Skip to main content

Kelli Nicole Cooper

Divorce and separation Attorney at Olathe, KS

4.9   63 reviews

also known as Kelli Cooper, Attorney at Law - Johnson County Divorce Lawyer

  • State Years
    Missouri - MO 13 years
    Kansas - KS 13 years
  • Licensed for 13 years
    State MO
    Acquired 2011
    Status
    Good Standing, Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 13 years
    State KS
    Acquired 2010
    Status
    Active No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Kelli

Learn Kelli’s areas of practice.

Every client is unique, as are your legal concerns, so I place great emphasis in my practice on tailoring my legal services to meet each client’s individual needs. My goal is to provide each of my clients with attentive, skillful and efficient representation. I understand the difficult issues clients face as they go through a divorce, or struggle with child custody or support issues.

Location

Kelli Cooper, Attorney at Law
142 N. Cherry St.
Olathe, KS, 66061-3459

Divorce lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  63 customer reviews
5 Star
 
97%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
3%
Posted by Andrew | May 22, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Divorce Lawyer
After several calls to many divorce attorneys, I came across Kelli Cooper Attorney at Law. The difference between the other lawyers and Kelli was the first phone consultation to discuss my need for a lawyer. I was clueless on many points. However, Kelli, unlike the others, took the time to explain the process without me having to ask about it. She discussed items that I wouldn't have thought to ask because I didn't know what I didn't know. Kelli continued to explain the processes throughout our meetings, helping me understand what was going on and what were the next steps. Kelli was great with following-up with me and kept me continuously updated on what was going on with either the court or with my ex-wife's lawyer. Kelli took action right away on getting the initial paperwork done within a couple of weeks and continued to stay on top of tackling all the necessary deliverables for the court. Kelli provided great advice, really let me know when I was thinking about a decision that would not benefit me. I cannot say enough about how easy the experience was working with Kelli and her Paralegal, Heather. I'm truly grateful I came across Kelli Cooper online and gave her a call.
Read less
Posted by Ryan | May 16, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce
Kelli was hands down the best attorney I’ve ever hired. When sitting down and filing the divorce paperwork she brought up information in my favor that potentially saved me thousands of dollars later down the road. I never felt rushed anytime and her assistant Rebecca I believe her name was extremely fast on getting back with me on any questions I had.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 23, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great experience
I hired Kelli to end a marriage in which both parties had not lived together in over a decade. She was able to keep me patient through the process and not pay money to ex just to end case. Ended up paying very little as Kelli predicted.
Posted by anonymous | February 19, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Office manager
She was kind and efficient. She had great advice and was always there for questions. Her admin was quick with getting documents to and from me. Kelli represented me and had my best interests in mind when going through such a hard decision. I would recommend her if you need representation for you separation or divorce. Her QADRO was more expensive then she told me so she might want to keep up on what others are charging when sharing coworkers.
Read less
Posted by Jennifer | December 6, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend - thanks!
Great communication. Took time to answer all of my questions and her office answered all emails quickly.
Posted by Rebekah | October 24, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Limited Scope Divorce
Kelli and her Paralegal Heather were incredibly helpful and made the whole process as smooth as it could be. I needed help navigating my divorce and all of the paperwork that was required. Everything was thorough and very organized which I greatly appreciated. I definitely recommend Kelli’s services.
Posted by Megan | February 17, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Strongly Recommend!
Kelli was extremely helpful in explaining the different variables that were part of my divorce. She was willing to meet as often as necessary and assist with revisions even in her limited scope representation. She took the time to answer my questions and help me weigh the various options. Her assistant, Heather, was very responsive and a tremendous help as well! Thanks Kelli and Heather for making what is a difficult process as painless as possible. Much appreciated!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 30, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Light at the End of the Tunnel
When I first thought I might need to make a change to improve my life, I found Kelli Cooper highly rated in a Google search for lawyers in the area. I reached out to Kelli to learn more about what I could expect in the divorce process. In our initial consultation, Kelli gave me a good overview of the details like spousal support, property division, and custody. Several months later, I made the decision to move forward and hire Kelli to help me file for divorce. The divorce was extremely contentious throughout and dragged on for a year and a half due to things beyond our control, but Kelli worked hard to protect me and my interests throughout the entire process by working with opposing counsel, my son’s guardian ad litem, and filing motions with the court to try to move things forward. I’m sure that you don’t always get what you want in a divorce settlement, but Kelli helped put the financial and parenting plan decisions I had to make into perspective to help me make the best decisions and compromises for myself and my son. I’m so pleased with what we were able to accomplish through the process, and I can honestly say that my quality of life and my son’s quality of life have improved dramatically since finalizing the divorce. I honestly can’t thank Kelli enough for helping me through this process. I would recommend Kelli Cooper to anyone else looking for a great divorce lawyer.
Read less
Posted by Charles | November 14, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Common law divorce
I scheduled a consultation with Kelli Cooper to discuss a common law divorce. I experienced Ms. Cooper to be very prompt, professional, considerate, and very knowledgeable about family law, including the statutes of common law in Kansas. I would highly recommend Ms Cooper as a family law attorney. I have her listed first to contact in the future to represent me for any family law issues.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 4, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
Hired to prepare paperwork in pro se case. She was very attentive to my needs/wishes and was very professional and thorough. She and her team helped navigate me through the process.
Posted by james | May 27, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Painless
Great communication! Always took my calls and answered all the questions that I had. No hidden fees.
Posted by Daniel | March 17, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank you Kelli Cooper!
Kelli Cooper was recommended by my marriage counseling who only heard positive praise via client feedback not unlike what I will say after retaining Kelli as my attorney while going through an ugly and highly contested divorce process with my ex who herself is an attorney. Kelli provided a steady voice of reason and quality counsel at a time when my emotions were all over the place. Her expertise was evident during the court proceedings tactfully tackling fraudulent allegations and thoughtfully providing cross examination of testimony. More impressive were her skills during equalization in order to propose a fair settlement. She more than once had to walk the Judge and opposing counsel through the numbers, pointing out the opposition's failed attempts at "double dipping". Kelli's expertise is invaluable to have during this kind of divorce as we obtained a very favorable judgment (I believe things could have gone much differently without Kelli). I was also pleasantly surprised by the cost of her service - it was evident she could have charged more. I recommend if you need a very good divorce attorney to call Kelli first!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 13, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend
Kelli was thorough and prompt in dealing with my divorce. From consultation through decree, I was updated regularly and my questions were answered clearly. Her office made a tough decision a lot less difficult.
Posted by Jeff | November 5, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce Proceedings
Kelly was recommended to me by a friend when I was needing representation for my divorce. Through the whole process, Kelly kept me informed of what was going on and my options along the way. The divorce process is not easy, but Kelly definitely made it easier. I would highly recommend Kelly if you need an attorney.
Posted by Lauren | August 4, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent!
Kelli was very helpful from day 1! I was stressed out trying to figure out the whole process of custody and so thankful I found and used her as my attorney! She went over everything and made me feel at ease right away from her explanation of what steps we were going to take to putting it all into motion. She kept me level headed with expectations but also pushed for what was best for the situation. She was very patient and talked through everything step by step. She showed up on time and prepared to each meeting and to court as well as prepping me so I was prepared for each situation that could occur. Her paralegal Heather was excellent as well! She responded to my emails or calls in a timely manner and relayed any extra information that I needed to Kelli. I highly recommend Kelli to anyone! Thank you for making such a stressful time in my life go smoother than I ever expected and handling everything flawlessly!
Read less
Posted by Daniel | July 29, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional and Has Your Best Interests In Mind - Thankful
Going through a divorce was very emotional and I was not always thinking rationally. Kelli knew this and looked out for my best interests. She is a professional, extemely intelligent, and a straight talker. Listen to her and she'll take care of you! You won't regret hiring Kelli! Thank you Kelli and Heather!
Posted by JoLeesa | July 28, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Listens to her clients
I really appreciated the way Kelli listened to what I wanted. She also gave me perspective and helped me stay on target without overriding what I wanted.
Posted by anonymous | May 24, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Extremely Satisfied
I hired Mrs. Cooper to handle my divorce case. She and her staff (heather) were very knowledgeable, precise, and helpful throughout the case. Communication was very good and timely. I feel her value exceeds her "price" and would highly recommend her and her staff. Thank you.
Posted by Kevin | May 20, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Good
Did what she said she would and answered the question I had got what I needed to get
Posted by Samanthah | May 19, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great addition to any case
Kelli was a great addition to my case. I would have been lost without her. She was kind and straight forward.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney at Law (Divorce)
  • Kelli Cooper
  • 2010 - Present
  • Legal Intern
  • Criminal Defense Attorney
  • 2009 - 2010
  • Legal Intern
  • General Electric Co.
  • 2008 - 2008

Education

  • University of Kansas, School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2010
  • Kansas State University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2006

Associations

  • Pets for Life
  • Board of Directors (Legal)
  • 2014 - Present
  • Kansas Women's Attorneys Assosciation
  • Member
  • 2011 - Present
  • Johnson County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2011 - Present
  • Kansas Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2010 - Present
  • HBMDC
  • President
  • 2008 - Present
  • KU SALDF
  • Vice President
  • 2008 - 2009
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers (https://profiles.superlawyers.com/kansas/olathe/lawyer/kelli-cooper/289ddc1b-c072-4ee5-99c1-0b29f96e4589.html)
  • 2023
  • Best Family Law Attorney - Best of KC 2023
  • Kansas City Magazine (https://kansascitymag.com/best-of-kc/best-of-kc-2023/)
  • 2023
  • Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2022
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2020
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2019
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2018
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Rising Star
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Best of the Bar (Family Law)
  • The Kansas City Business Journal (https://www.bizjournals.com/kansascity/news/2016/10/14/best-of-the-bar-kelli-cooper.html)
  • 2016
View all awards

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • GSDKC Meeting
  • When the Dog Bites
  • 2014
  • HEART Meeting
  • When the Dog Bites
  • 2013

Attorney endorsements

Received (9)
Given (9)
Endorse Kelli
Family Attorney | Jul 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"In my practice, often there is some overlap between divorce and tax and probate issues. In this regard, I have worked with Kelli in assisting her family law clients with the tax ramifications of property settlement agreements. I trust Kelli and respect her legal acumen and do not hesitate to provide her name to people seeking family law counsel."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jul 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kelli is a fighter who is dedicated to doing all that she can for her clients. I have had the opportunity to refer multiple clients her way. Each client has come away impressed by her ability to protect their interests through a divorce proceeding. Don't let Kelli's courteous bed-side manner fool you...she's a fighter and will do so if/when the situation calls for it. Simply put, I can't recommend Kelli any more highly."
Child custody Attorney | Oct 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Kelli and I have worked together on several matters and I have always found her to be very professional to work with. I look forward to working with her in the future."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Sep 26
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have worked with Kelli before on cases. She has taken the family law aspect of the case, and I have taken the criminal law portion. She's fantastic to work with. She fights vigorously, is very knowledgeable, is respected by opposing counsel, and respected by the judges. She also is the best attorney around for animal law. I don't know of any other attorney who specializes in that very nuanced and specific area of the law. I endorse this attorney."
Family Attorney | Jul 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Mar 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kelli is a fantastic attorney and has great experience with family law matters. We have referred her several clients and have heard nothing but good things on how she's handled their cases."
Unknown Attorney | Aug 01
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have worked with Kelli on several cases and know her to be an experienced, dedicated, and successful family attorney."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jul 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Kelli is an excellent attorney. Not only is she knowledgeable in the law, but she provides wise counsel to those who are dealing with very difficult situations."
Divorce and separation Attorney | Jun 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have complete confidence in Kelli Cooper, and I refer clients to Kelli for their family law needs."
View more endorsements
Divorce and separation
Criminal defense
Estate planning
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Chapter 13 bankruptcy
Olathe Divorce and separation Lawyer Kelli Nicole Cooper
Kelli Nicole Cooper
Divorce and separation Attorney
Olathe, KS
Licensed for 13 years
Free Consultation