Skip to main content
Ethan Patrick Meaney
Avvo
Pro

Ethan Meaney’s Answers

2,551 total


  • Just a quick question...I bought a gallon of chocolate mile from a local grocery store. When I got home, I noticed a diffrence

    Got it, tasted the chocolate mild and it was noticeably diffrent. I've had other taste it, not telling them anything...all tasted same way I did. Now, I can't guarantee anything will be chemically diffrent, but does somebody know of anywhere th...

    Ethan’s Answer

    This is not a DUI/DWI question. Post in a different forum.

    See question 
  • Should I hire an expert to challenge the blow test on a 0.1.6 in Idaho?

    I am thinking of hiring an expert in my 2nd DUI case where I recently blew a 0.1.6 (about 4 beers), I am 71 years old and 160 pds. Do you think an expert could somehow challenge the blow test in Idaho, in regards to my age, weight, and miscalculat...

    Ethan’s Answer

    This is something you should be talking with your attorney about.

    See question 
  • What is the maximum penalty for driving after cancelation IPS in MN?

    I was on my way home from work, I was pulled over and was told my license was canceled IPS. I wasn't drinking at the time. I was wondering my options? Thanks

    Ethan’s Answer

    DAC-IPS is a gross misdemeanor offense, which carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and or a $3,000 fine.

    See question 
  • I was charged with failiure to drive a vehicle with due care. I'm only 16. Can I get my license revoked until age 18 for this?

    This is my first and only driving offense. When the accident happened I was doing under the limit. I did have two passengers when the law states that I can only have one. No one was injured but I totaled my brand new car. Also will taking a defens...

    Ethan’s Answer

    I'm not sure why you are asking this question under DWI category. Maybe you should re-post it in the criminal defense category.

    See question 
  • Can medical problems influence a breath test ?

    The Breathalyzer and Acid Reflux People suffering from gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) have an increased risk of getting a false-positive result above the legal limit on a breath-alcohol test. Even if only a very small amount of al...

    Ethan’s Answer

    You will want to sit down with a DWI attorney and discuss this, among other things, further. Use the "Find a Lawyer" tab at the top of the page to find one in your area. Good luck.

    See question 
  • Did they have the right to place me under arrest when I exhibit signs of intoxication due to extremely low glucose levels ?

    Approached by a police officer while parked in my vehicle checking my glucose level. Type one diabetic for 25 years and experienced extreme symptoms of low glucose. My meter read my glucose level at 41. While waiting for the EMS the officer used...

    Ethan’s Answer

    Use the "Find a Lawyer" tab at the top of the page to find a DWI lawyer in your area. Good luck.

    See question 
  • Can i get reimbursed from the DMV for fees i paid to get my license back after a DUI, if i was never charged in court?

    I was pulled over and arrested 5 years ago for a DUI, but was never charged in court. I paid well over 600$ to get my license reinstated through the DMV after they suspended it. Can i get some of them fees back since i was never charged??

    Ethan’s Answer

    Unfortunately no as these are two different matters.

    See question 
  • My daughter got a DUI. Her license has been revoked. I'm a DAV with mobility problems. Can she can a restricted license?

    I'm a disabled veteran. My 29 year old daughter lives with me. She does the shopping and just got a Job. Is there any way she can get a limited license that won't cost a lot? I can drive her sometimes, but like right now I'm in a Lupus flare a...

    Ethan’s Answer

    Did she refuse testing or test .16 or higher?

    See question 
  • What steps do i take and what are the possible consequences?

    1 not a drop when I was 18, blew under .08. 1 DWI charge that got me this ignition interlock, in November last year, blew .16. Unsupervised probation for 2 years plus ignition interlock, fees etc. I drank for the first time since my charge, waite...

    Ethan’s Answer

    If you get something in the mail from the DMV, contact your attorney right away to discuss. In the meantime if you are worried about your driving privileges you can check this website: https://mndriveinfo.org/dvsinfo/dv02/dv02frame.asp

    See question 
  • Why do I have to pay a $700 fine to the DMV of a state I don't get a dui in?

    Got a dui in North Dakota with a Minnesota drivers license. At the time of being convicted I was a resident of North Dakota. Now Minnesota won't allow me to get a license in North Dakota until I fill out bunch of forms and pay them $700. I am wond...

    Ethan’s Answer

    When you got the DUI you had a MN license. MN likely suspended you because of the ND DUI (which is very common). To be reinstated here in MN you will have to pay the reinstatement fee. If you do not pay it, MN will never reinstate you and that will cause you problems in other states as you are finding out.

    See question