Skip to main content

Dustin Edward Smith

Criminal defense Attorney at Chicago, IL

5.0   8 reviews
  • Licensed for 17 years
    State IL
    Acquired 2007
    Status
    Active and Authorized to Practice Law No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Dustin

Learn Dustin’s areas of practice.

Dustin began his legal career as a prosector with the Cook County State's Attorney's Office in Chicago, Illinois.  Throughout his career as a prosecutor, Dustin has worked on all aspects of felony cases including grand jury indictments, bond hearings, motion practice, bench trials, jury trials, and sentencing hearings. As a criminal prosecutor Dustin has handled thousands of felony cases including retail theft, DUI, traffic violations, gun charges, drug charges, possession of stolen motor vehicle, burglary, residential burglary, robbery, armed robbery, battery, aggravated battery, sex crimes, white collar crimes, attempt murder, and more.

Dustin is an experienced trial lawyer who is willing to litigate all aspects of your case in a professional and efficient manner be it a motion, a bench trial, or a jury trial. Dustin prides himself on his ability to understand his clients’ position and advocate accordingly.

Dustin is also an experienced real estate attorney and licensed real estate managing broker who has extensive experience handling transactional real estate for clients buying and selling homes throughout Illinois. Dustin is committed for helping his clients’ transition from one home to another with minimal stress.

Location

G&S DUI Attorneys at Law
33 N Dearborn St #1950
Chicago, IL, 60602

Criminal Defense lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  8 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Brittany | October 6, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Dustin Smith is exceptional!
My husband and I have worked with Dustin Smith countless times over the past 5 years with his representation in real estate law, and we look forward to many more! Dustin is an extremely trusted advisor, and he truly cares about his clients. We have made numerous recommendations to friends, family, and to our own clients, and they have all referred and recommended him frequently. We have never had any complaints, as representation with him is always a smooth transaction. Dustin is diligent, determined, and highly educated in all of the areas of law that he specializes in. He's incredibly quick at providing updates, and his follow up is extremely thorough. You can feel incredibly safe and secure with Dustin Smith as your attorney, and he truly provides the protection and guidance that our clients need in every real estate transaction. Dustin, thank you for being exceptional at everything that you do, and we cannot speak more highly of you to everyone we encounter requiring your services! We look forward to many more years working with you!
Read less
Posted by Kelly | October 6, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Satisfied Client
Dustin Smith has been my attorney for both purchasing a new home, and selling a home. Both experiences have been wonderful. Dustin did a great job at explaining both processes, going through all of the paperwork with me, answering all of my questions, and worked hard in making sure there weren't any issues/unknowns at the time of closing. Both processes were quick and painless. I honestly felt like I did not do much during both of these closings, and I think that it exactly how a Client wants to feel - taken care of. If you want to work with someone who is knowledgeable, honest, and works hard to get the job done- then I highly recommend Dustin Smith!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 5, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Dustin is great
Dustin help with the bike process and closing of my new home and the sale of a home. He handled everything and was able to answer every question I could come up with. He is very prompt in answering emails and phone calls. I would recommend him to anyone.
Posted by Kevin | November 9, 2013
Highly Recommend Dustin Smith.
I was a witness in a domestic battery case which I was subpoenaed to testify in. The victim pressed battery charges against me for being involved. I was kept out of jail and everything was dropped thanks to Dustin. Under what I considered a high-pressure situation where I was blind-sided and about to be arrested he handled it with absolute professionalism and I didn't even have to speak. Highly recommend.
Read less
Posted by Jorie | October 27, 2013
Recommend to family, friends and co-workers!
Gruszeczki & Smith Law represented me in a real estate closing roughly a year ago. Extremely professional and reliable throughout the entire process. I felt comfortable asking all of my questions and knew I was in good hands. It was actually the easiest real estate transaction I've worked through because of Mike and Dustin. I've recommended to family, friends and co-workers.
Read less
Posted by Carrie | October 25, 2013
Professional
I have used Dustin Smith's legal services for both real estate transactions and for legal advice pertaining to my small business. I could't be happier with his attention to detail and his overall knowledge and professionalism.
Posted by WW | October 17, 2013
Attorney Justin Smith - A Twenty-first Century Attorney - Bluntly Honest and Trustworthy
Attorney Justin Smith is a magician! I had a difficult drug conviction looming over my head; on house-arrest with a two count indictment and the prospect of facing a maximum of 30 years in prison. Not only am I free, but the two count indictment was reduced to the lower count, and the maximum conviction was reduced to 2 years probation. Attorney Smith is a strong defense attorney, with a vast legal network in Chicago, also there to represent me at each court appearance. I am a west-side resident -- living in a gang and drug infested community in Chicago yet, Dustin understood my case, and was for me and my fiance' every step of the way. I highly recommend this twenty-first century Attorney, who did not look down on me, or pass me off to another Attorney despite my situations. Attorney Smith worked with me without hesitation. He kept me abreast of the laws, and responded to any/all questions my Fiance' and I had regarding possible outcomes. I thank Attorney Smith for providing a personal touch; which can sometimes be overlooked. He is blunt, honest and open from beginning till end. I have recommended Dustin to friends and family, and to you as you read my zealous testimony! Attorney Smith will be there without hesitation -- just be open with him, and he will do the same in return. Thanks again Dustin for being a twenty-first century attorney who achieves fairness through justice via the Law. God bless you!
Read less
Posted by Alexa | June 14, 2013
Professional, dependable and knowledgeable
Professional, dependable and knowledgeable are just 3 words that I would use to describe attorney Dustin Smith. Mr. Smith reviewed my case, made an assessment and informed me of any steps, if needed, we would take to win my case. Because of Mr. Smith's expertise we indeed did win this case. Thank you Gruszeczki & Smith.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.3 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Gruszeczki & Smith Law, LLP
  • 2013 - Present
  • Assistant State's Attorney
  • Cook County State's Attorney's Office, Chicago, Il
  • 2007 - 2013

Education

  • John Marshall Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2007
  • University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 2002

Sample of Legal Cases

  • People v. RD
  • Driver's License Restored with no Suspension
  • People v. EM
  • Case Dismissed
  • People v. CH
  • Not Guilty

Associations

  • Chicago Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • Illinois State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • Federal Trial Bar for the Northern District of Illinois
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • Cook County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2014

Publications

  • Website Blog
  • 3 Moving Traffic Violations in 1 Year Can Lead to Suspension of Your IL Driver’s License
  • 2014
  • Website Blog
  • Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License and Mandatory Jail Time
  • 2014

Speaking Engagements

  • DePaul College
  • Criminal Defense Strategy
  • 2016

Attorney endorsements

Received (9)
Given (6)
Endorse Dustin
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Dustin works hard on behalf of his clients. As a former prosecutor, Dustin has excellent legal knowledge and he is a well-respected attorney in criminal law."
DUI and DWI Attorney | Sep 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 13
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 30
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Dustin is one of the best legal advocates in the Chicago land area. Dustin's dedication to his craft ensures his clients are always well represented. As a former prosecutor I am glad I don't have to face him in court."
Unknown Attorney | Apr 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. A highly skilled and respected lawyer in the community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Phenomenal trial attorney and superior knowledge of the law."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 16
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Dustin has established a reputation in the criminal defense and DUI fields as a hardworking and driven attorney who is devoted to achieving the best possible results for his clients. I highly recommend him."
Real estate Attorney | Apr 09
Relationship: Friend
"Dustin is extremely professional and he does fantastic legal work."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 21
Relationship: Co-worker
"Dustin is a tireless advocate who obtains excellent results for his clients. He is experienced and successful in several fields, including DUI, Criminal Defense, Family Law, Real Estate, and Traffic."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Chicago Criminal defense Lawyer Dustin Edward Smith
Dustin Edward Smith
Criminal defense Attorney
Chicago, IL
Licensed for 17 years
Free Consultation