Skip to main content

John Jay Eannace

Criminal defense Attorney at Palos Heights, IL

4.7   15 reviews
  • Licensed for 42 years
    State IL
    Acquired 1982
    Status
    Active and Authorized to Practice Law No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About John

Learn John’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    70%
    Defense of Felony and Misdemeanor Matters (Federal & State Courts). As well as Administrative Hearings involving before the Secretary of State and other Tribunals, involving a wide variety of subject matter.

    42 years

  2. Personal injury
    25%
    Wrongful Death and Serious Personal Injury Matters.

    42 years

  3. Real estate
    5%
    Commercial and Residential Real Estate Transactions.

    42 years

Over thirty-four years of extensive trial experience.  Previously served as an assistant State's Attorney for Cook County for 15 years.  Responsible for the prosecution of several high-profile felony cases, served as Supervisor of the Felony Review Unit, and thereafter, was appointed Deputy State's Attorney, serving as Chief of the Criminal Prosecutions Bureau.  In the private sector, lead a fifty lawyer, in-house, insurance defense law firm.  In 1999 established The Law Offices of John J. Eannace, concentrating on the defense of state and federal criminal cases and the prosecution of significant personal injury matters.

Prepared and tried 59 jury trials to verdict and hundreds of felony trials before the court.  Experience includes several high-profile criminal cases involing murder and other violent crimes, financial crimes, narcotices offenses and personal injury matters.  Cases include several complex, multiple party trials, involving expert witnesses in the fields of forensic science, forensic pathology, psychology, psychiatry, medical experts and accident reconstruciton. 

Adjunct Professor of Law - The John Marshall Law School (1993 - 2006) teaching Trial Advocacy, Advanced Trial Advocacy and Accelerated Trial Advocacy.

Location

The Law Offices of John J Eannace
11950 S Harlem Ave Ste 201 2
Palos Heights, IL, 60463-1100

Criminal Defense lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.7 / 5.0
  15 customer reviews
5 Star
 
93%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
7%
Posted by anonymous | June 26, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The lawyer you want representing your juvenille
Our family had to deal with serious false accusations against our teenage son, which was a stressful and terrifying experience. A trusted friend of the family recommended John and we could not have asked for a better experience. John was responsive, knowledgeable, professional and fair. His communication is excellent and he held our hand through the process to ensure we understood our options, what to expect and potential outcomes. I would highly recommend John.
Read less
Posted by zied higazin | February 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
If you tried the rest John is the best
John Eannace is a great guy. You cannot wish for a better lawyer. This was my first time dealing with the criminal justice system, and I had heavy evidence against me. I risked losing my business and everything I worked 20 years for. I was terrified, confused, and depressed, but John helped me through everything. He never gives up on you. John is not after your money; he really cares about you and your problems. He works with you on a personal level. John is a very sharp lawyer, is very intellectual and has a lot of experience. He is patient, and even though I have hearing problems he still puts up with me. He puts in time to explain to you step by step what’s happening, and does everything he can to always help you understand. John dominated the court room on my trial I was hoping for misdemeanor and probation, but john’s bravery got my charges drop. It was a victory for both of us. Thank john so much for everything you did for me. John Eannace is an amazing lawyer. I highly recommend him for anyone who needs legal services.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 22, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Patient and organized. Highly recommend!
John is an excellent lawyer. My family worked with him for several months on two real estate transactions and we are extremely satisfied with his representation throughout the process and especially at the closing table. For my deal specifically, he was extremely patient. We had a long road as the property had some lender guideline conflicts. We "revived" the loan twice with the last transaction being the one where John shined the most. There was no lender involved and he was the key to making sure all the details were taken care of with the seller's attorney. I felt comfortable that nothing was missing. John has great communication and helped ease my mind at some points when i would stress out. He is very organized and he even saved me some money. Making sure I received all my credits and I only got charged fees that applied to my deal. I would definitely work with him again and i highly recommend him to anyone needing legal advice.
Read less
Posted by A. Y. Tadros | September 16, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Persistent, thorough and a "don't give up" attitude lawyer
We engaged John to represent our non-profit organization in a real estate case involving another non profit organization who was in default of our real estate contract. His persistence, thoroughness and "don't give up" attitude helped us resolve our situation before we had to begin the eviction process. I highly recommend John for real estate and contract law cases.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 29, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Remarkable Attorney
I was recommended to Attorney John J Eannace, when I need it the most, he represent me in a very tough twisted confusing case after me having a couple more legal representation opinions under my sleeve that keep me up at night, because both were very similar in they are opinion terms, it will take them a lot of time and money to process and conclude my case, I insist how long and how much I keep hearing a lot of time and money, when I started hearing Mr. Eannace talking about my case I notice his integrity and experience instantly. He returned my sanity back that same moment and he close my case in a fourth amount of money and time. I absolutely recommend hem to my family, friends and anybody else that needs an attorney no matter what kind of legal case they have but specially criminal cases. He is just the best Attorney for that
Read less
Posted by Very Thankful! | August 19, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
John Eannace is the attorney for a serious criminal case.
I don't know what we would have done without Attorney Eannace on our daughter's serious criminal case. Almost a year ago our daughter was accused of something we feel was a set up and extortion. We were devastated and did not know what to do. John led us through the legal process with utmost precision. The police made us feel our daughter was guilty, but we truly believed she was NOT! John's knowledge and expertise as a lawyer is unsurpassed. He is smooth! Other attorneys we noticed in the courtroom would get loud and out of control. John always remained calm and cool before the judge. He is very comfortable with his peers and stood up for our daughter against the States Attorney. We feel being a former States Attorney himself aided in our defense. We highly recommend John Eannace for your defense in a felony or serious criminal crime. He explained the choices and legal process very clearly and helped us understand everything we were going through. John showed compassion for our daughter, was always available by phone, and tried to schedule according to our needs. We are so very grateful that our daughter did not go to jail. We can not thank you enough John Eannace!!
Read less
Posted by Ed | August 18, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional Criminal Defense Lawyer
I offer the highest possible recommendation for Mr. Eannace to represent anyone that requires a criminal defense attorney. I am beyond extremely happy with the representation I received from Attorney John J. Eannace. This was my first time dealing with the criminal legal system and I did not know what to do or where to turn. My fears were put to rest when I found Mr. Eannace. He is very qualified. Mr. Eannace is very detailed and meticulous with every step he takes. He takes the time to explain everything and manage expectations. He under promises and over delivers and that is a very big RARE with your fellow lawyers out there! In 2009, I was indicted on multiple Class 1 White-Collar Felonies. The prosecutors assured us that they had me in the hole and were assuring us that I was going down. Through various preliminary hearings and motions, Mr. Eannace, calm cool and collective, he got the Judge to tell the prosecutors that their case was weak and couldn’t hold water in his courtroom. The case was dismissed! A few months later the prosecutors brought forth a second indictment, 33 Counts of Felonies based on Organizing a Continuing Financial Crime Enterprise (OCFCE AKA: RICO) I was facing 30 years of prison time. We fought this case for 31 months with multiple hearings, motions and conferences. Prior to even going to trial Mr. Eannace was successful at getting the court to rule that 21 of the 33 counts had no merit and must be barred from this case and the court must never even hear them as part of our case. At this point I’m fighting 12 counts not 33! We make the decision to go to trial since the government was offering me an unfavorable deal. I couldn’t imagine having a different lawyer at trial. Mr. Eannace dominates the court room. His trial skills are exceptional. His ability to conduct both direct and cross examination is truly incomparable. He controls the court room. At times I witnessed random citizens that witnessed his performance during my trial come up and compliment him on his ability to be a power house in his delivery. To have a lawyer that can draft an amazing motion is one thing, but to be able to conduct an amazing trial and continuously poke holes into the prosecutors evidence is another. Many people starting to go through what I went through don’t even know what it’s like to work with a lawyer that’s not just a Scientist, but also an Artist. Mr. Eannace is truly a breath of fresh air. Two long weeks of trial and the verdict comes. Guilty and I’m sentenced to 12 years of penal time. Mr. Eannace does not agree with the verdict and insists on move forward to file for appeal. The appellate court ruled in our favor and ordered the trial court to simply resentence me. I was resentenced to a term that allowed me to be immediately eligible for work-release which practically is home! While I was incarcerated, Mr. Eannace was in complete accessibility by phone, mail and person. He kept me in-the-loop on my appellate status. He communicated with my family and made them extremely comfortable. He called everyone he thought was essential to me getting to work-release which is a very limited program for a limited amount of inmates. People! I can’t tell you enough! I will never be represented by anyone else other than Mr. Eannace and I mean that from the bottom of my heart. You should hire Mr. Eannace to defend you! Whenever you I offer myself as a live testimony to you at his office. I would like to keep my full name confidential. However, I will make myself available shall you decide to have Mr. Eannace represent you. Good Luck! ~Ed Z
Read less
Posted by Natalie | August 9, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Hands down an excellent lawyer
I recently had DUI case I was fighting and John helped me beat it! I would recommend him to anyone, he's reliable, knowledgeable, and was very patient with me. He explained everything step by step and gave me the best advice to his knowledge.. real sharp man. I would definitely hire him again he knows what he's doing! Thanks again john!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 14, 2015
Great Attorney To Work With
I worked with John during my first home buying experience. He was extremely knowledgeable regarding the process and took the time to explain everything from the beginning to me. John was always available when I had questions, and showed that he cared about helping me. When I asked questions about the legal issues regarding specific situations that might arise, John was able to provide answers on the spot so that I could make informed decisions. The whole process went very smoothly, and I owe a major part of that to John! I would definitely recommend John for anyone going through a home purchase, and I would love to work with him in the future if I have the opportunity!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 14, 2015
Excellent Attorney...Easy to work with!
My family has hired John for multiple issues, both basic and complex. John asks the right questions and is very clear about steps and outcomes. He is thorough, patient, organized and extremely skilled. In a particular case, he identified solutions and options that no other attorneys considered. John drives solutions with focus, dedication and incredible knowledge of the law. He is not only a practitioner but also a professor of law. John is more than fair...you get incredible value. We trust John completely and are fortunate to know him.
Read less
Posted by Ariana | April 24, 2015
Knowledgeable and reliable attorney,
I hired John Eannace back in October for a DUI case. The moment I hired him he was very concerned and focused on my case. Definitely kept me informed of everything that was going on and that I myself had to do. He never gave up on me and he beat my case!! He did an outstanding job even the judge acknowledged his work. I definitely recommend John. He's a fighter he does not give up on his clients.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 23, 2015
Stellar Litigator
John represented my uncle, AP, in a complex criminal case with multiple barriers. Despite the language barrier between John and my uncle, he was extremely patient and exercised sound judgement in gathering the information needed in order to strategically execute his defense. He proposed different strategy that made sense to us all, met with us numerous times to counsel, assist and provide guidance as needed. John is fearless, smart, thoughtful and more importantly, not afraid to speak the truth in court. I absolutely recommend his legal services. Thank you so much John for making sure that my uncle did not end up in jail for a crime he didn't commit.
Read less
Posted by Lina | March 18, 2015
Excellent attorney
I cannot recommend John highly enough. He represented me in a real estate deal and as a first time home owner I couldn't have asked for a better attorney. He was always available to answer my questions or address any of my concerns. He is professional, informative, and efficient. I would highly recommend him to anyone.
Posted by Lionel | March 17, 2015
Great Lawyer
I had a traffic court case on a speeding matter (past 3 months) and took the service of Mr. Eannace. With help from John I was able to get a sentence mitigation for my case. He kept me well informed of what the expectations would be going into court and was very knowledgeable on all subjects related to my case. We were scheduled to have two visits to court and required one more visit because the state did not review my mitigation letter submitted and John was there the entire process. I would recommend John for any services you may require.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | June 6, 2014
Would not recommend this attorney...
In short, we paid Mr John Eannace $2,000 to represent me in a criminal defense case. Mr John Eannace took our money/retainer, but never came to the jail (to discuss the case or see me) and we were forced to hire a different attorney. Mr Eannace said that he would refund our full $2,000 money/retainer, but never did. I would not recommend this attorney, and we found another attorney on AVVO with a much higher 10-star rating that we are extremely happy with. Caveat emptor. I do wish that AVVO would allow clients to post "poor" and "unfavorable" client reviews, so I could have made a better decision prior to hiring this attorney. If AVVO would actually allow clients to post unfavorable/negative/poor attorney reviews, it may have saved us from losing the $2,000 that we had lost. Feel free to contact me if you want specific details. The experience that we had with this attorney was very poor.
Read less
Response from John Eannace August 18, 2016
The individual who posted this review has grossly misstated the facts. At the time he posted this review, he knew that a full refund had been mailed to him. In short, he and his family received over three hours of legal services from this office - free of charge.
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.5 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Law Offices of John J. Eannace
  • 1999 - Present
  • Managing Partner
  • Warrior Insurance Group
  • 1997 - 1999
  • Assistant State's Attorney
  • Office of the Cook County State's Attorney
  • 1982 - 1997

Education

  • John Marshall Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1982
  • Western Illinois University
  • Bachelor of Science
  • 1979

Sample of Legal Cases

  • Illegal Arrest - Evidence Suppressed
  • Motion to suppress the pistol based on an illegal stop was GRANTED-CASE DISMSSED
  • NOT GUILTY - DUI
  • NOT GUILTY - INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE TO PROVE DUI

Associations

  • South Suburban Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • Southwest Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2000 - Present
  • Southwest Bar Association
  • President
  • 2007 - 2007
  • Southwest Bar Association
  • Board Memeber
  • 2002 - 2007
  • Chicago Bar Association
  • Member
  • 1982 - 2008
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Publications

  • The Prosecutor
  • An Art - Not a Science: A Prosecutor's Perspective on Opening Statements
  • 1997

Attorney endorsements

Received (6)
Given (5)
Endorse John
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 25
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I have known and worked with John for the past 10 years. Among other cases, we have also worked on two murder cases together throughout the years. John is not only highly competent as well as an expert in his field, but he also enjoys a great deal of respect and regard in the legal community, from both his colleagues and the judges that he appears before. Finally, I also have to say that John has been a great mentor to me and is always eager to assist his fellow attorneys. If I ever need a criminal defense lawyer, no one but John would be my guy !"
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Well-liked by Judges for his decorum and preparedness, known as a top-notch litigator, and highly-respected by prosecutors and defense attorneys alike, John Eannace will provide you with the very best representation. John is a hard worker, who devotes his time, attention and care to every case he handles - from minor moving violations to violent crimes. If you are in need of a criminal attorney whose demeanor, thoughtfulness and skills are the very best, meet with John Eannace."
General practice Attorney | Aug 23
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known John Eannace personally and professionally for over 25 years. I have been greatly impressed by his professional expertise and by his personal demeanor. I have referred many clients to him for civil litigation and criminal defense, and my clients have thanked me for the referral. I know John to be a thorough, careful and highly competent lawyer, as well as a kind and honorable man. I endorse him without reservation."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer.I've Known John for over 30 years since we worked together in the cook County State's Attorney's Office. I still speak and see John often. He is a terrific lawyer.He is one of the best lawyers I ever tried a jury with. You can't go wrong hiring John as your lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 22
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known John Eannace for almost 20 years. Over the years, I have referred numerous criminal cases to him and he has done an excellent job on those matters. I would not hesitate to refer cases to him in the future. He is intelligent, conscientious and well-respected in the legal community. I endorse and highly recommend John Eannace."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Eannace is a very competent attorney. He is very knowledgeable and well-versed in his areas on the law. I highly recommend his services."
View more endorsements
Divorce and separation
Estate planning
Real estate
Criminal defense

Avvo Contributions

6 Legal Answers 0 Legal Guides
Palos Heights Criminal defense Lawyer John Jay Eannace
John Jay Eannace
Criminal defense Attorney
Palos Heights, IL
Licensed for 42 years