Skip to main content

Anne Virginia Kiske

Family Attorney at Kansas City, MO

4.6   56 reviews
  • State Years
    Kansas - KS 10 years
    Missouri - MO 29 years
    Illinois - IL 29 years
  • Licensed for 10 years
    State KS
    Acquired 2013
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 29 years
    State MO
    Acquired 1994
    Status
    Good Standing, Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 29 years
    State IL
    Acquired 1995
    Status
    Voluntarily Inactive No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Anne

Learn Anne’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Family
    30%
    Family law is the practice of law in the areas of dissolution of marriage, legal separation, paternity, child custody, child support, guardianship, name change, and can include DFS/CD and juvenile court cases.

  2. Child custody
    20%
    Child custody is the legal term that helps us understand when a child is going to be where and who is going to make what decisions for the child. The court will enter an order for child custody in both dissolution of marriage actions and paternity actions. Child custody has two sub-parts – physical custody and legal custody.

  3. Divorce and separation
    20%
    The legal term in Missouri for divorce is “dissolution of marriage.” Please visit my website for a thorough discussion. www.kiskelawoffice.com

  4. DUI and DWI
    10%

  5. Speeding and traffic ticket
    10%

  6. Wills and living wills
    10%
    A will is a legal document that tells the court how you want your property distributed among your children, your family or others. It also directs the court as to your preference for guardians for any minor children you may leave behind. There are certain legally required features a document must have to be considered a valid and legal will.

 I am passionate about helping you through all of your life transitions – from cradle to grave. I’ve been an attorney since 1994, when I was graduated from Washington University School of Law in St. Louis, Missouri. I first began the practice of law in Scott County, Missouri as the only public defender assigned to the entire county.  After two years in the rural area, my family and I moved to the Kansas City metro area where I joined the Department of Social Services representing the Children’s Division in child abuse and neglect cases.  After 8 years with the Department of Social Services, I joined the Earnshaw Hobbs Law Firm PC to continuing and broaden my advocacy skills on behalf of families and children. After almost 6 years with Earnshaw Hobbs, I opened my own firm, Kiske Law Office, LLC, in Zona Rosa.  I am licensed in both Missouri and Kansas (and hold an inactive license in Illinois). Because I also like to challenge myself, I am usually engaged in one or two large “extra-curricular” activities. Currently, I am privileged to serve on the Board of Directors for MARCH mediation. I am also a member of the Association of Family and Conciliatory Courts, and I have received the AVVO client’s choice award for Family Law in 2014. In my “free time” I volunteer for a hospice organization where I play flute duets for patients in hospice.

I am also grateful for my personal life experiences that have enabled me to be empathetic with my clients. I have personally been through a divorce with children, experienced the death of a parent, and many of the life transitions that we all experience.

At the Kiske Law Office, LLC, I am responsible for child custody cases, child abuse cases, divorces, paternities, guardianships, and traffic matters, and simple estate planning. I developed the Mobile Lawyer Services to more effectively meet the needs of our aging and disabled clients. I truly enjoy helping clients resolve their parenting and other legal issues. I am grateful for the opportunity to counsel clients on issues related to their family, children and loved ones.

EDUCATION
JD, Washington University in St. Louis, 1994 
ABA award for Administrative Law, Women’s Law Caucus
BA, Southern Illinois University - Carbondale, 1989 
Graduated Summa Cum Laude and the Honors Program. Majored in History, Minor in Economics

JURISDICTIONS ADMITTED TO PRACTICE
Missouri, 1994
Illinois, 1995 (license inactive)

Kansas, 2013

PROFESSIONAL & BAR ASSOCIATION MEMBERSHIPS
Missouri Bar Association

Kansas Bar Association

Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association

Association of Family and Conciliatory Courts

MARCH Mediation

 

AWARDS

2014 Avvo Client Choice Award

 

Photos and videos

"We are now offering Phone and Virtual Appointments, to ensure your health and safety of all staff and visitors to the Kiske Law Office! Call us today to schedule 816-256-5440."

Location

Kiske Law Office, LLC
10525 N Ambassador Dr
Suite 208
Kansas City, MO, 64153
Kiske Law Office, LLC
1911 Jules
Saint Joseph, MO, 64501
Hide locations

Family lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.6 / 5.0
  56 customer reviews
Posted by Hugo | May 16, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Helped me cross the finish line
When it was finally time to have my name changed, Anne made it a fast and easy process. Since then, I have worked with Anne on numerous cases. She is a knowledgable and experienced attorney. She knows how to work with the other side. She knows how to work with the court. She knows how to make things go right. And she knows how to react when things go wrong. She is a professional attorney that doesn't let people walk all over her. But she also has a big heart.
Read less
Posted by Caryn | June 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Anne is fantastic
Anne is the best attorney I've ever had. I previously had two other attorneys for my divorce/custody who were incredibly inadequate compared to Anne. Her smart, meticulous, ethical, and no nonsense approach will logically guide you on the legal path that is best for you and your children. Her staff is also great.
Posted by Cindy | December 30, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney and Staff
Anne and her staff went above and beyond to ensure I received a good settlement in my divorce. Her no nonsense approach, combined with compassion , is just what I needed during a very emotional time in my life. I would not hesitate to hire her again or recommend to my friends!
Posted by May | March 28, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Absolutely amazing!!
Anne is a dedicated, hard working lawyer. She went above and beyond for my case. When things got stressful, she handled it without stress and kept me updated throughout. I absolutely love this team, I cant even begin to explain the peace of mind I had knowing Anne had my back.
Posted by Deborah | July 14, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best ever
Like most people, I rarely have need of a lawyer. However, when I do need a lawyer, it is always serious and time-sensitive. I have worked with many firms in many cities over the last 70 years. I can say without hesitation, that the Kiske team is absolutely the best in all the attributes that matter. They are knowledgeable, responsive, and caring. Perhaps most importantly, they are ethical, honest, and trustworthy. I would willingly put my life and my family’s future in their hands. Kudos and thank you for all you do - for the greater good.
Read less
Response from Anne Kiske July 15, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words, Debbie. The entire team is so happy to see the positive experiences you have had with us. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.
Posted by Brittany | July 6, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very attentive
Anne took over my custody case that needed to be transferred from another state. Her staff is very friendly and always available when you need them. She and her staff were very open with the process, stayed on top of things, explained everything very clearly to me, and was supportive as well. She was able to identify issues while advocating for myself and my daughter and successfully to a judge which was key in obtaining our favorable result. Anne is an amazing attorney and her staff is the best, if you have any family matters she’s the lady to see!
Read less
Response from Anne Kiske July 15, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words, Brittany. Anne and the team are so happy to see the positive experiences you have had with us. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.
Posted by Jess | June 18, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Above and beyond
Anne and her team are amazing! They are extremely kind and quick to respond. I have worked with Anne on a few different occasions and I’m always happy with the outcome. I feel confident and have a pretty good idea of what to expect going into things with them on my side.
Response from Anne Kiske June 21, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words, Jess. Anne and the team really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Cheers, Kiske Law Office LL
Posted by Jessica | May 14, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional practice, great people
Anne herself is an amazing person. You know from the first time you meet her that she is no-nonsense, fierce, and will fight for you on your case. The other attorneys in her practice are just as great. I hired them for a custody matter and they kept me informed throughout the process, walked me through things I did not understand and were very supportive. I can not thank them enough.
Read less
Response from Anne Kiske May 17, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words, Jessica. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. David and Anne are thrilled to see these reviews from you! We will be here if you need us again in the future. Cheers, Kiske Law Office LLC
Posted by Nattalie | September 9, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wouldn't choose anyone else!
Anne handled my annulment 5 years ago and my custody case just recently. We started my custody case pre pandemic and finished it up in the middle of it. The interactions were flawless and every step was taken to make sure both parties felt safe. Questions were always answered faster then expected. The first meeting was informative and anne laid out exactly what my next steps needed to be and why. Luckily the father in the custody case and I are on good terms, so Anne made sure no actual court appearances needed to be made. With the annulment case, Anne went above and beyond finding a judge to annul a gay marriage. Driving all the way to the next town to make sure it got done! I would absolutely recommend Kiske Law to anyone. Anne was professional and I always felt secure and knowledgeable about what was happening every step of the way. Worth every penny!
Read less
Response from Anne Kiske June 21, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words, Nattalie. The team really appreciates you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Cheers, Kiske Law Office LLC
Posted by anonymous | August 3, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wonderful Attorney
The attorney's at Kiske Law office has helped me in several cases. I am very pleased with their work and will continue to have them represent me.
Posted by Jordan | July 29, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
SIMPLY THE BEST!
Pleasure to deal with and made my problems go away! Their efficient office resolved everything online and no court appearance was necessary. They made everything easy and were very responsive. THANKS!
Response from Anne Kiske June 21, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words, Jordan. The team really appreciates you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Cheers, Kiske Law Office LLC
Posted by Amy | June 1, 2020
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Parent
We consulted with Anne about our legal options for our 16 yr old daughter who has RAD. She was very knowledgeable about the condition and dealing with the legalities that come up.
Response from Anne Kiske June 4, 2020
Amy, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Call us again if you need us in the future!
Posted by Thomas paterson | November 7, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Manager
Had a Will written and it was great experience 100 what I asked for and quoted cost was met. Very nice and professional
Response from Anne Kiske November 8, 2019
We are so pleased that you took the time to give us this review. It was a pleasure working with you.
Posted by Penni | March 15, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
GREAT ATTORNEY!
I met with Anne about a child support situation.She was very friendly and listened to all of my concerns but most importantly she was very knowledgeable about the matter. If I do decide to hire an attorney she will definitely be the one!!!!!
Response from Anne Kiske March 21, 2019
Thank you for the lovely comment. It was an absolute pleasure meeting with you!
Posted by Sarah | February 10, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer
Anne is a great lawyer! She was upfront and honest with me about what she thought would happen in my case. She was timely in her responses to my questions and concerns. I felt that she truly cared about me and helping me. Great lawyer that I would highly recommend!
Response from Anne Kiske March 1, 2019
We are very happy to hear you had a positive experience working with our office. Anne is pleased to see the nice things you have said as well. Please do not hesitate to call us with any future legal needs. Thank you Kiske Law Office
Posted by anonymous | February 2, 2019
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Quick and Friendly
I needed some help planning my estate when I came to Kiske Law Office. Ms. Kiske and her staff were incredibly friendly courteous and all of the documents were completed quickly and accurately. I was able to easily make it in time for another meeting following my appointment at Kiske Law Office. A very pleasant experience.
Response from Anne Kiske March 1, 2019
We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our office. Please call us for any future needs. Thank you. Kiske Law Office
Posted by Valerie | April 17, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Anne is amazing!
I hired Anne 6yrs ago as my divorce attorney. Some words I would use to describe her is honest, real, humble and aggressive. She cared about me as an individual and made me feel confident and secure throughout the entire process. She is bold and fierce and knows how to fight. I completely trusted her judgment. She not only kept me informed but ensured I understood everything I needed to along the way!
Read less
Posted by Daniel | March 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing!
I rarely write reviews, but had to here. Anne is simply an amazing lady, not only as an attorney but also as a person. I no doubt would not want her opposing me legally..lol, but she is more than just an attorney, she takes the time to see one as more then just the client but as an individual whom is in a difficult life experience. Very professional, and very real as a person. I'm so grateful to have had her represent me!
Read less
Posted by Ryan | April 12, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing!!!
I hired Anne for a judgment case I had because it interfered with my name change, which she also did for me. At the end of a day, Anne is a great lawyer; she worked really hard on both cases and kept me up to date with documents and emails about what was going on. if I ever experience legal trouble again, I will definitely be going back to Anne Kiske
Read less
Posted by Holly | January 3, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome!!
Our lawyer Anne Kiske worked very hard on our case she was wonderful always. She was always one step ahead of the other parties lawyer. She was on top of all paperwork. I couldn't of asked for a better lawyer. Hire her you will not be disappointed.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Hourly Rates $ 300-350 per hour
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 7.9 (Very Good)

Work Experience

  • Member - Board of Directors
  • MARCH Mediation
  • 2014 - Present
  • President Board of Directors
  • Unity Center Leavenworth
  • 2014 - 2014
  • Adjunct Professor
  • Missouri Western State University
  • 2009 - 2012
  • Attorney
  • Department of Social Services, State of Missouri, Division of Legal Services
  • 2004 - 2006
View all work experience

Education

  • Washington University in St. Louis
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1994
  • Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1989

Sample of Legal Cases

  • In re AB
  • Juvenile released from probation
  • Doss v. Brown

Associations

  • MARCH Mediation
  • Board Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • National Association of Elder Law Attorneys
  • Member
  • 2008 - Present
  • Missouri Bar
  • Member
  • 1994 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Danish

Honors and Awards

  • 10 Best
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2017
  • Best Lawyer
  • Expertise
  • 2017
  • Featured Attorney
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • 2017
  • 10 Best
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2016
  • Client Review
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2016
  • 10 Best
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2015
  • Client Review
  • American Institute of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2015
  • American Jurisprudence Award for Administrative Law.
  • American Jurisprudence
  • 1993
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Mid American Tax Advisory Client Education
  • The Probate Process
  • 2013

Attorney endorsements

Received (1)
Given (1)
Endorse Anne
Family Attorney | Nov 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Anne is a compassionate and strong advocate. She cares deeply for her clients and makes herself personally available to them."