Skip to main content

Robert Steven Thomas

Probate Attorney at Arlington Heights, IL

4.8   12 reviews

About Robert

Learn Robert’s areas of practice.

3
Practice areas
  1. Divorce and separation
    40%
    We specialize in high valued estate divorces, dissipation of assets, division of retirement accounts, and child custody issues.

    26 years

  2. Probate
    40%
    Probate includes the process of opening the estate for the decedent, accounting for all income, expenses, assets, and debts, public notice, and proper and timely closing of the estate.

    26 years

  3. Tax
    20%
    We specialize in IRS Collections and Appeals. Experienced with Offers in Compromise, Installment Agreements and other IRS matters. We also concentrate in corporate tax appeals with the Illinois Tax Tribunal.

    26 years

Robert Thomas concentrates in family law with emphasis on high-valued estates and the dissipation of marital assets; IRS tax appeals with a focus on Offers in Compromise and Installment Agreements; and Estate Planning with a specialization in high-valued estates in probate.

Robert Thomas and his staff offer clients friendly and compassionate legal service tailored to each client's personal needs.   Due to the highly specialized backgrounds of the staff, pleadings and memorandums for court are written to undoubtedly argue your case. 

Robert Thomas graduated Cum Laude from Indiana University, Bloomington with a Master of Science in Business. He holds a Juris Doctor (J.D.) from Cleveland - Marshall College of Law, and a Master of Law (LLM) in Taxation from Chicago Kent College of Law, Illinois Institute of Technoloy. Mr. Thomas has worked in the U.S. House of Representatives in the 13th Congressional District of Ohio.  He has also served as a mediator in the National Association of Securities Dealers.  Mr. Thomas holds licenses with the Illinois Bar Association, Ohio Bar Association, and the U.S. Tax Court.

Kelly McKinney, Sr. Paralegal, holds a BS in Accountancy, MS in Taxation, CPA license, and IL RE Broker license.

Ashley Renkor, Paralegal, holds a BS in Psychology, Pre-Law Studies and Political Science with honors. Ms. Renkor has published work in the EIU Political Science Review.

Ingrid Veliz, part-time paralegal, concentrates in immigration law, speaks fluent spanish, and holds an AS in an ABA accredited Paralegal Studies Program.

Photos and videos

Licensed for 38 years
State IL
Status Active And Authorized To Practice Law
Acquired 1985
Updated 10/11/2022
State OH
Status Inactive
Acquired 1984
Updated 11/17/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Robert

Law Office of Robert Thomas
1655 N. Arlington Heights Road
Suite 300 West
Arlington Heights, IL, 60004

Reviews

4.8 / 5.0
  12 customer reviews
5 Star
 
83%
4 Star
 
17%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Bobbi | April 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Robert Thomas- Thank you! :)
Robert has taken care of all of my needs over the past 15 years including a messy divorce, and several financial situations related to that divorce. He has always advised and represented me in a professional and timely manner, I highly recommend him!
Posted by Cyndi | March 26, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
He saved my home!
I had a great experience with Mr. Thomas as I was laid off and he helped me save my house! He was always accommodating of my schedule and very professional.
Posted by ray | November 28, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional Lawyer Exceptional team
Cant say enough about him and his wonderful team excellent attorney .... i wish i met him earlier thanks..
Posted by anonymous | November 24, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Family dispute mediation
My wife filed an order of protection against me. I contacted Robert, and he and his team gave great personal attention into intricacy of the situation and came up and implemented a plan to upheld my legal right while fully considering my personal situation.
Posted by Dani | November 21, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Exceptional Lawyer
Robert Thomas is an outstanding, magnificent attorney who helped me tremendously. I would like to thank Mr. Thomas for helping me through the hardest time of my life.
Posted by Karen Bays | November 20, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Experience
Robert now only does a great job representing his clients he also leads with compassion and common sense. Often people are very emotional and he provides real-life experience helping you to come to the best legal decision.
Posted by Jim N Kelly | November 17, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Smooth transaction!
We used Robert and his staff for my VA mortgage purchase. He walked us through every step. The paralegals were very knowledgeable too. Great service!
Posted by Gary | November 17, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Robert Thomas
Mr. Thomas conducted himself with professiolism and integrit . Despite my personal lack of faith in the existing legal system, Mr. Thomas did his very best in my case. Despite the fact we were up against an idiot who calls himself a "judge", Mr. Thomas made every effort to bring my case to a swift end. I would wholeheartedly recommend his services to anyone unfortunate enough to be involved in the bombassity known as the legal system.
Read less
Posted by Guru | November 17, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent legal advisor, friend
Robert is very approachable and available to brainstorm ideas. He handled my divorce case with tact and the least amount of back and forth. I'm very happy with his services.
Posted by Devon | November 17, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Mr. Thomas is amazing
I went through a very messy divorce. Mr. Thomas was there from the beginning till even now when my Ex husband stopped paying child support. He is a great listener, has great advice, and always willing to work with me. He is fast, efficient, and detail oriented. I would recommend Mr. Thomas. I appreciate all of his help, support, and understanding. I will continue to work with him in the future.
Read less
Posted by Chris | March 30, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent job
All in all I was very pleased with Mr. Robert's performance in representing me to the IRS. I felt my case involved some special considerations, and at no time did i feel he took a "cookie-cutter" approach to formulating and implementing his strategy. He was also flexible when I needed him to be in handling my schedule, as on occasion unexpected demands of my workplace interfered with my preparations for the case. I found his staff professional and accommodating in working with me. In summary, the results his office achieved exceeded my expectations.
Read less
Posted by mustapha | February 19, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
very professional
Mr Thomas is very professional. He helped me in my divorce settlement as well as IRS audit. He does not over charge for his services and very knowledgeable in family law as well as tax laws. I was hoping for a little better deal on my divorce settlement but hay I'm glad to have it over at the time.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 7.1 (Very Good)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Law Office of Robert S. Thomas
  • 1995 - Present

Education

  • Cleveland State University - Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1983
  • Indiana University-Bloomington
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1979
  • Indiana University-Bloomington
  • MA - Masters
  • N/A
  • Chicago-Kent College of Law Illinois Institute of Technology
  • LL.M - Master of Laws
  • N/A
View all education

Associations

  • Illinois State Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • United States Tax Court
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Ohio State Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A

Languages Spoken

  • Spanish
  • English

Awards

  • Cum Laude
  • Indiana University-Bloomington
  • N/A

Attorney endorsements

Received (1)
Given (1)
Endorse Robert
Divorce and separation Attorney | Nov 29
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"Robert is a smart and diligent attorney and worthy adversary."
Divorce and separation
Arlington Heights Probate Lawyer Robert Steven Thomas
Robert Steven Thomas
Probate Attorney
Arlington Heights, IL
Licensed for 38 years
Free Consultation