Skip to main content

Farhan Hassan

Family Attorney at Saint Paul, MN

4.9   18 reviews

About Farhan

Learn Farhan’s areas of practice.

Since 1998, Farhan Hassan has crafted his practice around all areas of family law, including divorce and custody proceedings that have interstate and/or international complexities; complex divorce and child custody cases; multi-million dollar estates involving business interests, real estate, fraud, concealed and/or dissipated assets, executive benefits, stock options, and trusts; and high-conflict custody cases with allegations of physical, sexual, or emotional abuse, parental alienation, mental health complications, and third-party custody and parenting time petitions.

Mr. Hassan’s prosecutorial background in criminal law also make him a skilled Trial lawyer and a strong advocate for his clients. Mr. Hassan has appeared before numerous Trial Court judges throughout the seven-county metropolitan area at Trials, Motion hearings and other contested hearings. Mr. Hassan has also successfully tried jury Trials.

Mr. Hassan’s family law experience includes the following:

  • Successfully litigating numerous modifications of legal and physical custody, including emergency Motions;
  • Successfully litigating numerous initial establishments of legal and physical custody;
  • Successfully litigating and defending Emergency and Temporary Motions;
  • Successfully litigating and defending Motions for Contempt;
  • Successfully litigating numerous Motions to Compel Discovery;
  • Successfully completed divorce and custody disputes where one parent or party is in another country;
  • Successfully obtaining numerous property settlement awards in complex, high-net worth, dissolution cases;
  • Obtaining need-based and conduct-based attorney fee awards, of up to $50,000;
  • Negotiating settlements involving privately held businesses and self-employed individuals;
  • Successfully litigating and obtaining an award in excess of $300,000 in a case involving dissipation of assets;
  • Successfully litigating and defending numerous Order for Protection cases, some of which involve custody & parenting time;
  • Successfully representing individuals seeking out-of-state relocation;
  • Significant experience working in conjunction with financial planners in spousal maintenance cases; mental health professionals in custody/parenting time conflicts; and financial experts in cases involving business valuations and forensic accounting issues;
  • Extensive experience in Motions for Amended Findings/New Trial, and Appeals to the Minnesota Court of Appeals;
  • Successfully defending clients charged with sexual abuse;
  • Extensive litigation in the areas of temporary and permanent spousal maintenance, establishment and modification of custody and parenting time, property settlement, allocation of debt and child support;
  • Appeared in numerous Financial Early Neutral Evaluations & Social Early Neutral Evaluations on behalf of clients; and
  • Successfully negotiated numerous settlements through Alternative Dispute Resolution (Mediation, SENE, FENE and/or settlement conferences).
  • Mr. Hassan represents a wide variety of individuals, including self-employed professionals, professional athletes, public figures, entrepreneurs, physicians, attorneys, engineers, and executives.

While Mr. Hassan strongly believes in attempting to cooperatively settle or mediate cases, he is also a zealous advocate when litigation is the only viable option. Mr. Hassan has received Financial Early Neutral Evaluation Training and Social Early Neutral Evaluation Training through the Minnesota Judicial Branch, and he is currently on the Early Neutral Evaluation rosters of Dakota County and Ramsey County. Mr. Hassan has also received Mediation Training, and he is a Qualified Neutral under Rule 114 of the Minnesota General Rules of Practice. Mr. Hassan is also a member of the Minnesota ADR Ethics Board.

Mr. Hassan received his Juris Doctorate, cum laude, from the William Mitchell College of Law in 1998. He is currently licensed to practice law in the State of Minnesota and in Federal Court.

Mr. Hassan has also received a ranking of AV Preeminent©, the highest rating of excellence in the Martindale-Hubbell© Peer Review RatingsTM, and has been listed in the “Rising Star” peer-reviewed legal ranking for several years. Mr. Hassan has also been listed in the “Super Lawyer” peer-reviewed legal ranking each year since 2014.

Licensed for 24 years
State MN
Status Authorized to Practice
Acquired 1998
Updated 04/24/2023

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

Contact Farhan

Similar lawyers nearby

Clausen & Hassan, LLC
Waters Drive Business Park
2305 Waters Drive
Saint Paul, MN, 55120
Clausen & Hassan, LLC
310 4th Avenue South
Suite 5010
Minneapolis, MN, 55415
Clausen & Hassan, LLC
Bent Creek Business Center
7525 Mitchell Road, Suite 206
Eden Prairie, MN, 55344
Hide locations

Reviews

4.9 / 5.0
  18 customer reviews
5 Star
 
94%
4 Star
 
6%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | October 26, 2020
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Sincere, Proactive and Efficient...an Excellent Attorney Experience
I had my first consultation with Farhan Hassan and my mind was put to ease. He was knowledgeable, confident, responsive and accessible whenever I needed to discuss something. My divorce seemed insurmountable but Farhan thoroughly explained and expertly handled the whole process. Court documents were filed efficiently, his team kept me up to date on all activity and the day of my hearing went off without a glitch. Without a doubt, I highly recommend Farhan and his firm.
Read less
Posted by Scott | February 20, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Knowledge Backed Up With A Terrific Team
I want to send a note to thank you all for the excellent work that you all have done with regards to my legal issues. From the very first time I spoke with Farhan on the initial consultation, I had a very good feeling that I was working with a very professional and competent firm. Farhan did a great job of explaining the process and his plan to reach the goals we had for this case. The entire team was wonderful in working with me on the discovery portion of the project. I did not mention that I am over 1,100 miles away from their offices. Yet, the process went exactly as planned, and as smooth as if I had been living across town. The case progressed through Mediation and a Motion hearing, and I was completely at ease as Farhan and his staff were there with me for every phase, ready and well-armed with information, data, and excellent arguments to bring my case to a conclusion. I received the result that I had hoped for, and I am so appreciative of all the hard work and support that the entire team has provided as we took on this challenge and succeeded in termination of spousal support.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | January 30, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Farhan Hassan
Farhan Hassan is the lawyer you need if you are feeling bullied, intimidated, and afraid of the repercussions of even starting the divorce process. I’ve heard Farhan and his paralegal Heather referred to as the “dynamic duo” by other legal professionals, and they will help you through the panic and frustration. I had the honor of having Farhan Hassan as my divorce attorney . Farhan takes the confusion out of the legal process, all the uncertainty out of “what if’s”, and all of the punch out of the opposing attorney’s attacks. This man simply cannot be threatened. Farhan responded to each of my ex-husband’s threats and unfounded court summons with such dignity and airtight logic, that my ex-husband (who I once feared) and his attorney ended up looking rediculous as they surrendered every attack, gained nothing, and left a paper trail of misconduct. My ex-husband expected me to quietly leave my home of 20 years with nothing from the joint savings account and without my children. He had no intention of buying me out of the house, establishing a parenting schedule, or paying spousal/child support. In his mind, everything we built together belonged to him (you know the type). Instead, Farhan promptly established temporary spousal support so I could leave the environment, ensured that 1/2 the equity in the house was paid to me, negotiated child support and other child related expenses, established a parenting schedule and set up a 3rd party communication system so conduct is documented and personal interactions limited, and negotiated permanent spousal support with a cost of living adjustment. Additionally, he secured my financial future by requiring my ex-husband to carry enough life insurance to protect my spousal support in all eventualities. Farhan is an amazingly capable attorney, and has more integrity in his little finger that my ex-husband and his attorney combined could muster up in a life time. If you are looking for a cut throat lawyer who will stop at nothing to hoard money and make women suffer, then he is not the attorney for you. Farhan fights against people like this. If I could give him a 6th star I would, with a 7th star for his paralegal Heather.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 27, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly recommend
It was a pleasure working with Mr. Hassan and Miss Bryant. They were professional, courteous and responsive and, most importantly, helped me to meet my dissolution goals. I highly recommend Clausen & Hassan to anyone looking for experienced family law professionals. They will listen to you and get the job done.
Posted by anonymous | March 15, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
No more looking...Farhan is your lawyer
I was nervous at first when researching different law firms and wondering whom should I hire. But once the initial consultation with Farhan was done, I made my decision to hire him to help with my divorce process. Really appreciate his attention to detail and personal care towards his clients made the process go seamless. Overall I am very happy with the services and completion of quality work.
Read less
Posted by Mandeep | February 2, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Marriage Dissolution
As my attorney, Farhan Hassan was very proactive in protecting my rights and in providing quick, reliable feedback and answers to my questions. I was also pleased with his paralegal, Heather, and their sincere guidance in my case. Additionally Farhan displayed excellent negotiation skills in settling my case. I highly recommend him and his firm, Clausen & Hassan, LLC, to others based on my experience as a client.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | March 25, 2016
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Would Hire Again - Fair, Drama Free and Compassionate
Fahan is very prepared, listens and is thorough. I represented myself during the initial phases. Farhan was very helpful on a graceful transition. He set and met reasonable objectives. My objectives 1-I wanted my wife and me to remain friends 2-I wanted primary custody of my daughter 3-I listed assets I wanted to retain 4-I wanted a to give my wife time to get help (if she chose - slow process) 5-It was important for me to do some legwork Compared to most divorces, mine took a bit longer, was more tense and cost a bunch more (due to complexity). Due to the semi-public nature of our family, it was important to keep the matter private (and sealed when complete). He was very prompt and communicated when necessary. His assistant is very professional. Our divorce took a few surreal turns. Farhan was quick to refer specialists when necessary and did not drum up drama. The entire process took about 18 months. It's been about 18 months since the paper work was final. My wife and I have the ability to take our daughter to dinner without tension. I believe divorce is fundamentally wrong and sucks to live through. Hire a good mental health professional and pick an attorney you enjoy working with. I retained Farhan for another legal issue - point made.
Read less
Posted by Susan | December 17, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Farhan truly is your advocate
I used Farhan years ago and I highly recommend him. I was living a nightmare with a parenting consultant and extremely challenging high conflict case that was dragging on and on over co-parenting conflicts. I consulted with over 30 attorneys who would not touch my case, but Farhan saw the need to get my family some sort of resolution. We'd been in the battle for 6 years! He was up front about what could and could not realitically be done and always kept me informed on every step. We ended up with a custody trial, which accomplished my goal of sole physical and legal custody for me. So many lawyers told me it was not possible to get that, but Farhan saw that the PC decisions laid out a case for sole custody. The great thing is that the custody change ended the battle, got rid of a meddling PC and my former spouse and I got along much better once the fight was taken away. It truly was the best thing for me, my children and even my ex. Farhan will take the hard cases, when other attorneys will not, and he will be honest with you. Farhan was my fourth attorney and he had to undo messes that were the creation of the three previous attorneys. I recommend him to anyone I know going through divorce or high conflict parenting issues. He will get the job done!
Read less
Posted by Jessy | July 13, 2015
Three facts you should know about divorce lawyers
There are only three facts that you need to know about divorce lawyers... 1) just like any other industry/field, there's a drastic difference between good and great, and it isn't easy to distinguish that difference, 2) the financial outcome of a good lawyer verses a great lawyer is literally thousands of dollars, and in some cases hundreds of thousands of dollars, and 3) if your spouse has a lawyer, don't try to save a little money and proceed without a lawyer on your side; this is penny wise and pound foolish. I'm speaking from experience; I've had a few different lawyers before I finally found Clausen & Hassan; I would have been much better off finding/using them in the first place. They transferred the house to my name, removed my alimony over a year early, and obtained a Karon Waiver to guarantee no further financial loss. Feel free to send me questions or thank me for introducing you to Clausen & Hassan.
Read less
Posted by Jose | May 26, 2015
Efficiency, Relevance, Empathy, Respect and Clarity
"Because of the complexity of the case, during the course of my divorce, I interviewed and communicated with some 20 lawyers. I consequently feel confident to state that Farhan Hassan is one of the best lawyer in the Twin Cities Area. Farhan has an extraordinary ability to rapidly sort through a wealth of information, focus on what is relevant, identify implications, correct misunderstanding, and communicate with empathy, respect and clarity the options available. The quality assistance Farhan and his office staff provided me, while meeting the greatest standards of ethics and efficiency, has bettered our lives forever. I highly recommend F. Hassan." Mother of four.
Read less
Posted by Eric | May 7, 2015
Ideal Attorney Experience
Mr. Hassan was perfect during a difficult time of my somewhat contentious divorce. He always treated me with respect, compassion, and professionalism. I discovered Mr. Hassan from a chance meeting with a distance acquaintance who highly recommended him. I'd been searching for and interviewing attorneys, not finding satisfaction. Mr. Hassan asked questions to seek real understanding from me and my goals. I felt heard when I spoke. Even more, he presented various options for my consideration. True advocacy! He didn't "lead" so much as he "delivered" me to a destination I desired as the best option from those he explained to me along the journey. Mr. Hassan always showed great respect for time and resources. At the same time, I feel he never compromised or missed what truly mattered. I genuinely looked-forward to my meetings with him. He made hearings immeasurably more relaxed for me. I never felt Mr. Hassan's ego or style ever eclipsed my goals. His impressive intellect and perspectives developed flexible, contingency plans during the entire process. My divorce was settled in mediation with his verve, grace, strength, and advocacy dismantled my unsavory stereotypes of attorneys. The opposing attorney embodied my negative stereotypes! Mr. Hassan always took the "high road" when the opposing attorney sought the "mud", expressed ugly boorishness, or absurd proposals. I was very proud to be associated with Mr. Hassan rising above it all... Keeping "it real" and mitigating drama in an already depressing situation. Confronting aggressive intimidation antics with grace. At times Mr. Hassan sensed my needs to regroup and collect myself in the face of changing proposals. He stopped the mediation process or a break; finding a private space to remind me of the plan, the perspective, and the means to the optimized goal - at the same time holding space for me to change my mind to stand my ground and escalate - but reminding me what would likely result from my decisions. That's Mr. Hassan's experience at work guiding me along what path I choose. Repeat: the path *I* choose. I felt in control with my advocate showing the pros-and-cons along with his opinion. True advocacy. True counsel. I can virtually guarantee satisfaction for any sane and realistic person working with Mr. Hassan. Search no longer... Mr. Farhan Hassan is fantastic.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 17, 2015
Fantastic Lawyer
I highly recommend Farhan. He was a wealth of knowledge and provided me with the legal advice I needed. Farhan is a hard-working individual, and he made me feel important as a client. I am very grateful for his expertise, and I would use him again for all my legal needs.
Posted by anonymous | April 16, 2015
Highly recommended
I feel very fortunate that Farhan was recommended to me in what has turned out to be a very difficult divorce and custody proceeding. He is very knowledgeable, dedicated, and his experience in family law is evident . He has also been very fair financially and resposive as issues arise. Farhan and his paraglegal Heather are obviously well respected by their peers as well as understanding to what a difficult time divorce and custody situations can be for their client.
Read less
Posted by Rinki | April 6, 2015
Knowledgeable
I am very glad that Farhan came highly recommended through a family friend,. Farhan’s thought process is very clear on issues, but what really makes; it clearer is the client’s expectations upfront. Knowing the end result and communicating that to him, definitely makes life easier for both the parties. In my experience, Farhan was very candid in letting me know upfront that what I want and what I get in the end might be two different things; and I appreciated the honesty in that. My case was active was almost active for 2 years in court and him and his staff were always very diligent about getting back to me via emails , calls etc. within 24 hours. He never failed to play the devil’s advocate, if ever I was taking an extreme stand on issues, so that he and I can be prepared for the opposing counsel or the judge. It is definitely not something that one expects, from their advocate, but after a while, one does develop a lawyer perspective in doing so. In today’s day and economy, where budgeting is the key and especially in a divorce case , where financial matters can be lengthy and complicated ;Farhan did let me know of ways and things that I can do, to save money and his time and I appreciated that effort of his . Looking back, the only thing that I would do different is learn more about the judicial system on my pace. There were a number of times, that I had to pick Farhan’s brain and his staff as well on the flow of events (mediation, Early neutral evaluation, settlement conferences etc.) . He was more than happy to answer all my questions and educate me on general topics of the judicial system, but it did come at a cost. Instead, I would recommend taking the co- parenting class on legal and economic issues offered through the county for approx... $40.00 , which for the most part covered all aspects of the judicial system. I would even recommend that class, if you are even thinking of divorce and have not talked to your spouse yet. I have not dealt with any lawyers in the past ( most of us don’t) , so my review of course will not have a frame of reference , or comparison , but at the end of the day , I was content with the approach, the skills, the experience that he demonstrated during my case.
Read less
Posted by Lisa | April 6, 2015
Would definitely recommend!!
Farhan is hardworking and dedicated. He has a great knowledge of the law and was always very up-front with me. He goes the extra mile, and is not afraid of fighting for his clients. I felt I didn't have to do the arguing during our difficult mediation session with my ex. I found him very fair on charges, something rare in the world of attorney's. I would definitely use Farhan again and highly recommend him!!
Read less
Posted by Jason | April 4, 2015
A+++ Fantastic Experience
Farhan and Heather were extremely professional and courteous throughout the entire custody process. We began with a thorough sit-down in which we discussed my goals, Farhan then laid out a plan to carry this out, and I was kept informed(by Farhan himself) every step of the way. Farhan was efficient and the billing was more than fair; I actually think they let me slide a bit due to financial constraints on my end. Farhan's reputation in court seemed to proceed him; the judge knew him from a previous case and actually took the time to say it was nice to see him again. The post ruling follow up was also great, I was contacted by both Heather and Farhan several months after. They were just checking in to see how everything was going. Fantastic experience....
Read less
Posted by Barb | April 2, 2015
Exceeded Expectations- HIGHLY Recommend
My experience with Mr. Hassan was an excellent one. Farhan has the unique ability to take a challenging and stressful situation and turn it into a positive outcome. Realistic expectations were given from the beginning and I was kept well informed throughout the process. I had expected a long process, but Farhan kept it focused and my divorce was finalized exactly 3 months from the date of filing. I am grateful that Farhan was referred to me and I would definitely refer him to family, friends, and co-workers.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | February 21, 2010
Very GOOD!
Farhan was overal a very good attorney. My case had a OFP and a failed Psych evaluation by the other party.. My case was and is very complex. I don't feel Farhan was as assertive as I would have liked but if you are looking more for a VERY effective mediator and someone who knows the law and the local court systems well, he is perfect for you.
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 60 minutes
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.8 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Adjunct Professor
  • William Mitchell College of Law
  • 2008 - Present
  • Partner
  • Clausen & Hassan, LLC
  • 2004 - Present
  • Associate Attorney
  • Lubov & Associates, LLC
  • 2001 - 2004
  • Associate Attorney
  • Orman & Nord
  • 1999 - 2001
  • Law Clerk
  • The Honorable David P. Sullivan
  • 1998 - 1999
View all work experience

Education

  • William Mitchell College of Law
  • JD - Juris Doctor, cum laude
  • 1998
  • Luther College
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1995

Legal Cases

  • Sommer v. Sommer, C7-02-179, filed July 16, 2002
  • Young v. Young, C9-02-104, filed June 4, 2002
  • Hennepin County v. Johnson, A06-938, filed January 16, 2007
View all legal cases

Associations

  • Dakota County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Washington County Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Financial Early Neutral Evaluation Roster List of Providers
  • Anoka County, Dakota County & Ramsey County
  • N/A
  • Hennepin County Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Ramsey County Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
  • National Asian Pacific American Bar Association (Minnesota chapter)
  • Former Director
  • N/A
  • Association of Family and Conciliation Courts
  • Member
  • N/A
  • Minnesota State Bar Association
  • Member
  • N/A
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • Hindi
  • Urdu

Honors and Awards

  • Super Lawyer
  • Minnesota Super Lawyers
  • 2018
  • Super Lawyer
  • Minnesota Super Lawyers
  • 2017
  • Super Lawyer
  • Minnesota Super Lawyers
  • 2016
  • Super Lawyer
  • Minnesota Super Lawyers
  • 2015
  • Super Lawyer
  • Minnesota Super Lawyers
  • 2014
  • Rising Star
  • Minnesota Law & Politics Magazine
  • 2013
  • Rising Star
  • Minnesota Law & Politics Magazine
  • 2011
  • 2010 Firm of the Year
  • Tubman
  • 2010
  • Rising Star
  • Minnesota Law & Politics Magazine
  • 2010
  • Rising Star
  • Minnesota Law & Politics Magazine
  • 2009
  • Rising Star
  • Minnesota Law & Politics Magazine
  • 2008
  • Rising Star
  • Minnesota Law & Politics Magazine
  • 2004
  • Rising Star
  • Minnesota Law & Politics Magazine
  • 2000
View all awards

Speaking Engagements

  • Continuing Legal Education Presentation
  • Harassment Restraining Orders
  • 2009
  • Legal Presentation
  • Child Custody and Support
  • N/A
  • Legal Presentation
  • Divorce Dollars & Sense
  • N/A
  • Legal Presentation
  • Divorce Seminar
  • N/A
View all speaking engagements

Attorney endorsements

Received (2)
Given (2)
Endorse Farhan
Family Attorney | May 30
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse Farhan. He is a highly skilled attorney that is well respected in the legal community."
Family Attorney | Apr 18
Relationship: Co-worker
"Farhan is a zealous advocate for his client. He is extremely knowledgable about the law and how it applies to the specific facts of his client's case. Farhan tirelessly pursues the best outcome for his client. He is adept at both litigation and alternative dispute resolution. I highly recommend Farhan and endorse him."

Avvo Contributions

This attorney hasn't created any legal answers in Q&A or legal guides recently on Avvo.

Saint Paul Family Lawyer Farhan Hassan
Farhan Hassan
Family Attorney
Saint Paul, MN
Licensed for 24 years
Free Consultation