Skip to main content

James Luster

Criminal defense Attorney at Fort Worth, TX

5.0   11 reviews

Licensed for 14 years

Free consultation

About James

Learn James’s areas of practice.

Former prosecutor who has worked on cases ranging from traffic tickets all the way up to Aggravated Robbery and Murder.  Extensive trial experience and proven results.  Call today for a free consultation. 

Licensed for 14 years
State TX
Status Eligible to Practice in Texas
Acquired 2008
Updated 10/23/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact James

Cofer Luster Law Firm, PC

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  11 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Ebi | May 14, 2015
Great personality and timely respons
I got pleaser of knowing Mr Luster in worst possible position that I was , I was so pleased with result of my case Which was dismissed and I will recommend him to all my friends . Wish I had him in California in 2013 He is the best lawyer I seen so far .
Posted by Nicholas | March 18, 2015
Knowledgeable and trustworthy
James was a pleasure to work with. His knowledge of the law and the legal process was very impressive and he always followed up in a very timely manner.
Posted by anonymous | May 18, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
This man does great work to say the least
It's been a few years since I ended up getting my DWI charge, but Mr. Luster got straight to the point assuring me possible options right then and there when I felt helpless. Very patient, and very knowledgeable when it comes to his practice.
Posted by Kristopher | June 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Honest and trustworthy!
I had so many worries going into my case, but Mr. Luster knows what he's doing, I could tell bcuz I've had experience with both good and not so good attorneys, and it's hard to find the ones that are good at their profession when YOU need it. Also, he got my case dropped! All those worries? Gone. I highly recommend James Luster if you're in need of any legal counsel!
Read less
Posted by Mark | December 16, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Researches the evidence and does so in detail.
After having to dismiss a court appointed attorney for my son, we were led to and hired James Luster. James accomplished more in two weeks than the court appointed attorney accomplished in seven months. After James reviewed the case and the evidence, we knew we had hired a winner for our son. James stood his ground and the District Attorney dismissed the charge. James knows the law but, more importantly, James is a tremendous defense attorney. I rarely write reviews but, I felt compelled to share our experience with James. James has the highest recommendation I can give and more importantly, he has my gratitude... Mark
Read less
Posted by Danny | July 18, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
I couldn't ask for better.
Finding a good attorney is quite a challenge, and although my case isn't over, I couldn't be happier with my decision to choose, James Luster. He's a hard worker, honest and returns communications in a timely manner.
Posted by anonymous | June 9, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Quick, attentive, and knowledgeable
I highly recommend Mr Luster, he acted with a sense of urgency, helped us understand what was going on, and recommended the right paths to correct actions. He was always available, and quick to even walk to the courthouse to make things happen. Thank you for all your help with my brother!
Posted by EC | December 18, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
charges dismissed
He listened and believed me when nobody else would. He reviewed evidence, kept me informed and would not give up until justice was done. Two 3rd degree felonies were dismissed as result of his thorough work. I am grateful James Luster was my attorney.
Posted by Nickolas | October 22, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Life Changer
This was my first offense in my life and I was caught with possession. My friend and I, as fairly young adults, were scared of the repercussion we would have to face. I hired Mr. Luster in hopes that he'd be a great person to have by my side; I was right. He kept me updated of all events, he was ready to help at anytime, and to top it off, with great satisfaction, I can say that he helped me change my life around. I thank Mr. Luster and if anyone's ever looking for a lawyer, he's your guy!
Read less
Posted by casey | May 13, 2015
I recommend attorney James Luster
Thank you James for helping me with my case and getting me 1 day time served. . You are awesome and very smart. . Casey!
Posted by Michael | March 14, 2015
The best lawyer in Texas
I had got in a lot of trouble this past year and this guy saved my ass. I had picked up 3 felony charges and 3 minor charges and spent no time in jail, he got the minors dismissed, and I got put on probation. Super cool guy. Seriously, I highly recommend James to anyone and everyone.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner / Attorney
  • Cofer Luster Law Firm, PC
  • 2019 - Present
  • Owner / Attorney
  • Luster Law Firm, PLLC
  • 2014 - 2018
  • Assistant District Attorney
  • Tarrant County District Attorney's Office
  • 2009 - 2014
  • Assistant District Attorney
  • Lubbock County Criminal District Attorneys Office
  • 2009 - 2009
View all work experience

Education

  • University of Houston
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2008
  • Abilene Christian University
  • BBA - Bachelor of Business Administration
  • 2003

Legal Cases

  • State vs. B.V.
  • Not Guilty
  • State v. C.S.
  • No Billed
  • State v. J.R.
  • Dismissed
View all legal cases

Associations

  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Tarrant County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
  • Texas Young Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2009 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • Top Attorney
  • Fort Worth Magazine
  • 2019
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2019
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2018
  • Top 40 Under 40
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Top Attorney
  • Fort Worth, Texas Magazine
  • 2016
  • 10 Best Client Satisfaction Award
  • American Institute of DUI/DWI Attorneys
  • 2015
  • Top Attorney
  • Fort Worth, Texas Magazine
  • 2015
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Sharpen the Spear Indigent Defense Advocacy
  • Making the Record for Non-Counsel Funding
  • 2019
  • Fort Worth Police Training Academy
  • Courtroom Testimony Training
  • 2010

Attorney endorsements

Received (19)
Given (15)
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 02
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 20
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 24
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. James is hardworking and honest. I've seen him perform under extreme pressure and come out victorious. I would hire him in a second."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have worked alongside James as a defense attorney but also against him when he was a prosecutor. He is a stealth attorney. He quietly works diligently to get justice for his clients. He has extensive trial experience and is well respected in our legal community. I highly recommend James."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"James is a compassionate, knowledgeable and hard working attorney. He has tried numerous felony and misdemeanor jury trials. I would recommend James to a friend or family member charged with a crime. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I worked with James in the Tarrant County District Attorney's Office. He is hard working, has expansive knowledge of the law, and his experience as a former prosecutor gives his clients an advantage that many defense attorneys cannot provide. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I worked with James as a fellow Tarrant County prosecutor and he is an excellent attorney. He is smart, works hard, and does a great job for his clients. He knows what it takes to get the job done and I highly recommend him to anyone seeking legal counsel."
Unknown Attorney | Mar 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"James is a terrific attorney. He is a hard worker, diligent, and compassionate about his clients needs. I highly endorse this attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"James has always worked hard for his clients. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"James is an even-tempered, hard hitter that I am glad to have as a resource for my practice, and exceptional litigator in the community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 13
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Jim is an experienced, highly respected attorney who always represents his clients with the utmost of skill,knowledge and understanding.i can readily endorse him without hesitation or reservation."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 02
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have worked with James as a prosecutor and as a defense attorney. I have gone to trial with him and can attest to his preparation and know he comes across great to a jury. I would highly recommend James to anyone looking for legal help."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 15
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"James is a hard-working former Tarrant County prosecutor. He has a vast knowledge in criminal law, along with extensive trial experience. I highly endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense