Skip to main content

David L. Freidberg

Criminal defense Attorney at Chicago, IL

5.0   79 reviews

also known as Experienced Chicago Criminal Lawyer

  • State Years
    Illinois - IL 28 years
    Texas - TX 28 years
  • Licensed for 28 years
    State IL
    Acquired 1995
    Status
    Active and Authorized to Practice Law No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 28 years
    State TX
    Acquired 1995
    Status
    Not Eligible to Practice - Administrative No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About David

Learn David’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    50%
    I practice mainly in the area of criminal defense, specifically in the Cook and DuPage County areas.

    29 years

  2. Domestic violence
    30%

    29 years

  3. Sex crime
    20%

My firm is here for your protection, first and foremost.  If you have been accused or arrested for criminal activity, we provide the best representation. Our skilled criminal defense team practices aggressive, proactive and highly-creative defense strategies to protect your rights. Why? Because we know there are thousands of innocent people spending time in prison for something they didn't do! The driving force behind this law firm is our desire to protect your rights and your liberty. Our results are outstanding. In fact quite often our experience in the courtroom ensures that many cases avoid the necessity of everhaving to go to trial.  Our extensive relationships with the prosecutors, courtroom personnel and the judiciary resuilt in numerous charges being dismissed entirely or at the very least having your charges reduced so as to avoid ANY prison or jail incarceration and avoiding ANY criminal record that would affect future employment, education, the ability to obtain housing or even obtaining a loan from a financial institution.

Each criminal case is unique, and only an experienced specialist can anticipate the infinite variables in every criminal case. We provide the type of representation that a criminal defendant needs to successfully protect their rights. The truth is, no matter what the person's intelligence or educational background, the criminal justice system makes it virtually impossible to do a competent job of representing oneself. That’s our job. We have represented thousands of clients in Cook, Lake, DuPage, Will, McHenry and Kane counties, in addition to Federal Courts in Illinois.

Regardless of who you employ for legal representation, allow us to offer this piece of advice:you should strongly avoid discussing your case or signing any statements against your interest without having an experienced criminal defense attorney at your side.  As you may be aware, any statement made can and will be used against you by the prosecution. 

Additionally, you would be well-advised to avoid entering a plea of guilty on any offense without the sound advice of a defense attorney.  It makes no difference whether the crime is a small misdemeanor or a serious felony.  Any conviction on your criminal record may have adverse affects to your future employment.

It may seem dauting at first, but contacting an attorney at the very beginning of a case can be the smartest move you make.  We are available 24/7 to provide you with a FREE consultation with no obligation.  Mr. Freidberg will provide you with general guidance and straight forward answers to the questions that are probably going through your mind right now. CALL US:

Location

David L. Freidberg, P.C.
70 West Madison Street
Suite 1450
Chicago, IL, 60602
DuPage Office
18 West 140 Butterfield Road
Suite 1500
Oak Brook Terrace, IL, 60181
Skokie Office
5250 Old Orchard Road
Suite 300
Skokie, IL, 60077
Hide locations

Similar lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  79 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | January 25, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer
David F. Freidberg is an excellent attorney, I would highly recommend him to anyone who is in need of an attorney. He is very knowledgeable and professional and understandable lawyer. He is great on communication he answers my my questions that needed to be answered. I am very well please with his services very good lawyer. Thank you Sir.
Read less
Posted by Cory | October 30, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney !!
David is very knowledgeable of the law, completely professional, ALWAYS quickly responded to my calls or texts, and I truly believe an all around good person !!
Posted by Patrick | September 21, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent lawyer
David went above and beyond to win my case if you ever need a lawyer trust me hire David L Freidberg
Posted by lucas | August 28, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Solid and efficient
David was quick and consistent with his communication. His legal work representing me was thorough and he got the job done.
Posted by Nicole | February 27, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Love him
Took me a while to write this I’ve been busy but I had to let the world know….Always responds to you even when not in the office. So helpful and understanding. Has changed my life in the most helpful way possible. Now I have a fresh start with my background sealed and expunged! You are saving lives man never change!
Posted by Brian | January 9, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney and Highly Recommended
I hired David Feinberg to help me out of a difficult situation. He was professional, easy to deal with and always in communication with me. He did an outstanding job and would recommend him to anyone in need.
Posted by anonymous | January 5, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer who delivers results
David was so great to work with on a protection order against me by a retaliatory ex. David quickly took on my case, reviewed all the details with me and handled all the court appearances and paperwork. I really appreciated how much he had my back, got to a resolution and having the protection order vacated. He was very communicative, especially when this occurred during the holidays. I highly recommend David if you are looking for someone who is attentive, can get you results quickly and efficiently, and easy to work with.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 30, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Order of Protection
David Freidberg is the best attorney I have ever hired to help me. My son had an order of protection issued to him and David got the whole matter dismissed in court. David was professional, helpful and attentive. His quick responses to my questions and concerns were answered immediately. He was very courteous to our situation. David is very knowledgeable about the law and knows what to do to help you. I am so happy I hired him to help my son and would not hesitate to use him again and refer him to anyone who would need his services. He is simply the best!
Read less
Posted by Joe | October 28, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Service.
I contacted David and he immediately made me feel at ease. He was not the first lawyer I called. The consult I had prior left me uneasy and a wreck. David made me feel much better and he knew his stuff. I knew within 10 minutes that David was very educated and would be my lawyer. He stayed in contact and answered calls and texts almost immediately. He was able to get my order vacated and dismissed. I highly recommend David Freidburg for your needs.
Read less
Posted by Daddy's | September 21, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best in the Chicagoland area. PERIOT!
Outstanding, above par experience. Thank you for your attentive ear and for being there - without fail. Peace and Blessings
Posted by anonymous | September 14, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Amazing Chicago Attorney !
David, Was Amazing and also very responsive and approachable, as well as professional. He did exactly what he promised he would do and took good care of me. I definitely recommend him as an attorney. Thank you so much David !
Posted by Naji | August 2, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Expungement
I wanted to thank David for doing an outstanding job in getting my record expunges. When he informed me that it was done and we have the order, it felt like I was born again. Thank you for giving me my life back. Best service ever!!!
Posted by Laura | July 21, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional and Knowledgeable
David was very helpful and extremely knowledgeable in his advise and execution. He was able to explain the timelines within the court system to management expectations and deliver results.
Posted by anonymous | July 11, 2022
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Excellent experience
Very helpful, timely and knowledgeable. David was excellent. Always responsive, great communication.
Posted by Randolph | May 12, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
My experience with Mr. Freidberg
This was just a great experience that I had with Mr. David he was very professional and always answered any questions I had and he responded very quickly I highly recommend him for any needs you may have involving and attorney it was very cost efficient also
Posted by Shayla Staples | April 22, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
David is the Bomb
David is knowledgeable professional and he is tough the kind of cases I had I knew for sure it was the end of my career but David took all the doubt I had away he fought tough and got both my charges dismissed he’s really laid back and down to earth and knows his stuff if your looking for a lawyer I highly recommend David he gets the job done and his communication is excellent he lets you know what he’s doing every step of the way you won’t regret hiring David thank you for everything I’m so grateful to find an attorney who truly cares about their clients and fights hard
Read less
Posted by Jasper | January 10, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Awesome experience
What I can say is that the trust I felt with David handling my case was simply awesome. The first day I contacted this firm David responded to me within 15 minutes or less. The professionalism I experienced is worth 10 stars… last thing I was overly satisfied!!!
Posted by Pedro G. from Orlando Florida | September 18, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended
Mr. Freidberg is a great and honest attorney. I live in Orlando FL and was in dire need of a trustworthy attorney in Illinois. Well let me tell you that I hired Mr. Freidberg to help expunge and seal my past for a great job oppurtunity which was being offered to me. I explained to Mr. Freidberg that time was against us cause this big company wanted to hire me. Mr. Freidberg was completely honest and transparent with me, that he would be able to expunge most of my criminal record but my most serious offense (murder) would not qualify for expungement. Mr. Freidberg said he would attempt get my murder case sealed but could not guarantee me that they judge would side with us. Well let me tell you that on Sept 16th 2021, Mr. Freidberg represented me so well he got my entire criminal background expunged and my most serious case sealed. Because of his hard work and dedication I am able to live my life worry free. Thank you Mr. Freidberg for your help. I highly recommended Mr. Freidberg to anyone and everyone in need of legal representation.
Read less
Posted by C.B. | July 14, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Work with David
As an attorney, it was a pleasure to work with David. He keeps up with all communication and is always easily accessible to answer any questions and provide updates. David delivers on time and always acts in his clients’ best interest. Hiring David was the right choice for me and it should be yours too!
Posted by anonymous | May 19, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Peace of mind
David did a wonderful job helping us with a restraining order case. He's very professional, answered all of our questions and provided guidance on how to proceed with the case. The case ended up being dismissed all thanks to David's wonderful expertise. We're really happy to have hired him and he was also a pleasure to work with. Highly recommended!!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 45 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • President/Owner
  • David L. Freidberg, P.C.
  • 2000 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Pierce & Associates, PC
  • 1996 - 2000
  • Attorney
  • Laser Pokorny Schwartz Friedman & Economos
  • 1995 - 1996

Education

  • St. Mary's University
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1995
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • BS - Bachelor of Science
  • 1992

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Unlawful Use of Weapons Conviction Vacated
  • UUW Conviction vacated
  • 94CRXXXXX
  • Murder Conviction SEALED!
  • Unlawful Use of Weapon Conviction Vacated
  • Conviction Vacated
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Women's Criminal Defense Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Illinois Criminal Defense Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2005 - Present
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2005 - Present
  • Illinois State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2000 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois
  • Member
  • 1998 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin
  • Member
  • 1998 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Southern District of Illinois
  • Member
  • 1998 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Central District of Illinois
  • Member
  • 1998 - Present
  • Phi Alpha Delta
  • Treasurer
  • 1993 - 1994
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2020
  • Super Lawyer
  • Super Lawyers
  • 2019
  • Best Criminal Defense Lawyers in Chicago - Top 20
  • Expertise
  • 2017
  • Best DUI Lawyers in Chicago
  • Expertise
  • 2017
  • Client's Choice Award 2017
  • Avvo
  • 2017
  • Client's Choice Award 2016
  • Avvo
  • 2016
  • A+ Rating
  • BBB
  • 2015
  • Client's Choice Award 2015
  • Avvo
  • 2015
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2015
  • Client's Choice Award 2014
  • Avvo
  • 2014
  • Client's Choice Award 2013
  • Avvo
  • 2013
View all awards

Publications

  • Lawyer Journal
  • How to Expunge or Seal Your Criminal Background
  • 2013
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • United States Bankruptcy Conference
  • Adversary Proceedings Regarding Dischargeability
  • 2004

Attorney endorsements

Received (42)
Given (38)
Endorse David
Expungement Attorney | Aug 21
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"David is a thorough and caring attorney committed to helping individuals clear their records within Cook County, Illinois. I am proud to be in his group of peers."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 20
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"David Freidberg is an attorney that I happily endorse, as an upstanding member of the legal community and a strong advocate for clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"David Freidberg is a top notch attorney who is well respected by the entire legal community. This is an attorney that I would trust my family members and closest friends to, and whom I proudly endorse!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 18
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"David Freidberg is a great lawyer with formidable legal skills; strongly liked and respected by the lawyers and judges in the legal community. This is an attorney that I absolutely endorse!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 20
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I know David to be a hard worker and I have been happy to refer him cases in Chicago when I don't travel to those areas. He is competent and approachable and you will not be disappointed in your representation if you hire him. I heartily endorse David!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer, and I have referred several people to his office with criminal law issues. He is always responsive and works hard."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 31
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. David is an excellent attorney. He is hard working, professional and passionate. He knows how to protect his client's rights and fights hard for his client's. I fully endorse David."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"David is an excellent attorney who fights very hard for his clients and always obtains the best possible result. Any individual would be fortunate to have David as their attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I trust David to handle my Cook County criminal cases referrals. He is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 31
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I recommend David to anyone who is in the need for a criminal defense attorney. He is an aggressive and thoughtful attorney. David is always on top of the ever changing legal landscape that impacts his clients. You can't go wrong."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 31
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"David is a consummate professional. He knows the ins and outs of criminal defense and works hard for his clients. He is a great service to the profession, respected by his colleagues and the judges in Cook County."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Terrific attorney. Works hard for his clients. Gets fantastic results."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 09
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"David Freidberg is a brilliant attorney who is excellent at his craft! David is not afraid to zealously represent his clients! David is a very hard working individual who is trustworthy, loyal and honest! I highly recommend him!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 19
Relationship: Other
"Mr. Freidberg's advice is professional and well-reasoned"
Criminal defense Attorney | Apr 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have know David for over ten years. He is an excellent attorney who aggressively fights for his clients. David is well known in the field and possesses the intellect, maturity and refined courtroom skills that assure that his clients are in good hands. Most importantly, I believe David to be an individual of impeccable integrity. David has my highest recommendation."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 28
Relationship: Other
"Mr. Freidberg's legal services go above and beyond the norm."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 31
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I endorse this lawyer. I have known David for many years, beginning when we both practiced in the bankruptcy area. Although we were often on opposing sides and David vigorously represented his clients' interests, I found him to be fair and willing to consider opposing viewpoints. Although for the most part he has moved on to different areas of the law in his practice, he provides the same diligent representation."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. David is really smart and a very effective advocate for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 14
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known David since he was first admitted to the Illinois bar as an attorney. He is a diligent and very hard working attorney who brings creativity, intelligence, and a keen insight to every case he handles. He is honest and has an excellent reputation in the criminal defense field."
View more endorsements
Expungement
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Personal injury
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Employment and labor
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Bankruptcy and debt