We'll help you find the right solution for your needs
Does this sound like your topic?
I'm a legal resident I had a Dwi back in 1995, I'm trying to travel, will that effect me in any way?
With this administration who knows.See question
I was recently involved in a head on car collision and suffered a comminuted fracture to my calcaneus. The wreck wasn't my fault at all as stated in the police report. She failed to yield when turning left into the interaction we were in. The poli...
How much insurance does this other party have and how much underinsured coverage do you have? Are there any "anger facts" or did the other driver just make a true mistake? Clearly you were seriously affected by this, but that's not the only factor in what a jury will do.See question
Truck was a lemon for 27 months to the tune of 73,000.00 plus between repairs and motels when asked to switch trucks was told I didn't have snuff Beckett in truck the. Last2 months I was not under contract and had 36000 in debt.I friend that I got...
Please use the right practice area.See question
I went to the hospital on Nov 29, 2016 because I had pinkish spots of blood. They did vaginal exam & ultrasound. The Dr from the hospital said everything was good & it was normal to be spotting. She said I could go home & congrats on the baby. 3 ...
Unfortunately in Texas the answer is no. Because the child passed away before being born, there is no claim for the wrongful death of the unborn fetus. This is the law only for claims against health care professionals. Thank you tort reform.See question
I was in a car accident last year. My insurance paid the majority of the property damages but didn't pay the full amount. The company is asking for me to pay what the insurance did not. Is there anyway to get that waived since the majority has alr...
If you insurance company paid for repairs to the other car, they should have obtained a release for you. Contact your insurance company and demand they obtain a release or pay the rest of the damages.See question
Husband and I were in an accident in August, the car was insured, but since his license was expired he was not. The other car had a broken headlight and was not a big deal, however their insurance covered it and now want us to pay $2,983.99. They ...
This is a very common problem in Texas lately. The policy you and your husband purchased likely isn't a standard auto policy and is known as a "junk policy." Most likely it has an exclusion for coverage for unlicensed drivers. If this is the case, then there is likely no coverage for the wreck. As for the extortion the other insurance company is doing, this also is now too common in Texas. You are going to have to fight them on multiple fronts. First you need to demand in writing from "Wilber & Associates" to provide you with proof of the debt as required under the State and Federal Fair Debt Collection Acts. Second, if Wilber & Associates is an out of state law firm, you might report them to The State Bar of Texas for unauthorized practice of law in Texas. As for the license suspension, that's a whole other battler. See the info below directly from DPS website.
FINALLY, you need to contact TexasWatch in Austin, the Texas Department of Insurance, your State Representative and State Senator and let them know exactly what these "junk policies" are doing to Texans.
In Texas, when DPS receives notice an individual has been involved in a crash which resulted in an injury, death or property damages of at least $1,000, the uninsured driver is subject to a driver license suspension.
In certain circumstances, individuals may be eligible to request a hearing to contest the suspension of their driver license. If the request is submitted within the required 20 days, DPS will send a letter to the individual to the address on record. The letter will provide the date, time and location of the hearing. Please allow up to 120 days for the hearing to be scheduled. Requests made after the required 20 days will be denied and the individual will be notified by mail.
Hearings are conducted in a municipal or justice court in the county where the individual lives. During the hearing, the individual is responsible for providing facts to the hearing officer who will determine if the reasons for the suspension are valid.
Driver License Reinstatement Requirements
For a driver license to be reinstated, an individual must submit to DPS one of the following:
Evidence of liability insurance at the time of the crash,
A Notarized Release (SR-11) from liability of judgment,
A properly executed Installment Agreement (SR-19) (if DPS receives notice that an individual has defaulted on the installment agreement then the driver license is subject to suspension), or
Deposit of a cashier’s check or money order, and submission a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) and an SR-22a as proof of liability insurance,
The insurance policy must be pre-paid for at least six-months.
The SR-22 and SR-22a are available at any insurance company authorized by the Texas Department of Insurance.
If a suspension has been enforced, a reinstatement fee is required prior to the renewal or issuance of a driver license.
NOTE: If after two years from the date of the crash there are no civil suits pending or unpaid judgments, application may be made for reinstatement by filing anAffidavit of No Suit Filed within Two Years (SR-60) and paying the required reinstatement fee.
My brother was the pedestrian killed, we, as his grieving family are now seeking compensation. I mean, that is why there is accidental insurance, to cover losses in an accident. My intention is not to fight anyone, simply file with the other parti...
Sorry for the loss. Insurance will only pay of the driver was at fault for the wreck. The reason the alcohol and weed is relevant would be to try to and show your brother was intoxicated and walked out in front of the car or could have avoided it if he was sober.See question
My son was in an accident where the other party was at fault. The other car has insurance but the driver had no license. My car insurance is helping us with a claim however we were just informed that the other vehicles insurance is denying the cla...
If the orther driver's carrier is denying coverage because they sold a "junk policy" not covering every member of the household, then suing the other driver will do nothing. You should file under your uninsured motorists coverage, PIP and or Medpay. You should also contact TDI and explain that their approval of these junk policies have caused you and your family harm.See question