Skip to main content

Mark Arneson

DUI and DWI Attorney at Minneapolis, MN

5.0   66 reviews

Licensed for 25 years

Free consultation

About Mark

Learn Mark’s areas of practice.

5
Practice areas
  1. Criminal defense
    35%
    Dedicated to defending persons accused of all crimes, including felony, gross misdemeanor and misdemeanor offenses.

    25 years

  2. DUI and DWI
    35%

    25 years

  3. Domestic violence
    10%

  4. Expungement
    10%

  5. Sex crime
    10%

I have been practicing criminal law for over 24 years.  I began my career as a prosecutor and used the experience I gained  to aggressively defend those accused of a crime. 

My philosphy is that everyone is entitled to excellent representation no matter what type of charge they are facing.  I handle all cases from serious felonies to petty misdemeanors.

Named Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorney in Minnesota!

Named Top 100 Trial Attorney in Minnesota!

Named "Rising Star" by Minnesota Law & Politics!

"Superb" rating with AVVO!

Successfully Defended Thousands of Criminal Defense Clients!

Proven Results!

Photos and videos

Licensed for 25 years
State MN
Status Authorized to Practice
Acquired 1997
Updated 10/29/2022

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Mark

Arneson & Geffen
333 Washington Avenue North, Suite 405
Minneapolis, MN, 55401-1370

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  66 customer reviews
5 Star
 
100%
4 Star
 
0%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | December 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A Pleasure to Work With!
I hired Mark in October for a DWI charge and he was fabulous to work with. I made a huge mistake, but he was very compassionate about helping me to rectify it. He answered all of my questions and guided me through the process which I never could have navigated on my own. I was pleased with the outcome he helped to negotiate for me, and I’m so grateful that I chose to hire him. His fee was extremely fair and reasonable as well. I would definitely recommend Mark!
Read less
Posted by Zivan | February 13, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Owner
Mark was great from the minute we spoke on the phone. He walked me through the process and I learned alot as well. I hope I’m never in trouble again but if I am I have mark on speed dial. He’sa great lawyer and a great person.
Posted by Taylor | December 29, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Responsive & Professional
Mark helped me through one of the hardest situations I have ever been through. He was highly responsive, kept me in the loop and apprised of all the details in my case. Most importantly he worked out a resolution that was in my best interest. I would highly recommend him to anyone!
Posted by Kjell | September 27, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
A fair, honest and effective lawyer
Mark was kind, patient, fair and always took time to hear me. He didn’t make big promises but rather clearly laid out the realities of my situation and then rolled up his sleeves and worked hard to find the best possible outcome for me. My case was in Scott county and he was well acquainted with the prosecutors and judges there as well as those in surrounding counties. I appreciate Marks honesty, kind manner and depth of knowledge, I could not have managed this without him.
Read less
Posted by Ashley | September 16, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best lawyer!
First I wanna start by thanking mark for his hard work and dedication. I was looking at doing 73+ months in prison but thanks to him I only did 50 days of house arrest he got me a very good deal communication was great, he worked out some payments with me, and the outcome was phenomenal I totally recommend him.
Posted by Mike | July 27, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommended.
I would recommend Mark without hesitation. We was honest, polite and professional. He would always answer my emails or texts in a timely manner. He is well respected with the prosecuting attorneys. He was able to get my charges dropped.
Posted by anonymous | June 26, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent service
Mark was very knowledgeable and helpful with everything. He responded in a quick manner and provided the highest quality service. Highly recommend him
Posted by Colt | June 21, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Top notch
Mark helped get me the best possible outcome for my case. He always stayed in contact and always explained my options thoroughly. I appreciate your service Mark thanks a lot
Posted by Aaron | March 16, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best Lawyer in Minnesota
I was arrested for my 5th DWI in my lifetime. During this process my mother was very sick until Mark went to bat for me did everything you could call checked up on me he was not only my word he became a very close Confidant. He went to bat for me on numerous occasions during this process my mother passed away. He got everything I asked for and more from the attorneys and had my back during the whole process and kept in contact. He also help me with my fees and was understanding about my situation. I would highly recommend Mark for your attorney reasons and purposes he is the best lawyer in the state of Minnesota. Not only a great lawyer but a great person. I would highly recommend you go with Mark he will go to bat for you and do anything possible for the best possible result.
Read less
Posted by Daniel | December 4, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer
Contacted Mark through email and he called me within minutes. From there we went over my case. I hired him and he took over from there. He was able to get charges dropped to a lower charge. Would recommend Mark to anyone.
Posted by anonymous | November 19, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Experience
Mark was an amazing attorney and worth every penny. He cares about his clients and will go above and beyond to help them get the best outcome possible.
Posted by Mitchell | November 17, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney for DUI / DWI charges
Mark was very serious with my case from the start and helped bring down my charges . I would recommend him to anyone with any type of case but specifically for DUI or DWI charges he was very good for that . I had another attorney previously on the same case and he didn’t think we could make anything happen and I talked with mark and he said what I wanted to hear and I ended up hiring him and using him and we had Great Results that would not have been able to be done with the old attorney
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 1, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Representation
Mark was both efficient and timely. I had to hire him at the last minute and he did very well and made a very difficult situation much easier. I hope to never be in a situation needing him again, but if I were, there would be no doubt that I’d hired him.
Posted by anonymous | January 14, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great Attorney and wonderful individual
I never thought I will be needed an attorney before, but hired Mark Arneson to help us with a citation which ended up in court. Mark’s expertise and reassurance offered great emotional support to our family. Mark was cool and confident. Mark ensured the best possible outcome to relieve us from the stressful times. Thanks, so much Mark!!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 20, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Man of his word!
When I got my dwi I was uncertain what would happen next. I contacted many lawyers and came across Mark. He explained the necessary steps and told me he could bring the charges down to a careless driving. He always did a great job explaining the legal process and answering questions I had. And guess what? He stayed true to his word and the charges were reduced. I always felt like Mark was in my corner and I'm 100% sure he will be in yours.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 15, 2018
This review is from a potential client who consulted with this attorney.
| Consulted Attorney
Need more like him
Mark is an absolute MUST consult if you are facing criminal charges. While others lawyers were trying to sell me on their resumes and/or create fear in me to justify their overpriced fee, Mark took the time to get to know me as a human being and then gave me an honest unbiased consultation about my case. Talking to Mark is like talking to a friend, and he is in the business because he truly enjoys helping people. He stays true to his philosophy of affordable representation as well. He's not cheap (no lawyer really is though) but the fee he quoted me was very reasonable and he is willing to work with you if you cant pay it all upfront. I desperately needed this too since I foolishly paid 2k to another lawyer for next to nothing and other life events that drained my bank account. Anyway, after two long and absolutely free meetings with Mark I was all but certain I was going to hire him. The only reason I didn't is because I ended talking to one final lawyer who's fee saved me even more money. Now, I wouldn't recommend making a decision on a lawyer base on fee alone, but as someone who was almost on the brink of bankruptcy I needed to stop the bleeding and take the best offer I could get. Only time will tell if this was a wise move by me. Regardless of my decision, I highly recommend Mark. There are very few like him in the business and if you want high quality representation for a fair price he is your guy.
Read less
Posted by Dawn | November 16, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank You!
Mark is an awesome lawyer! Always kept me in the loop about my case. Made sure I understood what was happening and took the time to fully explain answers to my questions!
Posted by Jason | October 29, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
DUI client
Mark was great! I was pulled over for swerving and charged with a dui. Not only did Mark get my charges dropped down to a lane change failure rather than a dui, he made it feel like I should have been doing more since he literally took care of everything in perfectly good order from day 1 paperwork, to the day we saw the judge. Couldn’t have been happier with Marks professionalism and ability to make sure the law was on my side! I would highly recommend Mark, he will make you feel like you’re his only client, it’s comforting...
Read less
Posted by anonymous | August 6, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Criminal Charges
Mark is professional, easy to communicate with and approachable. He was able to completely drop two of my three criminal charges. He drove from the cities one and a half hours to each court date. I was able to continue on with life as he worked diligently with the Prosecutor. Mark took my stress on and allowed me feel assured that he was continuously working on my case. Mark did his job well and this allows me to continue on with mine! I can't thank you him enough. With out Mark I wouldn't have my career and can't imagine where I would be.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | July 23, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Best outcome possible
I was facing a felony assault charge against a prosecutor that wouldn't budge. Mark handled my case professionally and ultimately got the charge reduced so that I can move on with my professional life and leave this in my past. I highly recommend him.
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 10.0 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Partner
  • Arneson & Geffen
  • 2008 - Present
  • Attorney
  • Arneson & Associates
  • 2001 - 2008
  • Associate Attorney
  • Meshbesher Law Office
  • 1999 - 2001
  • Prosecuting Attorney
  • Rajkowski Hansmeier
  • 1997 - 1999
View all work experience

Education

  • William Mitchell College of Law
  • 1997

Legal Cases

  • State v. Painter
  • State dismissed case at trial
  • State v. Mogendi
  • Trial Verdict, Not Guilty
  • State v. Aurzada
  • Trial Verdict, Not Guilty
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Minnesota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Member
  • 2010 - Present
  • Hennepin County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2010 - 2011
  • Minnesota State Bar Association, Criminal Law Section
  • Member
  • 2010 - 2011
  • Hennepin County Bar Association, Criminal Law Section
  • Member
  • 2010 - 2011
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Awards

  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2022
  • Top 25 Criminal Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers Association
  • 2022
  • Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorneys Minnesota
  • National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys
  • 2022
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2022
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers Association
  • 2021
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2021
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2020
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2019
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2018
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • 2014
  • Top 10 Criminal Defense Attorneys Minnesota
  • National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys
  • 2013
  • Top 100 Criminal Defense Lawyers in Minnesota
  • American Society of Legal Advocates
  • 2013
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers Association
  • 2013
  • Top 100 DWI Attorneys in Minnesota
  • National Advocacy for DUI Defense
  • 2013
  • Criminal Defense
  • Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services
  • 2012
  • Criminal Defense
  • Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services
  • 2011
  • Criminal Defense
  • Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services
  • 2010
  • Crimianl Defense
  • Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services
  • 2009
  • Rising Star
  • Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine
  • 2004
  • Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2004
  • Rising Sar
  • Minnesota Law & Politics Magazine
  • 2004
  • Rising Star
  • Minnestoa Law and Politics
  • 2003
  • Rising Star
  • Minneapolis St. Paul Magazine
  • 2003
  • Rising Star
  • SuperLawyers
  • 2003
View all awards

Publications

  • Minnesota State Bar Association
  • Urine Testing in DWI Cases
  • 2010

Speaking Engagements

  • Criminal Justice Institue
  • DWI Testing
  • 2010

Attorney endorsements

Received (12)
Given (18)
Unknown Attorney | Apr 06
Relationship: Other
"A top notch attorney who has great knowledge of the law. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Mar 10
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mark is a highly knowledgeable and experienced lawyer in the area of criminal and DWI law. His reputation is A+. He zealously represents his clients to the highest degree. I give him my full endorsement"
Criminal defense Attorney | May 29
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Mark. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Criminal defense Attorney | Aug 19
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | May 05
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mark is a skilled practitioner who knows the system and the judges. He is often seen in courts across the State. I give him my full endorsement."
Criminal defense Attorney | Feb 03
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Arneson is a well known and respected Criminal and DUI/DWI attorney in Minnesota."
Criminal defense Attorney | Jan 24
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mark is very experienced in the area of criminal defense and is a zealous and diligent advocate for his clients."
Criminal defense Attorney | Nov 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mark and I see each other in court state wide. I love discussing legal issues with him because he is an excellent lawyer! It is such a luxury in this day and age to work with and deal with a great lawyer like Mark!"
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 28
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"Mark is an excellent, aggressive and thorough lawyer. I endorse this lawyer."
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 20
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Arneson stays on top of the cutting edge issues and always conscientiously represents his clients, getting results that most often would not have been possible without his work. I recommend him to anyone who needs criminal help at affordable, reasonable fee rates. Jeff Ring-Attorney"
Criminal defense Attorney | Sep 18
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Mark because he has incredible integrity to go along with his excellent legal skills to make sure his clients are represented to the highest degree. Mark is simply a incredible person who is also a phenomenal attorney."
Criminal defense Attorney | Oct 17
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Arneson has extensive experience defending criminal cases. He is well known and respected in the legal community."
View more endorsements
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
DUI and DWI
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
DUI and DWI
Business
Criminal defense
Criminal defense
Minneapolis DUI and DWI Lawyer Mark Arneson
Mark Arneson
DUI and DWI Attorney
Minneapolis, MN
Licensed for 25 years
Free Consultation