Skip to main content
Macy Michelle Jaggers

Macy Jaggers’s Answers

6,104 total


  • Which form must be submitted when applying for an expunction? Who should be included under the "agencies with records"?

    I cannot afford to pay an attorney to complete my expunction paperwork. So I am attempting to do it myself. Just want to make sure I am completing the paperwork correctly. I am trying to get a class c misdemeanor removed from my record.

    Macy’s Answer

    There is no form. You file a Petition. The agencies vary from case to case. As my colleagues have mentioned, you are wasting money doing this yourself. If you make an error, you will never be able to correct it.

    See question 
  • Which law in Texas allows a Judge to refuse an Interlock Removal Order for up to 1 year after probation ends?

    I have two DWIs which were served consecutively (both tried as a DWI 1). My probation has now ended and my PO is telling me that the judge is refusing to sign a removal order. That he has the right to keep it on as "cheap insurance" for up to one ...

    Macy’s Answer

    Section 49.09 of the Texas Penal Code. Dallas County Criminal Court Judges have recently started enforcing it, but it has been in place for years. Under the statute, this is not discretionary by the Judge. The statute requires that you maintain the device on every vehicle you operate for the 12 months following the discharge of your sentence. The only way a Judge would possibly consider removing it is if you signed an affidavit affirming that you will not operate a motor vehicle for the next 12 months and that you understand operating a motor vehicle in the next twelve months is a violation of law.

    See question 
  • Can I get larceny charge removed if it was false and I have witnesses to prove it

    I quit this restaraunt as a waitress because I was fed up with how illegal they were handling the business and my tip out. I calculated up of how much I honestly owed them and they falsely stated it was a 122.00 . I then called family and my partn...

    Macy’s Answer

    Here's a quick overview of the process. Now that you have been charged with a crime, you need to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent you. If you are indigent, you are entitled to a court-appointed attorney. Your attorney will review the State's evidence and will negotiate with the DA. The DA will make an offer, and that offer will likely be improved based on the evidence and your attorney's work. You absolutely have the right to reject all offers, plead not guilty, and demand a trial. Of course, trial comes with the risk of a conviction. Your attorney may be able to get you an offer that results in a dismissal based on certain conditions. You may choose to accept an offer like this over the risk of proceeding to trial. Your attorney will evaluate all of the evidence and make a recommendation to you, but ultimately this will be your decision to make.

    Most of us offer free consultations. Start calling around as soon as possible to interview potential attorneys. Best of luck!

    See question 
  • Can i get this sealed or file a writ of non-disclosure?

    How do i get a deferred adjudication off my record from 2001? This keeps showing up in background checks & i didn't even get convicted.

    Macy’s Answer

    Once you are arrested, you have a record forever unless you seal it or expunge it. You are probably eligible to seal your case from public view by filing a Petition for Non-Disclosure. You will need to talk to a local attorney in more detail to confirm your eligibility.

    See question 
  • When applying for a job, how should I answer the question "Have You Ever Been Convicted Of Violating Any Law?"

    I received five years deferred adjudication for my case (theft) but was released after having served two and a half years of my time, whereupon I was informed that my case was dismissed with No Finding Of Guilt. How should I answer questions that ...

    Macy’s Answer

    Since you have not been convicted, you should answer no. You should also look into sealing the case from public view five years from the date you were discharged from probation. After the case is sealed, you can also answer no when asked if you've ever been arrested.

    See question 
  • Are there any DWI cases that ever get non-disclosed or expunged?

    My wife got her first DWI charge with no criminal record the other day, no car wrecks involved. No breathalyzer test but I believe there was a warrant to give her a blood test without her consent. My question is if there are any type of "deferred...

    Macy’s Answer

    The law does not allow deferred probation on DWIs. They are all-or-nothing cases. You either end up with a conviction or an acquittal (unless your attorney finds a legal means to get the case dismissed). Dallas does sometimes reduce weak DWI cases to another offense that allows deferred probation.

    A case can only be expunged in limited circumstances, such as an outright dismissal or an acquittal at trial. Deferred on a lesser charge allows the record to be non-disclosed.

    See question 
  • I'm concerned on whether I can still get a job that I have previously applied for and be able to get my license in the mean time

    Hi my name is Kayla Langley I just received my first ever Dwi and am concerned with where to go from here.

    Macy’s Answer

    Whether or not you get the job is up to the employer. It may depend on whether or not they have already run your background check.

    I assume you are referring to your driver's license. If the police confiscated your license, you have 15 days from the date of arrest to request a hearing on your license suspension. Unfortunately, this makes hiring an attorney time sensitive. In the meantime, you can obtain a replacement license by taking your temporary permit to your local DPS. Your license status will remain valid until you lose the hearing (IF you lose the hearing). These hearings are an important, strategic first step in your DWI defense.

    You should start interviewing local, experienced DWI attorneys ASAP. This will help you learn about the process and what to expect. Fees and approaches will vary, so talk to a few different people. Most of us offer. free consultations. Just start calling around.

    See question 
  • Can I get this expunged?

    I was charged with a felony for marijuana possession in Texas for over 5 ounces under 50 lbs., 10 lbs. to be exact. I was put on a deferred adjudication, misdemeanor probation for 2 years and 80 hours of community service and a $2500 fine with the...

    Macy’s Answer

    You cannot expunge a case when you are placed on deferred. You should, however, be able to seal it from public view by filing a Petition for Non-Disclosure. You will need to hire an attorney to do this. The person who represented you originally would be a good place to start.

    See question 
  • What do I need to remove a dismissed charged. Why can people still see charge if it was dismissed

    I had a theft 50/500 that was dismissed from me doing 30 hours of community service In May 2015 I applied for some apartments in February 2016 in it showed up as not dismissed when I called the courts they say it is dismissed I'm applying for a jo...

    Macy’s Answer

    From the moment you are arrested or a case is filed against you, you have a record. That record is public. You always have a record of that case unless you have it expunged (if you are eligible). There is a two year waiting period (that essentially starts from the date of dismissal) before you are eligible for an expunction. However, if your case is in Dallas County and it was dismissed as the result of a Memo Agreement, the DA will often agree to an immediate expunction. Any local defense attorney should be able to handle this for you.

    See question