Skip to main content

Michael Gruszeczki

Criminal defense Attorney at Chicago, IL

5.0   31 reviews

Call and speak with several attorneys to find best fit for your specific legal issue.
Can't find what you are looking for?
Avvo has 97% of all lawyers in the US.
Find the best ones near you.
Find Nearby Lawyers

About Michael

Learn Michael’s areas of practice.

I've been a lifelong resident of Cook County, born and raised on the northwest side of the city. After graduating from law school, I worked as a prosecutor in Cook County.  I've taken what I've learned there to represent my clients vigorously. I pride myself in helping my clients get results. 

Licensed for 15 years
State IL
Status Active And Authorized To Practice Law
Acquired 2007
Updated 01/06/2023

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Michael

Gruszeczki & Smith Law, LLP
33 N. Dearborn
Suite 1950
Chicago, IL, 60602

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  31 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | July 11, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding
After we were scammed by a law firm in Chicago, our financial crime attorney recommended he and a couple of other attorneys to us to work on my older brother's case. As soon as my family met with him, we knew that he is the guy we need - no BS or playing tricks. He makes sure that his clients are on the same page as him and gives honest and professional advice. If you need help with criminal defense in Chicago, he is the man.
Read less
Posted by Vasile | February 12, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Extremely professional
Michael is an example! He handled my case extremely fast and gave me a lot of confidence that I’m in good hands. He was right. Respect!
Posted by Michael | July 2, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Had a great experience
I used Michael in two separate matters : an auto accident and a real estate closing. He was responsive to my time constraints and was able to deal with both matters efficiently. Would certainly recommend him to anyone who needs results oriented legal advice.
Posted by Jimmie | July 1, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Representation
Mike is one of the most down to earth guys I have ever met. I needed an attorney and reached out to Mike. He immediately put me at ease with his knowledge of the law. Mike exceeded all of my expectations. I've recommended Mike to numerous people.
Posted by Colleen | July 1, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Lawyer
Mr. Gruszeczki handled a legal matter for me. He was professional and efficient. I would recommend him!
Posted by Anthony | July 1, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend
Very helpful, proactive, and easy to work with. The process was very smooth.
Posted by Blaine | March 20, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUI defense
Mike should have his own television show. He fought hard for me against a DUI charge and left no stone unturned. I had sumbitted to a breathalyzer and came out with .09 on location and .083 at the station and with his counsel and hard nosed approach, I beat the DUI charge at trial. I would recommend him to anyone, anytime. I am ecstatic with the results he provided. Genuine guy. Thanks Mike.
Read less
Posted by Alonzo | March 14, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
GREAT LAWYER!!!
Michael has helped me with my DUI case and Traffic tickets. Both times he has been a great help for myself and family. I highly recommend Michael to anyone out there that may run into any legal trouble.
Posted by Mack | March 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mack
I was very satisfied with the job done by my lawyer he said what he was going to do and he did it and he refunded me money from a final that I needed to think so overall I believe is an excellent job
Posted by Diane | March 12, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Lawyer Extraordinaire !
Mike was my real estate attorney for a first time Illinois home purchase. I'm from California and knew nothing about real estate purchasing in Illinois - it's different. Mike is extremely knowledgeable - check out his credentials, but more importantly, he takes the complexity of the language of the law and translates it into "common speak". He's patient, helpful and educates you in the process along the way. I highly recommend Mike as an attorney. He's excellent!
Read less
Posted by Julia | March 9, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Real Estate too!
Michael did an excellent job handling the closings of a condo I sold, house I sold, and house I purchased. He was thorough, able to explain all details to me, and easy to work with. I highly recommend Michael for any real estate needs you may have.
Posted by Bill | March 7, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Real Estate Purchase
Mike helped me with a real estate purchase in early 2015. He was extremely responsive and even proactive with communication, and worked to ensure a smooth closing. I would feel confident using Mike's services again in any circumstance.
Posted by Michael | March 7, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Michael Gruszecki: Review
We, my wife and I, have worked with Mr. Gruszecki on multiple home sales and purchases. We can't say enough great things about the experience. Mr. Gruszecki was on top of things from the beginning and helped ease some of our stress throughout the process. We have given his name to many of our friends and family members.
Posted by Gina | March 5, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
I HIGHLY recommend Michael Gruszeczki! He is the best attorney we've ever had. Outstanding at his job and surpasses all others
First I will state that being from a very large family, we’ve used other attorneys in the past. We could not believe the difference in working with Mr. Gruszeczki compared to other attorneys in the past. There is no comparison as he is the best attorney out there. He is the epitome of professionalism, knows exactly what he’s doing, how he will handle the case & is in constant communication with his client from start to finish. My 19 yr old son was arrested for reckless driving & speeding. He had 3 friends in the bed of his truck while driving & speeding. The speeding ticket was also coded as a higher offense then a “normal” speeding ticket. My son has no prior offenses & has never been in trouble with the police or in school. I asked a close friend, who works with many attorneys, to recommend the best attorney she knew. She immediately gave me Mike Gruszeczki’s name. After my son & I consulted Mr. Gruszeczki, we were very relieved to have found an attorney who genuinely cared, took as much time as needed to get all of the facts, listen, answer questions & set forth a plan of action to work on my son’s case. The state’s attorney would not drop the reckless driving charge no matter what Mr. Gruszeczki presented to them. He advised us that going to trial would be in my son’s best interest if my son agreed with his recommendation. Mr. Gruszeczki as always, explained everything to us in laymen’s terms so we fully understood what was happening, what could happen, & what was going to happen. This case took six months of going back & forth to court, pulling dash cam video, etc. In the end, Mr. Gruszeczki took my son’s case to trial. He was able to argue the case so that the reckless driving charge was dropped, the speeding ticket was brought down to a lesser charged speeding ticket & my son received supervision. Throughout this whole process my son & I trusted Mr. Gruszeczki completely, as my son’s future depended on how well he knew his job. There is no question in my mind that this would have went badly for my son if we had chosen another attorney. Mr. Gruszeczki is the best attorney and we would not consider using any one but him.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 5, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Representation
Michael helped me close on a place that I recently purchased. He was available whenever I needed to speak to him, and answered all my thousands of questions. He had a great amount of knowledge about the whole process, and new how to handle challenging situations when they arose. He communicated all the necessary information that I needed to know, and took the time to explain the parts that were confusing to me. He provided great advice, took the time to tell me my options, and discussed the different outcomes of those decisions. He treated me and everyone involved with respect. Overall, he represented me with great professionalism and made the whole process less stressful.
Read less
Posted by Lisa | March 4, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Superb Representation
Mike served as my attorney on two real estate transactions. He was knowledgeable, thorough, and available to answer questions throughout the process. I highly recommend him.
Posted by anonymous | March 4, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUI/DWI
Mike is a fantastic attorney. As a former prosecutor he knows the Cook County criminal justice system inside and out. He was able to secure an optimal outcome to my case.
Posted by Mary | April 15, 2014
excellent
Mike is very personable and lets you know what is going to happen. He keeps you informed and explains your options. I felt very nervous going into court, and during the initial proceedings. Mike took us aside and explained what was happening. He put me at ease. I highly recommend Mike and will use him again, If needed.
Posted by John | April 10, 2014
Great Attorney
Mike handled my latest real estate closing in which my company sold an investment property. He'll handle all of my closings in the future. He was prompt, efficient and very affordable. Highly recommended.
Posted by Mike | April 7, 2014
Excellent Attorney
You're in good hands with Mike representing you in any legal matters. He is knowledgable, thorough and responsive. MIke handled a foreclosed real estate purchase for me and I felt quite confident I had representation with the qualities I needed for a such a transaction. I highly recommend Mike.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
  • Retainer Sometimes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Gruszeczki & Smith Law, LLP
  • 2013 - Present
  • Assistant State's Attorney
  • Cook County State's Attorney's Office
  • 2007 - 2013
  • Principal
  • Law Offices of Michael R. Gruszeczki
  • 2007 - 2013

Education

  • DePaul University College of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2007
  • Loyola University Chicago
  • BBA - Bachelor of Business Administration
  • 1998

Legal Cases

  • People v. KP
  • Not Guilty
  • People v. RC
  • Case dismissed
  • People v. JM
  • Case dismissed
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Illinois Super Lawyers
  • 2016 Rising Star Criminal Defense
  • 2016 - Present
  • National Advocacy for DUI Defense
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Cook County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Illinois State Bar Association, Criminal Justice Section
  • Board Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • Chicago Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2007 - Present
  • National College of District Attorneys
  • Member
  • 2007 - 2013
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2006 - 2007
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Rising Star
  • Illinois Super Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Rising Star
  • Illinois Super Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Nationally Ranked Superior DUI Attorney
  • National Advocacy for DUI Defense
  • 2014
  • Client's Choice
  • Avvo
  • 2014
  • Cum Laud
  • Depaul University College of Law
  • 2007
  • Dean's List
  • DePaul University College of Law
  • 2006
  • Dean's List
  • DePaul University College of Law
  • 2005
  • Dean's List
  • Depaul University College of Law
  • 2004
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Depaul University
  • Defense Attorney Perspective In Criminal Justice
  • 2015
  • DePaul Univeristy
  • Defense Attorney Perspective in Criminal Justice
  • 2014

Attorney endorsements

Received (17)
Given (18)
Endorse Michael
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 31
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Mike is an incredible trial lawyer who has an impressive knowledge of the law. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking out a criminal defense attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mike is a fantastic attorney and a tireless advocate for his clients. He is one of the top attorney's in his field. I endorse this lawyer."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Jan 28
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I highly endorse attorney Mike Gruszeczki. I worked with Mike when we were both prosecutors and now I see him often in court representing his clients. Professional, hard working, and gets the job done."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I highly endorse Mr. Gruszeczki. Very experienced and caring attorney who gets great results in representing clients. Keep up the great work!"
DUI and DWI Attorney | Aug 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Business Attorney | Oct 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Michael is an excellent attorney. I had the privilege of watching him cross exam a police officer during a DUI trial. He did an outstanding job breaking down the officer's testimony and because of him the client was found NOT GUILTY."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 01
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. Mike is a strong attorney who knows how to effectively represent defendants and communicate with prosecutors. As a former prosecutor, I encountered Mike on many occasions as oppossing counsel. Mike was excellent at reaching resolutions that protected the rights of his clients."
Unknown Attorney | Apr 30
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Michael is a true professional who gets results. He is a highly skilled former prosecutor who not only knows the law but understands how the system works."
Unknown Attorney | Apr 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. A highly skilled and respected lawyer in the community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Phenomenal trial attorney and superior knowledge of the law."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 21
Relationship: Friend
"I regularly refer friends and colleagues to Mike and they are always happy with his results."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mike is an excellent attorney who has made a name for himself in the criminal defense and DUI fields. He is dedicated to and successful at achieving the best possible results for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 09
Relationship: Other
"Mike is an outstanding lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mike Gruszeczki is an outstanding attorney. His expertise in criminal defense and real estate proceedings combined with his professional work ethics and reputation make him an excellent attribute to the legal community. I highly recommend him."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Mar 23
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Mike is an excellent advocate for his clients. I have seen him obtain favorable results for his clients on many occasions."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Mar 21
Relationship: Co-worker
"I endorse this lawyer. Mike gets fantastic results on a wide variety of DUI and criminal cases."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Speeding and traffic ticket
Personal injury
Criminal defense
DUI and DWI
Litigation
Criminal defense
General practice
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Contracts and agreements
Criminal defense