I have been charged with a level 6 theft charge.
Six months. It is suspendable - it CAN be served on probation at the Court's discretion.See question
me and my wife was arrested for possesion of methaphetamines and parphenelia on christmas night the 25 of december 201`6 I was held until the 8th of january 2017 before i finally bonded out i was never took to court for an initial hearing to plead...
Nothing that you describe was an abridgment of your constitutional rights. There are many more interesting questions like what was the reason for the stop? Why was a meth pipe on the dash or seat? You might as well be slurring your words and have an empty martini glass with an olive in it on the seat or dash.
Moreover, "Possession of __________ " has NOTHING TO DO WITH WHO "OWNS" IT. The ONLY legal question is: Was the item(s) under your custody or control? If something is in the cabin of a car, it is within the custody or control of all occupants.
You definitely need a criminal defense attorney. You probably do NOT qualify for a PD because you posted bond and most Indiana courts have a pool of attorneys who are willing to represent you for assignment of the bond which legally belongs to you.See question
I am a 51 year old woman that was in an auto accident when I was 7 years old and left me legally blind and paralysis to one side of my face. The car belonged to my father and the insurance company wanted to settle right after the accident and my ...
I agree with my colleagues but more to the point is that NO 1972 vehicle (assuming it was brand new) required that you depress the brake before shifting out of park.See question
the bmv sent me a letter stating my license is supended for 90 days for failure to show proof of insurance. I called bmv and the lady on the phone say my license is attach to my son ticket and the officer need to corrected. The officer has me as t...
1.) You cannot change plates on a car in Indiana unless they are formally transferred by the Bureau of motor vehicles.
2.) When you secured your Indiana license plate, you provided proof of insurance to the local office or through the agency's web portal. If you allow the insurance to lapse, you cannot use the plate.
3.) Any new car dealer or used car dealer in Indiana is required to carry insurance on all inventory, through its own carrier, provided the car bears the dealer's plate.
4.) To limit cost and exposure, most dealers limit the coverage on their inventory to test drives. Usually only new car dealers provide "loaner" vehicles to customers and those are specifically designated as such so that they are covered, irrespective of who drives them or for what length of time. I am not aware of any used car dealers who carry this coverage.
What probably happened
If you allowed your insurance to lapse and there was no accident, generally the court will NOT suspend your license provided that you show up in court with proof of insurance. Apparently, neither you nor your son had auto insurance as is required to drive under indiana law.
Someone from the dealer let you borrow the car against policy or it would have had the dealer plate on it. The dealer is not going to provide you with their insurance unless they want their premiums to triple.
At this point, you need to purchase auto insurance and go through the reinstatement process or hire a traffic attorney to assist you. If you had simply purchased insurance BEFORE the suspension, you could have done so cheaply and avoided the suspension. Now, insurance is going to be MUCH more expensive for about 3 years AND you have the reinstatement fees.See question
I was in a car accident in March of 2103 and I am being sued, but my insurance should've covered it. I want to write the review so that they can take the suspension off my license and potentially stop the proceedings because I wasn't at fault. It ...
If you DID have insurance, YOUR insurance company had a duty to defend you which you could have enforced through the Indiana Department of Insurance. Even if you were found to be at fault, they would have paid, up to their policy limits. If you did nothing and allowed a judgment to be entered against you and your license to be suspended, there is no easy or inexpensive way to fix it.
If you did NOT have insurance, you simply must pay or discharge the debt in bankruptcy.See question
My wife was not at fault in an accident. She was hit in the front passenger side while completing a left hand turn in the intersection. The other driver was ticketed for running the red light, however my wife was listed as car 1. THE other drive...
On an Illinois crash report, the driver designated as "driver No. 1 " is the "Striking" car. The designation has NOTHING do do with fault. So, if you are driving along and someone runs a stop sign or light and you hit them, YOU would be vehicle No. 1 but you would NOT be at fault.
If your wife was injured, she needs an attorney. The fact that she is designated as driver No. 1 will NOT make it difficult for her to find competent representation.
You can find an experienced Personal Injury attorney here on AVVO. Attorneys on AVVO want to help you but we are not permitted to solicit your business. You must contact us.See question
son killed in auto accident in indiana and he was married but seperated insurance for the person in fault had insurance coverage of 100.000 dollars that was required by state. now his medical exceeds that amount who would be liable for this balanc...
Your family has suffered a tragic loss. Indiana law only requires that you carry $25,000 of coverage per person. As a spouse, your daughter-in law is responsible for her husband's medical bills. For the last 3+ years, it has been illegal NOT to have health insurance. If your son had health insurance, ALL medical bills should have been paid through the insurance. That would cut the medical bills by 50% - 70%. Then her attorney could have reduced what he paid the insurance company by another 33%.
If your daughter-in-law accepted the $100,000.00 policy limits, she released the at-fault driver of any liability.
If the medical bills exceed the insurance policy limits, her attorney should have brokered a deal with the medical provider where they agreed to take less than they were owed. Otherwise, there was no incentive for your daughter-in-law to settle and the debt would likely be discharged in bankruptcy - the hospital would get $0.00.
Also, your son could have carried $300,000 or $500,000 or $1,000,000 of underinsurance for a very nominal cost. If he had, your daughter-in-law could access the entire policy limits, minus what she received from the at-fault driver.
I realize this may seem unhelpful now but it is something to consider for the future.
If your daughter-in-law resolved the claim without an attorney, she learned a VERY expensive lesson and may need to consider bankruptcy.See question
I was driving down a high way that has two lined dividers. It's a four lane road, the bus was traveling the opposite direction that I was going. With a bus stop on the highway. I know, in Indiana, you can continue if there in an unimproved median....
Yes. They can pick -up students ANYWHERE. If there is a formal divider (e.g. the grass on U.S.30 OR the concrete barrier on the Toll Road), vehicles travelling in the opposite direction do NOT need to stop. If you were on a highway where the lanes are divided by only solid yellow lines, ALL lanes in BOTH directions MUST stop.
If you were cited in error, take pictures of the precise area where the bus was stopped. If you misunderstood, contact a traffic attorney to assist you.See question
I was rear ended tonight and the driver who hit me fled the scene. I did get the plate number, but it is an out of state tag. (I'm in IL, he has WI plates) There is damage to my vehicle, but nothing I can't live with. I have definite signs o...
I agree with all of my colleagues. I would only clarify that the fact you were uninsured at the time of the accident in no way affects your right of recovery under Illinois law. The at fault driver is responsible to repair your vehicle and to compensate you for your injuries.
You ALWAYS need to make a police report. Everyone carries a cell phone. There is simply no excuse for not reporting an accident at the time it happens. If the weather is bad or the local police department is otherwise unable to send an officer, at least the fact of your accident will be memorialized as well as the fact that you reported it.See question
My brother got into an accident in my 2000 Toyota Camry. Upon research the vehicle is equipped front and side airbags. My brother was hit at 40 mph by a Ford F350 on the front passengers side door. Exactly where it should have triggered the sensor...
There is no viable case. You need a certified expert to say that that the airbags on this vehicle that was built NEARLY TWO DECADES AGO should have deployed the airbags.
Airbags do NOT prevent injury. They are NOT designed to prevent injury. Airbags OFTEN CAUSE injury. Airbags are designed to limit catastrophic injury. On your facts, your brother is not paralyzed and has not suffered debilitating brain injury. Saying the same thing differently, your brother sustained none of the injuries which the airbags were designed to prevent.
So, after you've spent somewhere between $75,000 and $200,000 in litigation to "win," you would have absolutely no way of proving the extent of injury which resulted from the failure of the airbags to deploy.
If your brother has suffered paralysis or traumatic brain injury, you need to consult a personal injury attorney who has the requisite experience and resources to litigate a products liability case of this magnitude.
Almost irrespective of of your brother's injuries, the fact that the entire system is nearly 20 years old presents a host of additional challenges.See question