Skip to main content

Michael Thomas Savage

Divorce and separation Attorney at Dallas, TX

4.3   6 reviews
  • State Years
    Texas - TX 31 years
    Massachusetts - MA 31 years
  • Licensed for 31 years
    State TX
    Acquired 1992
    Status
    Eligible to Practice in Texas No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 31 years
    State MA
    Acquired 1993
    Status
    Inactive No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Michael

Learn Michael’s areas of practice.

Over 20 years of experience in the area of family law. He handles divorces, child custody disputes, pre- and post-nuptial agreements, child support modifications, and contempt hearings.  His business experience proves invaluable as he sheperds his business (and non-business) clients through the often complex labyrinth of family law.  Mr. Savage's experience focuses on keeping closely-held businesses and significant retirements intact throughout the divorce process.

Location

The Savage Law Firm, PLLC
8226 Douglas Avenue.
Suite 330
Dallas, TX, 75225-5972

Divorce lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.3 / 5.0
  6 customer reviews
5 Star
 
83%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
17%
Posted by David | May 14, 2015
Legal Issue
Michael was very thorough discussing my legal issue. He provided two ends of the continuum as it relates to "go" and "no go" for litigation. His questions brought on perspective I would not have otherwise gained.
Posted by Greg | May 14, 2015
Mike Savage is the best
I found Mike Savage in a very dark time of my life. Mike took charge of my situation and immediately worked on damage control. Mike stabilized my situation and cleared me of all legal obstacles. I recommend Mike Savage to anyone facing legal obstacles. Mike will put your life back on track.
Posted by Stephen Barton | May 11, 2015
Great attorney with tireless work ethic and attention to detail
Mike has handle several items for me and will always be my attorney. His approach is different from other lawyers as he tries to understand your goals before telling you a strategy. I trust Michael and his team with all my personal affairs. Hiring Ackerman and Savage will be one of the best decisions you can make.
Posted by JD | May 7, 2015
Reviewed a contract for me
Mr. Savage reviewed a commercial real estate contract for me and did an outstanding job of highlighting the potential problematic issues that could materialize. He thoroughly explained my position and that of my client. He thinks several steps ahead, is patient and ensured me that I understood the complexity of the matter at hand.
Read less
Posted by Trey | May 7, 2015
Best man for worst situation
Mr. Savage assisted me through a very difficult legal process with kindness, compassion and a level headed understanding that kept things on track. His billing was fair and his service is excellent. I would highly recommend him.
Posted by Elia | April 14, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce
This lawyer just took my money. Over $12,000 over a year period, went once to court and resolved nothing. I hired another attorney, I was divorced in less than 60 days.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.9 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Member
  • The Savage Law Firm, PLLC
  • 2015 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Ackerman & Savage, LLC
  • 1994 - Present

Education

  • Southern Methodist University, Dedman School of Law
  • LL.M - Master of Laws
  • 1994
  • St Mary's University of San Antonio School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1992
  • College of the Holy Cross
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1988

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Wilson v. Dewitt, et al., No. 05-04-00666-CV, 2006 Tex. App. LEXIS 6970 (Tex. App.--Dallas August 8, 2006, no. pet.)
  • Serv. Empl. Redevelopment v. Fort Worth Indep. Sch. Dist., 163 S.W. 3d 142 (Tex. App.--Fort Worth 2005, pet. filed)
  • Davis v. Ruffino, 881 S.W.2d 196 (Tex. App.--Houston[1st Dist.] 1994, no writ).

Associations

  • DRI
  • Member
  • 2016 - Present
  • Dallas Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1994 - Present
  • State Bar of Texas
  • Member
  • 1992 - Present
  • State Bar of Texas District 6A Grievance Committee
  • Chairman of Panel
  • 2006 - 2007
  • State Bar of Texas District 6A Grievance Committee
  • Member
  • 2001 - 2007
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish

Honors and Awards

  • Best Lawyers in Dallas
  • D Magazine
  • 2016
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2016
  • PV Rating
  • martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • Client Review Rating
  • martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • College of the State Bar of Texas
  • State Bar of Texas
  • 2008
  • College of the State Bar of Texas
  • State Bar of Texas
  • 2006
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Incorporate Yourself Seminar
  • Choice of Entity
  • 1996

Attorney endorsements

Received (8)
Given (3)
Endorse Michael
Business Attorney | Jun 28
Relationship: Supervised lawyer
"I highly endorse Mike as a very professional, ethical, and hard working attorney. I worked for Mike several years ago and learned a lot from him about business, civil litigation, and family cases. I continue to value his opinions on the law and his solutions to client's problems."
Divorce and separation Attorney | May 29
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Mr. Savage and I were opposing counsel on a nasty divorce case. He represented his client well, fairly, and zealously. I endorse this lawyer."
Litigation Attorney | May 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mike is a sharp guy and great advocate for his clients. I endorse this lawyer."
Lawsuits and disputes Attorney | May 27
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have consulted with Mike on a number of matters where his advise and counsel were right on point. Mike handles complex matters well and is focused on find the right solution."
Litigation Attorney | May 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer, fine litigator with integrity and experience."
Business Attorney | Apr 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"To watch Michael Savage in the courtroom is to have fun watching a pro at work. He's knowledgeable on the law, gracious to the Court, and firm with opposing counsel. I highly recommend Michael Savage!"
Business Attorney | Jan 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Michael is a gifted business attorney and well respected member of the legal community. I highly endorse him."
Unknown Attorney | Jul 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Michael is highly regarded and respected by his legal colleagues in the Dallas area. He is an extremely ethical, highly qualified and passionate legal advocate, unyielding in his determination to achieve the best results possible for his clients. I have known Michael for years and strongly endorse him, unconditionally."
View more endorsements
Dallas Divorce and separation Lawyer Michael Thomas Savage
Michael Thomas Savage
Divorce and separation Attorney
Dallas, TX
Licensed for 31 years