We'll help you find the right solution for your needs
Does this sound like your topic?
I injured my back at work last August. I have been diagnosed with L5 spondy + 2 degenerated discs. In March, the orthopedist declared me at MMI and placed me on permanent work restrictions of "no bending, lifting or twisting with back." My empl...
First of all, keep in mind that the impairment rating is not your "settlement". Chances are that given they cannot accommodate your restrictions you will be owed significantly more. A qualified Iowa Workers' compensation attorney can explain more how this work. I offer a book and DVD at no cost or risk which also explains this to you in the comfort of your own home. Just click the link below.
Also, have you filed for unemployment? This is another potential source of income for you if it is done correctly.See question
No restrictions on work, hours from part-time job where injured dropped from 60 hrs per month to 2 hours per month.
You still have medical care for your work injury, but it can complicate things. For example, if you start having more problems with your injured area on your new job then you may end-up with both employers denying it is their responsibility. Also, if you are seeking permanent partial disability because the employer will most likely say they could have accommodated any permanent restrictions you may end up with.See question
I was kicked in the face while on the job and submitted a claim. It has been almost a year of jumping through hoops and I want to see their files to determine why.
You should start by sending them a letter citing to Iowa Code § 85.40 and § 85.41 which requires them to produce a statement of earning within 30 days or be subject to a simple misdemeanor. Also, you should have received a letter from Iowa Workforce stating that a first report of injury was filed. You should be able to contact Iowa Workforce and obtain their records if you are not successful with the insurance company. Other than those items, unless your case is in litigation there is not much you can do to force them to turn over the entire file.See question
He was able to return to work after 4 months. The ankle is rolled and he doesn't have any lateral movement. Additionally, he was terminated yesterday for poor work preformance on another job with the same employer.
It depends upon several factors including whether or not he has sustained a first injury for 2nd injury fund benefits. If he previously had a permanent injury to his other leg, hands, arms or eyes then he may qualify for significant additional benefits. Also, he is probably able to get a 2nd opinion under Iowa Code Section 85.39 which the defendants have to pay for. For more information you should request my book which explains the Iowa Workers' Compensation system.See question
What's mean ''two years of limitation'' in workcomp in Iowa?
If you have an Iowa work comp. claim and have not been paid weekly workers' compensation benefits then you generally only have 2 years from your date of injury or when you knew or should have known that your injury was work related. Note: payment of medical benefits does not extend the statute of limitations. The statute of limitations may be extended if you have received weekly Iowa workers' compensation benefits, but is always a good idea to consult with a qualified Iowa workers' compensation attorney before the 2 years expires. We offer a no cost or risk work injury audit for workers with an Iowa Work Comp. Claim. We also offer a book which explains how to avoid 7 deadly mistakes and reveals the injured workers' bill of rights.See question
I don't understand the difference between all this. The MMI doctor figure out the impairment rating and how much from body as a whole, but how and who figure out the industrial disability rating? Thank you.
First of all, it depends on what type of injury you have sustained. If you have sustained an injury to your back, neck, shoulder, brain, CRPS, mental health injury, 2nd injury Fund, etc. then industrial disability would apply. The factors associated with industrial disability are your age, education, restrictions, work history, earnings, impairment rating, etc. For example, you may have a 10% BAW- body as a whole impairment rating, but if your employer cannot accommodate your restrictions then you may owed 30, 40, 50% or more in industrial disability depending upon the various factors. You can learn more about industrial disability, 7 costly mistakes to avoid and the Iowa injured workers bills of rights by requesting my book at http://www.IowaWorkInjury.com.See question
After almost three months from MMI and disability rating from WC doctor I have no news from nobody. My employer don't want my back with my restrictions but didn't told my this so I am at home waiting. WC pay my weekly but I really want to know ...
There are certainly some things that can and should be done including the fact that you should probably be receiving a weekly workers' compensation check pending the impairment rating being issued. This is especially true if you have a body as a whole injury like a back, neck, shoulder, etc. and your employer does not want you back. Also, if you do not have a body as a whole injury, but instead have a scheduled member injury like an injury to her hand, arm, leg, foot, etc. A letter from a qualified Iowa workers' compensation attorney will probably get the ball rolling. I am certainly willing to discuss this you if you have questions or you can request my Iowa Workers' Compensation book that I offer at no cost or risk. Just go to http://www.iowaworkinjuryblog.com for more information and to request your book.See question
I live in Iowa,........and,for details,all the time when I called my surgeon nurse she said that ...'next week,he was busy.....''and didn t had time to done my impariment rating.At February first,when I was at him for MMI,he gave my the permanent...
No, there is not a time limit that a doctor has to give you an impairment rating in your case which sounds like a workers' compensation claim not medical malpractice. Sometimes, it can take several months as often the doctor will want paid by the insurance company before sending the report. Other times, doctors will put doing things like preparing reports on the back burner. I would suggest that you contact the insurance adjustor and/or the doctors office to see what the hold-up is. What may be more important in your case depending upon a number of factors is your right to a second opinion on the impairment rating.See question
On 12-14 while carrying a tray I heard a pop in my wrist and a lump appeared. I showed it to a coworker but didn't think it was serious. On 12-18 the pain was worse and I went to the ER, they sent me to a Dr. that does claims for my workers comp. ...
The time you have to report your work injury varies from state to state. It is good that you went to the doctor to document your problems, but hopefully you told them how this happened at work. If you do not talk to a lawyer right away, then consider contacting the Indiana Workers' Compensation state office to make sure the injury has been reported as most states require employer to file first reports of injury.See question
I have a Workmans Comp hearing Kansas. The judge wants to do it over the phone, I currently live in Iowa. Can i use a lawyer from Iowa that isn't licensed in KS to oversee my hearing ?
The laws are very different in each state and unless you can find an Iowa lawyer who is licensed to practice in Kansas and also very familiar with the Kansas workers' compensation laws you should find a lawyer in Kansas.See question