Skip to main content

James Roddy Tanner

Litigation Attorney at Fort Worth, TX

5.0   8 reviews

also known as Rod Tanner, Tanner & Associates, P.C.

  • Licensed for 47 years
    State TX
    Acquired 1976
    Status
    Eligible to Practice in Texas No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About James

Learn James’s areas of practice.

ONE OF THE STATE'S PREEMINENT LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT' LAWYERS.

Awards

AV Preeminent Peer Review Rating
Client's Choice 2015
Client's Choice
2015

Location

Tanner and Associates, P.C.
6300 Ridglea Place.
Suite 407
Fort Worth, TX, 76116

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  8 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2015
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Candice | July 24, 2015
Finally!!
Mr. Tanner is hands down the most Proactive yet compassionate lawyer I have ever seen... I am a Hairstylist so looking for a competent lawyer can be very intimidating.... So I was so relieved after meeting Mr. Tanner.. He went above and beyond for me.. I now know that nothing is impossible..
Posted by Kelly | July 20, 2015
Excellent Attorney
Mr. Tanner has been a pleasure to work with during this difficult time. He has kept me informed of all information regarding my case. He is very knowledgeable in all areas of labor and employment law. He has responded quickly to any questions or concerns I might have. Extremely professional and easy to talk to. I highly recommend Mr. Tanner if you need an attorney in this field.
Read less
Posted by molly | December 27, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
When you need a labor lawyer...
Rod Tanner is who you'll want. He's served our local's needs for many years with sound and effective advice. When we have questions, he's a rapid and patient responder. No matter the issue, he keeps us informed and prepared for whatever may come our way. Greatly appreciated bonuses are his great sense of humor and an obvious love of his work. We can't imagine anyone better.
Read less
Posted by Walter | July 27, 2015
Age Discrimination Case Major Plano, TX Company
Rod reviewed the facts of my case and told me he felt I had a strong case for age discrimination. He clearly discussed the risks and the steps that would be taken during the entire process. He demonstrated excellent knowledge of EEOC procedures as well as the judicial processes. During the EEOC mediation hearing, he countered every point of law advanced by the company's lawyer and quickly noted errors in their documents. He was very knowledgable of all the judges in Collin county and always kept me informed of pluses and minuses in our case. He was never too optimistic or pessimistic about our case and always presented facts. A satisfactory settlement was reached before the case went to trial. I feel that Rod is the best employment attorney in North Texas!
Read less
Posted by Jim | July 21, 2015
Great Union and Employee Representation
Our union has a working relationship with Rod Tanner that began in 1983. He has been our choice of Labor and Employment attorneys exclusively since the late 1980s. Our trust and confidence in Rod is implicit when it comes to matters concerning labor unions, employees, and employers, including general advice relating to labor law, collective bargaining, internal matters, union elections, cases before the NLRB, discipline cases, EEO cases, and the many other complex legal and regulatory requirements encountered in the workplace environment or working matters of the union. He is our main source for keeping current on information or changes related to such matters. He is driven by his complete dedication to the cause of working women and men. His work ethic is impeccable. He has successfully represented our members and our union in arbitration, mediation, and state and federal litigation. His common sense approach to these matters is most helpful in educating our union leadership and members and has helped us avoid future conflict or legal jeopardy as well as the associated expenses. He is an excellent negotiator. He is both passionate about the cause of working people and is compassionate about their individual cases. He has represented individual employees in matters outside the scope of our collective bargaining agreement. His knowledge and experience is vast and that knowledge is a natural economy for us, as he doesn't usually spend a lot of time researching our concerns/questions. He is fearless in representing the rights of the union and its employees' concerns with even the largest of employers. Rod is approachable and very down to earth. He is honest and speaks the plain truth. He cares and he gets it! Rod is not just the only Labor and Employment attorney we use in our union's cause or business, he is the only attorney I will recommend for such matters
Read less
Posted by DONALD | July 20, 2015
EXCELLENT ATTORNEY!
Excellent attorney! Can not say enough wonderful things about his professionalism and honesty in every case we have worked together on. Works diligently to get all information needed to present his best cases!
Posted by Symantha | July 17, 2015
Employment Retaliation Case
The first time I consulted with Mr. Tanner he immediately gained my trust with his overall knowledge of labor and employment law, as well as his compassion for the way I was being retaliated against by my employer for filing and EEO claim. Mr. Tanner's advice gave me the insight on whether I had a case and how I should proceed in the event I should be suspended or fired. I did get suspended within a few months after my first consultation with Mr. Tanner. Mr. Tanner agreed to represent me. Mr. Tanner prepared me for what I could expect in the future, as far as time, legal events, expenses, and the possibility of how to handle further retaliation. Mr. Tanner has always answered my phone calls, text messages, and e-mails in a timely manner, which has given me the confidence I needed to continue. I have peace of mind knowing that I can trust Mr. Tanner to provide me with his sincere and honest opinion, as well as his continued dedication to a positive resolution in my case.
Read less
Posted by JaNae | July 16, 2015
Knowledgeable
Rod has been the attorney for our union for several years. We have had numerous legal issues and he is always the first person to call for advice, even if it was a minor problem. He is always quick to respond and his knowledge of the law is impeccable. When he directed cases for us, he was in constant contact with our office and his advice and council was always valuable. We recently used his services for a very large case against a large corporation and with his help we succeeded in winning our case. He was and is formidable. I personally can count on him not only as an attorney, but as my friend.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Education

  • University of Texas School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1976
  • University of Texas System, Austin
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1973

Associations

  • Labor Law Committee
  • Co-Chair
  • 2006 - Present
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Labor and Employment Law Section
  • Chair
  • 1998 - 1999
  • State Bar of Texas
  • Chair
  • 1995 - 1996
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish

Honors and Awards

  • Top 16 labor and employment lawyers
  • Texas Lawyer
  • 2001

Publications

  • Chapter 18, TEXAS EMPLOYMENT LAW, James Publishing Incorporated
  • Texas Commission on Human Rights Act: Procedures and Remedies
  • 2015
  • Chapter 24, TEXAS EMPLOYMENT LAW, James Publishing Incorporated
  • Discrimination Based on National Origin, Religion and Other Grounds
  • 2015
  • James Publishing publication
  • Texas Employment Law
  • 2015
  • Privacy and Public Disclosures Under the Freedom of Information Act, No. 11, Tarlton Law Library Legal Bibliography Series
  • The Judge, The Philosopher and The Personal Privacy Exemption of The Freedom of Information Act
  • 1976
View all publications

Attorney endorsements

Received (0)
Given (1)
Endorse James
Endorsements from fellow lawyers are an important consideration for many when selecting the right attorney.
Employment and labor

Avvo Contributions

1 Legal Answers 0 Legal Guides
Fort Worth Litigation Lawyer James Roddy Tanner
James Roddy Tanner
Litigation Attorney
Fort Worth, TX
Licensed for 47 years