I am month to month and want to use deposit as last month rent but in lease that expired 3 years ago says cannot be used for last month rent is that only during the lease or does that count for after also?
I understand your argument that the language of the lease should only apply while the lease is effective. However, the lease terms are typically effective for the holdover - even if your lease is now viewed as month-to-month. You cannot use the security deposit to cover the last month of rent, unless the landlord agrees to let you do so. In that case, make sure you get something from the landlord in writing.See question
My husband had a few beers at our apartment and when down to stop our car in our apartment. Unfortunately while he took the car he hit the front car and broke the front of the parked car. No one was hurt and no one was near by. He himself called t...
I agree with Mr. Davis' answer. The DUI and the statutory summary suspension are 2 entirely different animals. While the State may have some issues with its DUI case, your husband definitely needs to hire an attorney to protect his rights.See question
after giving 5 day notice, is there time limit as to having to file eviction at the court?
You cannot file the eviction case in court until 5 days has passed since service of the notice AND the tenant has not paid the amount due in full. After 5 days have elapsed, you should file immediately in order to avoid any delays in retaking possession. However, if you are unable to file for a few days, you will be fine. The eviction case should be filed within a reasonable period of time.See question
A fair settlement depends on the facts of the case, as well as the damages you suffered. You should consult with an attorney.See question
she did this the day after me and her husband came to a verbal agreement that he would work with me to get me all paid up
No. Posting a termination notice is not proper service unless the unit is abandoned. It does not sound like you abandoned the unit. The landlord needs to serve you personally or serve someone living there who is over the age of 13.
You definitely need to speak with a attorney.See question
Right now I am charged with Allegedly Speeding 95 MPH in a 55 MPH Zone. An Attorney I talked with told me that I can Plead Guilty now and receive a Conviction and if the Mandatory Conviction is Declared Unconstitutional by the Illinois Supreme Cou...
I agree with Mr. Elbert. Do NOT plead guilty until you speak with an attorney. The pending appeal does not affect your case as it currently stands.See question
I was just recently put on probation last Monday and they took my baseline drug test and sent it to the toxicology lab. I'm prohibited fom drinking alcohol and drank around 6-7 16 oz beers 3 days ago but have been drinking decent amounts of water ...
If you are prohibited from drinking alcohol - and you test positive for drinking alcohol based on your test levels - this is a violation of your probation.See question
I am looking for a formal document to cite the potential penalties for DUIs resulting in a Class A Misdemeanor. The information I have read on various websites varies. For example, the imprisonment penatly for a first or second Class A Misdemeano...
The DUI statute in Illinois is found at 625 ILCS 5/11-501. The statute sets forth minimum penalties based upon the factors present in a DUI (i.e. high BAC level, children in the vehicle, numerous convictions in the past).
I hope this helps answer your concerns.See question
Charged with DUI of vehicle I was not driving and am fighting in court. I did not blow so the state suspended my license for 12 months. This being my first time in trouble . I assumed my license were valid after the 12 months. I was pulled over a ...
If the court rescinded your suspension, it should have been reflected on your driving record. I recommend that you contact the attorney who represented you with the rescission hearing. The rescission order may not have been sent to the Secretary of State - or it wasn't processed. That should be your first step.
Good luck.See question
I am a nurse will it effect my job and will I ever see a driver's license?
I agree with my colleagues above - you need to speak with a DUI attorney immediately. There are time sensitive issues that will affect your drivers license.See question