I was given a ticket for illegal use of electronic device. The officer said he would write me a t.r. ordinance and it won't show on my driving record. Is this correct? My job depends on it.
A local ordinance ticket can certainly be reported to the Illinois Secretary of State. If a fine is paid on the ticket the Ordinance designation may direct the proceeds to the village, city or town that issued the ticket.See question
My 17 y/old grandson has an open case from August, 2016 of electronic harassment and a restraining order against three 17 year old girls. On New Years Eve 2016 he was home -online on Instagram or Snapchat wishing everyone a Happy New Year. One of...
The context and nature of these communications is very important. It sounds like they were innocent and non-threatening, but in the context of a no contact order that may not matter. I would have to review the case file along with the charges to get a better idea as to what could be done.See question
A person was arrested and undergo a hearing with an officer and was released without bail or court or anything within 24 hrs. The matter regarded soemthing what seemed as an investigation of groups who were illegally employing foreigners. Despite ...
I don't know how an investigation without charges would result in a public record?See question
Just off of work and I was on eway today going about aprox. 65-70mph. I was n fast lane and there was a metro police in front of me that I passed up he was In the fast lane. After I passed him he pulled me over and told me that was like a slap in ...
Thank you for your important question. If your speed was more than 35 mph over you are facing a Class A misdemeanor punishable by court supervision or up to 364 days in jail. You should have representation from the first court date in this matter. Depending on which court you are in could determine the possible outcomes as would your driving record. Considering you are in nursing school this is an especially important matter as misdemeanors may impact your professional licensing. I handle these matters across Illinois and would be happy to answer any other questions.See question
I woke my gf up she was grumpy i padded her on the back of the head to get her attention then left to get my kid from school she called my counselor to see about help with my meds and the receptionist even though she said thats not what she wanted...
It is up to the State's Attorney to dismiss or proceed with charges. your GF would have input into this decision, other factors could include but are not limited to: your criminal history, any injuries to GF, and any prior incidents with your GF or others. If your GF does not wish to proceed she should contact the State's Attorney proactively and not just blow the case off. Either way you are facing a Class A misdemeanor and need an attorney.See question
They were parked in a car, he had 1 gram or under with a grinder. They had their finger prints and picture taken. This is the 1st time he was ever caught with this
I would most certainly not advise you to just pay the violation as that will result in a conviction, potential loss of driving privileges and a stain on his record that will follow him in applying to colleges and potentially on job applications as well. An experienced criminal defense attorney is recommended.See question
my son has no previous record on this only with a bag of cannbas on him
If their was a trial here it may be too late, if not hire a Criminal Defense Attorney with felony trial experience.See question
Hi! I visited my PO today, and asked her if my probation can be terminated early. She said she will send papers to the judge, and that I will receive a hearing date. My question is do I need a lawyer for the hearing? Do I have to do something befo...
Yes, you should have an attorney as some judges may be more likely to terminate these conditions earlier than others. You may also be told to come back in a period of a few months. There has to be a good reason also and not just that fines were paid and classes were completed. Some examples include military service, educational and career opportunities etc.See question
My Ex recently attacked me and i pressed charges due to the extent of how she went about it, she was drunk and came to my property, damage my car, damaged home property, and hit me with a brick, and i had a witness that seen this. i pressed char...
Domestic Battery is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by 1-364 days in jail. If you do not wish to go forward with the case you should inform the Prosecutor as they will often respect your wishes, but it is ultimately their decision to proceed or not. If you do wish to go forward see could realistically face jail time for hitting you with a brick.See question
me and my friend were put into a cop car and arrested for drinking, although we were, the cops forgot to read us our miranda rights, do we still gotta pay the ticket and/or what should i do?
You may not want to rush into paying a fine and pleading guilty as your license may be suspended as a consequence of conviction. Depending on the circumstances you may be eligible for an amended ordinance charge or a deferred prosecution.See question