I am wondering what "plea" means on a court docket.
Generally it means that the court at least thinks the defendant will be pleading guilty to something at that hearing. Whether that happens or not one can not say until the hearing.See question
I'm 17 applying For my 3rd job, and I just got arrested for my first time a couple weeks ago for shoplifting. In the job application it asks if they can do a background check on me. If I let the employer do a background check on me would they be a...
If you were charged in juvenile court it will be considered public record. Whether a background check will find it or not, I can't say. The court record will not include the specifics of what happened, only the charge and what happens in court. It is up to the employer whether they will hire you or not.See question
Under Kansas statute is restrain order and protection order are the same thing or are they different?
You will find "protection " orders being issued from civil protection from abuse cases, protection from stalking cases. Criminal bonds also often have a "protection" order as one of the conditions.See question
My girlfriend recently threatened a girl on facebook and is now being threatened with a felony. The woman became aggressive towards her friend and made fun of her appearance (specifically dreads) and was being called a b****. Out of anger my girlf...
In Kansas that could easily be charged as a criminal threat. Criminal threat is a felony. The possible sentence would depend on the actual crime of conviction ( sometimes that is different from the crime charged ) and the defendant's criminal history at the time of sentencing. If could be presumptive probation, presumptive prison, or without a presumption depending on the defendant's situation.
The fact that she is 17 means that she would at least be charged as a juvenile. If the case proceeded in juvenile court and she is found to have done a criminal threat the judge has huge discretion about sentencing and probation options. If she is waived to adult court she would be looking at a sentence from the sentencing grid. No, I do not see it likely that being made fun of and called names is a defense for a threat to commit a violent crime.
She should not discuss the matter with anyone but her attorney. Anything she says to anyone else could be used as evidence against her.See question
I was in a motorcycle accident on August 2015. My wife & I immediately contacted a lawyer in Hutchinson, Kansas (where the event occurred), and we haven't been too pleased with their lack of communication about keeping us updated. I know these thi...
Kansas Supreme Court Rule 226, Professional Conduct, Rule 1.4 governs communication with clients. The lawyer has an ethical duty to keep in reasonable communication with the client and to respond to requests for information. Give the lawyer a call and ask the status of the situation.See question
I get charge with identity theft in 2012 and get probation for 1 1/2 year I finish it in 2013 aug, I have a level 7 non D, I want to know what can be the $ to do the filling and help with this? Im in olathe kansas johnson county thank you everyone
The filing fee is $195.00. Johnson County does not exactly follow the procedure laid out in statute. You must file, serve and then negotiate with the prosecutor's office. If you cannot get agreement then you must get a hearing date set before the judge. Different attorneys will charge differently for handling a diversion for you.See question
Lied about a friend's name to a police officer. Come to find out my friend had a warrant. I was written a ticket to make a court appearance for obstructing a police officer.
As the first attorney said, this is punishable by up to a year in county. You need to have an experienced criminal defense lawyer assisting you as soon as possible.See question
I have a new felony drug charge. Attempt possession of method.
You are absolutely looking a motion to violate your release. You must talk with an attorney immediately about the new charge and your supervised release.See question
Need to rent but was arrested two days ago. Will background check pick up the arrest . Initial court date in two days. How do I proceed? Never bet. In trouble before and this a misdeamner
It really is not possible to know what a back ground check will show until it is run. It depends on who does the check and how well they do it. It is entirely possible that it will show up but is not certain.
The most important thing is to know when and where you are supposed to be in court. Do not miss court. Do not be late. Do not talk about the facts of the incident with anyone other than your attorney. First time misdemeanor domestic batter is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in the county jail. Additionally it can have serious collateral consequences. Make sure you get the legal assistance you need.See question
Last night, husband was pulled over for a traffic stop and was arrested. One of the things he was charged with was, Transporting An Open Container. It was an empty flask that I got for him for Christmas and it was in his coat pocket. He is current...
Without reading his specific diversion contract I could not say for certain. Nevertheless it is highly likely that a violation of the law anywhere while he is no diversion is a violation of that diversion contract. The fact that it is in a different county does not mean it is not a violation of the law. He should contact his attorney from the diversion case immediately.See question