Skip to main content

Peter Francis Geraci

Bankruptcy and debt Attorney at Chicago, IL

4.9   1618 reviews

also known as Geraci Law LLC

  • State Years
    Ohio - OH 1 year
    Texas - TX 2 years
    Kentucky - KY 2 years
    Michigan - MI 16 years
    Florida - FL 19 years
    California - CA 27 years
    Wisconsin - WI 27 years
    Indiana - IN 28 years
    New York - NY 28 years
    Illinois - IL 50 years
  • Licensed for 1 year
    State OH
    Acquired 2022
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 2 years
    State TX
    Acquired 2021
    Status
    Eligible to Practice in Texas No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 2 years
    State KY
    Acquired 2021
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 16 years
    State MI
    Acquired 2008
    Status
    Active in Good Standing No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 19 years
    State FL
    Acquired 2004
    Status
    Member in Good Standing No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 27 years
    State CA
    Acquired 1996
    Status
    Active No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 27 years
    State WI
    Acquired 1996
    Status
    Good Standing No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 28 years
    State IN
    Acquired 1996
    Status
    Active in Good Standing No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 28 years
    State NY
    Acquired 1996
    Status
    Currently Registered No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 50 years
    State IL
    Acquired 1974
    Status
    Active and Authorized to Practice Law No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Peter

Learn Peter’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Bankruptcy and debt
    90%
    The Law Offices of Peter Francis Geraci is one of the largest and experienced consumer bankrutpcy law firms in the country. Since 1977 the firm has represented over 150,000 debtors. A new client hires the firm on the average of every 9 minutes every working week to eliminate debt under Chapter 7 or consolidate debt under Chapter 13.

    50 years, 65,500 cases

  2. Birth injury
    5%
    Peter Francis Geraci is a member of Geraci, Arreola and Hernandez, L.L.C. which practices personal injury and workers compensation law.

    50 years, 20 cases

  3. Personal injury
    5%
    Peter Francis Geraci is a member of Geraci, Arreola and Hernandez, L.L.C. which practices personal injury and workers compensation law.

    50 years, 5,000 cases

Peter Francis Geraci is a well-known attorney licensed to practice law in Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, Michigan, Florida, New York and California.  He is licensed in those state courts, and also in the United States District Courts for those states, as well as varies United States Courts of Appeal, and the United States Supreme court. .

Peter Francis Geraci was born and raised in Chicago.  He is the 4th generation of Illinois attorney in his family.  His great-great grandfather, Francis A. Hoffmann, was lieutenant governor of Illinois during the Civil War, and was one of the founders of the Republican Party, being a leader of the German immigrants in Illinois who staunchly opposed slavery.  Mr. Geraci's great-grandfather, Francis A. Hoffman, Jr., was corporation counsel of chicago in the 1880's, and his grandfather was a corporate attorney who received his B.A. from Knox College, and his J.D. from University of Michigan.  Mr. Geraci's sister is also an attorney.

Mr. Geraci received his B.A. from DePaul University in 1971, where he was editor in chief of The DePaulia, the student newspaper. He received his Juris Doctor degree from DePaul University College of Law in 1974, and was first admitted to practice law in Illinois on May 21, 1974.

Peter Francis Geraci is married to Holly B. (Wakefield) Geraci, with whom he attended Foreman High School on the northwest side of Chicago. Mr. and Mrs. Geraci are supporters of many charitable organizations, and Mrs. Geraci is currently serving on the Women's Board of the Lincoln Park Zoo, and on the board of the Loretto Hospital Foundation.

Mr. Geraci's law firm, the Law Offices of Peter Francis Geraci, was founded in 1977. It has evolved from a general practice firm, to a multi-state law firm concentrating in consumer bankruptcy with about 30 offices in Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin and Michigan.

Peter Francis Geraci is a member of an affiliated firm, Geraci, Arreola and Hernandez, L.L.C. concentrates in serious injury cases, work injuries, construction injuries, trucking accidents, and other serious personal injuries, across the country. Mr. Geraci is an accomplished trial attorney.  His largest jury verdict to date is $6.5 million, awarded in DuPage County, Illinois, in 2003.  Before that time, there were no large medical malpractice verdicts in that county.  Mr. Geraci's case, on behalf of a disabled 11 year old injured at birth when his mother's care was neglected by hospital personnel, established that a properly prepared case medical malpractice case can receive a fair trial even in a staunchly conservative locale.  Since that time, there have been 3 other medical malpractice verdicts larger than this case in DuPage County.  The case was appealed by the defense, upheld in the Appellate and Supreme Courts of Illinois, and after exhausting appeals, the defendant paid the full verdict including every cent of interest, amounting to a recovery of over $8 million.  After costs of trial and appeal and attorneys' fees, which are low in many medical malpractice cases, the guardian of the estate of the minor had on deposit almost $6 million to provide for future care for the expected life of the young disabled man.

Although Peter Francis Geraci has long practiced trial law, solely on behalf of injured persons, he is better know for his consumer bankruptcy practice.  Visit the website for that bankruptcy practice for more information. 

Photos and videos

Location

Geraci Law LLC
55 E. Monroe St. #3400
National Headquarters
Chicago, IL, 60603-5710
Geraci Law LLC
5495 E 82nd St
Indianapolis, IN, 46250
Geraci Law LLC
2505 N Mayfair Road
Milwaukee, WI, 53226-1404
Geraci Law LLC
33 N Roselle Road
Schaumburg, IL, 60194
Geraci Law LLC
7707 S. U.S. 31
Greenwood, IN, 46227
Geraci Law LLC
1888 N Farnsworth
Aurora, IL, 60505
Hide locations

Bankruptcy lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  1618 customer reviews
Posted by Ericka | May 14, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Happy Clients
We are pleased with the legal services with Geraci Law. They lawyers, Hernandez, Nelson and Kinzer are fantastic. If you ever need legal help, this is the place to come.
Posted by Arimis | February 29, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Bankruptcy
Attorney Tarek Khalil from Geraci Law L.LC has provided me with the information and resources that I needed to begin the process of becoming debt free. I have learned so much through this process from either the office visit’s and from the credit counseling services that will be beneficial now and within the future. The staff at Geraci Law L.L.C were always very helpful and available to answer any questions or concerns that I had. Geraci Law L.L.C truly makes a difference and having an attorney like Tarek Khalil that is willing to listen and help is truly a phenomenal experience. If you are in trouble reach out to Geraci Law L.L.C.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 14, 2024
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Phenomenal Service
I appreciate everyone's work Frank is a great attorney signing me up, Andrew filed my case quickly and efficiently.
Posted by Nydia | December 6, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
the best attorneys i've met with
Juan and Yusuf were so nice to me and made me feel comfortable and safe putting my financial future in their hands. I would recommend them to all my friends and family.
Posted by Robert | October 26, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Wylie W. Mok
Mr. Mok was really helpful in getting my case ready. He turned a really stressful situation for me into a zen like state that left a great impression of his work ethic from the company to me.
Posted by Elizabeth | September 26, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Service you can depend on!!
When I contacted this office I had the pleasure of getting an appointment with Attorney Mok. Mr. Mok was compassionate about the issue at hand and extremely knowledgeable to what it was that I needed. I would recommend this attorney and the location ten times fold due to the staff upon entry as well as the service provided. Thank you for the advice given and the service provided.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 13, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Yair Q
I had a great experience with my lawyer who went above and beyond in case case and walked me through the process I had.
Posted by anonymous | August 11, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Very Prompt Service
I was very impressed with how Juan and Yusuf thoroughly explained the process to me and how quickly they moved to get the ball rolling. They were very knowledgeable and easy to contact when I needed assistance and had questions.
Posted by Gisele | August 9, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome
I would like to thank the attorney I had today. Please charge it to my head,and not my heart, but I forgot his name. He was kind, polite, and very professional. He answered all my questions and I answered all his. This was in a timely manner. Thank you so much for your time. ❤️
Posted by Mamie | August 7, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Bankruptcy help
When I needed help Geraci law firm was there. I was stressed and nervous and they comforted me throughout the process.
Posted by Ashley | August 7, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent attorney!
I loved the process with geraci law! Everything was well defined and made clear to us as we went over every step. All of my questions were answered immediately because of the consistent contact through the online portal. Excellent job!
Posted by anonymous | July 24, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent, professional and helpful during a stressful time
I worked with Wylie W. Mok at Geraci Law. He advised me on the right course of action, providing crucial insight to guide me toward the right decisions. His straightforward style, his breadth of knowledge and his advice regarding my situation made all the difference. Highly recommend this attorney.
Posted by Troy | June 28, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Beyond satisfied
Between Brent and Andrew, I have been extremely satisfied. They have helped me every step of the way and are extremely quick at responding to any kind of questions I've had along the way. I highly recommend.
Posted by Millard | June 27, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Really helpful
The firm is really helpful and loyal and straight to the point. I appreciate all the work they're doing for me
Posted by anonymous | June 1, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Service and Support
My wife and I can not thank Geraci Law for their guidance through our bankruptcy proceedings. When we showed up at our local office on October 2017, we were scared, frustrated, and unsure of the future. At every instance, members of this firm were at our sides as our advocates.
Posted by Yvonne | March 17, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Bankruptcy
I was satisfied the first time, and I used them again, and I’m satisfied again
Posted by anonymous | February 14, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Service and Guidance
Wiley, Maria and Team are exceptional. They are handling my case with care and compassion. They have been wonderful to work with and I appreciate them so much. It's been a stressful time for me and it helps to know that I have a knowledgeable group of professionals helping me. Thank you!
Posted by Esmeralda | January 19, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Experience!!
Frank and staff made me feel welcome as soon I walked in. He explained the process in great detail and didn’t make me feel like a failure. Every time I had a question I was able to reach him by phone, email or text. I highly recommend them.
Posted by Wanetta | November 4, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Get The Job Done
I had to file a chapter 7 didn’t want to, but it was the best decision I made they help me with all my questions,that needed to be answered was referred by a close friend! They definitely got the job done ReplyLike
Posted by anonymous | August 9, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Bankruptcy
I've used them before and I recommend them to anyone
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 10 minutes
  • Contingency 20%-40%
Payment methods
Cash, Check

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Managing Partner
  • Geraci Law LLC
  • 1977 - Present

Education

  • DePaul University College of Law
  • Juris Doctor
  • 1974

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Chase v. Glen Oaks Hospital and Medical Center
  • $6.5 million verdict for medical mapractice

Associations

  • Indiana Bar Foundation
  • 2014 - Present
  • National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys
  • Member
  • 1999 - Present
  • National Association of Chapter 13 Trustees
  • Chapter 13 Trustee Association
  • 1996 - Present
  • Indiana State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1996 - Present
  • Milwaukee Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1996 - Present
  • Illinois State Bar Association
  • Illinois Attorney Bar Association
  • 1974 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish
  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Spirit of Benevolence Award
  • Little City Foundation
  • 2006
  • Champion of Order of Protectors of Consumer Debtors
  • National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys
  • 2004
  • Friend of Consumer Debtors
  • National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys
  • 2003
  • Distinguished Champion of the Order of Protectors of Debtors
  • National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys, Inc.
  • 2002
View all awards

Publications

Speaking Engagements

  • Top 8 Complications in Bankruptcy
  • Ethical Considerations
  • 2010
  • The Basics of Chapters 7 and 13
  • Chapter 7 or 13: Select the Right Chapter for Your Client
  • 2008
  • Nuts and Bolts of Bankruptcy Law
  • Qualifying Your Client for Chapter 7 or 13
  • 2008
  • Collecton Law Tips and Strategies
  • Fair Debt Collection Practices
  • 2008
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (64)
Given (1)
Endorse Peter
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Feb 11
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"In a city full of lawyers, Peter Francis Geraci is one of the best I have ever had the pleasure of working with on both bankruptcy and litigation matters. What sets Peter apart from the rest is his tireless devotion to doing justice. Peter's ethics and morals set him apart from every other lawyer I have ever met. When he sees an injustice or decides to correct a situation that is unjust, unethical or wrong, Peter devotes himself like no other lawyer to correct that wrong."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 28
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I full endorse Mr. Geraci. His passion for superb service and attorney excellence is uncompromising and inspiring."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 22
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"Mr. Geraci is one of the most knowledgeable, passionate, legally minded individuals I have ever known. He is a wonderful mentor and teacher and I have learned a great deal as an employee of his for nearly 5 years."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 21
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"He is passionate about his bankruptcy and personal injury practice and he is passionate about his clients. He wants to help his clients have a better life and help them during their difficult times. He is actively involved in his law practice and leads in increasing the wealth of knowledge within the firm."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 20
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 19
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"Mr. Geraci is a true expert in the field of bankruptcy. He has devoted the past 40 years to helping hundreds of thousands of people deal with their debt problems. I endorse this lawyer."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Co-worker
"Mr. Geraci is an excellent knowledgeable attorney and an expert in consumer bankruptcy matters. He is constantly looking out for his clients to ensure that their bankruptcy experience is of the highest quality. Mr. Geraci also shares his vast knowledge of bankruptcy law with his employees. I endorse this attorney for anyone that needs to get out of debt, rebuild their credit, and take control of their financial future."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer. He has unparalleled hands on experience and knowledge of the law."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer. I have had the pleasure of working for Mr. Geraci for nearly 6 years. He is a truly gifted man and is committed to his clients."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer. You will not find a more passionate and knowledgeable attorney to deal with in the field of bankruptcy law."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Geraci has been committed to helping honest people deal with their debt for almost 40 years. He has an exceptionally sharp legal mind and makes sure that his employees keep up with the latest developments in the law - all to better serve their clients."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Geraci and his team are committed and experienced consumer bankruptcy attorneys."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer. He is a fantastic and driven attorney who had helped hundreds of thousands of people with their personal finances!"
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer. I would recommend Mr. Geraci to anyone who is seeking bankruptcy relief. Mr. Geraci is the most prominent bankruptcy attorney in the country and is committed to obtaining the best possible outcome for his clients."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"One of the finest, if not the finest, bankruptcy and personal injury attorneys in the country."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Co-worker
"Geraci Law has been around for decades for a reason. He's the only high-quality high-volume practice in the area. Other firms come and go with the wind, but this is the guy and the firm that you know will still be here to help you 5, 10, 15 years down the road. With any other bankruptcy lawyer, there's a good chance that if you call 5 years from now needing assistance, you'll get a disconnected phone line. He's the only one doing this the right way."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"The most knowledgeable and caring attorney I have ever worked with."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Jan 18
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer. Peter Francis Geraci is synonymous with bankruptcy in Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin for good reason."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Oct 15
Relationship: Co-worker
"Mr. Geraci has over 30 years of experience in consumer bankruptcy and remains actively engaged in his firm and community. I fully endorse Mr. Geraci."
Bankruptcy and debt Attorney | Oct 15
Relationship: Worked for lawyer
"I endorse this lawyer. I have worked for Mr. Geraci for the past 3 years and can says without hesitation: this is the man to see for Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 Bankruptcy."
View more endorsements
Bankruptcy and debt