Skip to main content
Max Allen Keller
Avvo
Pro

Max Keller’s Answers

712 total


  • I have a DUI in Minnesota . Can I move to South Dakota and register my car there ? What about Drivers License ?

    I got this DUI last summer. I have 3 years under Minnesota laws for an Interlock and DUI plates. Can I register my car in Sd with this on y record ? What about the Interlock and Plates ? Will SD require them ? And what about Drivers License ?...

    Max’s Answer

    If you registered car in SD and got a DL in SD, you still would not be able to drive _in MN_ without Interlock, in all likelihood, so if you are trying to avoid that you will probably will not be able to, I would call an Ignition Interlock company and ask them what happens to your ability to drive in MN if you got a SD DL.

    See question 
  • Friend of mine just had a heart attack, what about this warrant pending?

    A friend of mine just had a heart attack recently and has an active warrant from his Prob Officer, (no I'm not the friend) if he is under a doctor's care can they still pick him up on this warrant. He's suppose to turn himself in and is holding b...

    Max’s Answer

    As Sam said, your friend needs to get a good attorney to communicate w/the Court to resolve this satisfactorily so that your friend's health care needs are no compromised.

    See question 
  • Charged with refusal to take breathalyzer in minnesota. How can I avoid losing my driving privilege for a year?

    Pulled into the driveway and two police cars turned on blue lights. They said a 911 call came in saying I was driving erratically on interstate. Failed field test, taken in and tried to take breathalyzer. Unfortunately, I couldn't blow hard enough...

    Max’s Answer

    1. Hire an attorney.
    2. If this happened in Henn. or Ramsey Co's, your atty can get your DL temporarily Reinstated pending the outcome of your case
    3. Assuming you have no prior DWI's, a refusal by insufficient blowing is often reduced to a DWI of .08 or more, which would mean a reduction in your Revocation period from 1 year to 30 days, assuming you are over 21, no kids in the car, and no lifetime DWI's. Also, w/a 30 day Revo., you would be eligible for a work Permit after 15 days of Revo. time.

    See question 
  • I have two previous DWIs from 2012 and 2014. I recently got charged with misdemeanor theft

    For stealing a 6 pack from a gas station after liqour selling hours. I have court on Friday I'm wondering what my punishment may be? Do I need to get a lawyer or will I just pay a fine?

    Max’s Answer

    You need an Atty bec as Sam said a theft conviction can make you unemployable BUT also I'd bet you are still on DWI Prob'n so the theft will violate your DWI Prob'n and they will request jail time for that.

    See question 
  • Theft from Walmart

    Three of us (one underage - 17 years old) are citizens of Russia and Belarus. We came here for High School, and were accused of stealing from Walmart. The problem is - we DID genuinely forget that there is a giant remaining part of the cart we did...

    Max’s Answer

    I know the prosecutors in that area, because I was a public defender in that area over 10 years ago, the Prosecutors are harsh. You need an atty. You should call the Embassy. Theft convictions are always serious bec some places will not hire anyone w/a theft conviction. Get an atty. right away or if you can't afford one you can get a Public Defender.

    See question 
  • Is it possible to have a criminal sexual conduct charge expunged or at least dropped to where I don't have to register anymore?

    over 10 years ago I was convicted of Attempted CSC 4th degree. when I was going through court I was told I would only have to register for 10 years, on the paper that gets sent to me yearly said I have to register for life. This charge I have real...

    Max’s Answer

    Unfortunately for you, the expungement statute states that an offense requiring registration is NOT expungeable. However I did get one expunged for a client just a month ago in Ramsey Co. where he should have been required to register BUT he was not. So, consult an experienced Minnesota Expungement atty. ASAP.

    See question 
  • Is there hope for an appeal for an outrageous cps determination if the initial determination was ludicrous?

    Starting about a month ago cps came go our home to investigate a report about a "bruise" on my then 2 year old SD eye. We had taken her to the er the day before bec the kids told us their mother hit them and we noticed swelling on her eye. The er ...

    Max’s Answer

    YOU need an experienced atty. ASAP. Try a highly rated Avvo attorney.

    See question 
  • Can I do Court Ordered community service anywhere?

    Just want to know if theirs anyother service that I could go too? Example like a rec center, church, or any non profit organization... Fyi group of us got sent home because the organization didn't have enough car seats for us... It was my first day!

    Max’s Answer

    Generally YES, IF it is true Community Service and not STS (Sentenced to Serve) then you can do it wherever you want generally Probation does NOT have to approve before hand BUT it never hurts to ask your PO first!

    See question 
  • I was charged with a DUI. Will my drivers license be revoked if I was not arrested?

    I am 18 and was charged with a DUI and a minor. I was not pulled over. My car died in the middle of an intersection and a cop saw and came to help. He had asked if I had anything to drink, I was honest and said yes. I agreed to take a breathalyzer...

    Max’s Answer

    The previous answers are all correct. You need an experienced Defense Attorney to help you through this. Sometimes prosecutors will agree to let a driver plead guilty to Careless Driving rather than Underage Drink and Drive. If you can a Careless instead of UD&D, then no revo. of your DL.

    See question 
  • Can you be charged with misdemeanor stalking based on a IP address

    i am being criminally charged with misdemeanor for stalking based on craigslist adds posted under my IP address. The IP address is not in my name and it is my ex is the one who filled the charges.

    Max’s Answer

    Yes, you definitely can be. I know this bec. I had a client was charged w/ a violation of an OFP based on an IP Address. After a 1 week jury trial against 2 prosecutors, my client was acquitted and found not guilty by the jury in less than 2 hours. So, the lesson is, consult a highly experienced and highly regarded atty. asap.

    See question