Skip to main content

Matthew David Keenan

Criminal defense Attorney at Skokie, IL

4.7   29 reviews
  • State Years
    Illinois - IL 31 years
    Maryland - MD 34 years
  • Licensed for 31 years
    State IL
    Acquired 1992
    Status
    Active and Authorized to Practice Law No misconduct found
  • Licensed for 34 years
    State MD
    Acquired 1989
    Status
    Inactive - Retired No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Matthew

Learn Matthew’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    35%
    I represent defendants on a variety of offenses including cybercrime, probation violations, misdemeanors and felonies. I also assist clients who fear they may be charged with a crime or who wish to clear their criminal record..

    30 years

  2. DUI and DWI
    35%
    I represent defendants on DUI and traffic court charges at all stages from making a plea agreement tp a bench or jury trial.

    30 years

  3. Education
    30%
    I handle appeals for disciplinary actions and for residency disputes as well as areas that may overlap with criminal law such as suspected misuse of technology. I represent families, students and teachers.

    20 years

Location

Matthew Keenan
8340 N. Lincon, Ste. 102
Skokie, IL, 60077

Similar lawyers nearby

Reviews

4.7 / 5.0
  29 customer reviews
5 Star
 
93%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
7%
Posted by Alisa | September 8, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best experience
Without going into too much detail, Mr. Keenan is a good and solid defense attorney. He knows the law and he was very passionate about getting a positive result for me. I'm super happy with my choice in hiring him and I also think of him as someone I would like to stay in contact with long term. There was a lot of questions on my end and even when I was pestering him, he never lost his professionalism. I will forever appreciate you Mr. Keenan!
Read less
Posted by Raun | January 30, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Professional.
I had a mandatory moving violations court date. Matt Keenan was unable to attend but sent his partner Ms. Duka She was well-versed in my case. And was extremely professional both she and Mr Keenan were very forthcoming with information, and were able to explain to me the severity of my case and what choices were available to me. They returned my calls in a timely manner. and again, we're a very professional and very experienced.
Read less
Posted by Tamara | January 8, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney
Matt was excellent he represented me to the fullest great job Matthew!!! I’d recommend him to my family and friends really nice and understanding !
Posted by Aden | September 16, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Case closed
Ticket for 83 in a 55 and it was a must appear. Went in for me and got it dismissed no idea how extremely impressed, really genuine guy talked to me on the same level and better lawyer than your stupid pricey one
Posted by JL | April 14, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
We highly recommend Matt Keenan!
We have hired Matt Keenan as our attorney for various cases over the years. No one can guarantee favorable results, especially in this current environment. The outcome of our last case resulted in community service which was very helpful. We have and would highly recommend his services.
Posted by anonymous | April 6, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent in Solving School Problems/Disciplinary Action
A Reliable Attorney: Matt helped with application materials and lessening the damage to my reputation from a disciplinary action when I applied to a professional school. Thanks to his stellar representation, not only was I able to have a fresh start, I attended the school I wanted to go to. Additionally, he went well above and beyond and helped me craft my Personal Statement to professional school, explaining the specific problem I faced in school in a much better light! He listened to my problems, was very professionally, and helped me through it all. He was also very responsive, communicating with me as the need arose. Finally, for the services provided, he asked for relatively less than other attorneys I spoke to in the area. Background: As an undergrad freshman I faced disciplinary action. Years down the road, I decided to apply to professional school, but I realized only then that the disciplinary action may result in rejection. After doing some research on attorneys in the area, I contacted Matt. He was very cordial and understanding about my financial situation and the sensitive nature of the disciplinary action.
Read less
Posted by Nicolle Joy Wilfenger | April 5, 2017
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Brilliant Attorney!
Matt Keenan has a great legal and analytical mind. He knows what he 's doing when he needs to resolve an issue/case and is methodical and empathetic in his approach to law. He is also very understanding of his clients' needs and listens to their concerns. He has gone out of his way for one of my friends and she was very impressed with his work. I highly recommend him for any criminal defense!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 26, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended
Matt was referred to me by another outstanding lawyer and personal friend. He was very clear and patient throughout the entire process that lasted about 2 years. He was fair, professional and had the right strategy to achieve a positive outcome. Overall, I was very satisfied by his services.
Posted by Daniel | October 23, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Simply Outstanding!
Mr. Keenan is such a great lawyer. He really cares about his clients and their cases. Thoroughly knowledgable! In my case (I was guilty) he did everything possible to ensure I received the best outcome, including a meeting in the judge's chambers. I was delighted as I thought things were going to turn out *much* worse than they did - and it was Matt Keenan that made *all* the difference! He truly deserves the highest rating possible, I wish I could rate him higher than 5 stars. All the key players in the court system know who he is and have only positive things to say about him too. I recommend him to others all the time and will continue to do so. Matt Keenan sincerely cares about military veterans as well. I know because I am a Desert Storm veteran. To my veteran brothers and sisters - accept no substitute! Matt Keenan is your man. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH MATT KEENAN! Take it from me - I normally despise lawyers! But Matt is a shining example of the profession. Thank you Matt!!!!!
Read less
Posted by David | November 16, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
LOOK NO FURTHER
Matthew Keenan was highly recommended so my fiance and I hired him for a criminal defense attorney in Skokie, Illinois. Matthew showed great concern about the charges and had a positive outlook over the whole case. Matthew never seemed unsure or nervous about winning the case for us. His intelligent analogies and friendly personality gave us a peace of mind from the time we hired him until the very end. We'd definitely hire again and/or recommend Matt Keenan to anyone that is in need of a defense attorney.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 22, 2015
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Sincere lawyer
Paid $200 for consultation. He gave me some good advice. Was sympathetic and upfront about my situation. Seemed sincere and would hire again.
Posted by anonymous | September 20, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The Best!
Matt Keenan took my case the next day, in August, 2014 after I was arrested for a DUI---the first arrest in my life. Some "concerned citizen" in Winnetka, reported that I was driving "erratically." He was rich and powerful. He had a multi-million dollar mansion with steps leading down to the beach. Matt and his wife, also highly recommended for Wills, Trusts, etc. watched the video of my arrest several times and were shocked that I was arrested and maltreated. They agreed I was a little snippety with the officer, but perfectly sober. Matt and I appeared in Skokie Court eleven, yes 11 times between October and last July! Why? Because the other individual was so powerful, and the officer was so determined that they persisted. But so did Matt. After the 10th time, Matt put his foot down (cliché) and demanded a Trial by Jury. It scared the Prosecution so much, that they wisely did not show up for the 11th court date, and I was declared "innocent without prejudice." My case will be expunged in November. By that time my retainer was gone, but Matt never said a word about it, never asked me for more money. Instead, he was kind, warm, supportive, and deeply empathetic, He gave me a new comb (!), when I forgot mine, he bought me coffee at the Courthouse. His capability, his probity, and kindness are unique in my experience. I recommend him highly without reservations.
Read less
Posted by Sam | December 30, 2014
Held my hand through it all
I retained Mr. Matt Keenan for a case in 2013. It was a misfortune that I had once again fallen into yet another DUI. Life was tough due to my actions and the only light at the end of the tunnel was Mr. Keenan. After many court dates and sleepless nights, Mr. Keenan was able to get me a plea bargain which would unknowingly turn my life around for the better within the following months. Mr. Keenan had a wonderful outlook and was always compassionate. These are traits I will never forget and now use in my daily life. Long story short, I find Mr. Keenan to be an exceptional attorney in his field and highly recommend him to anyone looking for legal support. Thanks for everything Matt!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 15, 2013
A Great Lawyer Who Cares
Attorney Matt Keenan was the lead attorney in my criminal defense. I had my career and family life at risk as a result of the criminal charge and he put me in touch with a therapist so I can handle the mental stress while Matt and my other attorney handled the legal side. He also sent me constant reminders telling me not to get in touch with the complainant as that can be damaging to our case. He skillfully strategized and was able to get me the best settlement possible. I would highly recommend Matt to anyone who needs a great attorney who will fight for you.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 23, 2013
Professional
Matt is an extremely knowledgeable and professional attorney in Skokie. He provided a great deal of advice how to best handle my rather complicated situation. I really like his personalized attention to my situation and willingness to meet my best interests. Thanks, Matt!
Posted by Mark S. | October 1, 2013
A grateful client
Matt Keenan was referred to me by a business partner. Mr. Keenan is very sincere, knowledgable, experienced, and does not make false promises. You will feel very confident with him on your side in the courtroom.
Posted by anonymous | June 12, 2013
Most helpful lawyer I've ever had
Matt Keenan is a fantastic lawyer. He worked with me 2 1/2 years ago with a DUI that I thought would virtually be unbeatable. I was proved wrong. He fought with me for an entire year and never gave up. He gave me a second chance at a normal life, being only 19 years old I didn't want this incident to slow me down. Matt continues to be very helpful to me in everything I do. I don't know what I would him and am truly grateful I have my life back.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | May 13, 2013
Matt is diligent, cliant friendly and knows which judge to get or try not too. However he's a bit of a pessamist
Matt got me probation on a 3rd DWI and beat the fourth, knocked out two sumery suspentions. On my 7th conviction for possession narcotic's I didn't do any time in the pen ,I was on probation for my 6th conviction of Herion - did just under 3 months county time for V.O.P Matt had my probation reinstated. All at a very fair price, I might add. He is a good laywer and a nice guy. He worked well on my behalf, spent alot of time in court. Most importantly keept me out of prison. He does what he says he will do and does a darn good job of doing it. I have been clean and out of the court systems for almost 3 years - So yes, he is a good lawyer.
Read less
Posted by Israr | June 4, 2011
A Noble Lawyer
Matt Keenan is an extraordinary lawyer. He deals with his clients in a professional manner, and to the highest integrity. He is quite knowledgeable in his field and will share it all with you. Most importantly he deals with his cases very patiently and with a sense of wisdom not found in many lawyers today. I have dealt with many lawyers and i can say Matt is unique and one of a kind. I would have been charged with a class A misdemeanor but he managed to get the case dropped!! I strongly recommended hiring him as your attorney for your case.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 18, 2010
Great communication and resolution on serious traffic violation case
We had a serious multiple charge auto accident for a college student which could have had class A misdemeanors. We spoke to several different attorneys about it, and found Matt to be the clearest and most communicative one about potential pathways and outcomes. We decided to proceed with Matt and he guided us through the court process and personnel very effectively to the point where most of the charges were dropped or reduced. I would definitely go back to Matt again in such a case, his services were well worth it.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

We have not found any cost information for this lawyer

Contact for Details

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • President
  • Law Offices of Matt Keenan
  • 1995 - Present

Education

  • Loyola University Chicago School of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1988
  • Beloit College
  • B.A., Magna Cum Laude
  • 1985

Sample of Legal Cases

  • People v M.
  • Not guilty
  • Murder Trial
  • Not guilty

Associations

  • Illinois State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2003 - Present
  • American Civil Liberties Union
  • Member
  • 2001 - Present

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish
  • French

Honors and Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2022
  • Silver Client Champion
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • Silver Client Champion
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2018
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Lawyers in Illinois
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2017
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyer
  • The National Trial Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Silver Client Champiion
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Lawyers in Illinois
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2016
  • Client Distinction Award
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2016
  • Client Distinction Award
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • Member of the Bar Anniversary Award
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • Client Distinction Award
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • Client Distinction Award
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2013
  • Clients Choice
  • Avvo
  • 2013
  • Top Contributor
  • Avvo
  • 2013
  • Top Attorney Criminal Defense
  • Avvo
  • N/A
View all awards

Publications

  • Illinois Jurisprudence Criminal Law and Procedure
  • Chapter 3 Defenses
  • 2014
  • Illinois Jurisprudence Criminal Law and Procedure
  • Chapter 5: Arrests and Investigatory Stops
  • 2014
  • Illinois Jurisprudence Criminal Law and Procedure
  • Chapter 8 Search and Seizure
  • 2014
  • Illinois Jurisprudence Criminal Law and Procedure
  • Chapter 16 Motions and Discovery
  • 2014
  • Illinois Jurisprudence Criminal Law and Procedure
  • Chapter 17 Evidentiary Matters Generally
  • 2014
  • Our Children, The PTA National Magazine
  • School Discipline: Get the Help Your Child Needs
  • 2009
View all publications

Speaking Engagements

  • The Student and Parent Side of School Law Issues
  • Student Discipline: The Expulsion Hearing Games
  • 2012
  • Chip Franklin Mornings radio
  • Where are the radar speed traps?
  • 2012
  • Parent Roundtable
  • Wrong Place Wrong Time
  • 2011
  • Guest Lecture, Constitutional Law class
  • The Art of Direct and Cross Examination
  • 2011
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (19)
Given (24)
Endorse Matthew
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 25
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Matt Keenan has outstanding legal and people skills. He is attentive, has a mastery of the law and is highly respected by judges and fellow lawyers in the legal community. He is also a great litigator."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 06
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Matthew Keenan is a knowledgeable and professional defense attorney. He is always prepared to defend his client's rights and has a firm grasp on current case law. He also is one of the most friendly attorneys except when he is on trial defending his client!"
Criminal defense Attorney | May 01
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. I have worked with Mr. Keenan as opposing counsel on criminal matters. Mr. Keenan consistently fights for his clients and is highly respected by prosecutors and judges, alike."
Criminal defense Attorney | Dec 16
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Matt Keenan is one of the best lawyers in the profession. He is an excellent litigator who knows how to win in court. I've had the privilege of working with Matt on an array of different legal matters that include murder, drugs, and dui's. Regarding all of these matters, Matt displayed outstanding legal research and trial preparation skills. If a case is not likely to go to trial, Matt is also an exceptional negotiator who can get favorable results for his clients. If I ever need an attorney, Matt will be the first person I call. I strongly endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 12
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Mr. Keenan for several years and he is a very experienced and knowledgeable attorney. He has the respect of fellow attorneys and of the judiciary. Mr. Keenan has always been willing to help educate myself and other young attorneys better understand the law. I highly recommend Mr. Keenan."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have known Matt for many years. We were opposing counsel on many cases when I was a prosecutor at the Skokie courthouse. Matt was always a well prepared opponent in the courtroom. I have great respect for his legal abilities and wholeheartedly endorse him."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 27
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Matt Keenan is an outstanding criminal defense attorney. In addition to his legal skills he treats his clients with courtesy and respect."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Matt is a fantastic attorney! He cares very deeply about his clients and really knows his stuff. Matt has integrity, class and would give you the shirt off his back! This is the kind of lawyer other lawyers should aspire to be like! Class A+++"
Education Attorney | Sep 03
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"Matt is a results oriented attorney that knows the ins and outs of criminal and education law. I have worked on many matters with Matt with very favorable results. He communicates equally well with clients, other attorneys and most importantly, judges. He is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 08
Relationship: Worked together on matter
"I highly recommend Mr. Keenan. I have personally observed him aggressively defend his clients in court. I watched him cross-examine a police officer who crumbled under the pressure of his vigorous and pointed questions, resulting in a "not guilty" verdict. His creativity and engaging communication skills make him an ideal advocate. He will never rush a case or be pressured into quick pleas. He carefully evaluates every case to determine the best course of action, and he works tirelessly to obtain the best possible results. He is well-equipped with the skills and courage to take the case all the way to trial and make the prosecution prove its case, yet he possesses the wisdom to know when the evidence warrants an aggressive plea bargain. He remains passionate about his cases and clients, despite the many years he has practiced. Few lawyers with Mr. Keenan’s tenacity have such integrity and sensitivity to go along with these skills."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 16
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"I have known Matt for many years and have tried several cases including a jury against Matt and can honestly state he was a worthy adversary and was very persuasive In his arguments for his clients. Matt also has consistently demonstrated to me a genuine interest in his clients needs and Matt most definitely goes the extra mile for his clients"
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Matt Keenan always approaches his cases with his client's best interests in mind first. He is knowledgeable and current about the law and balances aggressive advocacy with courteous professionalism. He has a good reputation among prosecutors and defense attorneys alike. I highly recommend Matt."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Matt is a superb lawyer with excellent courtroom demeanor. He has earned the respect of prosecutors and judges throughout Cook County as a zealous advocate for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 17
Relationship: Friend
"I strongly endorse Matt Keenan to clients needing an aggressive and ethical advocate. Matt will turn over every stone to find a defense and the positive side of a case. He is a compassionate attorney who listens and is very concerned with his clients cases. Whether he is handling a serious felony or a routine trafffic case, Matt always devotes a high level of energy and professionalism at every step of the way in striving for a positive outcome for his clients."
Education Attorney | Aug 02
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I have referred several of my clients to Mr. Keenan and they have been very happy with his services."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 26
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Mr. Keenan's work. I trust his advice as a criminal attorney and appreciate the services he has provided my clients. He has also been generous in recommending my services to others."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jul 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer's work. He sincerely cares about his clients and he commits himself completely to each of his cases. Also, his rates are reasonable. Mr. Keenan's reputation as a quality attorney extends well beyond the legal community, as does his reputation for being an honest, forthright, and hard-working individual."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jun 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I wholeheartedly endorse Mr. Keenan's work. He is the hardest working and most intelligent attorney I know. He represents his clients with unsurpassed zeal and is always willing to teach younger attorneys how to be better lawyers."
Education Attorney | Apr 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Matt Keenan's work. He is very conscientious, honest and works tirelessly for his clients. In addition to other areas of the law, Matt has extensive experience and knowledge in school law disciplinary proceedings, suspensions, expulsions, residency matters and academic dishonesty issues. Highly recommended."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Real estate
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
General practice
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Litigation
Criminal defense
Employment and labor
Litigation