I was driving and speeding. Got pulled over for speeding was asked to get out and do sobriety tests. I thought I did fine, blew all zeros but was still arrested for DUI controlled substance. I requested my blood be taken and they said it takes 4 ...
Don't hire a lawyer until you get the blood test result or a notice of license revocation.
If the blood test result is negative for controlled substances, you are left with a speeding ticket. You could handle the speeding ticket on your own.See question
I'm from Nebraska and was charged with Fourth-Degree Dwi in Minnesota with an alcohol concentration of 0.10 but passed the diagnostic check. I have a clean background with no records and this would be my first time getting charged for dui. Also, I...
You should consult with an attorney. A DWI can have immigration consequences. If you retain an attorney, you may not have to return to court in Minnesota to resolve the case. If your alcohol concentration is 0.10, there generally would be a good chance to reduce the criminal charges to a non-DWI offense such as careless driving.See question
I got a dui. haven't drove since. I have my own business which I use my truck. No cdl is needed to operate it, but im told technically it is a commercial truck because of the size, its the biggest you can drive without a cdl. I don't think it ...
If it's registered to you or the business you own, the vehicle will be subject to plate impoundment. You have a right to challenge plate impoundment and license revocation, but the time period to challenge those sanctions generally is 30 days from the date of the incident.
It is a misdemeanor offense for anyone to drive a vehicle subject to plate impoundment without whiskey plates.
I suggest consulting with a lawyer promptly about your options.See question
My son was pulled over yesterday and the only thing he's is being charged with is "underage drinking and driving" He is 17 years old and this is his first offense.
Rodd is right. 30 days of revocation if convicted of the offense and it's a first-time offense. It may be possible to avoid a criminal conviction for the offense.See question
04/2008 arrested for DUI in Ramsey county (st. paul, MN). Plead down to a careless driving as my blood draw came back 0.096 as pulled over for crossing a turning-lane line in unfamiliar territory & was my first & only offense. Does the arrest stil...
Your criminal record should display a careless driving conviction, and there's a record of the criminal court case that is publicly available. Your civil driving record should display a careless driving conviction and an implied consent license revocation (for testing 0.08 or more). While it's theoretically possible to expunge a criminal careless driving conviction at least two years after completing probation (assuming a person has not been convicted of any new crimes), there isn't much to be gained from seeking expungement of a careless driving conviction because you cannot expunge the implied consent license revocation from your driving record. Thus, even if expungement is granted, the criminal record is sealed but one can see the DWI license revocation on your driving record.
To succeed in the expungement of a careless driving conviction, one has to file a petition with the court and prove to the court by clear and convincing evidence that expungement would yield a benefit to the petitioner that outweighs the detriment to the public and public safety. In fact, there are twelve factors the court addresses in expungement cases like this one. See https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=609A.03.
In general, I would only recommend seeking expungement of a careless driving conviction if the offense is causing one problems with his or her career or other endeavors. It's rare that careless driving would cause one problems with work, but it's possible in some fields.See question
I recently got a dwi that required "W" plates on my vehicle and my wife's vehicle which is leased and has both our names on the lease.
She could request administrative review of the license plate impoundment and typically would prevail if:
1. The alleged offender was not on the title to the vehicle at the time of the incident;
2. The alleged offender had a valid driver's license at the time of the incident; and
3. The wife was not a passenger in the vehicle when the DWI incident occurred.
If those three requirements are met, she likely can avoid whiskey plates through the administrative review process.See question
I got a Minor Consumption, I am 18 years old with nothing else on my record. I have already met with a "court hearing officer" and they couldn't grant me a Continuance for dismissal because they don't have the power to in Minnesota? Even though tw...
You may be able to keep this incident off your record through negotiations with the prosecutor. A lawyer often can improve your negotiation position.See question
Got caught shoplifting. 4 dollar item. When they wrote down my information they wrote wrong bday and id # . Sent new paper out few months later with right info. Month after got pulled over and did not now I had a warrant. So I got arrested. Now ...
You likely missed the initial court date, and a bench warrant was issued.See question
my son is in jail, he has a public defender appointed by the courts, I talked with him he says my son is looking at maybe 4 yrs in prison, But if I hire this public defender and pay him $5000 He can get my son 2yrs. Why is that? Why can't he get ...
His ethical duty is to represent your son the same way whether he's working as a part-time public defender or private lawyer. Hiring an appointed attorney doesn't make any sense.
Given his nonsensical and arguably unethical statements, your son may want to retain a private attorney. It can't hurt to seek a second or third opinion regarding the case.See question
He had 3 prior offenses on his record from when he was young so license cancelled ips. he can get his license back if He does interlock. Since he is not working & had surgery that makes him unable to work at present he has not attempted to get h...
Ethan is right. Your husband must complete successfully at least 3 years of ignition interlock where the first year is limited driving privileges. For the guidelines, see https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/programs/mn-ignition-interlock/Documents/Ignition-Interlock-ProgramGuidelines.pdf.See question