I've read somewhere that you can move out at 17 as long as you can take care of yourself and you are going to school, but I'm home schooled, so what does that mean?
Mark is correct. The Family Code treats you as a child for purposes of its laws (runaway is one) even though the criminal laws treat you as an adult at 17. Chapter 31 of the Texas Family Code governed "removal of disabilities of minority." Section 31.001 lists the requirements as 1) be a resident of the state; 2) 17 years old (or 16 under a different set of facts); and 3) be self-supporting and managing the minor's own financial affairs.See question
I know that the drinking age is 21 in every state, but I have heard that you can drink liquor at restaurants under 21 if your spouse or parents are with you in some states. Is that legal in Texas? Every so often I have a glass of wine with my pare...
You must be in visible presence of an adult parent, guardian or spouse. Texas Alcohol Beverage Code 106.04 (consumption law) & 106.05 (possession law)See question
I know that a lot of states passed drinking ages after Prohibition in 1933. What year did Texas first pass a drinking age? What was the age limit? Has the drinking age in Texas always been 21? When did Texas first pass a drinking age?
1933 was Texas as well and it was 21. It was lowered to 18 in 1973, raised to 19 in 1981 then to 21 again in 1986 in response to the federal government's intervention on the issue.See question
I know that Illnois is the first state to have a juvenile court in 1899. What year did Texas start having juvenile courts?
1907. The Texas Juvenile Court Act of 1907 began the formation of the first juvenile courts in Bexar, Dallas, Harris and El Paso counties.See question
i dont want to b passed over for an job on this matter. There is no other cases or trouble .
The only thing I would add to Evan's answer is that if the case was a juvenile case it may be subject to sealing. The sealing of juvenile felonies are at the discretion of the juvenile court unless it is of a type that is not subject to sealing.See question
I pled guilty and accepted probation on an assault family violence case. I was sentenced to 180 days of jail time to be served as regular probation for 16 months. I am not able to afford any of the fees or fines since my job is in Houston. I liter...
Talk with your probation officer. Many probation departments can work with you on your fees if you have no income. They can also ask the court to reduce fines as well. If nothing else works and you are doing everything else right on probation, the probation officer can recommend to the court that you serve your time in jail up to the sentenced amount.See question