I have a retail theft offense where I violated my supervision and received 4 days of time served.
Unfortunately you are no longer eligible to expunge this case from your record because time served is a conviction and expungement relief is only available to those who have never been convicted of a criminal offense. (20 ILCS 2630/5.2(b)(1)(A)). However, 4 years from the date of your conviction you will be eligible to apply to have the conviction sealed. (20 ILCS 2630/5.2(c)(3)(C))See question
i have been trying to get a job but they keep receiving the drug paraphernalia charge in my backround check. I have shown charge of disposition but she said Hello Anthony, "I would need something showing that the charge was actually drop...
"Discharge and dismissal upon successful conclusion of a dispostition of supervision shall be deemed without adjudication of guilt and shall not be termed a conviction for purposes of disqualification or disabilities imposed by law upon conviction of a crime." 730 ILCS 5/5-6-3.1(f)
Even though the above is true you may want to petition for expungement so you don't have to keep explaining to perspective employers that successful completion of supervision is not deemed a conviction under Illinois law.See question
My abuser filed an order of protection against me before I did against him. He claims physical abuse which is false. Rather he has physically and mentally abused me, but I did not press charges or get the physical abuse documented. I now have to f...
If the allegations are false you need a lawyer all the more especially if the petitioner has retained one.See question
got first dui june 2012 got licence back feburary 2013 did not have lawyer cause states attorney said didnt need one it would be supervision the court keep resecheduling court in september brought me to court to sign deal wich i thought was superv...
Never trust a police officer or a prosecutor when they tell you that you don't need a lawyer to represent your interests in a criminal case. The same DUI can result in multiple holds on your driver's license. Example: If you blow above .08 you will be subject to a statutory summary suspension. If your summary suspension expires and you ultimately receive Conditional Discharge on the substantive DUI case your driver's license will be revoked.See question
She's over 18, no criminal record, well-educated, actively employed, but not wealthy.
Theft of merchandise exceeding $300 is a felony in Illinois. Your friend should begin interviewing lawyers and retain one she feels comfortable with.See question
Or some type of program
There is never a guarantee when you enter into a blind plea. That being said, a class 4 felony is the lowest felony designation under Illinois law. If you have no criminal history I would hope that you have requested a reduced charge as a felony conviction carries harsh ramifications even if you get probation.See question
on new years day i was parked on side of the road with my flashers on while using phone,the car was running,because it was cold,when a police officer pulled up behind me to make a long story short. i was arrested for dui i have physical reasons ...
Under most circumstances you are under no legal obligation to take a breath test on the street. Such breath tests are called Portable Breath Tests ("PBTs") and your refusal to take one cannot be used against you at trial. Police Officers may deny your request to consult with counsel prior to taking a breath test at the station. However, if you are permitted to begin a conversation with an attorney there is case law that suggests the officer is obligated to allow you to finish the consultation prior to taking or refusing the breath tests.See question
What are some of the qualifications the judge look at when the defendant caused a dui excident causing great bodily harm on your first dui to get probation
A Judge takes numerous factors into consideration while deciding whether to impose a sentence of probation. Some of those factors are but are not limited to: (1) your criminal history or lack thereof; (2) the severity of the injuries to the victim(s); and (3) your age, work history and educational background.See question
i was never convicted of my first dui so Tennessee refused to suspend my drivers licenses the first time.
Tennessee law governs what will happen to your Tennessee license in the event Tennessee is notified of an out of state DUI dispostition. I would contact a Tennessee attorney who specializes in DUI defense and ask this question, "What will happen to my Tennessee driver's license if the Tennessee DMV is notified that I incurred an out of state DUI disposition." If Tennessee will revoke your license that gives you an added incentive to take your Illinois case to trial.See question