Skip to main content

Gene Tsukasa Sera

Criminal defense Attorney at McKinney, TX

4.8   49 reviews

About Gene

Learn Gene’s areas of practice.

Gene is an attorney from McKinney, Texas and has been a resident of Collin County since 1995. He graduated from UCLA and Texas Wesleyan School of Law in Fort Worth and began his legal career as a prosecutor for the Denton County District Attorney’s Office. Upon leaving the DA’s office, Gene became a sole practitioner in criminal defense serving both Collin and Denton Counties. During his thirteen years of practice, he has evaluated thousands of cases and has gained significant trial experience. 

 

Call Gene today if he can be of any assistance with your legal defense. His practice accepts all major credit cards.

Licensed for 24 years
State TX
Status Eligible to Practice in Texas
Acquired 1999
Updated 04/20/2023

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Gene

Similar lawyers nearby

Gene Tsukasa Sera
1413 Harroun
McKinney, TX, 75070

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
  49 customer reviews
Posted by Matt | February 24, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Attorney
Mr. Sera did an outstanding job in my case! I could not have asked for a better lawyer. He guided me every step of the way, answered every question that I had and picked the phone up to answer my calls no matter time of day! He clearly explained our plan of action and also detailed all of our options. He actually had my case completely dropped!!!!! I highly recommend his services!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 2, 2023
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Saved the day
Remembered Gene from prior representation for someone I know. I got pulled over and called him in a panic. He patiently & gracefully helped me speak to the police and helped me understand my rights & avoid arrest.
Posted by Olaniyi Olaleye | November 9, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Olaniyi
Gene, is a Top Notch Professional at Law! He will work you through every step in details. I confidently recommend anytime.
Posted by Eric | May 16, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Have FAITH in Gene Sera’s process
All I have to say is Mr. Sera really does know what he is doing. I’m happy with the outcome. At first, I’m not going to lie. I was beginning to think that he was going to be lenient with the prosecutor and my case. I was facing a DWI 2nd Felony. I assumed he was going to settle for this. But let me tell you. Gene will advise you to do what is best. Although, you may not think it’s working or makes sense but IT WILL. Just have faith in him as he has faith in you to complete the recommended advice. As long as you do as he recommends. You will find yourself on top. He got my DWI w/minor under 15 y/o Felony charge to basically a first offense DWI Misdemeanor B with 2-years probation. I was ashamed and embarrassed with what this charge made me look like as a single father with full custody of my kids. Now I am relieved that’s a MISDEMEANOR and not the weight of a becoming a felon! Trust Mr. Sera, have faith in his steps and just pray as that one small dip into faith can move mountains and in my case…. It did. Thank you, Gene Sera and everyone in the office for not judging me, their kindness, their communication and for keeping me calm and my anxiety down during the entire process.
Read less
Posted by Stephen | December 10, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Trust the process with Gene
I hired Gene late last year after an argument with my spouse ended ugly and I ended in jail. I thought my life was done. I found Gene here, gave him a call and he eased my mind, put things in perspective and drew up a game plan on how to tackle my case. One thing I learnt is to be patient and trust the process. With COVID-19 causing a back log of cases, it was nerve wrecking not knowing the status of my case but Gene reassured me and kept me focused on what I needed to do to handle the case. After a year both cases were dismissed! All thanks to the work and due diligence of Gene and his team. You're reading this because you are looking for a lawyer you can trust. Trust Gene to get it done! He is worth every dime!
Read less
Posted by Cristina | November 23, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Gene is the one to call!
I hired Gene in 2017, he continuously showed he cared about my case, his knowledge of the law, and took care of business! He got me early release this year and I couldn’t be more grateful.
Posted by anonymous | May 7, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Lawyer in Town
Gene helped me with a case 2 yrs ago and I needed a follow up yesterday with the courts, so I phoned his office and he handled this for me in less than 24hrs!! If you’re looking for great counsel, then call Gene!!
Posted by Scott | September 5, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
An unexpected hero
Gene was court appointed to me on a marijuana charge in which he was always there for me with answers to my questions and eventually got the charge dropped to a class c misdemeanor. Later I had another charge in which my attorney did not really seem to care at all. Gene answered my calls and gave me advice and support without me paying him anything. He absolutely made my mistakes in life manageable and gave me the comfort to do what I had to do to make my life better while he walked with me through it. I cannot say enough about the integrity of this man and the things he has done in my life.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 22, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
I highly recommend Gene Sera for Criminal Defense
I was arrested for domestic violence charges and Gene helped me get the bail on same day (Sunday). The strange thing about the arrest is that I called the cops to inform them about the domestic disturbance at my home. I was arrested wrongfully and Gene made sure to take care of the case. The case was never filed by DA's office though. Through out the process, Gene was very helpful and gave me the moral & legal support when needed. Gene is an exceptional lawyer who goes beyond the nor to help the client. I highly recommend Gene for his legal services.
Read less
Posted by Jennifer | June 26, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Gene was amazing!
We had a very unusual situation and Gene kept us constantly updated on that status. He was compassionate and understanding and walked us through the whole process. Thank you Gene!!!
Posted by Charles | June 24, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent
Mr. Sera exceeded my expectations for my case. He was communicative and prompt to reply to my questions. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience with an attorney during a difficult time. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him to anyone.
Posted by Cindy | June 19, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Delivered on his committments
We needed an attorney to address an issue my son was facing and we needed help quickly. Gene was available via phone after hours and told us exactly what to expect. He appeared with my son in court the next morning and delivered precisely what he told us he would. Highly recommend!
Posted by anonymous | June 7, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very professional and helpful lawyer
I hired Gene Sera back in 2013 for a class A misdemeanor case. Throughout the process he was very informative and worked hard to resolve my case. He was committed to seeing the very best outcome for my situation and did just that. He was able to bring my misdemeanor down to a class C. I’m very grateful for his patience and his hard work. I recommend to everyone.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 4, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Lawyer!!!
I hired Gene back in November of 2018 for a DWI case, and he was just amazing! He was very straight forward and helped me every step of the way. I had a class A misdemeanor of greater than .015, and he got it lowered to a class B. I never would’ve dreamt it possible without him as my defense team. Highly recommend, he texts/ calls back very fast and will meet almost any time to answer any questions you have about your case. He is very knowledgable and will help you get the best possible outcome. He rocks!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 17, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best/Professional Lawyer
I am glad to say that Mr. Sera has been hand in hand with my case and has put his full attention when it comes to getting myself the best results possible. I would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for someone to do there job right and care. He is straight up about everything and is on top of my case which I highly appreciate.
Read less
Posted by Abigail | February 1, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Lawyer!
Mr.Sera was great! I decided to contact Mr.Sera from reading a couple of reviews online. I had contacted previous lawyers but since we didn't have much time to resolve the case many lawyers told me an outcome that wasn't great and that that would be all they could do. However when I contacted Mr.Sera and explained the situation he was willing to help. He was always on our side he got back to us in time if I texted he would text right back or call within a few minutes. His office assistant was always helpful and sweet. Mr.Sera got us a better outcome than what we expected he is really a great, helpful lawyer and he has a great attitude! he is willing to work a payment plan!
Read less
Posted by Jessi | July 1, 2016
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
help him help you. hire him
Gene really, really helped me get through my situation. I believe we got the best outcome we could have for what I had against me. We dropped 4-5 probation to 2 years and dropped 5 cases down to 1. Even if we was busy in a court room and couldn't answer my calls he would send texts or call back as soon as possible. Always on time and always explained everything to me as many times as I needed. Really great lawyer. Also, he got my property back for me! :D
Read less
Posted by Jonathan | February 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer, i recommend him!
Gene is a great attorney. He was honest with me all the time and he was always reachable. i always knew what was going to happen. Thanks to his great efforts, I am able to live my life stress free because my case went great! (His pricing is also reasonable)
Posted by Tiare | April 24, 2015
Great Attorney
A couple of years ago I had a horrible experience and was arrested for theft in Denton County. I was fortunate to have met Mr. Sera who assisted me with my case. He demonstrated concern for my situation and addressed my fears and anxieties. He always kept me informed about what was happening and what I could expect. Gene regularly communicated with me and was always willing to talk and answer my questions. If he was busy, he would call me back. Thanks to his efforts my case was dismissed. I’ve been told that this is the best possible outcome on a criminal matter. I would highly recommend Mr. Sera for his services
Read less
Posted by Gary and Fay | April 7, 2015
VERY helpful and easy to get in touch with
Mr. Sera has been very helpful through the process of our grandsons DWI case. He has answered all of our calls at and questions at all hours. He has kept us informed throughout the entire process, from bail to where we are now. We highly recommend him and look forward to working with him through the rest of the process!
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.1 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Gene Sera Attorney at Law
  • 2001 - Present
  • Assistant District Attorney
  • Denton County District Attorney
  • 2000 - 2001

Education

  • Texas Wesleyan University
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1998
  • University of California - Los Angeles
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1990

Legal Cases

  • Denton Assault FV w prior Brooks Notice
  • Dismissed
  • Grapvine Assault
  • dismissed

Associations

  • Collin County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • State Bar of Texas
  • Member
  • 1999 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English

Attorney endorsements

Received (8)
Given (21)
Endorse Gene
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Gene and I came friends through mutual friends and church. He is a great father, husband, community leader, and all around person. I highly recommend anyone with criminal matters to contact Gene."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 06
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Gene is an excellent attorney. Very knowledgeable and thoroughly prepared. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Gene is a great Lawyer. He is very knowledgeable and informed."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Gene allowed me to sit with him during a case in Denton County. As he usually is, he was successful at protecting his client from what could have been a serious personal disaster. I support and endorse this lawyer- he would be my choice! Jac"
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I recently had an opportunity to observe Gene's advocacy skills. He is a very through and well prepared lawyer. Gene truly cares about his clients. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Gene. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Gene is very well-respected in our community and a great guy!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Estate planning
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense