Skip to main content
Coby L. Wooten
Avvo
Pro

Coby Wooten’s Answers

221 total


  • What is the statute of limitations for rear-end collisions in Austin, Texas?

    FOR CLARIFICATION: I WAS NOT INJURED I was rear-ended by a man driving a rental car without a valid license/insurance in August 2015. He has since ignored every appeal I've made to collect damages and Budget, the company in question, has refuse...

    Coby’s Answer

    2 years from the date of the incident in question. If you were injured in the accident then consult with a personal injury attorney. So if you retain an attorney for the injuries then maybe that lawyer can handle the property damage claim as well.
    Good Luck

    See question 
  • Can I request statute limitation extension for wrongful death if the error was not discovered until we received medical records?

    In Texas the statute of limitations for medical malpractice and wrongful death is two years. The clock typically starts on the date the injury occurred.

    Coby’s Answer

    Generally Medical Negligence cases are controlled by very strict rules, especially in Texas. The 2 year limitations may be more than two years if a minor plaintiff is involved or if wrongful death is alleged. There really is not enough information in this post to make a good evaluation. I suggest you consult with a personal injury attorney or maybe two so you can be fully informed.
    Good Luck

    See question 
  • What do I do

    Was involved in accident on Dec.12, 2015...Was not my fault. And i have a signed contract from her saying she will pay certain amount and she dudnt....now her insurance company says they may not be liable because she wasn't driving her car...I wan...

    Coby’s Answer

    You should consult with an attorney about your options, especially if you were injured. You should consult with your insurance company and see if the collision is covered by your insurance then let them handle it. As a last resort you can sue in Justice Court in Texas without the need of an attorney if your damages are less than $10,000.00. But before you do anything consult with a qualified personal injury attorney.
    Good Luck

    See question 
  • Complicated hit and run accident with 2 rental cars. HELP!

    Calvert, TX- Was stopped in a gas station parking lot in rental car. Was backed into by another rental car. Driver admitted she was driving her brother's rental (both rentals from the same agency). She eventually drove off and I followed her, whil...

    Coby’s Answer

    You can fight with the rental company at your own time and expense. Should you hire legal counsel to do it they will likely want to be paid by the hour. Or, your insurance should cover the damages and if so they can sue the other driver for reimbursement of the money they are out of pocket. Should they get a judgment then it can be filed with the Department of Public Safety and their driver's licenses. Let the insurance companies worry about it. Finally if you were injured then seek a consultation with a personal injury attorney.
    Good luck

    See question 
  • Do you think 5600 is a fair amount to settle on? Considering I did not have any Physical therapy appointments and such?

    I live in Dallas Texas and the wreck occurred in Austin Texas. The other party was at fault, they were underage and the police found drugs and alcohol according to the police report. Because of this wreck I incurred an ER bill, hospital DR bill, a...

    Coby’s Answer

    You should consult with a personal injury attorney in your area. If the driver and occupants were given citations or were arrested then that conduct might add significant value to your claim.
    Good Luck

    See question 
  • Is there a lawyer that would take over my case before I become a victim twice?

    On the 27th of April 2013 I was hit by a public transportation bus. Broke my neck and it left me Partially paralyzed. My lawyer says I have to pay back all my insurance and that even if they awarded me 5 million that I would only get 100,000. I t...

    Coby’s Answer

    If the bus company is asserting governmental immunity then you are likely limited in the recovery that you can receive. You should ask for a meeting with your attorney and ask him if this the case. You might also looks to potential other parties that may be responsible. Such as other driver's or maybe a product liability case. Without more information we just do not know. Your attorney cannot settle the case without your signature on the Release and/or Settlement documents, so I would go have a meeting with him and get your questions answered.
    Good Luck

    See question 
  • How can i get someone to admit she was in the accident with me? Should i persue this? Should i go look for her myself? I do hav.

    Girl tbones me on her way out of walmart. She had a stop sighn and 2 lanes of traffic and a 10 foot+ median to cross before she got to me. We pull over to exchane info. She has good insurance but no D.L. she prommises to make good of the situation...

    Coby’s Answer

    If you were injured you need to seek medical care and contact a personal injury attorney to evaluate your claim. You can open a claim on your own through the other driver's insurance company now if needed. Or if you are only seeking property damage and you cannot get the insurance company to pay it then you can sue the other driver in Justice Court as long as it is for less than $10,000.00 in total damages. If you then get a judgment and you have not been paid then you can file the Judgment with the Department of Public Safety and they can prevent the other driver from getting a license or renewing one until it is paid.
    Your last option is to claim the property damage on your own insurance if you have collision coverage and could pay then go after the other driver on your behalf.
    Good Luck

    See question 
  • My single car accident was followed by another accident (10 minutes later) can that be blamed on me?

    Last Tuesday, we were under a flash flood warning. I hydroplaned and hit the concrete barrier on the interstate. Thankfully I was the only person around and I was the only car involved in my accident. I called dispatch to have police personnel com...

    Coby’s Answer

    You need to notify your auto insurance carrier immediately and let them take care of it. And if you receive a letter from a law firm or a phone call then you likewise need to forward that information on to your auto insurance carrier.
    Good Luck

    See question 
  • Injury claim after withdrawal?

    I was in an accident a couple of months ago and at that time filed the property damage claim. An injury adjuster called me and asked me If I would be filing an injury claim, I then told him I wasn't sure because I wanted to see if my injuries woul...

    Coby’s Answer

    In Texas you have two years from the date of the injury to process your claim. After the two period your statute of limitations has run. I suggest you contact a personal injury attorney to evaluate your case. Most do not charge for the initial consultation.
    Good Luck

    See question 
  • My 15 year old sis crashed into a metro bus with her boyfriends truck

    She crashed into it but the boyfriend took the blame and went thru the whole thing. Paid 1000 to the lawyer and all but now they dont want to charge him they want to charger her now. Im her only family here, i dont have her custody, so what can I...

    Coby’s Answer

    Sounds like you need to consult with a criminal attorney. I have changed this post to the criminal attorney message board.
    Good Luck

    See question