which probably had no value and it was my first time will i be issued any jail time and what would my fine be?
I would not expect to see any jail time given the facts you have listed here. I would expect a fine of a few hundred dollars and in a worst case scenario maybe some community service. Good luck.See question
she dint press charges on me can she change her mind
No. Individuals don't press charges. The state of Arkansas presses charges. Typically, once the police are called it is out of the victim's hands to decide whether or not charges are filed. If the victim of a crime want's to stop the state from pursuing charges against someone he/she cares about he/she can let the prosecutor know that they do not want to cooperate with the prosecution, but ultimately it is the prosecutors decision whether or not to go forward. If you are the one charged with a crime you should let your lawyer know that you think the victim no longer wants you to be in trouble with the law. Be careful not to violate a no contact order by communicating with the victim yourself. Hope this helps. Good luck.See question
Between a 19 year old and a 15 year old. is guardians' consent required, etc.
The age of consent in Arkansas is 16 years old. There are exceptions for people in place of trust or authority over the child that can raise the age of consent, but generally speaking it is 16 years old.See question
The president has stated that she must grant her permission for me to record the meeting, while I believe all I need to do is inform her that I will be recording the meeting.
In Arkansas all that is required is for one party (namely you) to know that a conversation is being recorded. You are under no duty to inform her. Record away!See question
I want to find out the number of points for a person. His instant offense was Dec. 12, 2011 The person was sentenced to 3 years in XXXXXX Department of Corrections on May 12, 1999 for theft. He was paroled on Jan. 2, 2002, his parole expired...
Most likely he will receive 1 point for the 1 felony conviction. Consult the guidelines set out by the Arkansas Sentencing Commission if you are wanting to verify with 100% accuracy. Those guidelines are available online in PDF form. A Google search ought to get you where you need to be. Good Luck!See question
I have a friend who went to prison for probation revocation. He was sentenced 5 years. How much of this time will he have to serve? his te date is 9/13/2012 . Is there anyway to get him out sooner? He has previously served one year in prison...
It really depends on what crime he was originally charged with. The lowest level offenses in Arkansas have a 1/6 time parole eligibility. Many crimes are 1/4 time. Some are higher. His "TE" date will likely fall back as he "makes his class" in the ADC. Good luck.See question
I have two class D felonies for theft.
Probably yes. I'm assuming that you are being supervised under probation or parole. Just speak with your PO about it. It is routine to grant such passes. Good luck!See question
can an 18 yr old boy be charged with statutory rape for hving sex with a 15 yr old girl
Age of consent is 16 years old in Arkansas. Unless the defendant was in a position of trust or authority over the victim. I would not expect an 18 year old boy to be charged with SR in that scenario, but prosecutors have surprised me i the past. Good Luck!See question
the problem is i have nobody to drive me around and my work is too far away to walk and i always get picked on by cops because of the way my vehicle looks. its beat up and they always thinik i have drugs. i just got my 4th driving on suspended. iv...
The trouble is that in Arkansas a 4th DWI within a 5 year period is charged as a felony. A savvy lawyer can sometimes find a way to keep it in the district court and at a misdemeanor level, but that's rare. In fact we usually see jail time in 2nd and 3rd offenses. 1-2 days jail is not uncommon on even the 1st offense. Go see a good lawyer as soon as you can. the punishment range in a DWI 4 is 0-6 years in jail. Time in the RPF facility is a common outcome, which puts you away for 9-12 months. There are several possibilities on the outcome of your case your case. All depend on the facts. . . and your lawyer. Good luck!See question
The nolle prosequi was entered due said officer "Witness" failure to show up for trial in order to confront my accuser.
Yes. The state can "re-file" the charge within one year. A nol pros is not the same as a dismissal.See question