Skip to main content

Paul Matthew Marriett

Personal injury Attorney at Rockford, IL

5.0   86 reviews
  • State Years
    Florida - FL 11 years
    Illinois - IL 12 years
  • Licensed for 11 years
    State FL
    Acquired 2012
    Status
    Member in Good Standing No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 12 years
    State IL
    Acquired 2011
    Status
    Active and Authorized to Practice Law No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Paul

Learn Paul’s areas of practice.

1
Practice area
  1. Personal injury
    100%
    Trucking accidents, car accidents, medical malpractice, premises liability, workplace injuries.

    12 years

Our office represents people hurt or injured in car accidents, at stores or businesses, and those hurt while while working in Illinois. We offer personal service, where you won't work with a rotating cast of new attorneys or other people you've never met before. Not only does this allow us to streamline your case from initially being hired, but also to resolution since there's never an opportunity for a breakdown in communication to occur. If you're looking for a lawyer that can fight for your recovery after an injury, feel free to call or text message us 24/7/365 at. Likewise you can always e-mail us securely at our website listed above.

We look forward to serving you. 

Photos and videos

Location

Marriett Legal, LLC.
308 W. State Street
#327
Rockford, IL, 61101
Rockford Personal Injury Lawyers
6735 Vistagreen Way Suite B
Rockford, IL, 61107
Hide locations

Personal Injury lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  86 customer reviews
Posted by Robbie | August 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Human Resources Professional
I had high expectations for this attorney, and he still exceeded that. I am so very grateful for what he was able to accomplish with my case. It appeared grim from the beginning, and I felt threatened with this case that came out of nowhere. I just can’t Thank Atty Paul Marriett enough. I Highly Recommend him!
Posted by Valarie | May 7, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Educational Law Attorney
My son brought a squirt gun to school and got caught with it. I know this is a silly reason to need and attorney. The school board wanted to expel him for one full year for bringing a "weapon" to school. My son should have known better but we felt like a one year expulsion was too extreme. Paul represented us for the school board hearing. While doing some work on the case he discovered that the school district was not protecting my son's rights under the law regarding his 504 plan. Paul made sure everything was done by the book. He also opened up communication with the school board's attorney and got them to agree to a one month suspension that won't go on his record. If you need an educational law attorney, Paul is your guy!! It's obvious that he genuinely cares about his clients and what they are going through. 5 stars, highly recommend! Thanks again Paul!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 28, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Do you need Finance? Are you looking for Financeng
Do you need Finance? Are you looking for Finance? Are you looking for finance to enlarge your business? We help individuals and companies to obtain finance for business expanding and to setup a new business ranging any amount. Get finance at affordable interest rate of 3%, Do you need this finance for business and to clear your bills? Then send us an email now for more information contact us now via ([email protected]) whats-App +918929509036 Dr James Eric Finance Pvt Ltd Thanks
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 5, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Feel Safe With Paul
Some years ago I was facing up to 10 years in prison. As you can imagine this was a very troubling time for me and I was unsure as to what would happen next. I met with Paul and from that day forward I knew i was in good hands. Very professional, highly intelligent (without boasting it), and extremely empathetic, Paul is someone who makes you feel comfortable regardless of the circumstances as he is very easy to talk to. He even offered me advice in other minor cases that I had going on at the time as well as every day life advice. My case took a few years to be resolved but in the end he was able to reduce my sentence to no jail time at all and now the entire charge has been dismissed. I would recommend Paul to any person, with any case regardless of the difficulty. You will not regret having him on your side.
Read less
Posted by Raheem | March 7, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended
Paul takes pride in his profession. I have my cdl and accidentally hit someone, they were not hurt, but Paul made it possible to continue with my profession! Thanks again Paul
Posted by Alec | March 1, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A complete life (and license) saver.
When I got an obscenely large ($43,000) fine on an overweight truck ticket, I thought my career and future were ruined. I had never been in a situation where I needed to hire an attorney, so finding someone who actually cared about my case and seemed committed to helping was a daunting task. I reached out to Paul after reading through all of his reviews. He responded almost instantly, and his dedication to helping me fight the fine and save my CDL was apparent right away. I live out of state, and Paul handled all of the court appearances for me which saved me several trips to IL, and he kept me updated through the whole process. Paul did thorough research and examined several angles through which he could fight this for me. At the end of it all, Paul brought the $43,000 fine down to $1,000, and saved my license by ensuring no moving violations or points against my CSA score. I'm so grateful to Paul and so glad that I hired him. I hope to never be in abother situation where I need legal help, but I have his number saved, just in case.
Read less
Posted by Nolan | February 13, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Fantastic, I highly recommend!
Outstanding; Mr Marriett has been absolutely top notch from beginning to end. I had a minor motor violation I was not guilty of brought against me almost a year ago. Paul Marriett from the very beginning did an excellent job of explaining to me the possible outcomes and his game plan thoroughly after each court appearance. He has communicated with me consistently, and professionally from the beginning. The case was eventually dismissed from court and I can not express how wonderful it was working with Paul Marriett. If you are in need of legal services and representation, do not hesitate to hire Paul Marriett, his number is now saved to my speed dial. Thank you again Mr Marriett and I wish you the very best in your career.
Read less
Posted by Justin | August 28, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent!!!
I have used Mr. Marriett on a couple occasions and have been nothing but satisfied. He is always willing no matter what day it is to answer a call or text which is rare now a days. It always seems you have to go through a secretary and wait a week for a return call. Not in this case. Mr. Marriett explains things in a way you can understand and doesn't try to make you think he can do something he can't. I highly recommend him and have to a few people. They also have had excellent results and have been happy with the outcome and with Mr. Marriett in general. He is a very down to earth guy and very personable which is hard to find now a days in the legal field.
Read less
Posted by David | August 1, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Paul is a very qualified lawer.
I am so glad i hired Paul,i was facing serious charges,for Ag DUI,and revoked,all together i had 10 counts.Paul got this reduced to 2 charges 15 days in jail and probation.Paul is very respeceted by the state and judges.I would not hesitate to hire him again,or refer him to anybody that is need for a qualified lawer.He was there for any guestion or concern,and that made me feel at ease.Paul is top notch and 5 stars are not enough.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 25, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer
My wife and I were very fortunate to have chosen Paul to represent me. I was arrested and charged for public indecency. Paul worked diligently and promptly and was able get my case dismissed. He replies to queries promptly through emails and texts. He is very reassuring and you can feel his sincerity and concern for his clients. I would highly recommend Paul.
Read less
Posted by Jeremy | May 9, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney
Paul is an excellent attorney. He was able to get my DUI charge reduced and he went to bat for me. He was always there to answer any questions that I had. I would hire him again in a second!
Posted by Dr. Theodore | April 30, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Paul Marriett is a first rate attorney
Attorney Paul Marriett came highly recommended to represent me concerning a potentially serious speeding violation involving a medical emergency. When our initial request for dismissal was rejected with prejudice by a new and unsympathetic district attorney, Paul researched and presented apposite case law the DA was initially unaware of, swiftly resulting a generous plea agreement to a lesser charge and court supervision. Paul is highly intelligent, and fought for my interests with tenancity. I consider him an equal to the top flight attorneys I have previously retained while living in Boston. I plan on hiring Paul for all future legal representation in Rockford.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 31, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUIs
I am so glad I found Attorney Marriett when I did. I had another attorney that wanted me to take 3 years in prison for my 3rd DUI, and Attorney Marriett got it down to 8 days in county, and probation! I would definitely recommended him for any traffic case! Thank you Attorney Marriett!!
Posted by Julia | November 16, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer
Paul helped me with my speeding tickets and made it easy for me. I would choose him everytime when going to court for speeding tickets. I highly recommend him.
Posted by M.B. | October 28, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Paul has all the qualities that make a great defensive attorney! He exceeded my expectations!
Paul saved my license and essentially my livelihood. I work for the Illinois Department of Transportation as a permanent temp, Nov-Mar. The position requires a class A-CDL. I was pulled over for speeding 20mph over, and no insurance. I misunderstood the back of the ticket and I missed my court date. I never received anything by mail, ever. After almost 6 weeks went by, I found out they had convicted me on all the tickets and my drivers licence was to be suspended. That's when I called Paul. He immediately motioned the court and my no insurance conviction was dismissed! He then had Springfield update the case to remove my license suspension. He had my speeding ticket reduced to a non moving violation, and therefore kept my record clean and my CDL safe. Had those convictions stayed, I would have lost my seasonal job. As a single father, I NEED the job to support my girls and I. I would highly recommend Paul. He's professional, courteous, and gets the job done. Thank you Paul!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 30, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUI
I didn't lose my license. I received a less severe charge reckless driving. With court supervision. I was extremely impressed with Mr. Marrietts performance and results. Very easy to work with. Makes you feel very comfortable it's not an easy thing to go through so that is very important to me. You won't go wrong picking this guy.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 28, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer for CDL holders
I had a ciatation that was threatening my CDL record . So I called mr Marriett. And he was able to reduce it to a non moving violation and keep my record clean
Posted by John | June 16, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great service!
I got a traffic ticket in Winnebago county, Paul was able to get me deferred prosecution so that it doesn't show up on my driving record. I didn't even have to show up for court. Thanks for your help and your service Paul!
Posted by anonymous | May 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Paul your the best!!
After my husband got his DUI we were so confused and so lost. We had no idea where to start or how we were going to get out of this mess. We did a search online for top lawyers in IL and that's when we found Paul. After reading all the great reviews we decided to contact him. I think this was the best decision my husband and I have ever made. Paul is very professional and very helpful. He did everything he said he would do and if it weren't for him im not sure where we would be right now. He got us through one of the most toughest times of our lives. Paul your awesome!! Thank you for everything. We cannot thank you enough!!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 18, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Quick and professional
First and foremost, I wound not have been able to ship to boot camp for the United States Marine Corps had it not been for Mr. Paul Marriett. I was ticketed going 23 over and would have had my license suspended due to the amount of tickets I have. It took one call to him to settle all my worries. He went to the court house that day (didn't even pay him yet) and changed my court date for my convenience. That goes to show that he genuinely cares about you and your case... Not how deep your pockets are. He also did a phenomenal job at keeping me updated via calls/texts, as well as what I needed to bring to court. Every question was answered quickly and worded in a way that's easy to understand. Court was also quick and easy. I showed up and talked to him right away in private, he went and talked to the prosecutor, came back to me and explained everything. We then went in front of the judge and I got to keep my license. I was in and out in less than 30 minutes. Moral of the story. He does great work and is definitely the right guy for the job.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 15 minutes
  • Contingency 33%-40%

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Managing Attorney
  • Law Office of Paul M. Marriett
  • 2012 - Present
  • Staff Attorney
  • Legal Services Of North Florida
  • 2012 - 2012
  • Student License
  • Cook County Domestic Violence Legal Clinic
  • 2011 - 2011

Education

  • Florida Coastal School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2011
  • John Marshall Law School, Chicago
  • Visiting Student
  • 2011
  • Western Illinois University
  • Bachelor of Arts
  • 2007
  • Western Illinois University
  • Bachelor of Arts
  • 2007
View all education

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Suppressed
  • All evidence suppressed. The State Attorney appealed to the Illinois 3rd District Appellate Court where the trial court's decision was affirmed.
  • Rescinded
  • Rescinded

Associations

  • American Association for Justice
  • member
  • 2022 - Present
  • Illinois Trial Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • 2021 - Present
  • Gerry Spence Trial Lawyers College
  • graduate
  • 2021 - Present
  • Illinois Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2019 - Present
  • Illinois State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2017 - Present
  • Florida Bar
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • National Trial Lawyers Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • National College of DUI Defense
  • Member
  • N/A
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • member
  • 2015 - 2019
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, DUI Committee
  • Member
  • 2015 - 2019
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, White Collar Crime Committee
  • Member
  • 2015 - 2019
  • Bay County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2012 - 2013
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2012 - 2013
  • Rock Island County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2012 - 2013
  • Chicago Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2011 - 2013
  • Winnebago County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2011 - 2012
  • Illinois State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2011 - 2014
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Top 10 Attorney Award
  • National Academy Of Personal Injury Attorneys
  • 2018
  • rising stars
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2018
  • member
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • 2017
  • Emerging Lawyer
  • Leading Lawyers Network
  • 2017
  • Premier Attorney
  • National Academy of Jurisprudence
  • 2017
  • Nominated as a "10 best" attorney for Illinois.
  • American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys
  • 2016
  • Top 10 Under 40
  • National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys
  • 2016
  • Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2016
  • Nominated as one of the "10 best" DUI attorney's in Illinois
  • American Institute of DUI/DWI Attorneys
  • 2015
  • Member
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • N/A
  • Rising Star
  • Illinois Super Lawyers
  • N/A
  • Listed
  • Illinois Leading Lawyer Network
  • N/A
  • Rising Star
  • Florida Super Lawyers
  • N/A
  • Listed
  • Florida Super Lawyers
  • N/A
  • Listed
  • Illinois Leading Lawyer Network
  • N/A
  • Featured Attorney
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • N/A
  • Premier DUI Attorney
  • American Association of Premier DUI Attorneys
  • N/A
  • Featured Attorney
  • Lawyers of Distinction
  • N/A
  • Listed
  • Who's Who Legal
  • N/A
View all awards

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Domestic violence and human trafficking
  • U visa
  • 2014
  • Guest Lecturer at Western Illinois University - Macomb
  • Philosophy of Law
  • 2013

Attorney endorsements

Received (26)
Given (32)
Endorse Paul
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jul 23
Relationship: Other
"Some lawyers are smart about one thing. Paul is smart about EVERYTHING. a strong advocate and an active listener, he's my "go to" guy in the great white north of Illinois. You won't go wrong with Paul."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I wholeheartedly endorse this lawyer. A brilliant, trustworthy and highly respected attorney in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Attorney Marriett has an excellent reputation in the legal community. He will take your case, will make your feel comfortable and will get the best possible results for you. He likes his job and I could recommend this legal professional to everyone!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Immigration Attorney | Jan 08
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Personal injury Attorney | Aug 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Paul is an excellent Rockford criminal defense lawyer. I have referred several criminal cases to him and he has handled them with the utmost care."
Unknown Attorney | Mar 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Dec 01
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 07
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Paul Marriett has a reputation for being dedicated, professional, sharp, and responsive to client needs. His results are exceptional. He's a top lawyer in all areas of practice. I'm impressed with his ability to assess the issue and formulate quick strategy."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Aug 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Unknown Attorney | May 05
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer for being an advocate for clients."
Unknown Attorney | Mar 25
Relationship: Other
"I endorse this lawyer. Such a wonderful spirit and is truly dedicated to clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Prior to Paul moving to Rockford he practiced in the Rock Island and adjoining county area. From my observations he is always punctual and prepared. I would not hesitate to refer cases to him."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jan 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Sexual harassment Attorney | Dec 23
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Marriett persistently seeks to obtain positive results for his clients. Whether it be a dismissal, a finding of not guilty, or a favorable plea negotiation, Mr. Marriett will not stop working until he has obtained the best possible resolution on your case."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Tough, talented and thorough litigator."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mr. Marriett is an outstanding attorney who fights hard for his clients and is very knowledgable in the law. I would not hesitate to recommend his services to my own clients in his area."
View more endorsements
Car accident
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Lawsuits and disputes
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
DUI and DWI