Skip to main content

Thomas Jeffrey Corcoran

Family Attorney at Williston, ND

5.0   18 reviews

also known as Corcoran Law PLLP, T.J. Corcoran


Call and speak with several attorneys to find best fit for your specific legal issue.
Can't find what you are looking for?
Avvo has 97% of all lawyers in the US.
Find the best ones near you.
Find Nearby Lawyers

About Thomas

Learn Thomas’s areas of practice.

CorcoranLAW is the law office of T.J. Corcoran. T.J. is a licensed attorney in the states of North Dakota, Ohio and Florida.


T.J. practices in the areas of Family Law (Divorce, Custody and Adoption), Business Law(Business Formations, Contracts, Negotiations) and Personal Injury

Licensed for 11 years
State FL
Status Member in Good Standing
Acquired 2013
Updated 11/23/2022
State ND
Status Authorized to Practice Law
Acquired 2013
Updated 01/21/2023
State OH
Status Active
Acquired 2011
Updated 11/14/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Thomas

Thomas Jeffrey Corcoran
125 Main Street
Suite 240
Williston, ND, 58801-5133
Corcoran Law PLLP
5237 Summerlin Commons Blvd
Suite 390
Fort Myers, FL, 33907
Hide locations

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  18 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by Mylen | June 30, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended
Mr. Tj and his staff are Great! Mr. Corcoran was a great lawyer for my divorce and very knowledgeable in all aspects of the law. Compared to other lawyers, he is different. He was kind, accommodating, and understanding. Very professional and provided an excellent service. If anyone needs legal help with divorce, I would recommend Tj Corcoran.
Read less
Posted by Sarah | June 20, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended
I was referred to him by another attorney, he was very helpful and kind. He didn't hesitate to help me and without a ridiculous amount of money like many others. He started to work on my case immediately and within a few days he was finished and i was divorced.
Posted by anonymous | April 12, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
My lawyer and his team
First, Mr. Corcoran spoke with me on the phone, he was direct and answered all my questions. If you want a soft gentle lawyer, than move on. I’m not saying he’s not caring, I’m saying he doesn’t play games. Second, his staff is amazing. I was able to gain an answer on any of my questions at anytime- even on the weekends. I had full access to my lawyer through email and phone. It was awesome. Third and lastly- my case was handled so well, and pain free- and professional, that if I were ever in need of a lawyer again, Mr. Corcoran would be the first person I would call.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | October 26, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great divorce attorney
Mr. Corcoran was a great lawyer for my divorce, he made sure everything went as smooth as possible for me
Posted by Corey | April 19, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great experience
Unfortunately I was in need of an attorney to handle a divorce. Mr. Corcoran answered my initial phone call to his office personally and was able to answer all of my questions about what was needed and what to expect if I were to hire him. Other attorneys I called would not even answer simple questions without an office visit. I am now a single dad of two and the entire procedure was able to be handled over the phone or by email, with the exception of signatures, which was very convenient not having to arrange childcare or being the kids with me to the office. He had everything completed faster than I expected.
Read less
Posted by Amanda | January 4, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great job!
TJ and his staff are Great! He made the divorce process as easy as possible. Very knowledgeable about the process. Any questions I had were answered in a very timely manner. I would recommend him to anyone looking for legal help with a divorce.
Posted by Krystal | December 6, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce
He defiantly help me in the best way!! Very professional and caring!! Highly recommend!!!!
Posted by Tim | October 4, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Service
TJ and his staff were very responsive, and carried out all of our wishes. They made a difficult time more tolerable.
Posted by anonymous | May 9, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding Attorney
Mr. Corcoran recently brought our difficult paternity/custody case to a fair resolution for the child and both parents. In addition to being highly professional and knowledgeable about the law, we found him to be extremely approachable and responsive. The level of support was exceptional and included helping us connect with local resources. Highly recommended!
Read less
Posted by Gabriella | May 3, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Family
Great lawyer, very professional and provided an excellent service, explained step by step the actions he would take and the process clearly. very friendly as well!
Posted by mike | April 5, 2017
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best divorse/custody attorney
Mr. Tj Corcoran represented me in a divorce/custody case. Mr. Corcoran guided me every step of the way and definitely made the process less stressful. There were many obstacles in my particular case which Mr. Corcoran handled and even used some to our advantage. If I were to ever need to go through this process again there is no other attorney I would want to work with!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | September 23, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Divorce and custody
He always emailed,text,or called back immediately! He listened to what we wanted and was able to make it happen! I would recommend him and would use him again if we needed him.
Posted by Adam | July 28, 2015
Highly recommended
I really enjoyed working with T.J. Kept me informed and up-to-date on every turn. There was no surprises. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
Posted by lisa | July 28, 2015
Excellent lawyer
I highly recommend TJ Corcoran. He got me divorce done quickly, at a reasonable price, and had excellent communication with me throughout the entire thing. Divorce is hard to deal with, but he helped make it go a lot smoother!
Posted by Monika | July 27, 2015
Mr. Corcoran was a blessing!
From the moment I first consulted with TJ, he was helpful and very honest. He took care of my case in less time than expected, and was able to help me work out all the details in between. Thank you, Mr. Corcoran!
Posted by Sheline | July 27, 2015
Very fast and efficient
TJ was a great attorney, he was reasonable and very quick at responding to my questions! I highly recommend him for your legal matters!! He worked with me in every step of my divorce explaining everything to me so I could understand!
Posted by anonymous | July 27, 2015
Custody agreement
I was recommend to Tj and when I first called i was very surprised to have him answer. He was very knowledgable in my custody case, and is a very professional. He was honest and up front with me along with guiding me. I highly recommend him to anyone. He is very responsive and confident in what he does.
Posted by Casey | July 27, 2015
Always their for you!
Very professional and fast service ,very knowledgeable in all aspects of law. Never have had a lawyer answer the phone like TJ he is always generally concerned about the issue and resolving the problem. TJ has helped us out tremendously.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
  • Hourly Rates $ 250-300 per hour
  • Contingency 25%-50%
  • Pro bono 5 %
  • Retainer Always
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 8.1 (Excellent)

Work Experience

  • PRESIDENT, OWNER
  • THE CORCORAN SCHOOL
  • 2012 - Present
  • Partner
  • Corcoran Law PLLP
  • 2012 - Present
  • SENIOR MANAGER
  • ACCENTURE
  • 2011 - 2012
  • SENIOR MANAGER
  • ACCENTURE
  • 1993 - 2001
View all work experience

Education

  • University of Cincinnati College of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 2011
  • University of Cincinnati
  • MEd
  • 2007
  • The Ohio State University
  • MBA - Master of Business Administration
  • 1993
  • University of Cincinnati
  • BBA - Bachelor of Business Administration
  • 1990
View all education

Legal Cases

  • 53-2014-DM-00073
  • closed
  • 53-2014-PR-00553
  • closed
  • 53-2015-DM-00024
  • closed
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Upper Missouri Bar Association (North Dakota)
  • Member
  • 2013 - Present
  • Federal Bar Association - Southern District of Ohio
  • Member
  • 2012 - Present
  • Cincinnati Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2011 - Present
  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2011 - Present
  • Ohio State Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2010 - Present
  • Denver Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • Peer Review Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • NAFLA TOP 10
  • National Academy of Family Law Attorneys
  • 2015

Speaking Engagements

  • Williston Area Recreation Center (ARC)
  • State Assembly District #1 - Republican Primary Candidate Forum
  • 2014

Attorney endorsements

Received (1)
Given (1)
Endorse Thomas
Family Attorney | Aug 02
Relationship: Opposing Counsel on matter
"T.J. Corcoran is well-regarded in the legal community for being thorough, fair, and creative. He works diligently and maintains a strong attention to detail. He comes up with realistic solutions to the problems of his clients. I have often observed his ability to effectively negotiate -- he has the ability to remain firm yet fair when finding favorable outcomes. If you need an experienced family law or civil litigation attorney, I recommend T.J. Corcoran."
Criminal defense