Skip to main content

Merrill H. Gordon

Divorce and separation Attorney at Farmington Hills, MI

5.0   21 reviews
  • Licensed for 42 years
    State MI
    Acquired 1981
    Status
    Active in Good Standing No misconduct found

We have not found any instances of professional misconduct for this lawyer.

About Merrill

Learn Merrill’s areas of practice.

Merrill Gordon was born and raised in the Detroit area. He spent 10 years in East Lansing/ Lansing, Michigan attending College and Law School, before returning to the Detroit area and beginning the practice of law in 1981. Merrill has practiced law in the Detroit metropolitan area for over 30 years, handling all every type of Family law case in Oakland County and throughout Michigan, as well as other types of civil , criminal and litigation matters.  Merrill has provided pro bono services to individuals in the community throughout his career and is active in his community.  He has been and has been involved various committees at Birmingham Groves High School and has taught enrichment classes at Birmingham Birkshire Middle School. He and his family are members of Temple Shir Shalom in West Bloomfield, MI and he has taught Sunday School there. Merrill has been married for more than 25 years and has 3 children, his 2 daughters have graduated from Michigan State University and his son is currently attending M.S.U.  Merrill enjoys all forms of outdoor activities and is an avid bicycle rider and cross country skiier.

Location

Merrill Gordon PC
31275 Northwestern Highway Suite 145
Farmington Hills, MI, 48334

Divorce lawyers nearby

Reviews

5.0 / 5.0
  21 customer reviews
5 Star
 
95%
4 Star
 
5%
3 Star
 
0%
2 Star
 
0%
1 Star
 
0%
Posted by anonymous | January 20, 2024
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
So appreciative!
Merrill Gordon was a great help to us. After being exhausted by a stressful dispute with our insurance company, Merrill's representation resulted in a very favorable resolution for us and we will always be appreciative of his efforts in this matter. If ever the unfortunate circumstance arose, we wouldn't hesitate to seek his representation again.
Read less
Posted by Aaron | February 22, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
The epitome of responsiveness
I have obtained services from many attorneys in my life, but I have yet to find one that can match his responsiveness. You won't wait weeks, days, or even hours for an answer. Having immediate feedback during delicate situations eases the anxiety one feels when dealing with the court system.
Posted by Laura | January 23, 2023
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thankful for Merrill
Merrill Gordon is an excellent attorney who truly goes above and beyond for his clients. He represented me in my divorce and later for parenting time issues. Merrill is professional, patient, thorough, and prompt to answer all questions and concerns. I really appreciated Merrill's no-nonsense style, he will tell you like it is and work hard to get you the results you want. I'm thankful for his representation and highly recommend for all family law matters!
Read less
Posted by Gerald K, MD | September 8, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Outstanding attorney
Merrill served as my attorney in a divorce case. He did an outstanding job providing a high level of expertise and attentiveness to my case. He was always (always!) accessible and very professional. I would highly recommend him for anyone needing a divorce attorney.
Posted by Karen | March 15, 2022
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Merrill Gordon gets the job done
Hiring Mr. Gordon was the best choice I could’ve made. In the beginning of my divorce situation I had a different attorney. It was not a good experience in the least. When issues with Friend of the Court came up, it was Mr. Gordon who worked hard to successfully help me! I would recommend him to anyone that needs a competent and knowledgeable lawyer
Read less
Posted by RIchard | April 23, 2021
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Attorney, Excellent Person
I couldn't have been more please with the way Merrill handled my case. He was very attentive, responsive, and made every attempt to guide my case to its proper resolution. I was very fortunate to have him as my attorney.
Posted by Pia | July 22, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Thank You Attorney Gordon
Attorney Merrill Gordon is the real deal and whole package as far as attorneys go. With his experience and knowledge of Family Law, along with his genuine caring and concern of my case, Atty. Gordon kept me strong through the whole process. He is professional and always available and attentive for questions, was quick to get back to me with any queries or concerns I had. Forever thankful and grateful for one of the truly good attorney that provides an indispensable service at a very reasonable price and I highly recommend him to anyone who is serious about family law. Thank you for helping me win my case!!!
Read less
Posted by Nick | July 15, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Merrill was fantastic
From day one, Merrill exhibited the utmost professional performance as my divorce attorney. In stark contrast to my ex's attorney, he set very clear and realistic expectations of what was to come. He vigorously advocated for the outcomes that I believed were fair and just. He is an excellent communicator, and I felt very aware of everything that I needed to do, every step of the way. I will surely refer him to anyone that ever asks.
Read less
Posted by Marc | May 6, 2019
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Merrill Gordon is an excellent attorney
I retained Merrill Gordon as my divorce attorney. At all times, Merrill was professional, compassionate, available and extremely knowledgeable about my divorce. I know every divorce is different, but with Merrill’s expert advice, I was able to stay married. This was the exact outcome I was looking for. I will always appreciate everything Merrill did for me.
Read less
Posted by Alicia | February 14, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Great lawyer
Merrill was hired as my lawyer for my divorce as well as for a PPO that was violated by the other party. Merrill was always available and made sure I knew exactly what to expect and when. He was always timely with appointments, documents, and court dates. I never felt as though I was "in the dark" with him. Very glad to have his expertise during this time. Definitely recommend!
Read less
Posted by Jay | February 3, 2018
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Excellent Services & Treated Us Like Family!!!
I wish I knew Merrill years ago during the start of my divorce, but he recently got involved in a another aspect of my case and of course won the case, treated myself/my family with such dignity and respect and show a genuine care I wish all attorneys do for their clients! I don't have enough space her to tell you how highly pleased we are with his services, compassion, and consider him a friend now! A++++!!!!
Read less
Posted by anonymous | December 24, 2015
This review is from a person who hired this attorney.
| Hired Attorney
Highly Recommend Merrill Gordon Family Law
My wife file filed for divorce. I am happy to report that we have decided to dismiss the case and reconcile. As I searched for an attorney, a friend suggested that I consider Mr Gordon. Brief research revealed that he had excellent reviews. In our conversations he was very precise in his questioning and advice. He made it clear to me exactly what I was facing and detailed options that were readily understood. He was upfront about his billing, providing a detailed monthly statement with a brief description, cost, and timestamp for each billable line item. Mr Gordon inspired my confidence impressing me as a very precise thinker who knows his business. I highly recommend Merrill Gordon to anyone in need of counsel in Family Law matters.
Read less
Posted by Jeff | May 20, 2015
Top Notch Attorney
I have had Merrill handle matters for me and would recommend him to everyone. Not only is he competent he treats me as if I am his only client. He keeps me informed without drowning me in legalese. If you need an attorney to handle your divorce or other litigation in the area give him a call.
Posted by Nicholas | May 13, 2015
Car Accident/ Tickets - Professional & Effective
I was introduced to Merrill shortly after moving to Michigan and he was extremely helpful in the resolution of my case. I was grateful for how much he was able to help me understand the situation, receiving a constant update on where we were in the process, and then really coming through with a positive resolution in a timely manor. Have suggested a few friends to him since then and would use again.
Read less
Posted by Caitlin | May 13, 2015
Professional, timely, trustworthy!
The legal process can be an intimidating experience, but working with Merrill really helped to alleviate that fear. He was able to explain everything in a way that was easy to understand and made sure I was comfortable at all times. He was extremely professional, timely and trustworthy. I would absolutely recommend Merrill Gordon as he will always have your best interest at heart.
Read less
Posted by Rick | May 12, 2015
Recommend by my freind the Judge
My wife of 38 years filed for a divorce, but we remain friendly much to Merrill’s credit. In my profession I deal with a lot of attorneys, so finding a process to select representation for my divorce was tricky. I wanted someone who would listen to me in my effort to get a reasonable and fair settlement for us both – in spite of the fact that I saw my ex’s attorney as quite the opposite. So I sought the recommendation of an old friend who was a retired, highly respected judge and he offered three attorneys for consideration. Merrill was by far the most "in tuned" to the way I wanted my case handled. He clearly presented “the law” and the options I faced allowing me the decisions on how to proceed. We were able to get it done reasonably quickly, and my ex and I remain friendly…again much to Merrill’s credit.
Read less
Posted by Mike | April 2, 2015
Divorce/child custody
I could not have chosen a better lawyer for my case. If I had to chose one word to describe Merrill, it would be "integrity". Merrill would not and would not let me play unfair and be dishonest, even when my ex wife and her attorney would, I really respect him for that. Merrill listened to me and would tell me realistically what I could expect worst/best case. He had a very difficult case and well exceeded my expectations. He was bombarded with papers and accusations about me from my ex wife's attorney and would help me understand what was happening. I was ready to give up many times and Merrill convinced me to keep fighting. His experience in court proceedings were beyond compare. He would explain to me, that I would need to weigh if something small was worth fighting over, or would you rather it all just be over. That is when I realized that Merrill understood me as a client and knew that although I did not want her to think that she had won, it was best to just be done. When it was over, my attorney fee's we 1/4 of what my ex wife had spent and although neither her nor I got everything we wanted, I can honestly say that I am happy with the J.O.D. and have no regrets. I have still contacted Merrill from time to time for advice, he has been responsive and helpful. Will continue to use Merrill if anything in the future should arise.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | April 1, 2015
Divorce Attorney
Merrill Gordon represented me during my recent divorce proceeding. Needless to say, I was put through an extremely traumatic process by my spouse. An example was an instance early in the proceeding when a situation developed that prompted a late night call to Merrill's cell. His counsel was absolutely correct and I was able to react accordingly. I found that Merrill was available to help 24/7 which was extremely important in my case. He is not a 9 - 5 lawyer. Another thing that I appreciated was his promptness in returning my calls and appearing on time for my court appearances. Also, I felt that his billing process was very fair. His billing statements were easy to read and very accurate. I would definitely recommend Merrill as a divorce attorney.
Read less
Posted by William | February 25, 2015
Divorce attorney
Merrill was my attorney for my divorce. It was a very difficult process. I really liked that Merrill did not make a bunch of empty promises to me for the sake of getting more hourly pay for himself. I felt he always tried to paint a realistic picture of what I was facing financially and did his best to minimize cost for me. He was always approachable and available and very prompt at returning calls and e-mails.
Read less
Posted by anonymous | November 11, 2008
Client Review
I would definately recommend Attorney Merrill Gordon infact, I already have, to a few of my friends. Mr. Gordon has been used in various cases in my family for years I remember my grandmother hiring him when I was maybe 4 or 5 yrs old. I am now 24 and need him for my own reasons as he always yielded excellent results. If he is handling any type of case or claim for you, you can depend on him to promptly respond to any concerns you may have regarding your situation be it via voicemail e- mail or simply leaving a message with a secretary, even if it's not pretaining to the portion of the matter he's handling. He is also very articulate and good with keeping you informed on the current status of your case by phone or mail, as well as checking on you and your mental/physical state as far as the case is concerned. He even sends follow up letters from phone conversations to let you know that you have his genuine concern and appreciation!
Read less
View less reviews

Cost

Rates
  • Free Consultation 30 minutes
  • Hourly Rates $ 225-350 per hour
Payment methods
Cash, Check, Credit Card

Resume

AVVO RATING 9.3 (Superb)

Work Experience

  • Owner
  • Merrill Gordon PC
  • 1984 - Present

Education

  • Thomas M. Cooley Law School
  • JD - Juris Doctor
  • 1981
  • Michigan State University
  • BA - Bachelor of Arts
  • 1977

Associations

  • American Bar Association
  • Member
  • 2014 - Present
  • Wayne County Circuit Court Mediation Tribunal Association
  • Member
  • 1983 - Present
  • State Bar of Michigan
  • Member
  • 1981 - Present
  • United States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan
  • Member
  • 1981 - Present
View all associations

Languages Spoken

  • English

Honors and Awards

  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2022
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2021
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2020
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2019
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2018
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2017
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2016
  • Client's Choice Award
  • Avvo
  • 2015
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2015
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2014
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2013
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2012
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2011
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2010
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2009
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2008
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2007
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2006
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2005
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2004
  • AV Rated
  • Martindale-Hubbell
  • 2003
View all awards

Attorney endorsements

Received (2)
Given (0)
Endorse Merrill
Family Attorney | Jul 04
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I endorse this lawyer. Mr. Gordon is an extremely knowledgable and affective advocate for his clients. I highly recommend Mr. Gordon to all individuals in need of representation."
Family Attorney | May 15
Relationship: Fellow lawyer in community
"I highly recommend Merrill. Merrill is an extremely knowledgeable attorney who is confident both in and out of the courtroom. He takes the time to understand clients and their situations so that he can make the best recommendations for them in their lives. Merrill knows how to cater his services to each unique client because he truly understands that no two divorces are ever the same. He treats everyone with the utmost respect, but definitely knows the law to protect his clients and steer them in the right direction through the entire process. He is able to assist clients in being realistic with their situations and expectations. He is also a wonderful father and his personal experience of being a strong family man helps him truly understand the significance of so many family issues. If my family member or friend were going through a divorce, I would definitely recommend that they give Merrill a call."
This attorney hasn't created any attorney endorsements recently on Avvo.

Avvo Contributions

1 Legal Answers 0 Legal Guides
Farmington Hills Divorce and separation Lawyer Merrill H. Gordon
Merrill H. Gordon
Divorce and separation Attorney
Farmington Hills, MI
Licensed for 42 years
Free Consultation