Skip to main content

Lance Owens

Family Attorney at Jonesboro, AR

5.0   120 reviews

also known as W. Lance Owens

  • State Years
    Missouri - MO 11 years
    Arkansas - AR 34 years
    Tennessee - TN 35 years
  • Licensed for 11 years
    State MO
    Acquired 2012
    Status
    Good Standing, Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 34 years
    State AR
    Acquired 1990
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 35 years
    State TN
    Acquired 1989
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Lance

Learn Lance’s areas of practice.

4
Practice areas
  1. Family
    40%
    Family law, divorce, custody, alimony, visitation, contempt guardianship.

    34 years

  2. Child custody
    20%

    34 years

  3. Divorce and separation
    20%

    34 years

  4. Personal injury
    20%
    Personal injury and medical malractice

    34 years

HELPING FAMILIES AND BUSINESSES FOR DECADES!

I am the managing partner of Owens Mixon Heller. P.A. and have been since January 1, 2014.  Prior to that, I was a partner with Marshall and Owens P.A. for over 21 years.  Although I spend a considerable amount of time representing banks and finance companies, I also actively practice family law and divorce, estates and elder law, and personal injury law.

 

Having adopted 4 kids, I have particular interest in helping people provide forever homes for children through adoption. In my time away from the office, I enjoy spending time with my family at the lake in Heber Springs. In addition to spending time on the lake in Heber,  I also enjoy trout fishing on the Little Red River. 

Awards

Notable Peer Review Rating
Client's Choice 2023,2022,2020,2019,2018,2017,2016,2015
Client's Choice
2023 2022 2020 + 5 ...

Location

Owens Mixon and Gramling

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  120 customer reviews
Client's Choice 2023
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Duronda | May 20, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Absolutely the best!
Lance helped so much with custody of our grandchildren! He went above and beyond by listening, explaining, preparing and supporting our daughter and us through the legal process. He truly cared what happened to the children and was so easy to talk to! Haley Smith was amazing as well. She knew precisely how to prepare our daughter and us for what court would be like. She was exact and precise and got everything we asked for. She did it all with kindness and precision.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 7, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
phenomenal
hands down best attorney around! Lance worked long and hard with me during my custody case. He is always very patient, kind and understanding. I highly recommend Lance if you are looking for a great attorney that will fight hard and treat you like family. I will forever be grateful for the work Lance has done for me.
Response from Lance Owens April 8, 2019
It was such a PLEASURE representing you. You are a GREAT parent and a GREAT person to boot! it was a pleasure getting to know you and your sweet family. Lance
Posted by Danielle | February 13, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Hire Lance Now
I found Lance through reviews online and decided to make a consultation. That one decision has been one of the most critical and best decisions of my life. I was facing an abusive, narcissistic, pathological lying ex with psychopathic tendencies. I had been living in fear, fear for my newborn, and fear of having joint custody. Lance was very upfront with me about what I was up against and the burden of proof that was necessary. He was also the first person that gave me advice that made sense. I decided to hire him. Lance and his team worked tirelessly for two years, through four different hearings, with the last one lasting four days. They spent countless hours digging through evidence, reading through thousands of documents, making imperative decisions, and building a case for my little girl. Not only did they work endlessly and relentlessly, but they also became family to me and my family. They supported me through the entire grueling process that seemed to never end. They stayed with me through all the ups, downs, and crazy twists and turns. They calmed my nerves, guided me, and helped build me up again. They spent days prepping me for court, practicing with me and other witnesses, gathering exhibits together, focusing on what made the case and weeding out what wasn’t necessary. I truly cannot tell you enough about all the work they put into my case or how hard they fought for my daughter. After two years of long, never ceasing work and four very long days of final hearings, the fight was finally over. The judge ruled that I had full custody of my daughter. My ex only received scheduled supervised visitations by a paid deputy. He was ordered to pay my legal fees, return my belongings, and was sentenced to 30 days in jail if all orders were not completed. He did not receive any of my retirement, house, car, nothing financially. In other words, we received everything we had asked for and more. I know this would not have happened without Lance and his team. My daughter and I would be in a very different terrifying situation, but because of Lance and all his hard work, I can finally rest and know my daughter is safe. There is no price tag on that. No one wants to go through a divorce, especially not one where you are desperately trying to protect your child, however, if you do find yourself in this situation, I cannot express enough that you need to hire Lance. It is the best thing you can do for the biggest fight of your life. Court is hard, divorce is hard, battling for your children is hard, but Lance makes it bearable and will fight for your children as if they are his own. He and his team have forever changed our lives. They have given us a promising future and peace that seemed to never come. I will not ever be able to thank them enough, there are not words. All of that to say, hire Lance. You will not regret it.
Read less
Posted by Heather | November 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
I trust him with the most important thing in my life- my CHILD.
I have known Lance nearly 20 years in a personal capacity, but our paths never crossed professionally until recently. When I found myself in a situation that seemed impossible (custody case), I knew exactly who to call- Lance Owens. I knew he was a man of great integrity and I was confident he would listen with intent and deliver on his word. Until hiring Lance, I’d never seen him in his professional element; he is incredible. Flawless in delivery, overly prepared, maticulous with details, and fully invested in your case. I trust him with the most valuable, important part of my life- my child. 12/10 recommend Lance and his team. I am so grateful they are in my corner.
Read less
Posted by Jason | November 13, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Absolutely the best law firm
Faced with a divorce I didn't want but no choice in the matter I had to find a lawyer to represent me. This being totally new territory for me I was at a complete loss and with the help of a friend just looked at reviews and prayed... A lot. OMG had the best reviews and after being a client of theirs for almost 3 years they deserve every 5 star review they have. Needless to say the divorce was drawn out but to absolutely no fault of Lance Owens or his team. Lance, Stephanie, and MaKenna were prepared for everything and made sure I was prepared for everything before any deadline, I had absolutely no surprises throughout the entire process except the surprise of how great they were. I was nervous going into a couple of meetings but always left feeling better than when I walked into their office. I know Lance, Stephanie and MaKenna put in a ton of hours prepping for court and the final ruling outcome was as good as I could have hoped for. Everything about OMG is top notch, everyone I met was absolutely great to work with. To top it off I suffered a great personal loss during the divorce and the personal calls and more that they did went far above and beyond the lawyer/client relationship. To me that meant so much. I knew I wasn't a number, a job or a check. The care show was amazing. If I ever have any legal needs I will definitely call OMG first.
Read less
Posted by Jill | October 19, 2023
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Mr. Owens is wonderful!
I had inquired about an insurance problem and he helped me tremendously, was very prompt in answering questions and easy to work with. Highly recommend
Posted by Jordan | April 25, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great firm!
Lance and Stephani came highly recommended from friends that had benefitted from their expertise in the past. Their team completed my divorce case flawlessly and I am grateful for the kind and understanding nature I was shown from everyone in this office. Great work and thank you!
Posted by Jenea | March 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Divorce and Custody Lawyer
I had the pleasure of working with Lance Owens twice now as my Divorce and Custody attorney. He recently represented my little family in court exceptionally well in a very high stakes custody battle. Thanks to his expert legal knowledge and commitment to my case, we had a great outcome and were victorious! Most importantly he showed such care and compassion while representing my family. Because of Lance Owens, my children are still with me. I cannot recommend him highly enough to anyone dealing with a high stakes custody case or divorce. You can rest assured you have made the right choice to represent you in court.
Read less
Posted by James | February 13, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce Attorney
I had no idea on what to do in my time of need. But, I knew i needed a divorce. And calling OMG was my best decision. Lance, Makenna, and Stephanie was awesome to work with. They made a very complicated time in my life easy. They were very informative and kept me up to speed on the why's. I cant being to explain how much i appreciate them for all they did. I highly recommend
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 26, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent
OMG Law Firm(Lance Owens) did a fantastic job with my divorce case. He listened and did his best to put what I felt necessary in my divorce papers. His staff did a phenomenal job at answering any questions that I had and always got back with me in exceptional time.
Posted by anonymous | January 18, 2023
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
All Around Great Team
I chose OMG Law Firm for my divorce which did involve children. I had a few friends & co-workers who recommended Lance & his team. I was very happy with how my consult went & chose them to represent me. Lance Owens & his team was very helpful when I didn’t understand things, communicated well, & was always polite. With using them, I went through a single parent adoption (ex-husband signed over all rights) & shortly was divorced afterwards. The outcome was definitely not what I intended it to be when the process started, but it’s much better this way for my children & myself. The end results are I now longer have to worry at all about my ex-husband being around & that alone makes life easier for everyone.
Read less
Posted by Ezekiel Sanders | January 5, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
OMG IS THE BEST
The team at OMG are great .Working with them was easy. They are fast to answer any questions I had . Lance was able to get me more than i thought was possible . He made another big name lawyer look like a little guy in my case .
Posted by Morgan | January 3, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Adoption Case- Exceptional
We came to OMG law firm for our adoption case because we had been recommended Lance Owens (attorney) by many people. He has a lot of experience with adoption and child custody cases among many others. Lance and his staff were very hands on, efficient, and informative throughout the adoption. We got the outcome we had hoped for in a timely manner and are so grateful for OMG Law Firm.
Read less
Posted by Taylor | October 18, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best lawyer South of the Mason Dixon
OMG Law Firm has done an outstanding job in both my divorce and single parent adoption cases. They made the process of each so easy as they guided and comforted me throughout The process of each case. I chose OMG law firm first for my divorce because of the reviews and the research I had done to find the perfect law firm for my case. Of course, after all of the success of my divorce case I trusted them 110% to be successful in my adoption case as well. In both cases I received exactly what I wanted with no issue whatsoever. In both cases my life has forever changed for the best interest of my son Anna my son will now always be safe, know he is loved and Will never know the pain and hurt of things being more important than he is. OMG law firm gave me the most amazing gift I have ever received. Lance Owens/OMG law firm will be the only law firm and lawyer we ever use. I will forever be in their dept. Thank you OMG and Lance Owens for giving my son and I the comfort and security we deserve. I am eternally grateful!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 17, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lance Owens
It is usually never a good time to have to need a lawyer. especially a divorce, but Lance and his staff worked with me through the whole process. Stephanie and all his staff showed nothing but respect when I would talk with them by phone or email. There were times when I did not understand the whole process and we may not have agreed on something but they still listened and did their best to rectify the concern. If I had it to do again I would be more attentive to how it all works with getting the end result. Thank you Lance, Aaron and ladies!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 8, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
Thank goodness I have a law firm I can trust. They where highly recommended to me by another attorney, and I am glad I took his advise. I have used the firm twice, and it is comforting to know I have them on my side.
Posted by Katie | October 6, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
OMG Law Firm
Lance and his team were recommended through a friend of mine. They represented me on two different occasions; a divorce and contempt of court case. They were very professional and quick to reply to any questions. Their representation made life easier and made things go smoother. I am very happy with the timeliness and the outcome of both cases. I would highly recommend using Lance and his team for representation. You will not be disappointed!
Read less
Posted by Andie | August 1, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Personable and Motivating
My experience with Lance was far better than I could have ever asked for. He was very personable and went above and beyond what I expected to help with my divorce. Both himself and his staff were always quick to respond and answer any questions I had during the process. I highly recommend his services.
Posted by Abbie | July 5, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent!!
Lance is hands down the best attorney around. He goes above and beyond when it comes to his clients. Lance has even taken the time out of his day(s) and has spoken to me and answered my questions several times, after hours. He and the staff at OMG are very helpful, responsive, genuine, and overall extremely passionate about what they do. I would recommend Lance and his law firm over anywhere else, and I will continue to use them any time I need legal help/advice.
Read less
Posted by Erica | June 10, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Lawyer
I would recommend hiring Lance Owens to anyone who needs a lawyer. He takes the time to listen. But the main thing is that he actually cares. He's there whenever you need him day or night. He's professional and Honest. I couldn't have gotten anyone better he's worth every penny and more. I'm very satisfied and will be using him for any future needs. The whole law firm receives a 5 star rating in my eyes!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Owens Mixon and Gramling
  • 2014 - Present
  • Partner
  • Marshall and Owens P.A.
  • 2002 - 2013
  • Associate Attorney
  • Less and Scroggs
  • 1989 - 1991

Education

  • University of Arkansas at Little Rock, William H. Bowen School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1989
  • Harding University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1986

Sample of Legal Cases

  • In Re Rodney Washington
  • I successfully argued credit card debt was cross-collateralized with vehicle debt

Associations

  • Valley view basketball boosters
  • Board Member
  • 2015 - Present
  • Arkansas Bar Association
  • Chairman of Financial Institutions Section
  • 2013 - Present
  • Arkansas Bar Association, Debtor-Creditor Committee
  • Secretary
  • N/A
  • Arkansas Bar Association, Debtor-Creditor Committee
  • Vice Chair
  • N/A
  • Arkansas Bar Association, Debtor-Creditor Committee
  • Chair
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • Volunteer of year
  • Arkansas volunteer lawyers
  • 2006

Speaking Engagements

  • 2005 Bankruptcy Reform
  • Reaffirmations
  • 2004

Attorney endorsements

Received (9)
Given (3)
Endorse Lance
Family Attorney | Apr 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Lance Owens aggressively pursues every angle of a case on behalf of his clients. He is thorough, detail-orientated, and works tirelessly to protect his clients rights. I highly recommend him."
Family Attorney | Apr 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Lance Owens is highly skilled in family law. If there was a case that I needed to refer out, I would refer it to him. He cares for the law and for his clients."
Banking Attorney | Nov 10
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Lance is a consummate professional who exemplifies the standards of professionalism to which we all strive. I endorse him unreservedly for banking, debtor/creditor, family law, and general business matters."
Unknown Attorney | Jun 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Family Attorney | Mar 11
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Owens is a fine man and a truly accomplished lawyer. His character is without blemish and he is very well-respected by his colleagues and all who know him. I endorse this lawyer without any hesitation whatsoever."
Unknown Attorney | Sep 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I am happy endorse Lance. I have known him since I moved to Jonesboro back in 2004. He is a hard working and dedicated attorney who represents his clients with integrity. In fact, in cases that do not fit my area of practice, such as most creditor work, I very often refer these potential clients to Lance."
Personal injury Attorney | Aug 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. He is a very good lawyer and you will be well pleased if he represents you."
Commercial real estate Attorney | Aug 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I can recommend this attorney as being experienced, ethical and professional. Lance is well respected in the legal community and known for his strong trial experience."
Debt collection Attorney | Aug 03
Relationship: Co-worker
"Lance has over 20 years representing creditors in complex debtor-creditor relations cases and has served on the Creditors Panel for the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas. Lance is widely recognized in the area as an effective advocate for creditors in civil and bankruptcy court."
View more endorsements
Bankruptcy and debt
Consumer protection