My husband and I got into an argument 6 weeks ago and he hit me on the arm. I called the police, they put him in jail for 2 days, and issued a protective order for 31 days which is now expired and I bailed him out. Now I am trying to drop the char...
The above lawyers have already explained how the State actually prosecutes the charges, not you. You need to contact your husband's lawyer and schedule a meeting. At this meeting, the lawyer should get an affidavit of non-prosecution executed by you. It is my practice to include a space in this affidavit for your to clear up any statements that might have been the result of police pressure or high emotions at the time of the incident. It is probably a good idea for you husband and you to engage in some kind of counseling at the direction of his attorney. The idea is, you want the prosecutor to understand that you husband is not going to be a future threat and you are not going to be a cooperative witness. These cases are difficult to defend, but the right defense attorney can give you the best chance of getting this behind you quickly.See question
It's my first felony ever. I have traffic tickets but thats about it.
No one can answer this question with the information provided. Obviously, with no felony history your in better shape than someone that has been to prison 3 times. However, even a first time felony offense can have aggravating factors that would make a prosecutor offer only prison time. Also, evading arrest in a vehicle could include a "deadly weapon" enhancement. This DW paragraph means the judge cannot give you probation on an "open plea" or after being found guilty. You need to find a good criminal defense lawyer and listen to your lawyer.See question
Clean background except traffic tickets
As stated above, yes. However, the amount of bail may be too high for you to make. If you have an attorney they can file to have the bond reduced. This assumes the person has no other "holds" like parole or immigration. Some attorneys will act as a bail bondsman, too.See question
Hi I'm from Hurst Texas I'm trying to get a federal job and will be given a federal background check I wanted to make sure I didn't have anything pending so I did a criminal history check on myself through the Texas department of public safety and...
Background checks are a tricky thing... So, the FBI gets their information from DPS, so if DPS never had a record then they never sent anything to the FBI. If, once upon a time, DPS had a record but the record was expunged, technically the FBI should purge their system, too. Don't count on that. All of this relates to databases with your Texas criminal history. However, just because these searches come up clean does not mean you have no criminal history floating out there. Many municipalities and counties did (or still do) a poor job of forwarding records to the state. So, those records could still exist locally. On occasion, someone will retain our office to investigate someone. We run database checks, but we also run down records at the local level where ever someone has a connection. If you have a specific concern about a record showing up, I would meet with a criminal defense lawyer to discuss whether the record may still exist.See question
I know someone who repeatedly lied on the witness stand. Lied while filling out court documents. Altered court papers (which I now have in my possession) that he/she presented to a school principal as proof that he/she had custody of a child (didn...
I agree that you should call the police, but any time that I have seen perjury charges actually prosecuted the District or County Attorney ignited the charges. This is different than most criminal cases where the police agency initiates investigation and files the case with the DA or CA. Good luck.See question
Texas Department of Public Safety TxDPS Sex Offender Registry My son is a registered sex offender since he was 18 he. No criminal record prior or after the incident married 15 years and has an 11 year old son. Theya re making him register as a...
"Deregistration" depends on the offense of conviction and a risk assessment. Not many attorneys have experience with this process. Shop around for someone that has successfully completed the process.See question
Sansom park tx
Some police agencies in other parts of Texas have issued a memo that their officers are not supposed to rely on the "insurance database." This is a relatively new (couple of years) issue, so it has not been completely litigated, as stated above. If the traffic stop resulted a search and seizure leading to criminal charges you need to contact a criminal defense attorney about the issue right away. A motion to suppress should probably be filed in your case. Good luck!See question
I have a court date of August 10th at 8:30. I would like an attorney to contact me so I can explain the charges I am facing. Thank you
If you have a serious case in Taylor County call Randy Wilson. I don't know whether he has a profile on AVVO, but he is an exceptional lawyer.See question
I recently received an MIC citation, I am 20 years old. I was wondering how to completely get this off of my record so it is unable to be seen by Pre-employment background checks. How soon after the disposition process can I file for expunging the...
There are several final dispositions for an MIC that allow you to have the record expunged later. This is actually one of the very rare charges that (depending on your criminal history) you can have expunged even with a conviction. The important thing is to get a lawyer that can explain all of the possible outcomes and how it will impact your permanent criminal record. Although this is just a "ticket," if you are worried enough about your record to post here then it is important enough to get a lawyer.See question
I have a criminal trespass against my sister. I live in an apartment. She wants to take the car that is under both of her and my name. I make the payments. Can she get in trouble for coming to get the car?
A "Criminal Trespass Warning" can be issued for an entire apartment complex. Based on the information given, I cannot determine whether she is "criminally trespassed" from just your apartment or the apartment complex. If she disobeys the warning then the police can arrest her for "criminal trespass" which is a Class B Misdemeanor. In reality, the police probably will not see the squabble between you and your sister as a high priority call. Denying her access to the vehicle with both of your names on the title is a different issue all together, and you need to speak with a civil attorney about sorting out the title issue (e.g. wills and probate, civil litigation).See question