questions regarding immigration issues with my clients, John is the person I call. He answers or quickly returns calls and gives me all the information I need. I highly recommend John Nechman."
Immigration Attorney | Aug 02
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer."
Immigration Attorney | Jul 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He is highly regarded in the community."
Immigration Attorney | Mar 08
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse John and his outstanding work as immigration lawyer. I have referred criminal clients that may have immigration consequences to their charges. His advice helps provide a "total solution" the client."
Immigration Attorney | Oct 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have known John over 10 years now. I know he is knowledgeable, responsive and responsible with his clients. In other settings and community events he always assumes a leadership role inspiring and motivating other attorneys. I am one of them. I recommend him highly."
Unknown Attorney | Aug 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He has commitment to his clients, to the profession, and to the larger community in which he practices. He is a skilled and dedicated lawyer and an assert to his clients and the legal community."
Immigration Attorney | Dec 11
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer's work. John is very experienced in immigration law, and really advocates for his clients."
Immigration Attorney | Dec 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"John is a leading immigration attorney in the community. He is friendly, compassionate, and a dedicated lawyer. I endorse this lawyer's work."
Immigration Attorney | Aug 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work."
Immigration Attorney | Apr 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work. I've known John Nechman for many years. He is caring and professional attorney. I refer cients to him."
View more endorsements

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Houston Immigration Lawyer John Arthur Nechman
John Arthur Nechman
Immigration Attorney
Houston, TX
Licensed for 25 years