Skip to main content

Ted Harvatin

DUI and DWI Attorney at Springfield, IL

4.9   35 reviews
Free consultation
Free consultation
  • Licensed for 42 years
    State IL
    Acquired 1981
    Status
    Active and Authorized to Practice Law No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Ted

Learn Ted’s areas of practice.

2
Practice areas
  1. DUI and DWI
    80%
    Illinois takes DUIs extremely seriously. Specific circumstances make each case unique and this is why you are always encouraged to take the time to talk to a lawyer. Contact Attorney Harvatin now for a free consultation.

  2. Speeding and traffic ticket
    20%
    Driving on a revoked or suspended license | Driving without a license | Eluding the police | Failure to obey | Hit & run | Speeding tickets | Reckless driving | If you have been issued a speeding or traffic ticket, call Attorney Harvatin today.

DRIVER'S LICENSE HEARINGS AND DUI ARE NOT JUST "FILL IN" WORK FOR ME. THEY ARE WHAT I DO.

I was born Benton, Illinois a small coal mining town in southern Illinois. We moved to the Springfield area in 1960-61, when I was about 5.

 

I attended a small high school outside of Springfield. I obtained my undergraduate degree from Knox College, a small liberal arts college in Galesburg, Illinois. (The Knox campus houses the only building that still stands at the site of a Lincoln-Douglas debate).  I graduated from the University of Illinois College of Law in 1981. I have been in private practice in Springfield since that time.

 

I enjoy spending time with my son Alex, who was born in 1997. We are both interested in cars (he has very expensive taste) and just about anything else mechanical (my brother and father are both engineers and I think he gets it from them). I am a fairly avid bicyclist, riding about 5,000 miles a year. 

 

 

Awards

Top Contributor 2022,2021,2020,2019,2018,2017,2016,2015,2014,2013,2012
Top Contributor
2022 2021 2020 + 8 ...
Client's Choice 2016,2012,2010
Client's Choice
2016 2012 2010

Photos and videos

Location

Harvatin Law Offices

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  35 customer reviews
5 Star
 
97%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
3%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Client's Choice 2016
Client's Choice
Client's Choice is an Avvo award granted to attorneys with a significant number of client reviews over 4 stars in a given year.
Posted by Mark | May 4, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
BEST OF THE BEST!!!
I contacted Mr. Harvatin, with a lifetime suspension. He was accurate and followed thru with a vast understanding of the legal system. In less than 5 months license fully reinstated! Ethical, professional. 100% Recommended. God bless Ted and his team!!!
Posted by Michelle | August 30, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very Efficient
From the first time I spoke to the staff over the phone they were incredibly responsive and quick to answer questions and return my phone calls. All the preliminary paperwork was completed within the first week. They are experts in their area and it shows. When visiting the office the entire staff was knowledgeable and helpful. All staff members respond quickly to all correspondence whether it is phone calls or emails through out the entire process. Mr. Harvatin went above and beyond to resolve issues that arose that were not initially anticipated so that I received my license reinstatement in a timely manner.
Read less
Posted by David | July 21, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Ironworker
Exceptional attourney and staff. The best Ive ever hired. Very efficient and thorough.
Posted by Blake | March 14, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The best
I can not express what Mr. Harvatin did for me and my family! I never had a dui and Illinois refused to give me my license for 8 years for underage drinking from when I was a kid. Most lawyers didn’t even want my case. I knew the first day I talked to his team that they were gonna give me my life back! I can’t explain enough what they did for me 10/10!
Read less
Posted by Brittany N | February 27, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Out of State
Great experience. I'm very thankful for all staff that help me get my license back took time worth it though. #COVID. Thank you Rose ,and Ted!!!!
Posted by Jeff T. | February 15, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Reinstatement
I have been without my license for 20 years, was doing research on how to get it back And came to be an overwhelming situation. Because I no longer live in Illinois so my home state now is Iowa so I contacted Harvatin law office..I contacted the office and they walked me through what they can do for me and how to get things done., So I hired Harvatin law to do my out-of-state packet they walked me through every single paperwork that I needed to get done and get The necessary paperwork for them. I knew it would take a while but after one year or so I got fully reinstated. Harvatin law is amazing I would recommend this law office to everyone I know. Without them I would be sitting here still spinning my wheels and not getting nowhere. Harvatin law Gave me back my freedom and my privilege to withhold a drivers license again. For I am grateful to them. And I wanted to also give a shout out to his assistant rose, She was very very professional and helped me a lot with the things I need to be done contacted me ASAP. This duo is truly amazing. So if you want somebody that’s going to work hard for you and gets things done the right way this law office will get it done. So once again I am truly grateful for all the hard work that they have done for me!!!!!!!!!!
Read less
Posted by Emily | September 28, 2020
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Helpful and trustworthy
I spoke with Mr. Harvatin after posting a question and he answered my questions quickly and was incredibly helpful.
Posted by Eric | June 16, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Weight off my shoulders!!
Ted went above and beyond helping me navigate my entire situation of having my license suspended/revoked. It turned out to be a lot less worse than we suspected. Got a lot of different answers from the state of IL, living in California and a lot of confusion surrounded the case from 8 years ago. Ted clarified everything for us and basically walked me through what needed to be done all the way to the dmv here that was trying to hold things up as well. We couldn't have accomplished all this especially during a pandemic with out Ted! Thank you so much for being unbelievably responsive to all our questions and helping me get my life back!!! 5 STARS!
Read less
Posted by Alexandra Johnson | August 21, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing and Just all together there for you
I had a very great experience with Ted he is there for his clients and he just made you feel confident in yourself. With everything we all are going through he gives that hope and succeeds. Thanks again .. I am still waiting for my letter but I have high hopes and will update when I receive.
Posted by Lance | May 2, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Skilled and Professional Representation. Without question, Highly Recommended
In 2012, I received a DUI and hired a local attorney to represent me throughout the proceedings. Having never been in trouble with the law before, I was largely unfamiliar with the court system. I briefly talked with that attorney once on the phone, then again in-person the morning of the court appearance at the courthouse. Nothing was explained to me aside from "don't worry, first time DUI offenders always get court supervision and a fine". Long story short, I plead guilty and the charge ended up in a conviction. As such, my license was not just suspended, it was revoked. I never had that attorney or anyone on his staff follow up with me. Fast forward a couple years. I retained Mr. Harvatin to help with driver's license reinstatement. It was a completely different experience...in a good way. From the initial consultation to the final (and successful) hearing, Ted and his well-trained staff knew exactly what to do every step of the way. Everything was explained in a way that was easily understandable. Phone calls and emails were always responded to quickly. I would definitely recommend Mr. Harvatin to anyone finding themselves in need of DUI or license reinstatement assistance.
Read less
Posted by Micah | March 26, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great results
After some bad informal hearing decisions I was not sure what to do next. Mr. Harvatin said he would get it straightened out and he got the job done. Do yourself a favor and hire the expert.
Posted by Pam | March 23, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Success
I am so glad I was referred to Mr. Harvatin. In no time he took care of the problem. A bad informal hearing decision was amended in favor of reinstatement. When Mr. Harvatin speaks, the Illinois Secretary of State listens. You want him as your attorney.
Posted by Jayme | August 30, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Choose Ted Harvatin!!
Ted completely changed my life. He helped me get approved to get my license back and that's an incredible life changer for me and an incredible help to moving on with my life.
Posted by anonymous | June 23, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer...great results with this lawyer
Mr. Harvatin did an excellent job getting my son's charges dropped by the State Attorney office...arrested for DUI and scared but was not drunk...blew 0.0. Sometimes you just need the right lawyer on your side. Mr Harvatin did an excellent job and well worth it.
Posted by anonymous | June 2, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Speeding Ticket
I received a speeding Ticket that could have resulted in a Misdemeanor charge. I hired Ted because he received great reviews. I can confirm that the reviews are correct. Ted and his staff were very responsive and I obtained a favorable result. I would recommend Ted Harvatin for any Traffic matter.
Posted by Jim | May 11, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Reinstatement after 30 years
Ted helped me with an out of state clearence His method's at first may seem a little unorthodox but if you do exactly what he tell's you- then you will have suscess with reinstating your driving privileges. I had 3 dui's and many many driving wile licence revoked citations. There is no better lawyer in the state Illin ois for dealing with this kind of case.
Read less
Posted by Ryan | March 18, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very wise decision I believe.
Mr. Harvatin is thouroughly extensive in his knowledge especially reinstatment matters. His credentials and background proove it. He takes time to answer many questions and help many people. If you have any desire to reinstate your driving privledges and feel like you are worried about investing money in an attorney that you will barely ever communicate with do not be afraid of Mr Harvatin. His staff is kind wise and helpful and always willing to get back to you about matters. Its pretty straight forward-do what he tells you to do and good results will happen. I have just hired him and its for a pretty interesting reinstatment matter so that I can clear my Illinois hold. We will see what happens but in my heart I believe that if I do everything that Im directed to do i will be granted relief that I thought would never come. Thank You
Read less
Posted by Nina | December 8, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
FANTASTIC LAWYER!!!
Mr. Harvatin is a TOP-NOTCH attorney without a doubt. My experience with other lawyers was not encouraging, most of them demanded several thousand dollars for resolution of my case, Mr. Harvatin just for $750.00 resolved my case in a mere 5 days and I did not have to even appear in front of the Hearing Officer. This gentleman is prompt, courteous, efficient and most of all very professional. If you are in a traffic related situation please do yourself a favor and hire Mr. Harvatin. He knows what he is doing and I will guarantee you will be more than satisfied!!
Read less
Posted by Amy | November 19, 2015
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Highly recommended
Mr. Harvatin is extremely efficient and very gracious with his time. Responses to my questions were immediate and to the point. His assistance was greatly appreciated and his knowledge is impeccable!
Posted by Wes R | November 6, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Incredible
I had an absolutely amazing result with Mr. Harvatin. I was charged with a DUI, and as embarrassing as it is to admit, this was not my first. I was referred to Mr. Harvatin by a friend, and set up an appointment to meet with him. He was able to go through the entire process with me and let me know what results to expect. I was pleased with the what he told me the plan was. However, at the date of my trial I was blown away with the fact that he was able to get me an even better deal. I could not have possibly expected such great treatment and outcome from Mr. Harvatin and his office. If you are ever in the unfortunate situation that I was, and facing DUI charges, I cannot suggest a better attorney for representation.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 15 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Attorney
  • Gramlich and Morse
  • 1981 - 1999

Education

  • University of Illinois College of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1981
  • Knox College
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1978

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Webb v. White
  • Victory for my client, the Plaintiff.
  • Clark v. White
  • My client won.
  • Estate of Goffinet
  • My client won.

Associations

  • National College of DUI Defense
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • Illinois State Bar Association, Traffic Law Council
  • Member
  • 2006 - Present
  • Illinois Trial Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 1986 - Present
  • Sangamon County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1981 - Present
  • Illinois State Bar Association, Legislative Subcommittee
  • Co-chair
  • 2013 - 2014
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • AV Rating
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • MENSA
  • MENSA Society
  • 1983
  • Phi Betta Kappa
  • Knox College
  • 1978

Publications

  • Illinois Bar Journal
  • Court Supervision in Traffic Cases: New Strategies for Amended Laws
  • 2006
  • Lorman Educational Services
  • Strategies in Handling DWI and DUI Cases: Driver’s License Hearings with the Illinois Secretary of State
  • 2006

Speaking Engagements

  • DUI and Traffic Law Update
  • Updates to legislation and administrative rules governing Illinois Secretary of State Driver's License Hearings
  • 2016
  • DUI and Traffic Issues for the Defense
  • Updates to legislation and administrative rules governing Illinois Secretary of State Driver's License Hearings.
  • 2016
  • DUI and Traffic Law Update
  • Illinois Secretary of State Driver's License Hearings; Court Supervision Updates; CDL and GDL Issues
  • 2015
  • DUI and Traffic Law Update
  • Illinois Secretary of State Driver's License Hearings; Court Supervision Updates; CDL and GDL Issues; Discovery, Videotapes and Kladis
  • 2014
  • DUI: Beyond the Courtroom
  • Illinois Secretary of State Rules and Hearings
  • 2013
  • DUI and Traffic Law Update
  • Illinois Secretary of State Driver's License Hearings; Court Supervision Updates; CDL and GDL Issues; Discovery, Videotapes and Kladis
  • 2013
  • DUI Defense Strategies
  • Illinois Secretary of State Issues
  • 2012
  • Administrative Law in Illinois
  • Illinois Secretary of State Administrative Hearings
  • 2012
  • Traffic Law Update
  • Secretary of State Driver's License Hearings
  • 2007
  • Lorman Educational Services
  • Strategies in Handling DWI and DUI Cases: Driver’s License Hearings with the Illinois Secretary of State
  • 2006
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (59)
Given (38)
Endorse Ted
DUI and DWI Attorney | Nov 04
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | May 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Ted. He is well respected in the legal community and gets great results for his clients."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Oct 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Harvatin has an impeccable reputation among his colleagues. He is a knowledgeable, skilled, and experienced attorney. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to any of my friends or family in the Springfield area, if they should need help in his practice areas."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jul 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Harvatin is a talented attorney truly dedicated to serving the best interests of his clients. I endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | May 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Ted is at the top of our field for defending clients at Secretary of State hearings for license reinstatement. He is exceptionally well-versed in the law and I trust his expertise, knowledge and skill. As an attorney in the same field, I regularly refer cases to Ted when they are in his region. I fully trust that any referral to his office will be satisfied with his work ethic, knowledge and overall defense at a hearing."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Mar 14
Relationship: Other
"Ted is an exceptional and highly respected attorney who always represents his clients with the utmost of skill,knowledge and understanding.i can readily endorse him without hesitation or reservation."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Feb 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Nov 19
Relationship: Other
"Mr. Harvatin's advice is professional and well-reasoned. I endorse this attorney 100%!"
DUI and DWI Attorney | Sep 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Top-notch attorney. Highly respected in the legal community."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Sep 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Ted's knowledge and ability as they relate to driver's license reinstatement issues are very impressive."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Aug 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Ted Harvatin fully. He is a very experienced and knowledgeable attorney, and he can help you with your case. You should call this man if you got a DUI/DWI."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Aug 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Atty. Harvatin. He is a skilled and well respected attorney in the legal community."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jul 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Mr. Harvatin. Excellent knowledge of procedure and law. You will benefit from his skill and knowledge and be glad you hired him. KUDOS"
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jul 08
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. An extremely talented and well respected attorney in the legal community."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jul 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jul 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jun 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Talented attorney."
Unknown Attorney | Jun 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have had the pleasure of consulting with Mr. Harvatin on behalf of my own clients. He is an excellent advocate for his clients."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jun 08
Relationship: Other
"I have been a lawyer for 42 years in California and nicknamed 35 years ago by a judge "DUI KING". I do not know Ted personally but have been reading his answers on AVVO for a long time and I am astonished by his knowledge. I strong endorse him"
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jun 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"An extremely talented and well respected attorney in the legal community, I wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone looking for a lawyer who knows the law and truly cares about protecting the rights of his clients and getting them the most favorable result possible."
View more endorsements
DUI and DWI
Criminal defense
DUI and DWI
Criminal defense
Adoption
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
DUI and DWI
Criminal defense
Criminal defense