I rented space for the past 2 years. First year we had a lease, then month to month because they were trying to sell the building. The building recently sold and the new owner gave us 2 months to leave. When we moved in 2 years ago we brought i...
Unless you have an agreement to the contrary, once they're installed they become part of the building and property of the landlord. Check your original lease though, many leases renew under the same terms just on a month to month basis, if that's the case and that lease stated that the tenant could remove and keep fixtures and equipment the tenant installed then you may be able to keep it.See question
The squatters claimed residency and showed me mail over 30 days old stating that I had to go through a court eviction process.
If the police are unwilling to remove them from the residence then go through the formal eviction process which would be to serve them with a 5 day notice to vacate. If they're still there after 5 business days then you can file for eviction in either city court or justice of the peace court depending on where the property is located.See question
I hace paid the rent until march of 2015, i have young children and am concerned for their health. There are droppings in bedrooms and have seen several mice. Can you help?
The landlord is responsible for keeping the place livable, i.e. rodent free. Give the landlord formal notice (certified letter, return receipt requested) of the problem, if he doesn't fix the problem within a reasonable amount of time (usually 1 month) then you can have the problem fixed yourself and deduct that cost from your rental payments. Keep proper documentation of everything though.See question
I was told I have to pay a $250 penalty fee and find someone to fill my spot. Do I need to fill a spot for the 4 bedroom unit only that is on the contract?
That would have to be a specific provision of the lease so read the lease to see if those provisions are actually in there.See question
we pruchased the property together in 1986 and lived in it together until his death
If there isn't a Will that leaves you his half of the property then his half of the property would belong to his heirs.See question
If my husband becomes incarcerated or dies can my 11 year old step daughter stay with me.. He has Full custody of her and the mother has not been in her life for over 6 years. She was granted supervised visitations at my husbands discretion, but s...
The biological mother could petition the court for custody, it's unlikely she will do that since she hasn't been around in six years but she could. I agree you should petition for an inter family adoption ASAPSee question
My daughter is 10 and my x husband and i went to court for child support when she was 3. Court order is for him to pay me $565 a month and half of babysitter, extracurricular activities, bc I was working at the time and he was only making $12 hr. ...
Yes, only the court can modify a court order. However after the motion is filed you can mediate a stipulated judgment and just have the judge sign off on it.See question
no paternity test done but mother wants back child support now after 19 yrs. child born in Louisiana but resides in Texas. father lives in Louisiana - mother in Texas
The statute of limitation for pursuing child support owed is 10 years. However if there was never a court order, either ordered by a judge or agreed to by the parties and signed by a judge, then there is no child support owed.See question
My friend fled texas 4 weeks ago for evading arrest on foot and came to louisiana. Police picked him up at a friends house in louisiana in regards to the warrant in texasand decided to search the home without a search warrant. The police found a g...
If he posts bail he'll be given a court date for arraignment on the charges, i.e. say guilty or not guilty. Then other court dates will be set. If he misses a court date the bail will be revoked and a warrant will be issues for his arrest and any bail bond money will be forfeited.See question
Father lives in Louisiana (where child was conceived)father knew of a child but never allowed to see child nor was paternity or child support ever established or ordered. evidently at age 8 mother and child moved to Texas. now mother wants to sue ...
1. Paternity would have to be established. 2. Child support is only retroactive to the date of judicial demand, i.e. the date she filed for a petition or motion for child support. 3. Child support end at age 18 or age 19 if the child is still in high school. 4. Parents are not obligated to pay child for any child related expenses once the child turns 18 unless the parent agrees to pay or is order by a court to pay.See question